Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Edge 830 GPS Computer

GarminEdge 830 GPS Computer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(105 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(67)
(27)
(4)
(4)
(3)
(64%)
(26%)
(4%)
(4%)
(3%)
Reviewed 6/16/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Middle Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A good, solid computer

I bought the 830 when the Garmin sale was happening a while back. I had never owned one of these navigation computers before. I only had a simple CatEye. I decided to take the plunge into these modern times so that I could actually download and follow routes for our bike club rides instead of using a cue sheet. Boy, am I glad I did. Things are so much easier when you just have to follow the screen. The 830 has definitely impressed me so far. The navigation has always been accurate and has never led me astray. I use the 830 pretty much as a bike computer with navigation and it has performed admirably. With the speed sensor, it has been perfectly accurate for my speed and distance since I manually set it up with the actual tire circumference. It definitely has functions that I don't use: Strava, heartrate monitor, power meter, etc. but that's okay. That fact that all of those extras are built in for the folks that use them makes it a great bang for the buck.

The are a couple of things that I dislike. The first is the fact that the Garmin website manual isn't always clear on how to do things. I found several helpful hints by doing internet and forum searches and just figured some things out on my own. The second is the seemingly universal cry that the notification sounds on the 830 are virtually impossible to hear. I have hearing loss and use hearing aids but I still can't hear the sounds when riding. To make matters worse, I also bought the Varia radar unit and I couldn't hear the notifications for that either, meaning I had to look down all the time which defeats the purpose. The fix for that was that my hearing aids are paired with my phone so I downloaded the Varia app and I run that on my phone while I ride. This allows me to receive the radar notifications through my hearing aids which is what I need the most. Garmin would do well to at least add a good volume control on the unit. An even better option would be to allow the unit to pair with the hearing aids so that the phone would be unnecessary.

Aside from those two things, the unit has been a great upgrade to my riding and I don't know why I held back for so long.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/7/2022
by Defrost
NE Wisconsin
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nothing like a Garmin

This is a quality product specific to bicycling. Garmin makes some of the best aviation navigation avionics in the industry and we're talking precision instrument landing guidance that leaves nothing for error. You can see this expertise bleeding over to their line of biking GPS'. The 830 is a compact touchpad biking tool for guidance and training. It's hard to imagine they left any features out. If you want a bigger screen for guidance that will be more like your smart phone, then step up to the 1030. But, it appears the 830 does all that the 1030 but in a smaller package. Expect a learning curve.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/2/2022
by TXBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Katy, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love the Touchscreen

I've owned many Garmin devices over the years and navigating the functions / settings hierarchy with buttons mostly intuitive. The touchscreen feature on the 830 makes it that much easier. I read a lot of articles debating the incremental value of that feature since it has a higher price point. Certainly an end user decision / preference. Pairs easily with Powertap, SRAM, and Assioma Favero power meters, plus iPhone and Garmin heart rate straps. I find the safety features and training analytics useful.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/13/2020
by VeloSteve
Cycling Enthusiast
Monterey, California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Great features - almost too many

First of all I'm a tough rater. I don't give five stars unless something is nearly perfect, so don't take 4 stars as a bad sign. This is a great computer overall.

First, some positives. This computer does everything I could ask for. Strava live segments work well, though sometimes segment starts appear when I'm just passing on an adjacent road or trail. Pairing power meters and other devices is seamless. and the data quality is very good. I have the system set to upload rides automatically when I hit the stop button, and they uploads are done faster than my garage door can open. The screen may not be like a top-of-the line phone, but it's a huge upgrade from any bike computer I have had before. The customizable data screens are old news, but really useful, and easy to configure once you get through the first time.

On the negative side, Garmin's software has a few weak spots. At first the computer battery totally drained several times. This wasn't exactly a battery life problem. The computer was getting into a state where it looked off but was actually using full power. Getting the beta firmware solved this. Oddly, the improved firmware hasn't been rolled out to production, though months have passed.

Another one-time problem was updates to the GPS software. It auto-updated during a ride, causing about half of the ride to lose data. Not the end of the world, but it was disconcerting since it was only my 2nd ride or so.

Smaller issues crash detection is a nice idea, but I have triggered it falsely a couple of times, once while simply accelerating from a stop light. I'm not THAT fast. Sorry, everyone, I'm not going to crash myself intentionally to see if it works in that case. The sharp turn warnings have never been useful. The tone either comes after you have already passed the apex, or just before when it would be unsafe to look down to read the message.

