Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
AVOID SHIPPING DELAYS & SHORTAGES THIS HOLIDAY SEASON - SHOP NOW!
Giro Aether Spherical MIPS Helmet

GiroAether Spherical MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(75 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(64)
(5)
(3)
(2)
(1)
(85%)
(7%)
(4%)
(3%)
(1%)
Reviewed 11/30/2021
by The professor
Cycling Enthusiast
Salem, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The best, most comfortable helmet I have owned!

This helmet is expensive, but worth it. The added protection is there, but with greater comfort - for me. Stylish, comfort, protection; all in one!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/21/2021
by Nick
sf bay area
Overall Rating
Great helmet

Replaced an older mips giro with this one. The MIPS is totally integrated and out of the way. Fit perfectly right out of the box. Several months of use and seems great. Last Giro mips saved me from any head injury in a 55kph crash!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/26/2021
by Krijsh
Cycling Enthusiast
Cairo, Sacramento, Melbourne
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I forget I'm wearing it...

I've crash tested two Giro Synthe Helmets - both saving me from much nastier injuries. Alongsiiide the safety aspect they were great helmets for keeping me cool, particularly in the hot climates I ride in (Egypt, California, Australia).

I couldn't get the Synthe anymore and finally found this Giro Aether Spherical on BikeTiresDirect for a fantastic price - after visiting more than a dozen brick and mortar stores, and at least that many other online retailers. I was not immediately a fan of the shape (the front) but the helmet is so comfortable, I really don't notice it at all. The strap placement works well for me and the sunglasses ports were something I was keen to have again after the perfect ones on the Synthe.

As for the additional safety of the MIPs spherical, I hope I never have to find out how good it is first hand but I am impressed with how the system doesn't interfere with the airflow or make the helmet bulky. I got the Black FLash version and am glad to have the light reflecting decals. With my history, perhaps I should have bought 2?

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/20/2021
by Mark
pdx
Overall Rating
Nice!!

I've been wearing Lance era Giros since uh, Lance. They've always fit great compared to other brands so I've stuck with them. This is the first "different" model for me, and holy cow! It fits soooo much better than my last Giro. I've had broken retention systems in the past, called them, and replacement parts sent to me no hassle. Good company and great products!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/9/2021
by Mike Fisher
New Orleans, LA
Overall Rating
Best fitting and comfortable helmet ever

I am training for a hot weather IM and have worn the helmet on several 100 mile rides. It is extremely lightweight with a very good airflow. I highly recommend this helmet for long distance rides

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2021
by Lexington biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Lexington, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
An Excellent Helmet

I am a recreational road rider, with most rides in the 20 to 30 mile range, and occasionally twice that. I like the lightness, ventilation, and compactness of this helmet. Even on sale, it is not cheap, but it looks great and fits my head very well. Over the last 15 years, I have used both high end Giro helmets and Laser Helmets. For a number of years Laser had a definite edge in fit and comfort, but now I prefer the Aether. I think the big difference is how the helmets handle the MIPs technology. I find that many MIPs helmets exert a wierd torque on my hair. Aether does not.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/31/2019
by PhxStar
Phoenix
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great comfortable helmet

Is there a helmet more awesome than a Synthe? The Aether is it. Super comfortable, lite, and ventilated. I held off buying a first gen MIPS helmet so I can't compare, but the Aether is the best helmet I have owned.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/22/2021
by AG88
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, MO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Helmet!

I have used Giro helmets for years, the recent being an Atmos. I really like the Aether. The adjustments are very good and easy to make. It is very comfortable and light. I like the new safety features, which is why I upgraded...it had been about 8 years since I had a new helmet and my wife was suggesting I get up to speed with the new technology to protect my head.

I would highly recommend this helmet. Expensive, but when one considers the importance of head and brain safety, it was worth the spend!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/22/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Greenville SC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good looking helmet and a custom fit

This helmet is high quality and fits really well. If you havent used a MIPS helmet it's a tad larger on the sides than the older style Giro I had for years, but it looks great and is not noticeably different in size while riding. It sits lower around the brow area so it can apply slight pressure to your riding glasses, but not a big deal at all after adjusting for it. Now other riders helmets appear to sit too high on the head I have noticed. Great rubber grippy spot to put your riding glasses if out near dark. I would purchase this helmet again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/20/2018
by MasterGunny
Cycling Enthusiast
Marfa, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Exceptional Helmet

Put it though the paces last week with a 36-miler and today with a 100K (cold, wet miserable ride)....perfect fit and extremely light, great ventilation coupled with solid aerodynamics. My ONLY compliant, this is the only high end helmet (yes, at this price point...it is high end) out of too many to count in the past 3-years that DID NOT come with replacement sweat pads.....Come on Giro...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/12/2021
by Retiredandlovingit
northcentraltexas
Overall Rating
Giro always fit my small but this model squeezes above my ears too doggone tight.

