FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Garmin Edge 830 MTN Bundle

GarminEdge 830 MTN Bundle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(81 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(51)
(21)
(5)
(2)
(2)
(63%)
(26%)
(6%)
(2%)
(2%)
Review for Garmin Edge 1030
Reviewed 5/21/2019
by ajlacombe
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati, Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Mixed Bag

With Garmin, it always seems to be a mixed bag. The display on this unit is fantastic. Large and high resolution. The rattling button design of the Edge 1000 seems to be better. The MicroUSB door design is a more firm plastic rather than the flexible rubber ones of the past that were difficult to reseat.

The button location is moronic - they are on the end of the unit that faces you and if you use Garmin's own mount you cannot easily press them. I have to contort a finger to get it between the unit and my handlebars, and then feel around. If the button were a contrasting color I could locate it more easily. Or how about putting those buttons on the side of the unit? Did they even test that feature.

The user interface is the same old Garmin. Using Magenta as the route color which is harder to see with sunglasses that block the blue part of the spectrum. You can change the route color BUT you cannot navigate with that other color - why?

GPS consistency is no better with this unit either. Everything is the same.

Grade reads in integers with no decimal places like the Edge 1000 does.

Screen sensitivity is very good and field layout are great. Readability of the display is awesome. The one things I have not tested yet is the battery life. I am going to take a long trip over Memorial Day and will see if this unit makes it past the 10 hour life that the Edge 1000 had. One issue here is that that Micro USB connector is on the end of the until with the buttons, and like the buttons this is problematic for charging while on the go. The Edge 1000 had its port on the bo9ttom so any cable could be connected. For this one, to charge the unit while mounted you HAVE to buy a 90 degree cable. I am sure they do not provide that because they would prefer you buy their external battery that mounts on the bottom of their mount. Very cool idea but at 4-5 times more expensive than an external battery, it is not worth it IMO. Any bike you are going to ride for 15-20 hours or more, is most likely going to have some kind of bag mounted on the top tube or bars to hold a battery.

I really do like this unit, but like all past Garmin GPS units, they do not seem to test their products with real users so they end up with a product that you smile when you uncover features that just work. Instead you curse the designer who put those buttons and USB port on the end of the uniit to make them very hard to use.

Sadly with all of the negatives this is probably the best unit out there if the price works for you. BTD however is the bomb to order from.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 1030
Reviewed 10/22/2018
by Eric
Daily Commuter
Queens, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
,Great Cycle Computer

Ordered this to work with a newly purchased power meter. The computer works great and tracks accurately. With Broadcast Mode it syncs with the heart rate monitor from my Garmin Forerunner watch. I love the navigation software, plus you can create your own routes with Strava if you are looking to explore a specific path. It recalculates any time you go off course to put you back on. If you connect it to your phone you can also use a live track feature and will notify emergency contacts if it detects a collision. Luckily haven't had to try the collision part, but the live tracking works great. It's a bit pricey, but you get a lot for it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 1030
Reviewed 9/10/2018
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great User Interface, But GPS seems to drift

I love the user interface and the available metrics. I have had none of the issues that have been talked about. The only issue I have is a the accuracy of the GPS, I have to use a speed sensor otherwise my speed is all over the place.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 9/21/2018
by Jesterrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Meets and exceeds expectations

I have been using my Garmin Edge 820 for about six weeks, including a trip in the Canadian Rockies. I have found the Edge 820 to be very accurate in the data that it provides (speed, distance, heart rate, elapse time, course, altitude), and very reliable. The battery life is better than my Edge 800. I do not usually answer my phone or respond to messages while I am riding, but the blue tooth connection to my smart phone is very convenient in telling me who is messaging or calling me, thus allowing me to answer or respond if I need to.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 4/18/2019
by Rollei
Cycling Enthusiast
East Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Room for improvements

Once set up properly, which took a bit of studying, the unit works fine. I like how easily the head unit is Integrated with the sensors. The software is so so in the user interface department, which is SLOW, for 2019, standard. This is really annoying, and distracting, when you are riding.

My biggest complaint has to do with the screen. It is basically as good as my Palm Pilot from about 2004! The color and resolution on the screen are not acceptable in todays standards. Garmin, for charging $400, you can do better than that.

The few times I was caught in the rain when I was riding the screen when crazy! The rain drops randomly changing my screens and settings. I guess I could have changed the touch sensitivity then but I was too busy to not cause a crash in the pace line.

My 820 is out of warranty now so I will be replacing it with one of their competitors when it dies.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 4/25/2019
by psclark2
Cycling Enthusiast
Milwaukee, WI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Upgraded from the Edge 500 and it's Worth It!

I upgraded from the Edge 500, which I've been using for years - mostly I was looking for map capability for taking off into the country to chart new territory.

This is a worthwhile investment - tons of available information, easy to program and easy to use.

The only complaint, minor as it may be, is battery life seems to be about 12 of the Edge 500. I understand the additional capabilities eat more juice, but I'm used to recharging every 12-15 ride hours...now battery is low after 6 hours of saddle time.

Other than that, it's got a great display and lots of features and options. I considered the Wahoo Elemnt Bolt, but I don't regret the decision to stick with Garmin.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 1030
Reviewed 4/5/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best cyclocomputer so far!