This is not really a pro or con, but just be aware that some functions are several levels deep in the menu system. The touch feature is generally very good, but some things may be nearly impossible when flying down a rough road or trail.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/28/2021
by stevern
Cycling Enthusiast
Western NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent

I replaced a 5 year old Wahoo Elemnt with the 830. It works very well and has many more features. I don't use all the training tools but the navigation tools work very well. I like the ability to "pin" routes in RWGPS and move them to the Garmin by syncing without a USB cable connection. The climb pro feature is nice in the mountains. The touch screen is great, much better than pushing buttons.

I do wish the start/stop button was on the top instead of the back. That can be a clearance issue. Also the screen can be hard to read with certain glare situations. The old Wahoo was better in this regard. Steve

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/13/2021
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Fairfax, VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Much better over other competitor GPS units

I was skeptical about moving to a Garmin from my existing GPS since all of my other cycling friends are not using Garmin. After making the leap to Garmin I am very satisfied with the touch screen, the interface with Garmin Connect, reminders for hydrating, weather forecast, and ease of linking routes from other apps. At first it took some time getting used to the interface and setting it up, which would be expected for going to a new product. I do love the bluetooth interface with my Shimano di2 where I can use my shifter buttons to navigate between the different screens. So far I've ridden about 1000 miles with the unit and it has saved me with its re-routing feature whenever I get lost on a solo ride. Definitely a life saver.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/28/2021
by The Caped Crusader
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great improvement over the Edge 820

I replaced my Garmin Edge 820 with the 830. The 830 is quite an improvement over the 820. It finds sensors much, much quicker. Satellite acquisition is a whole lot better. Screen is bigger. There's just too many improvements to mention them all. The only thing I wished Garmin would do for all the Edge models is to be able to "program" the Edged pages, configurations and options from a web page which then could be uploaded directly to the Edge. This would be much simpler for the end user and an obvious feature to employ. Bur that doesn't take away from the Edge 830. The Edge 830 is a nice product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/13/2021
by Darcy
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Planning trip across country ! In my testing this will be a great tool

Have used a Garmin 500 for years and wanted to have turn by turn directions as I look at finishing my bike ride across the USA. Has all the features I can ask for love the fact that it autoloads the finished ride to Garming & Strava so easily.. Took a while to get text and phone notifications but support site had the answer!

May update this after I speed many weeks on the road with it but my test rides have proven that the battery will last on all day rides and I can turn off things easy enough to conserve battery.

Don't find this device below retail very often but was able to buy on Bike tires direct and saved $80 !!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/3/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great head unit with bonus features I was not aware of

I was an avid phone user for my cycling "computer" until a friend talked me into the 830. At purchase it was a cool toy that enable Ant+ pairing with my various sensors so things connected very easily and quickly. I have been very impressed by the cycling dynamics feature (power meter pedal integration), map rerouting, favorite Strava routes (you can star someone else's route on Strava and download that route to the 830 for mapping), and the Strava segments. Really like the real time segment popup that shows how you are doing against the KOM and/or your PR. Battery seems to last a really long time too. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/1/2021
by FuelFool
Competitive Racer
Blue Ridge Mountains, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Significant Improvement over the 820

Believe it or not, I had still been using my trusty old 500 because I so disliked the 820. It was difficult to read in bright sunlight and it constantly changed pages and settings when I dripped sweat on it no matter how I tried to tweak the settings! A friend implored me to get a new 830, assuring me that it was vastly improved over the old 820. I took his advice and must admit that he was right. Not only is the screen noticeably larger, it is also easier to read in bright sunlight. The touchscreen is way more usable and it boots up three times faster. The sweat-dripping thing is still a problem, however. I'm either going to have to quit working so hard, or reposition the unit so it is more out of the way.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/30/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta, GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Huge upgrade from 820

I have used a Garmin 820 for years and the 830 is a huge upgrade. The screen is much more responsive, the battery life is so much better and the screen is sharper. If you like the 820 you will love the 830.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/13/2021
by rstarCA
Cycling Enthusiast
CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A huge step up from the 820

I replaced an 820 and this is a huge step up - lower power GPS chip, much quicker user interface response, and better battery life. The user interface is totally different than the 820 and I still haven't figured it out, but I have a basic setup that works for my various bikes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/12/2020
by jgg
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Get the 530

I got my 830 coming off an 810. I debated long and hard between it and the 530, as the only difference is touch-screen vs buttons. And, after several months, I can say I made the wrong choice. The touch screen actually makes this less valuable than the 530. It is terrible with gloves, and their software is terrible at dealing with it. I am constantly pulling down something when a want to slide, and so on. It is just annoying. I heard the touch screen was improved, but my 810 did better.

