Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Vector 3 Power Pedals

GarminVector 3 Power Pedals(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(46 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(24)
(11)
(2)
(3)
(6)
(52%)
(24%)
(4%)
(7%)
(13%)
Reviewed 7/15/2021
by iowamarinedad
Cycling Enthusiast
ottumwa, ia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
works perfect so far - no drop outs

works perfect so far - no drop outs .

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/4/2021
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
No issues so far

I got these pedals when they were on sale at $xx. I believe Garmin is making these with the updated battery covers that was causing previous issues. The pedals have worked 100% of the time with no issues. The only thing to point out on my side is that the Wahoo Bolt doesn't seem to be able to calibrate them easily. I have never been able to calibrate them thru the Element Bolt. Overall they are great. The Look cleats were no real difference from my Shimano cleats.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/13/2021
by Derek
Competitive Racer
Bryan, Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Would not ride without them

24 months and 20k kms into this pair of pedals and I consider them an indispensable part of my riding kit. I move them from bike to bike without issues. I did have problems at the beginning with the battery door. The regular lost connection issue. Garmin support was very responsive and sent me the gen 2 door which was better. I used the CR 1/3N single battery and I had no troubles. Garmin sent me the gen 3 door without asking. Operation for the last year has been very stable with no issues. I am looking to buy a second pair as backup since I would not want to go without them. The major alternative to these pedals are the Assioma pedals that some of my friends use. They are happy with them also. I find it convenient to stay within the Garmin ecosystem so I am going to stick with these. The screw on one of my pedals cleat portion has backed out by itself loosening the cleat. It is a Torx fastener. Screwing it back in with a touch of blue Loctite solved that issue. The instruction tell you to torque it on to some very high tightness. That is totally unnecessary. I install them until they are just snug with a regular pedal wrench and they have never loosened up on me. I have not yet had to address the bearings and the cleats show minimal wear. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/24/2020
by Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
Thousand Oaks CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Fantastic Product

Ok, I have read the negative reviews and to be honest .... I don"t get it! I received the pedals on Wednesday evening. Installed them on my RLT 9 RDO gravel bike on Thursday. Paired to my Garmin 520 in a matter of minutes and was able to read cadence and power on my first ride. Did a shake down ride on Saturday (20 miles) and a long Sunday ride ( 60 miles) of mixed gravel and road. Did not have a single issue even with all the dust. The only thing I need to get used to is using road pedals on a gravel bike .... but a lot of people do it. At this point with under 100 miles on the "system" I am a very happy camper.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/30/2020
by vickiequattro
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Island, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent after a battery change

I was an early adopter of a power meter and am returning to the sport after several years off. pedal based power meters for me are the way to go. Have heard mixed reviews on the Garmin V3's but compared to the other pedal systems, I feel Garmins are the most like normal Look pedals and the competition are kludgey. I purchase refurbs that have the improved battery closure and got them at a great price for a dual sided system. Once I replaced the (2) LR44 batteries in each pedal with a single CN13 type, 95% of dropouts went away. I think that two batteries are problematic because the contact between the batteries is prone to vibration etc. Still get a few power dropouts probably some kind of signal crosstalk but not a huge problem.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/1/2021
by Kdub
Madison WI
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Vector 3 a great investment

Adds a new level of rider engagement. Cadence x Power x Heart Rate. Crunch a few numbers. Steady improvement. My three step self improvement process 1) ride the bike 2) keep the lbs off 3) add dynamic power metrics. Zwift compatible.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/1/2019
by rwidebody
Cycling Enthusiast
Westchester county, New York
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Great pedal when it works but likely to eventually provide more frustration that fitness measurement value

6 month review. Fantastic pedal stats-until the eventual right pedal continuous disconnects begin. Using Garmin 1030, must touch the right pedal missing notice every few minutes, sometimes every few seconds. Otherwise, the message remains on the unit and the Garmin waits for you to confirm. It does not automatically return to the last screen in use, Aside from the pedal providing left stats only, this is frustrating and degrades the 1030 functionality. Ex racer current retired everyday fitness rider, 45 years experience. Careful battery changes when applying the suggested bit of oil. Proper axle torqueing. Proper battery cap tightening. Fresh batteries. Either second or third battery cap version. Cap version seems to make no difference. May not link to all Android phone Garmin Connect software versions. Will probably link to Android Garmin Connect tablet software versions. Bottom line Great when it works, but reluctant to recommend this pedal. Suggest any potential purchaser read the Garmin 3 Vector forum first. Many satisfied customers. Many frustrated customers. You take you chances. Not what a pedal purchase and use experience should be.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/10/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Vector pedals, one or two

