Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Varia RVR315 Rearview Radar

GarminVaria RVR315 Rearview Radar(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(10 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(10)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(100%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 5/2/2021
by The Caped Crusader
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This is a game changer!

I decided to purchase a Garmin Varia RVR315 based on the positive feedback on several forums and product reviews. This is a game changer for me. I showed a friend how it works and he purchased one the next day. It certainly gives you more awareness of traffic coming up from behind you. I have some moderate hearing loss and sometimes don't hear cars coming up on me. This helps with that problem. I'm purchasing one for my wife's e-bike. I chose the RVR315 instead of the RTL515 as I don't think the RTL515's light is bright and noticeable enough. I purchased a Dinotte Quad Red tail light to use instead as it's much more noticeable and brighter. The Quad Red adds a fair amount more to the total cost but I consider it cheap insurance. Now if Garmin would make the Varia with a camera similar to the Cycliq Fly 6 with more reliability than the Fly 6, I'd buy it in a heart beat.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/10/2021
by Mike
Indianapolis, IN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I like it a lot but wish the audible beep for approaching vehicles was louder. It's a real life saver!

Often, I do solo ride rural roads with little traffic and the Varia does give a reliable visual warning on my Garmin 1030.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/25/2021
by T. Wiz
Cycling Enthusiast
Silicon Valley, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great added safety feature -- 100% accurate so far

I start my Radar when I start my Garmin Edge 830. It provides advance warning of an approaching car from behind. although no substitute for checking for cars, it provides peace of mind knowing when a car is coming. So far (approximately 1000 miles of use) it has been accurate 100%. Battery lasts for about 6 hours -- and Garmin Edge 830 alerts you to a low battery so always know when to charge. The mount is the standard Garmin mount (same as the Garmin Edge 830) -- easy on and off, but secure when on.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/3/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Didn't know what I was missing

I waffled on purchasing this for quite some time. All the reviews said how this was a game changer once they purchased it and wish they had purchased it sooner. Same for me. There's significantly better awareness of cars coming from behind, especially the "quiet" ones. I use this in conjunction with a Dinotte Quad Red tail light instead of the Garmin RTL515 as I believe the Dinotte Quad Red is much brighter and much more noticeable. Just my opinion though.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/26/2021
by TexasNightRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Great State of Texas, Houston area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Money Well Spent

Pros: Lightweight. Has worked flawlessly paired with my Wahoo Elemnt. Mount seems to be very secure. Especially useful on rural roads.

Cons: No safety tether but an aftermarket tether can be purchased/attached to the back of the unit. In heavy traffic you will receive constant warnings.

Would I purchase again? Absolutely. I now wonder how I've ridden so long without it even though I use a helmet mounted mirror. Several times the radar detected an approaching vehicle before I noticed it with my mirror.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/3/2020
by BPChicago
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Must Have!

Just picked one of these up a couple of weeks ago. Used points to knock the price down. But this is a must have item for any cyclist. Whether climbing or descending, you have awareness of cars coming behind you. It has been 100% accurate so far...the only downside i've noticed has been when two cars are too close together (tailgating), the device doesn't always catch it. But considering how much we spend on bikes and equipment, this is the most important safety add-on i've come across. Been riding in Colorado and i feel so much safer. highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/22/2020
by FlashBazbo
Cycling Enthusiast
Middle Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Flawless performance. Great product!

The RVR315 offers excellent situational awareness. It sees cars you can't see in a mirror - the one approaching from out of the sun or the second, third, fourth, etc. cars in line behind you. It tells you how many cars, how far back, and how fast they are approaching. It announces their presence once they approach within 150 yards. This radar helps you be more aware. And being more aware, you can be both more safe and more courteous to drivers. I won't ride without this pod. Never ever a false all clear. Occasionally, it will give you a false alert - either a BIG cyclist coming up behind you or a road sign oscillating in the wind. But false alerts aren't a big deal.

I previously used the Varia 510 radartaillight but, when riding alone, I always wanted a much brighter taillight than the Varia offers. (I have a Dinotte Quad Red that I use when I'm alone.) When this radar pod became available, I bought it the first day. Now, I get the benefits of Garmin's radar and the brightness of my Dinotte taillight at the same time. Best of both worlds.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/29/2021
by David H
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, MO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
It works GREAT

I use it on my seat post. It's great to not have to look over my shoulder, for cars, or listen for them. It's great on country roads!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/25/2020
by cSing
Alabama
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A Must!

Works great! Integrates with my Wahoo Elemnt seamlessly. Especially helpful as I live and ride in the country. Makes my rides infinitely safer. Should be standard on every bike sold in America! Thanks to Garmin and Wahoo for making avail across brands. Always love ordering fr BTD, never had a prob and LOVE the points!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/10/2020
by Ed
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best safety addition yet

This is amazingly useful, it is so handy to know what is behind you and how fast it is approaching. One of the best bike accessory I've ever purchased.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 56

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]