Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer

GarminEdge 530 GPS Computer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(116 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(77)
(32)
(4)
(1)
(2)
(66%)
(28%)
(3%)
(1%)
(2%)
Reviewed 7/19/2021
by Anonymous
So Cal high desert
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great product

Very happy with this computer. Great battery life. Impressive graphics. Big upgrade from my 520.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/9/2021
by Smytty
Ottawa
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great GPS

Easy upgrade from my old 520, automatically carried over my settings in a minute or two. Love the grit and flow ratings for MTB. Road features are excellent too - reminders to eat and drink if you want them. Overall, a great upgrade with improved battery life.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/16/2021
by fearlessphil
Cycling Enthusiast
Arkansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great cycling computer, once you get used to the confusing interface

I love all of the metrics you can get from the Edge 530. I especially like the detailed maps, turn notifications, nutrition/hydration alerts, and climbpro. The unit has a great screen that is easy read even in the bright sun. The user interface takes some getting used to. I also had trouble with routes I loaded constantly telling me to make a U-turn even though I know I am going right way.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/4/2021
by Damonpdx
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Happy I upgraded

Upgraded from Edge 130 and very happy.

Able to move seamlessly from my trainer to my road bike with different profiles. (Original edge 130 does not allow this).

Screen much larger than 130.

Love that it uploads my ride via WiFi on trainer rides. When I get home from a ride it seems I have to link via phone to Garmin Connect instead.

Haven't taken advantage of climb pro yet because I typically don't download routes.

Still wonder whether touch screen would be better, but I wear full finger gloves much of the year, so that might be problematic with touchscreen.

I did buy a silicone cover on Amazon in case I drop it as the glass is otherwise unprotected. The Garmin cover is about double the cost of others.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/16/2021
by BruceCurt
Cycling Enthusiast
Saratoga, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
One Great Upgrade

This was an upgrade from an old Edge 500 and I have to say that the difference is like night and day. The unit is so much more customizable, has many more features and color graphics. Like the 500 you can add screens and format them as you wish, but it also has modes for a road bike, a trainer or a mountain bike right out of the box. Pair it with a set of power meter pedals and you'll be overloaded with data during and after your ride. Then when you're done with your ride the 530 provides you an evaluation of your effort and provides a summary. Brilliant!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Looks great on my bike.

Very stylish. Loaded with lots of stuff I'll probably never use. I believe that Garmin is phasing out support for 500 so I decided to upgrade to the 530. I had great success with the Garmin 500. It had just the right amount of basic functions. The 530 has all the 500 has and lots more, more than I really need. I can link the 530 to my IPhone and get my ride results immediately. That I like. It's a little bigger and heavier, but it has a very nice look on the bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/8/2021
by Carey
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Love the routing and data

I've had a Garmin 500 for some time, about 5 years, which has worked just fine with no issues. But... the 530 gives me so much more, especially nice is the routing. Yet then there are the other stats, training options and status updates which are great too. And simply put, I don't mind the setup even though it takes a little time to figure out. I've even configured the Activity Profiles individually by bike (4) as well as for the specific activities such as Indoor Training, so I can break out the data more easily.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/7/2021
by BgMotor
Valencia, CA
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Very happy i upgraded over the 520!

I bought a 520 a year ago under the impression I could fully navigate. After several months of training, I finally felt my fitness was now up to actually level to download maps and explore.

I went to the Garmin site, punched in "520", said there was map for that model, so after taking my $20 I got a link.

The link didn't work.... huh. I called Garmin and found out I needed the 529 PLUS to get real (sorta) navigate.... grrrr.

At that time BTD had a sweet sake on the 530, so i went for it and so happy i did!

Just the mere fact that it does everything the 520 does but FASTER (better processor) and last literally ALL DAY LONG even while navigating and the back lighting on!

It tells me when a call comes in, tracks and reminds me to drink and eat and has a bigger screen.

The ONLY thing I'm disappointed with is it doesn't display text msg's even though it's capable (though that's an Android thing more than this unit).

One last thing. I borrowed my buddy's 830 to try out the touch screen before I decided which one i wanted (the 830 and 530 are the same, but the 830 is a touch screen). Like many have said about the 830, once the display gets wet, you're SOL getting it to respond to touch, plus all the touching makes the screen unreadable in the sun... bleh!

Go for the 530 and you'll be in Garmin bless! :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/20/2020
by RedBud Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Wichita, KS
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Easy to move from bike to bike.

I have a road profile for my road bike and another profile for my gravel bike. The unit came with two mounts and I have one on my road bike and one on my gravel bike.

