Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Giro Aether Spherical MIPS Helmet

GiroAether Spherical MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(92 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(82)
(6)
(2)
(2)
(0)
(89%)
(7%)
(2%)
(2%)
(0%)
Reviewed 9/21/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA United States
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfortable, Stylish, and Lightweight and Compatible with Roc Loc 5 LED Light

I tried this helmet at a local store and I like how this fits on my head. Bike Tires Direct had this helmet on sale and so I bought it online. This helmet fits comfortably, it looks very streamlined, and it's very lightweight. When I was using it on 100+ degree rides, it keeps my head ventilated. It was still hot but it was ventilated at least. I also find that the helmet was manufactured in Oct 2021 or after which is the requirement to fit the Roc Loc 5 LED light at the back of the helmet. It's something I couldn't tell on the product page but I am glad this is compatible with the light. Overall, I like the Giro helmet and would continue to make purchases through Bike Tires Direct.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/26/2022
by Bryan
Brea
Overall Rating
Giro Aether Spherical MIPS Helmet

Had to replace my Giro Synthe after taking a header at 45 mph in Big Bear. Replaced it with the Aether, so far so good. The helmet sits lower on the forehead which puts the sunglasses right at the base of the helmet. Will see how that works out? Also the helmet makes noises when the base and outer shell rotate from each other while riding. That my drive me crazy?? Quality, Fit and Finish are Nice.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/12/2022
by scott zenoni
Competitive Racer
florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Lightweight, comfortable, well ventilated, no hot spots, my new goto helmet

I am an avid cyclist and Triathlete. I was looking for a well ventilated, aerodynamic helmet that has the most current safety features (MIPS). I found all these qualities in the Giro Aether. I had recently purchased the Giro Eclipse, but was starting to get some hot spots and could not use the helmet for longer rides. The Aether so far has been exceptionally comfortable. As usual, got a great deal on BikeTiresDirect. Happy with my purchase so far and recommend to anyone looking for a lightweight, well ventilated, up to standards as far as safety goes helmet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/18/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Very comfortable and light weight!

This is a very comfortable helmet. Love how light it is and the safety ratings are great!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/17/2022
by Brian
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Long Term Issues

This is great helmet out of the box -- light, comfortable, etc. But over time -- a little over a year -- a few problems creep in. First, the fitting mechanism in the rear is secured together by tiny plastic pins that wear down and then become useless -- the mechanism will still tighten, but it isn't held together so it slips around. Second, the plastic that comes around each side to a point in the front of the helmet peels off from the front and sticks out (pointy and sharp). Several riders in my group have this helmet and I've noticed that the same thing has happened to them.

It is less than two years now and I'm shopping for a new helmet. Disappointing for such a high-end lid. This helmet is probably best for pros who would get their helmets replaced frequently, but for a regular rider looking for a helmet that lasts, not so much.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/24/2022
by Steve S.
Cycling Enthusiast
Syracuse, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Looks Good and Fits Great

This replaces an older non-MIPS Giro Atmos where the Roc Loc feature snapped. This new Aether Spherical MIPS (size M) has excellent fit, and several different types of convenient fit adjustments to really dial it in. Easily accommodates a cycling cap or winter cap as necessary. Lightweight, sharp looking, close fitting with a lot of hi-vis yellow around the rim. Very expensive unless you hit a BTD sale (I did), but regardless of price, I'll take any advantage I can get protecting my noggin in the event of an incident, especially when it looks so fine. Wouldn t change a thing on it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/16/2022
by Matthew
So California Paradise
Overall Rating
Comfortable and Cool Helmet

This is a replacement for a ten-plus year old Giro helmet that finally succumbed to the heat, the elements, and for when I have fallen over after forgetting to unclip. The Giro Aether is a very lightweight helmet that fits nicely over my melon and the rear dial attachment is quick and easy to adjust during a ride. The helmet stays cool, and I couldnt say anything but great things about it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/18/2022
by maxmf
long island, ny
Overall Rating
Saved me from serious injury

I bought this helmet for hot summer rides because of the air vents. helmet worked great. I am on my second Giro Aether Spherical MIPS helmet as my first one was put to the test and did it�s job perfectly. I had a head strike to the pavement and basically walked away without serious injury. Helmet took all the impact and cracked but protected me perfectly! Thanks Giro !!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/6/2022
by Brien Pidgeon
mid west
Overall Rating
The best

40 plus years on a bike and always a giro helmet, they are the best !

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/7/2022
by nhmtnbkr
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashua, NH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Expensive, but an excellent road biking helmet.

