Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Edge 830 MTN Bundle

GarminEdge 830 MTN Bundle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(94 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(60)
(24)
(6)
(2)
(2)
(64%)
(26%)
(6%)
(2%)
(2%)
Review for Garmin Edge 1030
Reviewed 4/5/2020
by William LBowens
Battle Creek mich
Overall Rating
Garman 1030

Garman 1030 ordered this over the phone what a awesome experience. They will be always be my go to site for anything like apparel tires clothing anything to do with bicycling Ive ordered from them several times and always had awesome experiences weather on the phone or online orders things always come second day out what an awesome site.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 830 Bundle
Reviewed 4/3/2020
by SummerBoy
Cycling Enthusiast
Western North Carolina
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Outstanding Product

It's been 10 years since I upgraded our bike computers. Our purchase of the 830 started with a separate purchase of the Varia taillight, which works with it's own sensor or pairs with the 830 and other Garmin devices. The radar capabilities of the taillight led us to the 830. The features of the 830 are awesome, and the ability to swipe between fields is super easy. It's pricey but well worth it. It has all of the features we'll need for many years to come!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 530
Reviewed 4/3/2020
by mgmoehn
Competitive Racer
Iowa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Huge upgrade from 520 - Battery life amazing

I came from being a long time 520 user and I really love the 530. I upgraded primarily because my 520 was about 4-5 years old and the battery was really bad. I do gravel events and use the gps course mapping feature a lot in those events as well as in cold temperatures. This is a battery destroyer typically but the 530 has held up very very well on 6-7 hour elasped time for gps mapping, colder weather (30-40F), power meter, bluetooth phone, and brightness dimmed to 20%, and GPS enabled. Looking beyond the extended battery life are features that go above and beyond the 520.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 830
Reviewed 3/13/2020
by Jbartlwy
southern Indiana
Overall Rating
830 over 530

I had first purchased 530 and used for the summer and was happy with it very much. But did not like the pushing buttons so much while riding. So went ahead and upgraded to the touchscreen 830 and have been very happy that I did a big improvement and to me worth the money. Even in cold weather riding with gloves screen was easy to use.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 830
Reviewed 2/27/2020
by SeaBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great upgrade from 820

My Garmin 820 battery has lost its ability to hold a charge for more than two hours. So I ordered an 830 as a replacement.

I am very pleased so far. I love how it switched from my data screen to the map screen to warn me of an upcoming turn in my course. After the turn the 830 returned to the data screen. That feature is really helpful.

Setup was a little easier than my 820 but still took about an hour to pair my existing sensors and customize the data screens. No where in the manual did it tell me how to change the front and rear gear values but I did finally figured it out. (I have Etap so the 830 will display current gears and battery life).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 830
Reviewed 2/27/2020
by SeaBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great upgrade from 820

My Garmin 820 battery has lost its ability to hold a charge for more than two hours. So I ordered an 830 as a replacement.

I am very pleased so far. I love how it switched from my data screen to the map screen to warn me of an upcoming turn in my course. After the turn the 830 returned to the data screen. That feature is really helpful.

Setup was a little easier than my 820 but still took about an hour to pair my existing sensors and customize the data screens. No where in the manual did it tell me how to change the front and rear gear values but I did finally figured it out. (I have Etap so the 830 will display current gears and battery life).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 530
Reviewed 2/13/2020
by Dan
Philadelphia
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
The Good and the Bad.

First off, Ive been using Garmin since the beginning and always loved their products. I bought the 530 with confidence (my old 820 was well used and failing) but was immediately disappointed. The GPS isnt very accurate so I ride with a wheel sensor to correct the nearly .2 of a mile I lose on every 10 miles. Nit picky? Perhaps but my 820 was accurate. Secondly, it crashes, wont power on at times (even with a fully charged battery). I had to send my first one back and get a replacement. It, too, has the same issues. I feel like Garmin didnt product test and customers are working out their flaws.

The good, when its working, its awesome. The battery lasts, realistically, 13-15hrs. The data it has the ability to collect is crazy.

