Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Vector 3 Power Pedals

GarminVector 3 Power Pedals(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(48 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(25)
(12)
(2)
(3)
(6)
(52%)
(25%)
(4%)
(6%)
(13%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 8/2/2018
by Anonymous
huntington ny
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Great pedals with new battery door

I got the original ones shipped that people were having trouble with drop outs and crazy power readings. I knew it was a possibility when I bought them in June of 2018. So when I first got them they were terrible and essentially unusable as a power meter or cadence sensor. I contacted Garmin and it took them about a month to send me the re designed battery door. After installing the battery doors they have been great. They are the best looking power pedals on the market in my opinion and the data is on par with anything else you could purchase at this price point. My only gripe is that the battery depleted much sooner then advertised. It says 120 hours but Ive gotten more like 60 hours before the low battery indicator started giving me warnings . Ive put another 12 hours or so on them without changing the battery and they didnt die. Garmin says indicator means you have approx 20 hours left. I plan on changing them today and I will see how many hours I get out of the new ones. I have a suspension the signal drops from the old battery doors may have contributed to their diminished life span but we shall see. And if I get 80 hours out of them Im honestly okay with it the batteries are only a few bucks

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/19/2018
by jason
Vancouver BC
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Good, but battery cover could use better design

Good overall, records power and cycling Dynamics nicely with one caveat...

I had to preload the batteries so they would not rattle loose and lose connection during riding.

Other than the self induced fixed on the battery covers the pedals work fine.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/1/2018
by sfvbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
la
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Great in theory not so good in practice

Great look pedals with huge amount of data available. Bluetooth connections suck must use ant with 1030.

Seems the software on 1030 or pedals is sketchy i've spent many hour s with tech support trying to get them to work consistently. Hoping the bugs get worked out soon.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/25/2018
by A2Jimmy
Competitive Racer
Ann Arbor, MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
WAIT! These arent ready for reliable use yet

These will be great pedals someday. The first two rides on these were great. Fantastic data and analysis on Garmin Connect. Then, on ride 3, the wheels fell off. Erroneous readings, dropped signals, low battery warnings, then nothing. I spent too much time researching on line and found I wasn't the first one with these issues. I tried the fixes. I called Garmin (beware- HOLD TIMES are over an hour). They were friendly, but could not solve the problem soon enough. A new battery door is in the works and could take weeks (as of 52518) to get in my hands. I thought about it overnight and decided to return them back. i don't need $1000 pedals that don't work flawlessly. BTW - Biketiresdirect was great to work with on this, and totally understood - Thanks guys.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/25/2018
by Velobeck
Cycling Enthusiast
Tacoma, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Worth the price.

Nice to have both sides to assess performance rehabing from injury or overuse. Nice to so easily switch between bikes. Pricey (all power meters are) but worth it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/11/2018
by Jim
Cycling Enthusiast
Cary, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Incredible level of detailed power info... but...

I can't say enough good things about the Vector 3 pedals! The level of detail in the Garmin Connect phone ap is beyond belief. I had a stages power meter on my previous bike that gave me good information on one foot. Although the price is steep, the integration of the Vector pedal into the Garmin 1000 is a deciding factor. The graphical view of your power phase and other aspects is great! The ONLY bad thing is that after a couple of months of use, there were intermittent connection issues. They were tracked down to a defective battery door. This seems to be a pervasive issue which is well documented. A new door is on the way and I am confident that it will resolve the issue permanently. Be sure to check out the battery maintenance doc in Garmin support. I think a little Vaseline on the battery contacts goes a long way to making Vector perfect!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/8/2018
by mleeroof
Cycling Enthusiast
Pawleys Island, SC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Easy to use

These pedals work well. However, it took me two sets to get it right. The first set of pedals would not connect the right pedal. After hours of trouble shooting with Garmin I returned them and got a new pair of pedals that work great. Garmin's technical support is great and their customer support sent me my new pedals quickly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/2/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Minnesota
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Not ready for release

I experienced signal drops on the first ride and thought it was battery related and changed. I continued to get ocasional signal drops on future rides and then an indication the right pedal was missing and then nothing, no power readings. I should have checked with the Garmin forum, lots of issues for folks. Some have zeo problems and love them but many like me having the same experience. Garmin is working on a redesign of the battery holder as well as firmware updates, not sure why they keep shipping product with known issues but no remedy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/11/2018
by JSobel
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Typical Garmin product- loaded with problemspoor customer support

