Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Giro Aether Spherical MIPS Helmet

GiroAether Spherical MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(52 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(43)
(4)
(2)
(2)
(1)
(83%)
(8%)
(4%)
(4%)
(2%)
Reviewed 9/10/2020
by Rol
NW MA
Overall Rating
Highly visible, very comfortable

This is a highly visible very comfortable helmet with top of class newest MIPS SAFETY FEATURES

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2020
by Mike in Richland
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Washington State
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Buy this helmet, you will love it.

This is my road bike helmet. I have owned it about 3 months and love it. My head is big (ask my wife about that), but it fits well, even with a cap on my head. The adjusting knob moving easily, click, click, click. The helmet is well ventilated, and keeps me cool (I bought the white version), which I appreciate as temperatures rise here in SE Washington The helmet is light and feels like it not there. I use a glasses-mounted mirror and the rear view is unobstructed. Last thing, I bought it to replace my 3-year old Giro Synthe because BTD had a killer discount - so I pulled the pulled the trigger (in a figurative sense of course) and bought the Aether - worked out well so far!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/27/2020
by Luvs2Bike
Cycling Enthusiast
San Antonio, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Cool and Comfortable

The fit of this helmet in size Small is the same fit for me as my Giro Synthe (non-mips). I feel it is true to size. I bought the helmet for the added safety and also hoping that it would be cooler than my Giro Aeon or Synthe in the Texas heat. I wore my new Aether tonight in 92-95 degree heat and I could feel the cool air flowing across my head. It was almost like an air conditioner! The helmet is noticeably cooler than my Giro Aeon. I will continue to reserve my Giro Synthe as my winter helmet. The Aether is very comfortable and I certainly did not notice the few extra grams (apx 35) between it any my other Giro helmets. Adjusting the helmet is super easy and I love the new Roc Loc and the sun glasses holder. Highly recommend!!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/11/2020
by Joe
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, wa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice upgrade over the Synthe

My Giro Synthe helmet was ready to be replaced and I had been drooling over the Aether, so, at a big % off, it was great deal. The Aether has the MIPS technology built in to the helmet instead of being attached to the already made helmet, so the entire interior of the helmet rotates to absorb shock in case of a crash. This seems much better than the Synthe. Fit is very good. I've only had one ride in 85 heat and the ventilation was good.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/28/2020
by Roadie5750
Cycling Enthusiast
Dover, De
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent Helmet, fair price.

Road cycling, ~200 miles per week. Love this helmet. Comfortable with plenty of vents for cooling.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/31/2019
by PhxStar
Phoenix
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great comfortable helmet

Is there a helmet more awesome than a Synthe? The Aether is it. Super comfortable, lite, and ventilated. I held off buying a first gen MIPS helmet so I can't compare, but the Aether is the best helmet I have owned.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/20/2018
by MasterGunny
Cycling Enthusiast
Marfa, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Exceptional Helmet

Put it though the paces last week with a 36-miler and today with a 100K (cold, wet miserable ride)....perfect fit and extremely light, great ventilation coupled with solid aerodynamics. My ONLY compliant, this is the only high end helmet (yes, at this price point...it is high end) out of too many to count in the past 3-years that DID NOT come with replacement sweat pads.....Come on Giro...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/19/2020
by Billmars04
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
This is a GREAT helmet

I use the helmet on all my rides. It is light and comfortable, and fits my head without any undue pressure points. It works with all my Oakley sunglasses. I have used several winter caps under it, and with a twist of the knob it adjusts for a perfect fit.

I crashed once, but did not get to test the helmet as there was no head contact with the ground. I hope to not test the helmets crash worthiness.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/29/2020
by Tom
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Helmet

Have not crashed so cannot comment on that aspect. But.. It is light and very cool. Trust the ratings for this helmet, and they are very good. Also like the white to help stay cool in the summer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/18/2020
by ForGreaterGood
Cycling Enthusiast
Hawaii and Iowa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best Helmet to date from Giro!

Ive been an avid cyclist for 35 years averaging 500 miles per weekalways with a helmet properly attached to my head! Over the years Ive had every top-end helmet produced by Giro. The Aether is by far the best helmet Ive had! While I cannot attest to its crash durability and protection, this helmet is very comfortable, easy to fit, and highly ventilated. In all previous models, I had to wear a headband to prevent sweat from getting into my eyes but not so with the Aether. Its air channeling is simply the best. For those who ride at night, a taillight and headlight can be attached to the helmet without interfering with the MIPS liner.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/14/2020
by BikerBoy
Cycling Enthusiast
Novato, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best helmet I've every owned

I've worn Giro helmets for as long as I can remember, and the thing that is most outstanding is the fit. However, in recent years some of the retention materials of Giro helmets have become marginal and I find the useful life of these expensive helmets to become quite limited. Having said that, someone at Giro must have gotten the message because the Aether helmet is definitely built with much better quality and materials. The design of the helmet within a helmet is revolutionary and makes this not a superior safety device but more comfortable for long rides as well. I must say you pay dearly for these features, as this is more than I've ever paid (or hoped to pay) for a bicycle helmet. But considering all the safety and quality, I say it's pricey but definitely worth it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/5/2020
by R michael
Cycling Enthusiast
Salem, oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
My wifes helmet and she loves it.

The giro helmet was expensive, but what is it worth to keep you brain together. It is light weight and adjusts easily. Glad you had it in stock.

Thank you.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/16/2019
by OaklandMark
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent fit, comfort, and ventilation

I bought this helmet after buying a cheaper Giro model (Syntax). Although the Syntax was fine, I felt it lacked ventilation. SInce I'm lucky enough to have a son with the same sized head, he got the almost new hand-me-down, and is thrilled with it. He's a casual rider, I'm a road enthusiast.