Easy to setup and use. Integrates easily with Varia radar rear light. Beeps and shows red lines on the sides of the screen when a car is 400 yards behind you. Love it!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 1030
Reviewed 11/8/2018
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
Montgomery, AL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
MUCH BETTER THAN THE EDGE 1000

Seems to be made well, obviously better than the Edge 1000. The charging port appears to be sturdier and in a much better location. It should be able to be charged with a remote battery charger while riding (the Edge 1000 could not).

The main improvement for me is the increased battery time. Before I got mine, my buddy had one during a 300k ride that lasted from 0630 until 2300. He said he had 30% left on his battery. This was also the last day my Edge 1000 worked. While charging it during our lunch break, and again later in the ride, the charging port broke became loose, and never worked again. My Edge 1000 lasted 1 12 years, not good!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 8/20/2018
by TC
Cycling Enthusiast
nj
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Better but still a few bugs

I may have reviewed this already but I don't see it and now I have been using it for about a month. I agree with people that say the touch screen is not something for Garmin to be proud of. It can take several taps to get it to respond. It, therefore, is not up to date in this technology. That said, it otherwise works extremely well. I am not sure it is worth the upgrade to a so-so touchpad from the button 520 model, but it is very good. The one thing to note is that the beeper (if you are using a Garmin Varia with it) is quite faint. Use the included handlebar mount and I can't hear it at all. However, use it with a 3rd party mount that is metal and open in the back and I can hear the beep every time. Another minor problem is how long it takes for the incline percent to measure correctly. Not that important but it should respond better. Overall, despite that, very happy with it. Also, there are many display options to make it better set up for you.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 1030
Reviewed 1/10/2019
by Jochen
89523
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great product

It would be hard for me to say it is a good piece, it is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 1030
Reviewed 1/7/2019
by Anonymous
Eastern Washington State
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Long Time Garmin user

Have used 520 and 820. 520 was favorite until this new model. Syncs great with iPhone, Strava. Easier to see. Looking forward to using mapping features this summer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 1030
Reviewed 12/6/2018
by Shaun Thompson
Cycling Enthusiast
Northeast Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
It will do it

Upgraded from an Edge 500. Start up and satellite acquisition is MUCH faster. Like my smartphone, this device can do more than I can ask it to do. I like the different profiles. I can have different screens for a road ride or a gravel ride or my commute. It's an investment for sure, but if you want the top of the line, you need to pay for it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 1030
Reviewed 11/16/2018
by Biking in Alabama
AL
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Outstanding

Enjoying my new bike computer. Fairly easy to learn and use. Im not one for reading directions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 1030
Reviewed 1/19/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Nice improvement over Edge 1000

Garmin continues to improve the cycle computer, and totally dominates the market for highly functional devices. The Garmin 1030 is a nice improvement over the 1000, although the 1000 was quite good. The 1030 screen is easier to read, which is a big deal for me since my eyes aren't as good as they used to be. I have to wear magnifiers to read a tablet or phone, but I can read the 1030 screen ok without glasses, even with 8 different parameters displayed on the screen.

I like the new routing algorithm which uses Strava heat maps to pick the best route. I've definitely noticed that it picks better roads.

I am now using this computer with the Garmin Vector 3 pedals on one of my bikes, and there is a lot more information available. While I don't follow a rigorous training program, the added information is helpful and inspires me to push myself a little harder.

The battery life seems somewhat better than the 1000. I've done a couple century rides since getting it and there was still plenty of juice left over when I was done even though I'm not as fast as I used to be.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 7/10/2017
by USPSTREK
Cycling Enthusiast
COLORADO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
My new 820 is just pefect for my cycling training-

Moving up from my Garmin 500 to the Garmin 820 is night and day, I only have more pros than cons since I only had it only 2 months in use, but its definitely technology in the right direction.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 7/6/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent GPS

If you're as tied into Garmin for your training needs like I am, then this is a great addition. The data and its integration with Garmin Connect and other sites is great. The only downside is the touchscreen is not that great. The 800 was better but the 800 doesn't integrate with Varia Vision

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 6/22/2017
by jimifan73
Competitive Racer
Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Display is nice, but I wish it was the size of the 800.

I had a 510 that worked fine but I wanted to upgrade. The upgrades were the color touch screen, improved maps, and a few minor software things. The display is good, but essentially the same size as what I had. IMHO the 1000 is too big and the 510 is too small. The 800 seemed to be Goldilocks, but for some reason Garmin didn't stick with it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 6/19/2017
by Old and in the way
Cycling Enthusiast
Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Just what I was looking for

I purchased the 820 to replace my 800 with map card. It is a little smaller and I like the new features like how it links to my iPhone. It came with an out front mount which was a nice touch. I like lots of data as I helps me focus on something other than how tired I am.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 5/30/2017
by Flash Bazbo
Competitive Racer
Middle Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Updated with crisper controls and more features.

I previously owned a Garmin Edge 1000. I use the computer for training rides and racing - occasionally venturing out on long exploring rides. The map on the 820, although smaller, works just as well as the 1000 ever did. Sharp resolution. And the control buttons on the 820 are much more crisp and positive. I also prefer the smaller size.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 1030
Reviewed 7/27/2018
by RAC47
Reno NV
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Larger Display Better Battery Life

I am an endurance rider-10-14 hours. Longer battery life ensures I can track my entire ride. The larger display with my aging eyes is appreciated. Tracking unfamiliar routes is a great feature.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.