Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Edge 830 MTN Bundle GPS Computer

GarminEdge 830 MTN Bundle GPS Computer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(55 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(29)
(18)
(3)
(3)
(2)
(53%)
(33%)
(5%)
(5%)
(4%)
Previous Page
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 2/9/2017
by Kbogey
Cycling Enthusiast
Surrey, BC
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nice, full featured compact unit

I really like this unit so far. It has a nice, compact size that blends nicely with the front of my bike, it picks up gps signals almost instantly and has been very reliable so far.

The mapping works well but don't buy this unit if you're big on mapping because it is simply too small. Go for the Edge 1000 instead.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 1/5/2017
by Don
southern california
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great product

I love the Edge 820. This has to be the best bike gps on the market. It's calculates everything, gives u a map of ur rides, and when ur friends get 1 u can challenge and have fun with them. I never thought my friends would get one because there so expensive but one did and now we try and beat each other's times when we're not riding together. So, If ur thinkin abt getting one, get it. U won't regret it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 9/1/2016
by Steve
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati Ohio
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Garmin seems to have got it right the first time on this one!

I was apprehensive about getting this due to Garmin's track record of having software bugs that take multiple version upgrades over a year or so to work out, however this one so far seems to be right on arrival. Mine came with version 2.4 which worked fine the first few rides. A new version was available (3.1) and I allowed the upgrade and it still works great. Zero issues. The mapping is nice and the touch screen while perhaps a little more sensitive than the 510 is not an issue for me, and it's actually bigger than the 510 while the body is smaller. Being smaller is possible due to the location of the buttons for startstop and lap being on the bottom edge, not the screen plane bottom like the 510. The location of the buttons with a KEdge mount does make it a little tighter getting to them because there isn't much room between the bar and button to stick your finger in, but you just need to bump the switch lightly so it's not an issue for me. I like the auto dimming screen too. Auto upload is nice. It will be interesting to see what IQ apps are available in the future for this. There are some interesting ones with quite advanced training metrics to use during a ride. Some are free and some you will need to pay for. Right now, very happy camper. I'll update if I have any issues as I get more use with it - right now I've had it a week and have about 200 miles over 6 rides on it so admittedly limited data.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 8/1/2019
by Babu
Cycling Enthusiast
TriStates area of lower Alabama
Overall Rating
All the info you need while riding

I use it for countryside riding and really like the pacer mode, maps, and the plethora of usual (time,speed,distance...) stuff. I like the terrain mode but dont know where I am in the screen.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 7/12/2018
by Jetdiesel
Competitive Racer
Spokane, WA
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Not up to Garmin Standards

Transitioned from Garmin Edge 510 to this 820. Hasn't been a smooth transititon. Syncing via BT to iphone is clugey and inconsistnt, syncing with Garmin Connect, much the same. Have twice satarted a ride after pulling 820 off charger, only to have it die 3 minutes into ride. Apparently when synced to BT, it may not power down, or apears to power off then doesnt fully, so continues to run down-even connected to charger! Calling Garmin service support has been a nightmarish experience as well. In the past, customer support has been GREAT, but current hold times are in the hours. They may or may not call you back with experienced support. Thank goodness for google and you tube. Unless the 820 improves, likely my last Garmin device.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 7/13/2018
by Anonymous
Bend, Oregon
Overall Rating
A great investment and very easy to use

Very user friendly,easy to download routes and the turn by turn instructions are easy to read and follow

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 1/13/2018
by DGonzales
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR
Overall Rating
11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Great route planning functions when it works, but with frustrating flaw

I use(d) the 820 Edge (and previously a 520) to plan routes on my computer using Ridewithgps and then transferring them to my garmin device. Also to log my rides by transferring data back to my computer. Unfortunately, the Garmin devices have a persistent problem communicating with PCs, which is well documented in online forums. After a while, the PC will not recognize the Garmin when it is plugged in. I returned my 520 twice ($99 each time) for replacement refurbished ones. The 820 is approximately 6 months old and I have already returned it once for a replacement. The support page has a procedure for fixing the problem, but it does not work consistently. I really like the thing when it works, but it is useless to me when it doesn't.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 12/6/2017
by Anonymous
Little Rock, AR
Overall Rating
Good but not great

I've had the 820 for about a year now and here are my thoughts.

Things it does well

Connect to a bunch of sensors flawlessly and easily, connect to phone via BT much better than my Garmin 510, group connect works well, navigation works well and workout screens are ok. Connect IQ apps for training peaks is very nice to have.

What I don't like

The touchscreen sensitivity annoys the hell out of me and if the 520 had group connect I would never have bought the 820.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 11/13/2017
by PDXjohn
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
A Significant Upgrade from the 810 well designed touch screen, super sensor connections, more intuitive menus

I'm not a techie, so the fact that I could set up on my own without instructions says a lot. I love the voice navigation via iPhone, map has section with turn-by-turn directions, courses work well and the ability to put in a destination and the app guides you there is pretty great. A must-have for anyone who wants a very usable bike toycomputer )

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 11/9/2017
by JC_NJCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
New Jersey
Overall Rating
Small with big features

This is my 4th Garmin device going back to the 705 and all of them arewere very good. This newest one (for me) tops them all with all its features and connect options including being able to connect to your phone and to other Garmin devices. Maps are also very intuitive and has never given me any issues.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 10/12/2017
by J W Smith
orlando
Overall Rating
Love it!

Great improvement over the 810. Updates are easy with Wi-Fi and so far has been flawless.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 10/2/2017
by PDX cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland Oregon
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great device

I map routes on Ride with GPS and upload them to the 820 which automatically syncs with Garmin Connect and my phone. Good battery life. Simple to use. Improved accuracy over the edge 800 I used for several years.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 8/21/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
NC
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent update

Bought 820 for my wife, liked hers so much I bought one for myself as upgrade to the great Edge 500. The 820 has more data screens, more potential data entries and is much easier to read than the 500. Map function fantastic and the smaller size than the 1000 is not a problem. My favorite function is Bluetooth connectivity, so phone calls and messages pop up automatically without digging out my phone. Very easy to set up. Touchscreen not my favorite interface, but thankfully still has onoff and startstop buttons.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 6/5/2017
by TTRIDER
Competitive Racer
Santa Fe, NM
Overall Rating
Extremely versatile

There were some minor challenges linking to a Quark Dfour power meter, particularly the cadence feature, but once paired and configured, this unit does it all. Outstanding functionality and customization is endless. I have exactly what I want on the home screen and have set subsequent screens to my needs. Training or racing, the metrics are easily downloaded and sent to myself and my coach for analysis. Available metrics are great, and in a very usable format.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 9/4/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great computer

Garmin 820 meets all my expectations,

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 76

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]