Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer

GarminEdge 530 GPS Computer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(154 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(104)
(43)
(5)
(0)
(2)
(68%)
(28%)
(3%)
(0%)
(1%)
Reviewed 11/14/2022
by David D.
Cycling Enthusiast
OC, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent GPS Unit

I've had older GPS units, this one captures satellite data quickly, and never errors. It is very easy to navigate through, has many functions I love. I have it connected to Power crankset (SRAM), wheel speed sensor, and with those I get cadence as well. I love all the data through Garmin Connect using heart rate and power, such as fitness level, freshness, estimated FTP, etc. Also easy to look at a glance. I have used the map to get me home when in areas I'm unsure of and it chose great cycling routes vs. major streets/difficult areas.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/14/2022
by CommuterCurt
Daily Commuter
Morgan Hill, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good, not perfect head unit

This is my second 530 and given the good and not so good, I still chose to buy this again. I like that it is simple to use and I get enough data to keep me happy with what it records. I mostly use it to track miles and other statistics of my daily commute. That said, it still does a nice job on century rides where you might upload a course. There are a few things that could be better. I think the integration with my Apple phone could be better. For instance, you can't reply to a simply text message with an iPhone. It also seems to struggle with uploading data through the interface. Earlier models would just work when you pushed the save button. Now I have to try a few times before it uploads. Sometimes the 530 doesn't pick up the GPS satellites without rebooting the 530. Fortunately this only happens about 1 in every 10 times I want to start a ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/23/2022
by Steve F
Saugus, MA
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Much better than the 520

This is a great computer, even better if you're upgrading from another Garmin. I was able to transfer the info from all of my sensors which is the most time consuming and aggravating part of setting up a new Garmin, greatly appreciated.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/26/2022
by WestCoastGuy
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, BC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Classic head unit

I've been using my Garmin Edge head unit since it was first released, and I recommend it to anyone that will listen. The battery life is exceptional (especially if you decide to use the battery saver mode and turn off your screen). The features are extensive, maps and navigation work great, and it easily pairs with loads of accessories and sensors. Of all the Garmin head units, I truly believe this is the best one for the money.

Sure, computers from Wahoo and Hammerhead offer some compelling competition (thats a great thing), but you can't go wrong with the Edge 530.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/21/2022
by Tim B
Cycling Enthusiast
New York
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Best Garmin Computer Yet!

I've owned several Garmin EDGE models and this is the best one I've had so far. What sets this apart from others is the shear amount of available features. Some would argue that one would never use all of the features but at this price point you get a lot of bang for your buck. One feature in particular that I love is the Climb Pro. I find it very useful to know when I am approaching a climb and how much is remaining until I get to the top. Super helpful. The live Strava Segments are cool as well. The processor speed on the 530 is incredibly fast. A notable improvement over others I've had. This makes the user experience so much better overall. If you are trying to decide between an 830 and a 530 they are essentially the same except that the 830 has a touch screen. My previous Garmin was a touch screen and I find that I am missing it's ease of use. While the buttons on the 530 function fine its just a little bit tedious to navigate the system using buttons. You will have to decide if the extra $100 is worth it to enjoy the ease of use that the touch screen on the 830 provides.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/6/2022
by ensastiga
Cycling Enthusiast
Philly
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
best MTB computer so far

This is the computer with the most MTB features out there, it comes in a small form factor and the button only interface makes it the better suited for MTB riding .

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/28/2022
by Bob W.
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Typical Garmin

Having owned many Garmin products, I can say that this device (Edge 530) is just like every other other - rock solid engineering built to last. Garmins have never let me down. HOWEVER, just like every Garmin I have owned, the documentation (both provided in the box and on-line) is HORRIBLE. If you have owned a Garmin in the past, you know what I am talking about. If this would be your first Garmin, be prepared to spend several hours BEFORE YOU USE IT ON YOUR BIKE learning all of the menu choices and button combinations. If the documentation was written by an athlete instead of a database manager, I would have given it 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/6/2021
by DaveZ
Cycling Enthusiast
Lake Tahoe
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Best Bike computer I ever owned

Great bike computer with many new functions. I really like the climbpro as you get all the etails of the climb and know how much longer you have to go in the climb. Please note that you must be following a pre-loaded course for climbpro to be enabled. Wish it would work on a new ride where I'm doing a climb for first time and don't have the course loaded in. The GPS is very accurate and works well. Several feature that have been flaky for me are the livetracker and incident detection. The livetracker sometimes notifies my contacts but not always, not sure why. I tried the test for incident detector and it does not work.

I paired my 530 with cadence/speed and HR monitor(all ant) with no problems. Recently added the Varia radar and love it as I'm notified of cars approaching from behind. All in all a great computer and well worth the price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/10/2021
by Michael
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Works well, great battery life and GPS connectivity. Does the job I need it to do