Everything else is fine. I still can't find the compass, the menus are huge disorganized messes, but they are trying to deal with a small space and few controls, I will cut them some slack.

Get the 530. Save $100 AND get a better unit.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/13/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Peoria, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Love my Garmin Edge!

I ride my road bike with the Edge and absolutely love it. Love having routes loaded on it and love it just generally. It's really fantastic. Should have done it years ago.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/13/2020
by Jbartlwy
southern Indiana
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
830 over 530

I had first purchased 530 and used for the summer and was happy with it very much. But did not like the pushing buttons so much while riding. So went ahead and upgraded to the touchscreen 830 and have been very happy that I did a big improvement and to me worth the money. Even in cold weather riding with gloves screen was easy to use.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/27/2020
by SeaBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great upgrade from 820

My Garmin 820 battery has lost its ability to hold a charge for more than two hours. So I ordered an 830 as a replacement.

I am very pleased so far. I love how it switched from my data screen to the map screen to warn me of an upcoming turn in my course. After the turn the 830 returned to the data screen. That feature is really helpful.

Setup was a little easier than my 820 but still took about an hour to pair my existing sensors and customize the data screens. No where in the manual did it tell me how to change the front and rear gear values but I did finally figured it out. (I have Etap so the 830 will display current gears and battery life).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/20/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Ottawa On Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
It does everything advertised, works very well.

Bought this as I have a few different bikes & it makes mileage tracking easy as you just swap the computer from bike to bike. It has worked well for everything I've used it for: gps files for navigating & just general data. It's smaller than the 1030, so takes up less space on the handlebars, but has the 1030s functionality. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/15/2021
by Cecil
Competitive Racer
Minnesota
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Improvement on battery life and turn by turn

Having had the 3 other Garmin's in the past 15yrs, The 830 is by far the best for the money spent.

I love the easy download and sync to my cell phone and the turn by turn directions.

Another big improvement was the battery life, being increased to well over 12hrs when you have setting dialed in for maximum battery savings.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/9/2019
by Richard
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Paul, MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Garmin 830 is worth the upgrade, lots of great new features

I have been a garmin user for a long time. Started with the Edge 305, then the Edge 800 and now upgraded to the Edge 830. I have to say that I am quite impressed with the new features that this unit provides. In addition to the bluetooth functionality, the maps and directions are much better, plus the feature that you get a warning when there is a sharp curve or bend in the road approximately 400 feet prior to reaching it, which is very handy when riding in unfamiliar areas. Turn warnings happen earlier than with the 800 unit, I also like the climbing feature which lets you know how much of the climb remains and gives you a graphic to show the distance and number of feet yet to climb, which can be quite useful in gauging your effort. I frequently stop at coffee shops on my rides, so the bike alarm feature is a nice little addition to alert you if your bike is moved. Lastly, the feature sends out a notification to pre-selected contacts in the event of a crash or emergency is a great safety feature. On the downside it seems that the satellite connection is not as good as the previous models, if you even go under a short, open bridge the satellite connection is lost. I have even encountered this issue on tree lined streets, which is a bit annoying to see your connection lost and your speed drop to about 3 or 4 mph no matter how fast you are riding. If you are really concerned about this I would suggest getting a speed sensor with this unit. I have also had the unit freeze in the middle of a ride. It froze at 17 mph. I did a little investigative work and found that this is an issue encountered by many Garmin Edge 830 owners and seems to be a firmware issue. It is easily resolved if you hold in the power button for 10 seconds and the ride is saved, but if you are in the middle of a ride, it is once again annoying. Overall the the unit is great and I love it. I am glad I got it, but wish all the little annoying bugs had been worked out first.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/27/2019
by keithd
Cycling Enthusiast
Central California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Fantastic upgrade to my 510.

I'm a long time Garmin user (started with the 700) and have not always been thrilled with Garmin software or hardware durability. The software has gotten better of late, so wWhen my 510 died, I looked around, held my nose, and made the expensive upgrade to the 830.

I love this computer! While the form factor is nearly identical, the display is FINALLY super readable in bright sunlight and nearly as responsive as my iphone. The text notifications on the Garmin are slick and unobtrusive. There are many small features that make this feel like a modern cycling computer.

The ONE thing Garmin still need to do is provide phonecomputer setup rather than relying on the clunky setup interface on the device.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 14

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]