Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Varia RVR315 Rearview Radar

GarminVaria RVR315 Rearview Radar(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(43 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(41)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(95%)
(5%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 12/13/2021
by Anonymous
Visalia, CA
Overall Rating
SAFETY PLUS

Bought the Garmin Varia to aid when riding. It works great with my Garmin 530. It's nice to know that car's are approaching from the rear before you can hear them. Great out in the country on the narrow roads giving you time to make decisions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/3/2020
by BPChicago
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Must Have!

Just picked one of these up a couple of weeks ago. Used points to knock the price down. But this is a must have item for any cyclist. Whether climbing or descending, you have awareness of cars coming behind you. It has been 100% accurate so far...the only downside i've noticed has been when two cars are too close together (tailgating), the device doesn't always catch it. But considering how much we spend on bikes and equipment, this is the most important safety add-on i've come across. Been riding in Colorado and i feel so much safer. highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/27/2021
by Alfonso
Cycling Enthusiast
Rhode Island
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Garmin radar detector is a game changer for bike safety, but I wished I knew about radar + flashing light model!

Easy to install, pair to Garmin cyclocomputer. Beep clearly heard when vehicle approaches from behind @ 150 feet. Can easily follow vehicle getting closer as a while dot on right side of computer...turns green when vehicle safely passes. Will show multiple vehicles approaching...even noted a neighbor approaching stealthily on his E-Bike....

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/22/2020
by FlashBazbo
Cycling Enthusiast
Middle Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Flawless performance. Great product!

The RVR315 offers excellent situational awareness. It sees cars you can't see in a mirror - the one approaching from out of the sun or the second, third, fourth, etc. cars in line behind you. It tells you how many cars, how far back, and how fast they are approaching. It announces their presence once they approach within 150 yards. This radar helps you be more aware. And being more aware, you can be both more safe and more courteous to drivers. I won't ride without this pod. Never ever a false all clear. Occasionally, it will give you a false alert - either a BIG cyclist coming up behind you or a road sign oscillating in the wind. But false alerts aren't a big deal.

I previously used the Varia 510 radartaillight but, when riding alone, I always wanted a much brighter taillight than the Varia offers. (I have a Dinotte Quad Red that I use when I'm alone.) When this radar pod became available, I bought it the first day. Now, I get the benefits of Garmin's radar and the brightness of my Dinotte taillight at the same time. Best of both worlds.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/15/2022
by Elk Commando
Columbus, OH
Overall Rating
Eyes to the back.

Let's you know when cars are approaching and passing you from the rear. An awesome product for your safety!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/17/2021
by bill
Cycling Enthusiast
new york
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
indispensable after using this product

This radar is great as it integrates well with the 1030 plus to show traffic closing in. the alerts are sufficiently loud to provide adequate warning and the view shows the closing rate. much better than a mirror alone

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/3/2022
by Jordan
Cycling Enthusiast
S F CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Essential bike ride safety equipment

One of my essential gear for road ride. The battery last a full day approx 11 hours of riding time. It automatically connected to my Garmin computer when I them turn on.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/31/2021
by Daniel Ballester
Cycling Enthusiast
Apopka, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Safety First!

If you value your life then this is invaluable. Sense of security is hard to put a price on but when it comes to Garmin you know your also getting quality stuff. What are you waiting for?

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2021
by sleeptein
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Works as advertised

Paired instantly with Edge 530. I find it very helpful on suburban streets with a lot of background noise and my 66 yo hearing loss. Shows the number of vehicles bearing down on you.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/22/2021
by 
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great product

Really works well, but limited on twisty or roads with short rollers . Left turns are so much easier now.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/1/2021
by MrFranc
Cycling Enthusiast
San Juan, PR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Feel more confident on the road.

I bought this model because I already have a rear light. I have it pair to my Edge 520+, and it let me know of incoming traffic from behind. I feel a lot more secure when riding on the road.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/25/2020
by cSing
Alabama
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
A Must!

Works great! Integrates with my Wahoo Elemnt seamlessly. Especially helpful as I live and ride in the country. Makes my rides infinitely safer. Should be standard on every bike sold in America! Thanks to Garmin and Wahoo for making avail across brands. Always love ordering fr BTD, never had a prob and LOVE the points!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/4/2021
by Ugaparker
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Garmin varia rear view radar

This is a great tool to help a rider know if cars are approaching from behind you.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/27/2021
by Nick
Cycling Enthusiast
Langhorne PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Necessary item for all road riders

This is a must have item for all road riders. Gives ample warning of cars approaching from the rear - beats constantly checking a mirror. Never be surprised by a passing car again!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/10/2021
by Mike
Indianapolis, IN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I like it a lot but wish the audible beep for approaching vehicles was louder. It's a real life saver!

Often, I do solo ride rural roads with little traffic and the Varia does give a reliable visual warning on my Garmin 1030.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/29/2021
by David H
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, MO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
It works GREAT

I use it on my seat post. It's great to not have to look over my shoulder, for cars, or listen for them. It's great on country roads!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/24/2022
by TeeArgh
Overall Rating
Definitely helps as eyes behind

More a 3.5 star I�d say. Works well with my Wahoo, and I appreciate that the screen will show multiple cars and change from yellow to red when cars are approaching at high speeds. I�ve ridden with the Varia for about a month now, and I�ve only had two cars pass me that weren�t detected and didn�t show up. That said, often times other riders show up as cars, so this thing isn�t flawless and there is no way that I was able to research to adjust sensitivity. That said, I�d rather false alerts than missing a car completely. Do not rely on this thing to be 100% accurate and use it more as an added alert system to help be your eyes behind you, and it should do you well. It�s not a replacement for alertness and common sense.

Now, Garmin, let�s talk about the post mount on this thing, or more accurately the �security� rubber O ring and recesses on the unit. That is a garbage solution. I�ve seen friends units fall off multiple times from road chatter. For the cost, the lack of security on the fit is inexcusable. I�ve taped over mine to ensure it won�t fall off, and would strongly suggest others do the same. Otherwise, it�s a handy piece of kit.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/8/2022
by patricknd
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston Texas
Overall Rating
Loving it !!!

Works great, with quiet vehicles I get an earlier warning than my ears can give me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/6/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver WA
Overall Rating
A must for all cyclists

100% reliable radar lets you know what's coming up behind you. Can't imagine riding without it now

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/24/2021
by Worried about cars
Competitive Racer
Michigan
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Useful to enhance safety while on the bike

My first ride with this radar detector and it was extremely useful. It easily mounted to my 2013 speed concept seat post and it easily connected to my Edge 520 bike computer. Out of the few dozen cars that passed me from behind, it warned me about every car. For the Edge 520, when there is a new car approaching, there is a short beep and the outer edges of the screen turns Red. Once the car has passed, the screen goes back to normal. If there are several cars in a row, there's only the 1 beep but the outer edge of the screen remains red until all cars have cleared. I was surprised at how handy this radar is and felt safer with it. I no longer need to constantly turn my head back to check for cars and can concentrate on the road ahead.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 88

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]