This is a fantastic-fitting helmet, with a wealth of adjustment points and long enough straps that it's good for my big melon. I love the Spherical addition to the MIPS liner this has to help with impact dispersion in a potential crash, which I hope I never have to test. It's also very light and airy, making it a joy to ride with because you don't hardly know it's there and it breathes well on hot days. Looking forward to trying the companion light for it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/15/2022
by maxseven
Cycling Enthusiast
NM
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I like my helmet

It will fit Aether Helmets. Bought 2 Aether helmets & 1 light. I would not fit on my wife's helmet but would fit on mine with a loud click. the defect is in the Rock Lok system. Hers is a few millimeters thinner than mine. So upon another reviewer's review he Velcro'd the light to the Rock Lok 5. I did the same. IF you buy the Rock Lok 5 light & it will not properly snap into place. Use the 7/8" square Velcro tabs then cut them in 1/2. Attach to light first then to Rock Lok where it is suppose to go.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/24/2022
by DocH
Cycling Enthusiast
Modesto, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Buckle up with top-pof-the-line helmet

As others have already stated the Giro Aether is a fantastic helmet. Light, well ventilated, MIPS, and looks great. I've had problems with the fit on other Giro lids (LAS and Smith helmets tend work better for me), but the Aether is altogether different. The helmet is highly adjustable with strap anchor points that can be moved to adjust the fore/aft positioning and make the webbing feel narrower or wider. Sizing appears to be accurate. It's a bit disappointing that such a pricey helmet doesn't come with extra pads (which wouldn't cost much as the padding is quite sparse). Still, given all the features the price is reasonable, especially if purchased during a BTD sale. I like to rinse my lids after each ride, and since I hate putting on a damp helmet I have a rotation of several helmets. I ended up buying two Aethers (in different colors) and will retire some of my older helmets.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/31/2019
by PhxStar
Phoenix
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great comfortable helmet

Is there a helmet more awesome than a Synthe? The Aether is it. Super comfortable, lite, and ventilated. I held off buying a first gen MIPS helmet so I can't compare, but the Aether is the best helmet I have owned.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/20/2018
by MasterGunny
Cycling Enthusiast
Marfa, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Exceptional Helmet

Put it though the paces last week with a 36-miler and today with a 100K (cold, wet miserable ride)....perfect fit and extremely light, great ventilation coupled with solid aerodynamics. My ONLY compliant, this is the only high end helmet (yes, at this price point...it is high end) out of too many to count in the past 3-years that DID NOT come with replacement sweat pads.....Come on Giro...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/26/2021
by Krijsh
Cycling Enthusiast
Cairo, Sacramento, Melbourne
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I forget I'm wearing it...

I've crash tested two Giro Synthe Helmets - both saving me from much nastier injuries. Alongsiiide the safety aspect they were great helmets for keeping me cool, particularly in the hot climates I ride in (Egypt, California, Australia).

I couldn't get the Synthe anymore and finally found this Giro Aether Spherical on BikeTiresDirect for a fantastic price - after visiting more than a dozen brick and mortar stores, and at least that many other online retailers. I was not immediately a fan of the shape (the front) but the helmet is so comfortable, I really don't notice it at all. The strap placement works well for me and the sunglasses ports were something I was keen to have again after the perfect ones on the Synthe.

As for the additional safety of the MIPs spherical, I hope I never have to find out how good it is first hand but I am impressed with how the system doesn't interfere with the airflow or make the helmet bulky. I got the Black FLash version and am glad to have the light reflecting decals. With my history, perhaps I should have bought 2?

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/5/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great flitting helmet

I am an avid cyclist. My rides are long and often. I have not ridden with this helmet yet, but the size is perfect. I am between a medium and a large and chose the large for when I need extra warmth for my head. The retention system works great and is very easy to adjust. I highly recommend this helmet to anyone who is wanting a fantastic helmet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/23/2022
by Jsprague56
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Another great Giro helmet

Giro helmets fit my BIG head really well and the spherical technology feels better than the thin MIPS helmets (which are also nice)

Adjustability is good and great ventilation.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2021
by Lexington biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Lexington, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
An Excellent Helmet

I am a recreational road rider, with most rides in the 20 to 30 mile range, and occasionally twice that. I like the lightness, ventilation, and compactness of this helmet. Even on sale, it is not cheap, but it looks great and fits my head very well. Over the last 15 years, I have used both high end Giro helmets and Laser Helmets. For a number of years Laser had a definite edge in fit and comfort, but now I prefer the Aether. I think the big difference is how the helmets handle the MIPs technology. I find that many MIPs helmets exert a wierd torque on my hair. Aether does not.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/16/2022
by Anonymous
Texas
Overall Rating
Great helmet

Fits well. Very light. Cooler than a lot of helmets.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/17/2022
by Thomas Longen
Washington
Overall Rating
Giro Aether Spherical MIPS Helmet

Great helmet on my second helmet as a replacement from original purchase back in 2015. Try others brands but

l'm back to this particular helmet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 48

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]