I am a denizen of the Garmin universe, having purchased two Garmin running watches, track efforts on Garmin Connect, including cycling. Purchased Garmin 530 mainly for navigation for organized gravel rides and travel. Tried using GPS on my iphone and it was less than optimal primarily due to poor reception and poor battery life. Enter Garmin 530, so far have been very happy. There is a bit of a learning curve but am now pretty familiar with downloading and creating routes with Strava or Ride with GPS and loading onto Garmin. Very easy to use, like the push button controls rather than touchscreen, battery life and GPS reception are excellent. Use almost exclusively in navigation/map mode, like that the screen tells me where I am and what roads are coming up ahead, even if i am not following a set route. Bought a second 530 for riding with my wife, now we both have downloaded routes to follow, no more arguing over directions, no worries about one of us having to wait for another or one of us rushing ahead in the wrong direction. Garmin Connect is useful to track rides and syncs with Strava. There are many other bells and whistles that seem helpful but i dont really use anything other than navigation. Solid and functional, it just works.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/24/2021
by MJGSCLA
Cycling Enthusiast
Sunnyvale, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent upgrade from 520

I decided to upgrade to the 530 when it was on sale and I am glad I did. Battery lasts longer it connects sooner. No more waiting for the satellite connection. Display is good as I can scroll through the various screens easily though I have settled on the main display with heart rate and the usual metrics. All I know is Garmin. I compared other devices my friends had and they seemed fine but I stayed with what I know and what already fit my bikes. No regrets.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/4/2021
by Vafishinpa
Competitive Racer
South East PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great GPS, NIce step up from edge 520

My bike computer for the last 5 or 6 years has been the Edge 520. LOVE that computer but the battery life had dropped dramatically in cold weather so... For Father's Day I received the Edge 530. Wow. This has all the mapping features I wanted, such as zooming in/out, and I didnt have to get the touchscreen 800 series. I ride in the rain and sweat a lot, so I WANT Buttons. The new metrics the 530 provides are great too! Heart Rate Variability, training value, etc. Most of my time is spent on a road bike but prefer mountain biking... I am still trying get the hang of the Grit and Flow scores, but the jump estimates are cool!

After using the Edge 530 for a month, I gave the 520 to a my father in law... The Edge 530 is AWESOME

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/2/2021
by jcw - ( o)==::
Daily Commuter
York, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
upgrade from the Garmin Edge 130

This was kind of a "crime of opportunity". The 530 was on sale, and I wanted to see what extra features the 530 came with.

If you started out with the Edge 130, there is a bit of a learning curve:

-some of the buttons are in different places

-some of the functions work a bit differently

-you have to choose your type of ride (road, gravel, commuting, etc.) at the beginning of the ride rather than at when you save the ride at the end

Overall, I like the Edge 530. I moved my 130 to the commuter bike, and I'll probably get another 530 for my wife when she is ready for a new one.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/19/2022
by jdodson
Cycling Enthusiast
Brentwood, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Solid Computer...

Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer: it's much less expensive than the 830 and 1030; I don't care about the bells and whistles of the other models, so for me, it's a better value...works great with the Garmin Varia RTL515 Rear-view radar/tail light too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/19/2021
by Anonymous
So Cal high desert
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great product

Very happy with this computer. Great battery life. Impressive graphics. Big upgrade from my 520.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/9/2021
by Smytty
Ottawa
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great GPS

Easy upgrade from my old 520, automatically carried over my settings in a minute or two. Love the grit and flow ratings for MTB. Road features are excellent too - reminders to eat and drink if you want them. Overall, a great upgrade with improved battery life.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/4/2021
by Damonpdx
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Happy I upgraded

Upgraded from Edge 130 and very happy.

Able to move seamlessly from my trainer to my road bike with different profiles. (Original edge 130 does not allow this).

Screen much larger than 130.

Love that it uploads my ride via WiFi on trainer rides. When I get home from a ride it seems I have to link via phone to Garmin Connect instead.

Haven't taken advantage of climb pro yet because I typically don't download routes.

Still wonder whether touch screen would be better, but I wear full finger gloves much of the year, so that might be problematic with touchscreen.

I did buy a silicone cover on Amazon in case I drop it as the glass is otherwise unprotected. The Garmin cover is about double the cost of others.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/16/2021
by BruceCurt
Cycling Enthusiast
Saratoga, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
One Great Upgrade

This was an upgrade from an old Edge 500 and I have to say that the difference is like night and day. The unit is so much more customizable, has many more features and color graphics. Like the 500 you can add screens and format them as you wish, but it also has modes for a road bike, a trainer or a mountain bike right out of the box. Pair it with a set of power meter pedals and you'll be overloaded with data during and after your ride. Then when you're done with your ride the 530 provides you an evaluation of your effort and provides a summary. Brilliant!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/8/2022
by Eric
RICHMOND
Overall Rating
So far so good.

Works great, I will be adding a heart rate monitor soon. That will be followed by a power meter soon after. Hopefully it all works out but as of now, its great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/8/2021
by Carey
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Love the routing and data

I've had a Garmin 500 for some time, about 5 years, which has worked just fine with no issues. But... the 530 gives me so much more, especially nice is the routing. Yet then there are the other stats, training options and status updates which are great too. And simply put, I don't mind the setup even though it takes a little time to figure out. I've even configured the Activity Profiles individually by bike (4) as well as for the specific activities such as Indoor Training, so I can break out the data more easily.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Looks great on my bike.

Very stylish. Loaded with lots of stuff I'll probably never use. I believe that Garmin is phasing out support for 500 so I decided to upgrade to the 530. I had great success with the Garmin 500. It had just the right amount of basic functions. The 530 has all the 500 has and lots more, more than I really need. I can link the 530 to my IPhone and get my ride results immediately. That I like. It's a little bigger and heavier, but it has a very nice look on the bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 46

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]