The Aether, as hoped, is extremely well ventilated. It's quite pricey, but if you catch the BTD sale, you can just justify the price for that high level of comfort.

Helmet fit is something that will vary by individual, as we all have rather different shaped heads, but I find the Giro fit to be the best among the brands I have tried. I measure right in the middle of the M range, and I can literally wear the helmet right out of the box! The RocLock system provides an excellent level of precise control over fit - so much better than the bad old days of placing multiple adhesive pads to try to get a decent fit.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/5/2019
by djgets1
Cycling Enthusiast
Palatine, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I love my Giro Aether MIPS helmet

I am so happy to have purchased my Giro Aether MIPS helmet from Bike Tires Direct at a great sale price. I would have missed out on this great helmet had it been selling at a higher price.

My head measurement is just slightly under the max recommended size for a medium helmet. The medium fits me perfectly. It has a slight amount of room before I ratchet it down a little to fit me perfectly snug.

My old helmet of another brand was too large for me in the first place. I always wore a sweatband on my head to capture sweat but mostly wore the sweatband so that my helmet would not slide around. It's so nice to have my new helmet fit me so perfectly where I don't need to wear a sweatband. The Giro Aether MIPS helmet does have its own thin sweatband on the front. It's really too thin to capture much sweat. I haven't read anything about its ability to channel sweat but it seems fair at doing so. I occasionally have sweat drop down onto my sunglasses but my sweat often channels off to the right and drips down past the far side of my right eye.

The ratcheting mechanism for tighteningloosening the helmet works nicely. I get a perfect fit. The helmet also feels cool and light as advertised.

One last thing - The fit system of my old helmet would sometimes push onto my glasses frame by the ears causing some irritation. I have no such issue with my new helmet. My new helmet fits and feels great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/31/2019
by CB
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Aether MIPS - Pretty slick helmet

I use this for road riding and am pleased with the helmet's performance (although I haven't tested it for it's intended purpose of crash protection). I like the ventilation at the front of the helmet, the air coming through the vents is very noticeable although it seems like the airflow over the back of my head is not quite as plentiful as on other helmets I own (Bell Zephyr, Giro Aeon). The fit is great for me (I wear a medium) and the roc loc system works well. This helmet seems to sit further down on my head than others and I like the additional coverage but it sits low enough that it interferes with one pair of sunglasses with larger frames. While I read they claimed it is less bulbous than it's predecessor, from a style perspective it still hews to the mushroom head look.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/22/2019
by Colorado mountain cyclist
Silverthorne, CO
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The mips helmet advanced design to have, and hopefully never to utilize.

I have enjoyed the comfort of the Giro Foray mips helmet for sometime. However, when I recognized the technological advancement of the Giro Aether mips model, from a safety standpoint, the only logical conclusion was to purchase the Aether model.

Since purchasing the Aether model, I have worn this helmet dozens of times over hundreds of Colorado roads this summer. The Aether helmet is noticeably lighter and more comfortable than my Giro Foray helmet, yet fits snuggly with the adjustable wheel at the back of the helmet. As advertised, the flow through ventilation of the helmet has kept me cool, even on some hot afternoon rides.

When you read the advanced safety features of the Aether model mips design, you realize this is the design to wear, but hopefully never to depend upon. One problem with this helmet now I have to purchase the Aether helmet for the rest of my family cyclists.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/22/2019
by Colorado mountain cyclist
Silverthorne, CO
Overall Rating
Giro Aether helmet, extra safety we hope we never need.

I have enjoyed the comfort of the Giro Foray mips helmet for sometime. However, when I recognized the technological advancement of the Giro Aether mips model, from a safety standpoint, the only logical conclusion was to purchase the Aether model.

Since purchasing the Aether model, I have worn this helmet dozens of times over hundreds of Colorado roads this summer. The Aether helmet is noticeably lighter and more comfortable than my Giro Foray helmet, yet fits snuggly with the adjustable wheel at the back of the helmet. As advertised, the flow through ventilation of the helmet has kept me cool, even on some hot afternoon rides.

When you read the advanced safety features of the Aether model mips design, you realize this is the design to wear, but hopefully never to depend upon. One problem with this helmet now I have to purchase the Aether helmet for the rest of my family cyclists.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/30/2020
by Adam W
Cycling Enthusiast
Carson City, NV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Makes you look like a mushroom

I don't have a local shop where I can try on higher-end helmets. Even the big shops around here have a few entry- and mid-level helmets. I splurged because I expected a pricier helmet to look more sleek. Instead I look like a mushroom. The Large is about 2 inches wider than my old large Giro and I though THAT helmet was bad. I will apparently need to go to a different brand. Luckily I was able to return so I'm only out the return shipping. To be fair, this helmet looks awesome coming out of the box, it just doesn't look like an expensive helmet atop my rather bulbous head.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/8/2019
by Rich
Uxbridge
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Top notch!

My previous helmet was in dire need of replacing so I started doing research for the best helmets of 2019. I was happy to find that Giro was on that list. The MIPS technology was a little new to me so I was a little confused about how it would fit and or work. Don't be afraid of it! I need to say this is the best fitting, most comfortable helmet I have ever used. The MIPS isn't even noticed. I'm also quite happy with the amount of airflow through it on to my head. I would highly recommend Giro helmets, but especially this Aether line.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/30/2020
by Worth the price.
Southern California desert
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Top quality and functional

I replace my helmet every four years and found this Giro helmet has everything I need. I especially enjoy the fit, vibrant colors, space to mount a rearview mirror, and innovative MIPS Technology that allows thinner helmet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 92