The road profile includes average speed in addition to distance, time, and speed. The gravel profile adds temperature and time of day to the parameters. My only concern is that with my sunglasses prescription I don't have a reading lens and I have to limit the number of parameters displayed so they are large enough to read. Not a complaint since there is flexibility in the number of parameters and size of the boxes for the information displayed.

All in all, very pleased with the product. Now that I am wearing winter gloves, I can say that the buttons are really easy to use!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/27/2020
by VTGuy89
Cycling Enthusiast
Alpharetta, GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Works as well as I expected

My Garmin Edge 530 was easy to set up, sync with Garmin connect which syncs with MapMyRide. It is easy to read under clouds or direct sunlight. The battery lasts a long time--should be no problem for a 100 mile ride. I can see text messages coming in through phone pairing. Interesting to see the grade % on those tough climbs--although it does lag by a few yards. There are certainly more features than I have used so far. Mount is solid as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/18/2020
by Pete
Kent
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Sleep design

Been a fan of the Garmin's 500 series for quite sometime. I bought the Garmin Edge 530 to replace my aging 500. The screen is bigger and brighter than its predecessor. The new features such as turn by turn map, live strava segment, and MTB tracking (air time, ft) if you're into that sort of things.

One thing is taken out and i wish Garmin leaves it, the bike profile which tracks each bike odometer (up to 3 bikes). On 530 you can set your bike profile as eitber road or mtb.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/8/2021
by MattO.
C L E
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Quality piece of equipment

I mainly purchased this for navigational purposes, but also use it on local rides. Interface is user friendly and easy to get accustom to. Climb profile is a neat touch! Navigation has been pretty spot on. Happy with the purchase

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2020
by Pete
Kent
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Sleep design

Been a fan of the Garmin's 500 series for quite sometime. I bought the Garmin Edge 530 to replace my aging 500. The screen is bigger and brighter than its predecessor. The new features such as turn by turn map, live strava segment, and MTB tracking (air time, ft) if you're into that sort of things.

One thing is taken out and i wish Garmin leaves it, the bike profile which tracks each bike odometer (up to 3 bikes). On 530 you can set your bike profile as eitber road or mtb.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/27/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Upgrade never stops

Lots of improvement from 520. Quicker loading and connection. Longer battery life and auto reminders are great. Connects very well with my 2 powermeters, no more drops. I got my order on time. Thanks BTD.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/1/2021
by Otoman
Competitive Racer
Nashville, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Much better than 520

Great upgrade over 520 while retaining a lot of the familiar button sequences you are already used to. Big time improvement in battery life. YUUUUGGGEE battery. It's very bigly. Biggest battery ever I'm told. Color display is crisp, size is right, not too big, not too small.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/1/2021
by Tom R
Asheville, NC USA
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Garmin Edge 530: Solid!

With my 8-year old Edge 520 showing its age (battery life, location accuracy, Bluetooth consistency), BTD's daily special could not have come at a better time! After several months' use, I am still really happy with the 530's expanded functionality, ease of use, and L-O-N-G battery life.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/3/2020
by John
Elk Grove Village
Overall Rating
5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Not sure what too think

I bought this Garmin 530 thinking i was going too have routes created so not to get bored riding the same routes doesnt work too great twice I got lost with this. What did wirk great was the emergency contact sos it sends your exact location out too whoever your emergency contacts are that was pin point location of where I needed to get picked up. I do like the drunk and eat alert vert nice feature as well.

The 530 is nice provides alot if cycling stats depending on what you really want info on.

I do like it though its a little quarks though.

Test it out in short distance and experience it for yourself

Also when directions say cycleway that means sidewalk or bike trail that can be very confusing and annoying.

Experiment with it set up you ER accounts and good luck

Safe riding

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/22/2021
by JC
Competitive Racer
Ocala, Fl
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect Display

I had an old version for several years and the 530 is far superior is like day and night difference.

Display can be set up in many different ways, I don't have to wait for satellites to be found and at night the screen adjust itself too a cozy background.

I haven't fully discover all about it but so far I'm loving it, thanks Garmin.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/18/2021
by Wattaride
Washington
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Tons of functions, hard to access

Data geeks delight - unit tracks tons of data and metrics. The buttons on the side are small and difficult to press during a ride. Loading a route takes several steps and syncing to RWGPS or Strava routes is much more cumbersome than with the Wahoo Elemnt Bolt I had before.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/8/2021
by Tom Ratajczak
Asheville, NC
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great Cyclocomputer @ Great Price ... and Just-In-Time

I had been waffling on replacing my increasingly unreliable 6+ year old Edge 520. BTD had a Special Offer that I couldn't pass up! Frankly, I am still on a learning curve for the new functionalities available, but the unit (and those new features) is proving more useful than I expected. Battery life easily exceeds my needs (even for 5-6 hour weekend rides).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 45

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]