If I had to do it over I wouldnt get it. I no longer race so all that data isnt something I pay too much attention to anymore and the headaches of dealing with customer service (very nice and helpful as they are) is annoying. Just my 2 cents.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 1030
Reviewed 10/22/2018
by Eric
Daily Commuter
Queens, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
,Great Cycle Computer

Ordered this to work with a newly purchased power meter. The computer works great and tracks accurately. With Broadcast Mode it syncs with the heart rate monitor from my Garmin Forerunner watch. I love the navigation software, plus you can create your own routes with Strava if you are looking to explore a specific path. It recalculates any time you go off course to put you back on. If you connect it to your phone you can also use a live track feature and will notify emergency contacts if it detects a collision. Luckily haven't had to try the collision part, but the live tracking works great. It's a bit pricey, but you get a lot for it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 9/21/2018
by Jesterrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Meets and exceeds expectations

I have been using my Garmin Edge 820 for about six weeks, including a trip in the Canadian Rockies. I have found the Edge 820 to be very accurate in the data that it provides (speed, distance, heart rate, elapse time, course, altitude), and very reliable. The battery life is better than my Edge 800. I do not usually answer my phone or respond to messages while I am riding, but the blue tooth connection to my smart phone is very convenient in telling me who is messaging or calling me, thus allowing me to answer or respond if I need to.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 1030
Reviewed 9/10/2018
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great User Interface, But GPS seems to drift

I love the user interface and the available metrics. I have had none of the issues that have been talked about. The only issue I have is a the accuracy of the GPS, I have to use a speed sensor otherwise my speed is all over the place.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 530
Reviewed 1/31/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Pennsylvania
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A very nice upgrade.

Use this mainly for road rides. The battery life is awesome.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 1030
Reviewed 12/27/2019
by Dr. M
Cycling Enthusiast
FT Lauderdale, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great cycling computer with only one flaw

A great computer which is easy to read and the screen information can be modified to the data the user wants. Easy to pair with the Garmin Varia UT800. Great feature how the light can be controlled by the unit. As well pairing a Polar chest belt HR monitor was easy and as a matter of fact works better than the Garmin HR strap. I have not needed to use the GPS maps but that seems fairly straightforward as well. All in all a great piece of technology except for one item which lowers the score to 4 vs 5 stars. If you are an I Phone user the Bluetooth pairing is sketchy. Easy to pair once you know what needs to be done but it drops the pairing and I find myself pairing it again. To Garmin credit they are aware of this issue and are very cooperative with support. The situation has markedly improved but it is still far from perfect.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 1030
Reviewed 12/28/2019
by Dr. M
Cycling Enthusiast
FT Lauderdale, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great cycling computer with only one flaw

A great computer that is easy to read and the screen information can be modified to the data the user wants. Easy to pair with the Garmin Varia UT800. A great feature of how the light can be controlled by the unit. As well as pairing a Polar chest belt HR monitor was easy and as a matter of fact, works better than the Garmin HR strap. I have not needed to use the GPS maps but that seems fairly straight forward as well. All in all a great piece of technology except for one item which lowers the score to 4 vs 5 stars. If you are an I Phone user the Bluetooth pairing is sketchy. Easy to pair once you know what needs to be done but it drops the pairing and I find myself pairing it again. To Garmin credit, they are aware of this issue and are very cooperative with support. The situation has markedly improved but it is still far from perfect.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 1030
Reviewed 11/8/2018
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
Montgomery, AL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
MUCH BETTER THAN THE EDGE 1000

Seems to be made well, obviously better than the Edge 1000. The charging port appears to be sturdier and in a much better location. It should be able to be charged with a remote battery charger while riding (the Edge 1000 could not).

The main improvement for me is the increased battery time. Before I got mine, my buddy had one during a 300k ride that lasted from 0630 until 2300. He said he had 30% left on his battery. This was also the last day my Edge 1000 worked. While charging it during our lunch break, and again later in the ride, the charging port broke became loose, and never worked again. My Edge 1000 lasted 1 12 years, not good!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 8/20/2018
by TC
Cycling Enthusiast
nj
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Better but still a few bugs

I may have reviewed this already but I don't see it and now I have been using it for about a month. I agree with people that say the touch screen is not something for Garmin to be proud of. It can take several taps to get it to respond. It, therefore, is not up to date in this technology. That said, it otherwise works extremely well. I am not sure it is worth the upgrade to a so-so touchpad from the button 520 model, but it is very good. The one thing to note is that the beeper (if you are using a Garmin Varia with it) is quite faint. Use the included handlebar mount and I can't hear it at all. However, use it with a 3rd party mount that is metal and open in the back and I can hear the beep every time. Another minor problem is how long it takes for the incline percent to measure correctly. Not that important but it should respond better. Overall, despite that, very happy with it. Also, there are many display options to make it better set up for you.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 830
Reviewed 7/1/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent in every aspect.