It's like my heads too round for it or the size small helmet design has changed. The thin sweat rag I have to wear in summer seems to soften the discomfort experienced. Maybe with cooler temps my head won't expand as much and the Giro comfort will return.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/27/2021
by Kargado Cycling
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Must to have it!

Very Comfy and A lot of vent.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/10/2020
by Evan Trent
Daily Commuter
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Loving the Aether

First of all, a huuuuuuuuuuge thanks to the wonderful folks at BikeTiresDirect!!! They were extremely helpful and understanding during the purchasing process, as it took two exchanges before receiving the correct size/brand helmet. Thanks BTD, you guys and gals absolutely rock!!!

As for the Aether, I ultimately ended up with a size small and it fits my bald head perfectly. I always wear a skull cap under my helmet (for warmth in the winter and for sweat management in the summer), and the size small Aether still provides plenty of room for that layer in between my head and the helmet. So far I've only worn it for one 30-mile ride, but I can already tell that I'm going to love this helmet. It's super comfortable and feels very light atop my head. Other than the straps under my chin I was pretty unaware of the Aether during my ride.

Aesthetically the Aether is a 10 out of 10. It looks great IMO, not too bulky, fairly low-profile even with the MIPS layer, and it does not look like a big mushroom on my head.

I really hope I never have to personally test the crash protection of this helmet, but if I do I can be confident that I'm wearing one of the safest helmets on the market. The Aether is not inexpensive, but I think it's well worth the cost.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/28/2021
by KeithD
Cycling Enthusiast
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Lightweight, great fit, nice updates!!!

A bit expensive........? Yes! TOTALLY WORTH IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. This is going to protect you to the max and THAT is the best investment you can make in a a helmet. This one is top of the game: lightweight, max protection, easy adjustability, pony tail clearance, mine is the flat black with light reflection so cars can see you better............good looking. This is the helmet for me.........

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/19/2020
by TimT
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent helmet - incremental improvement from last one

This fits like the prior Synthes, overall. It allows great air flow and I love the neon yellow color. I had a 4 year old non-mips Synthe that is beyond it's useful life, thus bought this. The straps are secure and don't collect sweat. The padding is light but supportive. The two-part design is something I don't notice at all, hope that's a good thing. The only gripe is the front plastic part of the cage leaves some indents on my forehead when I use it, even allowing sun in to give me an odd forehead sunburn during summer. Fall riding so far has been good, not needing a beanie hat so far and still very breathable.

I would purchase again, although expensive, I'm trusting the safety tech is worth it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/7/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Probably saved my life

On a group gravel ride and was going over a cattleguard when the front tire went into the vertical slits and sent me over the handlebars and onto my head and shoulder. The helmet took quite a shot and I ended up with a blackeye but that was the worst thing that happened to my head. To top it off Giro gave me xx% off a new helmet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2020
by Mike in Richland
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Washington State
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Buy this helmet, you will love it.

This is my road bike helmet. I have owned it about 3 months and love it. My head is big (ask my wife about that), but it fits well, even with a cap on my head. The adjusting knob moving easily, click, click, click. The helmet is well ventilated, and keeps me cool (I bought the white version), which I appreciate as temperatures rise here in SE Washington The helmet is light and feels like it not there. I use a glasses-mounted mirror and the rear view is unobstructed. Last thing, I bought it to replace my 3-year old Giro Synthe because BTD had a killer discount - so I pulled the pulled the trigger (in a figurative sense of course) and bought the Aether - worked out well so far!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/27/2020
by Luvs2Bike
Cycling Enthusiast
San Antonio, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Cool and Comfortable

The fit of this helmet in size Small is the same fit for me as my Giro Synthe (non-mips). I feel it is true to size. I bought the helmet for the added safety and also hoping that it would be cooler than my Giro Aeon or Synthe in the Texas heat. I wore my new Aether tonight in 92-95 degree heat and I could feel the cool air flowing across my head. It was almost like an air conditioner! The helmet is noticeably cooler than my Giro Aeon. I will continue to reserve my Giro Synthe as my winter helmet. The Aether is very comfortable and I certainly did not notice the few extra grams (apx 35) between it any my other Giro helmets. Adjusting the helmet is super easy and I love the new Roc Loc and the sun glasses holder. Highly recommend!!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/11/2020
by Joe
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, wa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nice upgrade over the Synthe

My Giro Synthe helmet was ready to be replaced and I had been drooling over the Aether, so, at a big % off, it was great deal. The Aether has the MIPS technology built in to the helmet instead of being attached to the already made helmet, so the entire interior of the helmet rotates to absorb shock in case of a crash. This seems much better than the Synthe. Fit is very good. I've only had one ride in 85 heat and the ventilation was good.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/19/2020
by Billmars04
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
This is a GREAT helmet

I use the helmet on all my rides. It is light and comfortable, and fits my head without any undue pressure points. It works with all my Oakley sunglasses. I have used several winter caps under it, and with a twist of the knob it adjusts for a perfect fit.

I crashed once, but did not get to test the helmet as there was no head contact with the ground. I hope to not test the helmets crash worthiness.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 10

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]