Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Giro Aether Spherical MIPS Helmet

GiroAether Spherical MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(107 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(93)
(9)
(2)
(3)
(0)
(87%)
(8%)
(2%)
(3%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by PhxStar

Reviewed 1/31/2019
by PhxStar
Phoenix
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great comfortable helmet

Is there a helmet more awesome than a Synthe? The Aether is it. Super comfortable, lite, and ventilated. I held off buying a first gen MIPS helmet so I can't compare, but the Aether is the best helmet I have owned.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/5/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Lexington KY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Lightweight, comfortable and visible helmet

The helmet is lighter weight than others that I have owned in recent years. The MIPS design gives me a sense of safety and I chose the bright colors to be visible to motorists. The tightening mechanism works fine. The chinstrap closure could be more high end, it is very basic.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MasterGunny

Reviewed 10/20/2018
by MasterGunny
Cycling Enthusiast
Marfa, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Exceptional Helmet

Put it though the paces last week with a 36-miler and today with a 100K (cold, wet miserable ride)....perfect fit and extremely light, great ventilation coupled with solid aerodynamics. My ONLY compliant, this is the only high end helmet (yes, at this price point...it is high end) out of too many to count in the past 3-years that DID NOT come with replacement sweat pads.....Come on Giro...

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/21/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA United States
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable, Stylish, and Lightweight and Compatible with Roc Loc 5 LED Light

I tried this helmet at a local store and I like how this fits on my head. Bike Tires Direct had this helmet on sale and so I bought it online. This helmet fits comfortably, it looks very streamlined, and it's very lightweight. When I was using it on 100+ degree rides, it keeps my head ventilated. It was still hot but it was ventilated at least. I also find that the helmet was manufactured in Oct 2021 or after which is the requirement to fit the Roc Loc 5 LED light at the back of the helmet. It's something I couldn't tell on the product page but I am glad this is compatible with the light. Overall, I like the Giro helmet and would continue to make purchases through Bike Tires Direct.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Arman

Reviewed 7/29/2023
by Arman
CT
Overall Rating
lightweight and great for round heads

Super lightweight. Fits great and easy to adjust. No pressure points. For reference my head is more spherical in shape - so POC fits me great, whereas Smith helmets tend to create pressure points when ratcheted down. Circumference 56cm and small fit perfectly. Great price on sale from BTD.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by scott zenoni

Reviewed 8/12/2022
by scott zenoni
Competitive Racer
florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Lightweight, comfortable, well ventilated, no hot spots, my new goto helmet

I am an avid cyclist and Triathlete. I was looking for a well ventilated, aerodynamic helmet that has the most current safety features (MIPS). I found all these qualities in the Giro Aether. I had recently purchased the Giro Eclipse, but was starting to get some hot spots and could not use the helmet for longer rides. The Aether so far has been exceptionally comfortable. As usual, got a great deal on BikeTiresDirect. Happy with my purchase so far and recommend to anyone looking for a lightweight, well ventilated, up to standards as far as safety goes helmet.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Brian

Reviewed 6/17/2022
by Brian
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Long Term Issues

This is great helmet out of the box -- light, comfortable, etc. But over time -- a little over a year -- a few problems creep in. First, the fitting mechanism in the rear is secured together by tiny plastic pins that wear down and then become useless -- the mechanism will still tighten, but it isn't held together so it slips around. Second, the plastic that comes around each side to a point in the front of the helmet peels off from the front and sticks out (pointy and sharp). Several riders in my group have this helmet and I've noticed that the same thing has happened to them.

It is less than two years now and I'm shopping for a new helmet. Disappointing for such a high-end lid. This helmet is probably best for pros who would get their helmets replaced frequently, but for a regular rider looking for a helmet that lasts, not so much.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steve S.

Reviewed 6/24/2022
by Steve S.
Cycling Enthusiast
Syracuse, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Looks Good and Fits Great

This replaces an older non-MIPS Giro Atmos where the Roc Loc feature snapped. This new Aether Spherical MIPS (size M) has excellent fit, and several different types of convenient fit adjustments to really dial it in. Easily accommodates a cycling cap or winter cap as necessary. Lightweight, sharp looking, close fitting with a lot of hi-vis yellow around the rim. Very expensive unless you hit a BTD sale (I did), but regardless of price, I'll take any advantage I can get protecting my noggin in the event of an incident, especially when it looks so fine. Wouldn t change a thing on it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by nhmtnbkr

Reviewed 4/7/2022
by nhmtnbkr
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashua, NH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Expensive, but an excellent road biking helmet.