As in every new product there are always kinks to work out. There were several bugs in the software which were fixed in a beta release that tech support provided. A newer release was issued which I am sure corrected other problems and did not reintroduce my previous issues.

There are so many features and menu pages that requires a fairly steep learning curve. My primary interest is in downloading routes that I create in RideWithGPS which works very smoothly. Only missing feature is the ability to set the Odometer to a specific value but can be done with a ConnectIQ app that allows you to add a new field and supply a starting value.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 830
Reviewed 6/28/2019
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
PHL, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Finally a touch screen that works well!

After having used my 510 for the past 5 years and the etrex touch for the past 3, Garmin has finally figured out how to combine the best of both worlds!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 1030
Reviewed 5/21/2019
by ajlacombe
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati, Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Mixed Bag

With Garmin, it always seems to be a mixed bag. The display on this unit is fantastic. Large and high resolution. The rattling button design of the Edge 1000 seems to be better. The MicroUSB door design is a more firm plastic rather than the flexible rubber ones of the past that were difficult to reseat.

The button location is moronic - they are on the end of the unit that faces you and if you use Garmin's own mount you cannot easily press them. I have to contort a finger to get it between the unit and my handlebars, and then feel around. If the button were a contrasting color I could locate it more easily. Or how about putting those buttons on the side of the unit? Did they even test that feature.

The user interface is the same old Garmin. Using Magenta as the route color which is harder to see with sunglasses that block the blue part of the spectrum. You can change the route color BUT you cannot navigate with that other color - why?

GPS consistency is no better with this unit either. Everything is the same.

Grade reads in integers with no decimal places like the Edge 1000 does.

Screen sensitivity is very good and field layout are great. Readability of the display is awesome. The one things I have not tested yet is the battery life. I am going to take a long trip over Memorial Day and will see if this unit makes it past the 10 hour life that the Edge 1000 had. One issue here is that that Micro USB connector is on the end of the until with the buttons, and like the buttons this is problematic for charging while on the go. The Edge 1000 had its port on the bo9ttom so any cable could be connected. For this one, to charge the unit while mounted you HAVE to buy a 90 degree cable. I am sure they do not provide that because they would prefer you buy their external battery that mounts on the bottom of their mount. Very cool idea but at 4-5 times more expensive than an external battery, it is not worth it IMO. Any bike you are going to ride for 15-20 hours or more, is most likely going to have some kind of bag mounted on the top tube or bars to hold a battery.

I really do like this unit, but like all past Garmin GPS units, they do not seem to test their products with real users so they end up with a product that you smile when you uncover features that just work. Instead you curse the designer who put those buttons and USB port on the end of the uniit to make them very hard to use.

Sadly with all of the negatives this is probably the best unit out there if the price works for you. BTD however is the bomb to order from.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 1030
Reviewed 1/19/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Nice improvement over Edge 1000

Garmin continues to improve the cycle computer, and totally dominates the market for highly functional devices. The Garmin 1030 is a nice improvement over the 1000, although the 1000 was quite good. The 1030 screen is easier to read, which is a big deal for me since my eyes aren't as good as they used to be. I have to wear magnifiers to read a tablet or phone, but I can read the 1030 screen ok without glasses, even with 8 different parameters displayed on the screen.

I like the new routing algorithm which uses Strava heat maps to pick the best route. I've definitely noticed that it picks better roads.

I am now using this computer with the Garmin Vector 3 pedals on one of my bikes, and there is a lot more information available. While I don't follow a rigorous training program, the added information is helpful and inspires me to push myself a little harder.

The battery life seems somewhat better than the 1000. I've done a couple century rides since getting it and there was still plenty of juice left over when I was done even though I'm not as fast as I used to be.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 4/25/2019
by psclark2
Cycling Enthusiast
Milwaukee, WI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Upgraded from the Edge 500 and it's Worth It!

I upgraded from the Edge 500, which I've been using for years - mostly I was looking for map capability for taking off into the country to chart new territory.

This is a worthwhile investment - tons of available information, easy to program and easy to use.

The only complaint, minor as it may be, is battery life seems to be about 12 of the Edge 500. I understand the additional capabilities eat more juice, but I'm used to recharging every 12-15 ride hours...now battery is low after 6 hours of saddle time.

Other than that, it's got a great display and lots of features and options. I considered the Wahoo Elemnt Bolt, but I don't regret the decision to stick with Garmin.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 54