I purchased the Vector 3 Power Pedals a few months ago. For the most part I am enjoying them and the data provided. I question whether the left/right balance is correct as thy always seem to be amazingly close, even when I have focused on one side to see a difference. My suggestion would be one power pedal per bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/17/2018
by StevenNY
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Island, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
So far not a single Problem after 6 rides with 2 sets!

So far I have not encountered any of the battery issues or other issues that some users have reported. I own 2 x sets of these and have had no problems with either bike and have them synced with an Edge 520plus and Edge 1030. No problems with either. Firmware Updates are no problem with my iPhone using the Garmin app.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/14/2018
by hecbom
Competitive Racer
Whittier, Ca.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Vector 3's are an excellent platform for the serious Cyclist.

Replaced my Power Tap with the Vector 3 on my Road Bike. I also purchased the Garmin 1030 to replace my older Garmin. The combination of Vector 3 and Garmin's Edge 1030 is a powerful tool for my training. I highly recommend these platforms if you are serious about your performance metrics.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/30/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Princeton, NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Best powermeter pedals on the market

Have been using since 2018 and haven't experienced any issue so far. Very satisfied - compact and have lots of performance data. Could be much cheaper though but marketing is a tough thing, they will charge maximum what people can pay).

There were some issues right after the release (happens for all Garmin products) though, but several month later were fixed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/21/2020
by Anonymous
New Jersey, USA
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Worked perfectly

The assistance by BikeTiresDirect was great, the pedals provide accurate measurements, and works perfectly with all popular cycling platforms.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/21/2020
by John
Nashville
Overall Rating
16 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Worthless

Got the dreaded right pedal not found error after two months. Worked great until then. Did not want a single sided power meter though. All trouble shooting worked for a ride or two. However, the right pedal not found consistently comes back. This is a known issue that Garmin supposedly fixed with software updates, but I can confirm that certain units are still affected.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/28/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great Product

Very easy to use and provides great data as a training tool

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/14/2020
by Mike
DC
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great product

The Garmin Vector 3 Power Pedals function exactly as expected and are very accurate.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/29/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Redesigned and greatly improved. Excellent accuracy

I use this on my indoor smart trainer. I like the Garmin Cycling Dynamics information

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/15/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
South Carolina
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
The Second Set

This is the second set of the Garmin Vector 3 pedals. The first pedals I could not register the pedals with Garmin and after about 2 weeks the right pedal would drop out completely. Talked BTD customer service and he said send them back immediately. He even sent me a prepaid UPS label. The second set work great. They do need to be torqued properly for best results. Bike Tires Direct is one fine company to deal with.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/4/2018
by Anonymous
los angeles
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Garnin Vector 3

Happy with the service of Bike tires direct and with the performance of the product

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/2/2018
by Anonymous
huntington ny
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Great pedals with new battery door

I got the original ones shipped that people were having trouble with drop outs and crazy power readings. I knew it was a possibility when I bought them in June of 2018. So when I first got them they were terrible and essentially unusable as a power meter or cadence sensor. I contacted Garmin and it took them about a month to send me the re designed battery door. After installing the battery doors they have been great. They are the best looking power pedals on the market in my opinion and the data is on par with anything else you could purchase at this price point. My only gripe is that the battery depleted much sooner then advertised. It says 120 hours but Ive gotten more like 60 hours before the low battery indicator started giving me warnings . Ive put another 12 hours or so on them without changing the battery and they didnt die. Garmin says indicator means you have approx 20 hours left. I plan on changing them today and I will see how many hours I get out of the new ones. I have a suspension the signal drops from the old battery doors may have contributed to their diminished life span but we shall see. And if I get 80 hours out of them Im honestly okay with it the batteries are only a few bucks

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/19/2018
by jason
Vancouver BC
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Good, but battery cover could use better design

Good overall, records power and cycling Dynamics nicely with one caveat...

I had to preload the batteries so they would not rattle loose and lose connection during riding.

Other than the self induced fixed on the battery covers the pedals work fine.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 64

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]