Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
In Stock & Ready To Ship — XT/Ultegra RT-MT800 Disc Rotors
Garmin Edge 830 MTN Bundle GPS Computer

GarminEdge 830 MTN Bundle GPS Computer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(54 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(28)
(18)
(3)
(3)
(2)
(52%)
(33%)
(6%)
(6%)
(4%)
Previous Page
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 1/8/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome product

Great product features. Good size, combines touchscreen functionality of garmin 1000 with the size of the 520. Rides upload immediately to StravaGarmin Connect via your phone or WiFi, you can see incoming texts and calls. Touchscreen though was abit of a setback. Abit difficult to use especially when riding. Does not perform like the smartphone screens to which so many of us have become accustomed. But overall, Im very pleased with the product, still a recommended buy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 1/12/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great product

Great product from garmin

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 1/12/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
So far loving it.

Like the graphs the way ot looks on the bike

Plus easy to navagate.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 1/8/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
08033
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice upgrade

All computers seem overpriced since upgrades are needed more often than I would like. Watch for sales. Others have complained about the sensitivity of the touch screen but it seems just right to me including when using gloves. The stop and onoff buttons are located on the bottomside to prevent accidental touches. Garmin seems to continue to lead all others in the field.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 12/1/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Everything you need and more.

Great unit. Customizing data screens is easy and can be changed mid-ride. Havent had to use navagation, but tested it out on local route and was very easy to use. Touch screen works good and I added screen protector and still works good.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 10/27/2017
by jcambridge38
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis, MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice upgrade over my Edge 500.

Used on multiple bikes. No more searching for sensors after initial set up.

Looking forward to the faster processor for maps and turns. The 500 was so slow.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 10/12/2017
by JigaWhat
Competitive Racer
Raleigh
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A decent upgrade

I use the item on the road and CX. I like the small form factor and the placement of the startstop and lap buttons. I previously had an Edge 510 so I was familiar with the touchscreen. The Edge 820 touchscreen is not as precise as I would like it but it's doable. The performance metrics are a nice feature. It pairs easy with all of my devices. So far it's been working well given the discounted price I paid.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 9/25/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best if you like touch screen

I bought this to replace my 510 since I like the touch screen. It's faster starting up with more features and a larger screen. The color navigation is nice. The battery life is poor, less than my 510. I can get 2-3 rides out of a full charge. The altimeter failed at 6 weeks and Garmin had to send me a new one. I miss the bike profiles from my 510 but the 820 had no problem handling all the sensors from 5 different bikes. Overall it's a big step up from my 510 but I think battery life could be better.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 9/18/2017
by AlexA
Cycling Enthusiast
Miami
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Almost great

This is my second Edge. I upgraded from the 800. To keep this succinct, connectivity is simply fantastic. Screen size has me squinting. The reason for the less than perfect rating is that the apps are not tested to work well. For example an excellent third party graphical training page crashes the connectivity with the Vector power meter. Yes, there are resets and work arounds, but. In summary, this device is more an Android than an iPhone.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 9/13/2017
by austein
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay Area, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Avoid until they work out the kinks

There are just to many kinks on the Garmin Edge 820. My Garmin 500 wasis great. Solid! But the 820 is finicky at best. Won't turn off 12 the time. The battery life is very short. Connections come and go, especially to the Garmin Varia Rearview Radar that I bought at the same time.

The touch screen is a pain in the '$' as well. If you like looking down and swiping 100 times, then this is the computer for you. I've tried several different settings and they all seem to work just as problematic.

I've only used the routing capabilities twice now and for the most part it was good. At times it would tell me to turn only to tell me I was off course for not going straight! Besides that quirk, it got me to my destination even if I ran off course by accident (or on purpose due to road work).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 9/11/2017
by Six-O
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great upgrade to my Edge 500

After reading and watching video reviews for the recent months after the 820's launch date, it appeared that it had some significant shortcomings for those users. However, I purchased my unit in mid-2017 and have not had the problems noted in their reviews. My unit came with software version 8.0, which may have solved their dilemmas. I find that the screen responsiveness is satisfactory for me even though it requires a more definitive touch than a smartphone. I later purchased a Garmin remote to jockey the 820's data screens easily while riding. An added benefit with the remote is that it keeps the flat glass surface free of finger and glove smudges, which helps me see the ride information on the screens. I like the 820's size. It's on the small side for mapping, which I don't use much. Heck, I don't even like big smartphones - I got an iPhone SE instead of the bigger iPhone 7 so it fits more comfortably in my pocket. So, far the group ride track rider feature is not too useful to me since older Garmins don't have that feature. It's hard to convince other riders to participate in that for my benefit alone. It may be a while before others purchase newer units such as the 820 and the 1020 for that to happen. I do use live tracking on every ride so my wife can monitor my location. My typical rides are 40-60 miles and I am away for three hours, give or take. It was a great upgrade from the Edge 500, but may not be worth it for riders with more recent Garmin units.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 8/15/2017
by Brian
Kansas
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Garmin Edge 820