This is a fantastic-fitting helmet, with a wealth of adjustment points and long enough straps that it's good for my big melon. I love the Spherical addition to the MIPS liner this has to help with impact dispersion in a potential crash, which I hope I never have to test. It's also very light and airy, making it a joy to ride with because you don't hardly know it's there and it breathes well on hot days. Looking forward to trying the companion light for it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by maxseven

Reviewed 3/15/2022
by maxseven
Cycling Enthusiast
NM
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I like my helmet

It will fit Aether Helmets. Bought 2 Aether helmets & 1 light. I would not fit on my wife's helmet but would fit on mine with a loud click. the defect is in the Rock Lok system. Hers is a few millimeters thinner than mine. So upon another reviewer's review he Velcro'd the light to the Rock Lok 5. I did the same. IF you buy the Rock Lok 5 light & it will not properly snap into place. Use the 7/8" square Velcro tabs then cut them in 1/2. Attach to light first then to Rock Lok where it is suppose to go.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DocH

Reviewed 2/24/2022
by DocH
Cycling Enthusiast
Modesto, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Buckle up with top-pof-the-line helmet

As others have already stated the Giro Aether is a fantastic helmet. Light, well ventilated, MIPS, and looks great. I've had problems with the fit on other Giro lids (LAS and Smith helmets tend work better for me), but the Aether is altogether different. The helmet is highly adjustable with strap anchor points that can be moved to adjust the fore/aft positioning and make the webbing feel narrower or wider. Sizing appears to be accurate. It's a bit disappointing that such a pricey helmet doesn't come with extra pads (which wouldn't cost much as the padding is quite sparse). Still, given all the features the price is reasonable, especially if purchased during a BTD sale. I like to rinse my lids after each ride, and since I hate putting on a damp helmet I have a rotation of several helmets. I ended up buying two Aethers (in different colors) and will retire some of my older helmets.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rick

Reviewed 4/10/2023
by Rick
Overall Rating
Great Helmet

First of all it fits my head. I have a medium. It doesn't feel like I'm wearing a helmet yet it fits snug against my head. I wear it in the cold & in the heat. It's ventilation works very well, including my glasses don't fog with this helmet. I feel confident that my headvit protected.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/12/2023
by Anonymous
NW Arkansas.Mt. Bike Capital USA
Overall Rating
Great Helmet.

Have been using Giro helmets for years. This helmet is light and airy. Great price.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/3/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Pennsylvania
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Really good comfortable helmet

Good price for a quality product in result. Feels great on head, light, and does everything it's supposed to do. My old helmet simply wore out after quite a few years of use, so it was time for a fresh replacement. This one handles that perfectly.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bruce

Reviewed 3/25/2023
by Bruce
bellingham, WA
Overall Rating
Comfortable and great fit

I was surprised at how well this helmet fit and it is very comfortable. I like reflective surfaces as they are bright at night but subtle during the day. Very happy with the item and prompt delivery

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Krijsh

Reviewed 9/26/2021
by Krijsh
Cycling Enthusiast
Cairo, Sacramento, Melbourne
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I forget I'm wearing it...

I've crash tested two Giro Synthe Helmets - both saving me from much nastier injuries. Alongsiiide the safety aspect they were great helmets for keeping me cool, particularly in the hot climates I ride in (Egypt, California, Australia).

I couldn't get the Synthe anymore and finally found this Giro Aether Spherical on BikeTiresDirect for a fantastic price - after visiting more than a dozen brick and mortar stores, and at least that many other online retailers. I was not immediately a fan of the shape (the front) but the helmet is so comfortable, I really don't notice it at all. The strap placement works well for me and the sunglasses ports were something I was keen to have again after the perfect ones on the Synthe.

As for the additional safety of the MIPs spherical, I hope I never have to find out how good it is first hand but I am impressed with how the system doesn't interfere with the airflow or make the helmet bulky. I got the Black FLash version and am glad to have the light reflecting decals. With my history, perhaps I should have bought 2?

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Richard S.

Reviewed 1/12/2023
by Richard S.
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, MO/Boulder, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent premium helmet

Helmets are subjective, right? My deal: Longtime Giro user who switched to Kask Protone in '20. Really liked the comfort and look of the Protone and Protone Icon but had TWO consecutive Icons with a defective retention dial. First one right out of the box, second one after two months of use so switched back to Giro. Aether fits me well and feels better ventilated than the Icon. No crashes in either so cannot speak to relative protection.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by bykrbabe

Reviewed 12/29/2022
by bykrbabe
Cycling Enthusiast
Capitola, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Safety first

I decided that it was time for a new helmet after taking a few spills in the last few years so this was on sale and I am replacing an old model, but only MPS helmets allowed! Fits nicely, has great visibility so it was the right choice.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Lexington biker

Reviewed 4/5/2021
by Lexington biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Lexington, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
An Excellent Helmet

I am a recreational road rider, with most rides in the 20 to 30 mile range, and occasionally twice that. I like the lightness, ventilation, and compactness of this helmet. Even on sale, it is not cheap, but it looks great and fits my head very well. Over the last 15 years, I have used both high end Giro helmets and Laser Helmets. For a number of years Laser had a definite edge in fit and comfort, but now I prefer the Aether. I think the big difference is how the helmets handle the MIPs technology. I find that many MIPs helmets exert a wierd torque on my hair. Aether does not.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by AG88

Reviewed 2/22/2021
by AG88
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, MO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Helmet!

I have used Giro helmets for years, the recent being an Atmos. I really like the Aether. The adjustments are very good and easy to make. It is very comfortable and light. I like the new safety features, which is why I upgraded...it had been about 8 years since I had a new helmet and my wife was suggesting I get up to speed with the new technology to protect my head.

I would highly recommend this helmet. Expensive, but when one considers the importance of head and brain safety, it was worth the spend!

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 29

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]