I have owned many Garmin products over the years and is as usual for the company they release products and the wait for the public to find problems and then Garmin slowly and I do mean slow,y fixes them through firmware updates. I rode the Garmin Vector 2 pedals for three years and the same thing happened with those when they came out. I was hoping this would not be the case with the Vector 3 put I was wrong. They were working fine and then there was a firmware update a few weeks go to add I guess better Bluetooth connectivity and well that was the end of my pedals. I continue to get a error message that the right pedal is missing. I followed every possible recommendation ontheGarminforum and it still did not work. I talked to customer support a week ago and they were sending me out a new battery holder. I still do not have it so I have nonfunctional power unit. It is frustrating beyond belief dealing with Garmin and their products. Oh, I doubt it is the battery holder so the next step would to give me a new set of pedals. I'm sure that will take a month.

I will never buy another Garmin product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/13/2018
by JT
Portland
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Easy installation and reliable power measurement

This is my third power measurement system and so far easily my favorite. After using the classic power to hub system, I upgraded to a Quark crankset, which I continue to use.

I bought the Garmin pedals for a second bike. The pedals install like any other pedals which make them a much easier upgrade than the cranks. They pedals also offer additional information, such as power center offset, not available with other measurement systems.

I've found the power phase information particular helpful in improving my pedal stroke and efficiency.

I've used them for about 1000 miles and haven't had to replace the batteries yet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/20/2020
by Alex
Wisconsin
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great buy!

Great purchase for anyone looking to upgrade their data collection. These really helped me on hills and being able to more accurately dial in my efforts. You will need a pedal wrench to install if you do not have one already. No issues connecting to my Garmin Edge 1000 and Garmin Connect. These will help you see where your left and right legs are in terms of equal power output, and even where on the rotation each leg is peaking it's power! I keep finding new stuff every time I use them. Worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/18/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Accurate and easy to use

Very accurate readings. Easy to use and switch among bicycles. Works well with the Garmin phone app and has a wealthh of data regarding pedalling dynamics if you buy both a left and right power measurement pedal. A great way to improve your pedalling.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/11/2019
by meronamkeithho
Competitive Racer
Ripon, CA
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
2nd pair and they still don't work

I use these to train with power for triathlon training and racing. I rely heavily on data and these rarely give me consistent functionality. The first pair failed to record power after a few months. Garmin sent me a second, newer pair as the issue had been known and identified. Second pair never works flawlessly - power disappears for long sections of ride, battery life is very weak (less than 50 hours), huge power spikes (2000 watts), and right pedal sensor constantly goes missing. The pedals are fine, the power is complete junk. I would sell these but can't in good conscience pass my problem off to someone else.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/12/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great power pedals

No issues at all with these power pedals. Work as expected and love having the data. Highly recommended for those looking to take your cycling more seriously. Would be 5/5 but they are really pricey so subtracting one star for that.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/19/2018
by Steve G
Competitive Racer
Portland, Oregon
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Great training tool!

I've been using my Vector 3 pedals for about a month. The training data is awesome and helps me hone in on my weaknesses.

After my first ride in wet conditions, the right pedal dropped out, it's easy to pull the battery and slightly pull the inside contact up so it makes a better connection. Power is the best way to train and track your performance improvement. Conditions and equipment can vary so much so power just makes more sense.

The ease of installation and ability to move pedals between bikes is very convenient.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/21/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
TX
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
User friendly, accurate, uncomplicated power pedal

Easy to install mechanically (and slightly less so) electronically. Feels good to ride. Provides accurate, useful data. Platform offset data looks questionable, but not particularly relevant to me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/19/2018
by SamP
Competitive Racer
San Francisco
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Easy install and lots of information

Combined with the Garmin 1030, these provide a lot of useful information. They install like any other pedal - super easy. So it's pretty simple to move between bikes if necessary. I've had them for a month or so, and so far, I'm pretty impressed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/19/2021
by Anonymous
Illinois
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
They work

To be honest I don't have any other power measurement devise to compare these to, all I can say is they work and add more cycling dynamics to look over.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/20/2019
Maxwelton WV
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Loved them at first

After 6 weeks my computer said my batteries were low. I switched them and couldn't get them to work

I called Garmin a d they did replace them

I still had to pay shipping both ways.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/2/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Overall Rating
So far very good

The Vectors are my first experience with power measurement. I have about 25 hours on them with only one dropout experience that I cannot determine if Vectors or unit was the source. I have changed the batteries once (520 notified me that they were low). Overall very good so far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 45

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]