Been using my new Garmin for a couple mouths now and love it. I feel comfort knowing my wife can track me on my rides from her phone.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 7/31/2017
by Hrudy
Cycling Enthusiast
Northport, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Could have been a contender

I bought this device primarily for a 400 mile cycle the erie canal ride. Since my sense of direction is so poor I figured that I would be able to get to the night's lodging if I lost track of the road markings.

However, due to touchscreen, , sensor and software issues I am considering selling this thing on Ebay.

First the touchscreen.

I rank it somewhere between horrible and unacceptable. Never again will I purchase a Garmin product with a touch screen. It is slow to react , unreliable and I still do not have the hang of the gestures needed to navigate across screens. In fact I am surprised that I have not crashed while being distracted trying to change screens with this thing on my bike. I also believe that a side effect of having a touchscreen also dims the display , like what happened with the Garmins that are used for hiking. I have no idea why Garmin doesn't offer a push button model.

Sensors- The bike cadence and speed sensors work OK on this device. However, the altitude sensor is wonky with quite a discrepancy between it and my Fenix 3 on the same source. I suspect it needs re-calibration. Another issue is that I got spikes in altitude initially. This caused the altitude display to look flat on the Connect.garmin website since it had to expand the display scale to accommodate the spikes. I had to edit the .fit file to eliminate the times where the spikes occurred.. This resultant Altitude display did scale properly but still had the annoying offset that I mentioned earlier.

The gradient displays are a disappointment , since they are slow to react and seem inaccurate.

Software- I did have the Edge 820 lock up when I was using it for navigation. I had to reset it during a bike ride.

On the positive side - I was able to navigate to where my car was when I on a bike ride, so that should count for something.

However, since I have a Fenix 3, I do not believe that this Unit's features offset the problems I've had.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 6/3/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Not as intuitive as desired for the technologically challenged.

Set up has proven difficult. Was linked to smart phone, then connection was lost. Some settings are hidden far too deep in the menus.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/28/2021
by JD
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Oregon
Overall Rating
Great ergonomics for mountain riding!

The Garmin Edge 830 mountain bundle really provides great ergonomic access to data and navigation without jeopardizing safety. Love the ability to move through screens without letting go of the bars. Pairing the sensor is a breeze and the wireless setup is clean as can be.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/15/2019
by jneitlich
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta, GA
Overall Rating
The best mountain bike computer I have every owned.

I am replacing my Edge 1000 with the Edge 830 MTB. I was concerned about the screen size and the lack of some 'soft keys,' particularly compared with the new 1030. The screen is beautiful and much clearer than the old 1000. The added mountain bike specific features (like jumping, etc) are a great bonus. Oh, and the overall NAV is much improved.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 8/23/2019
by Riko
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Rosa, CA
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Not perfect but not horrible

Well, the navigation has a mind of it's own. You know how to get from A to B but I guarantee that this navigation will take you to C and D first. One you realize you have to be smarter than the device you learn to accept its flaws....it's a tiny brain. My only recent gripe is that it's supposed to keep a list of your addresses you go to as Recent Finds. Since the 11.2 upgrade, my device no longer does that. Garmin support has not been too helpful so far. Another little annoyance is that it often will not remember to connect with cadence sensor and I have to do so manually. Like I said, tiny brain.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 1/26/2018
by J. F.
Michigan
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
How great it is!

I absolutely love my new Garmin 820. The pinpoint accuracy, all the available readings, the ease of setting it up and moving from one bike to the other, the Bluetooth and the map is great... just need to get used to a small map.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 6/29/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Easy to operate Garmin

While smaller than the 1000 it has all the features you need and easy to operate. The buttons are easy to access, touch screen works well and easy to read.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 2/9/2017
by Kbogey
Cycling Enthusiast
Surrey, BC
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nice, full featured compact unit

I really like this unit so far. It has a nice, compact size that blends nicely with the front of my bike, it picks up gps signals almost instantly and has been very reliable so far.

The mapping works well but don't buy this unit if you're big on mapping because it is simply too small. Go for the Edge 1000 instead.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 57

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]