Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
AVOID SHIPPING DELAYS & SHORTAGES THIS HOLIDAY SEASON - SHOP NOW!
Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer

GarminEdge 530 GPS Computer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(133 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(88)
(35)
(7)
(1)
(2)
(66%)
(26%)
(5%)
(1%)
(2%)
Reviewed 9/6/2021
by DaveZ
Cycling Enthusiast
Lake Tahoe
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best Bike computer I ever owned

Great bike computer with many new functions. I really like the climbpro as you get all the etails of the climb and know how much longer you have to go in the climb. Please note that you must be following a pre-loaded course for climbpro to be enabled. Wish it would work on a new ride where I'm doing a climb for first time and don't have the course loaded in. The GPS is very accurate and works well. Several feature that have been flaky for me are the livetracker and incident detection. The livetracker sometimes notifies my contacts but not always, not sure why. I tried the test for incident detector and it does not work.

I paired my 530 with cadence/speed and HR monitor(all ant) with no problems. Recently added the Varia radar and love it as I'm notified of cars approaching from behind. All in all a great computer and well worth the price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/10/2021
by Michael
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Works well, great battery life and GPS connectivity. Does the job I need it to do

I am a denizen of the Garmin universe, having purchased two Garmin running watches, track efforts on Garmin Connect, including cycling. Purchased Garmin 530 mainly for navigation for organized gravel rides and travel. Tried using GPS on my iphone and it was less than optimal primarily due to poor reception and poor battery life. Enter Garmin 530, so far have been very happy. There is a bit of a learning curve but am now pretty familiar with downloading and creating routes with Strava or Ride with GPS and loading onto Garmin. Very easy to use, like the push button controls rather than touchscreen, battery life and GPS reception are excellent. Use almost exclusively in navigation/map mode, like that the screen tells me where I am and what roads are coming up ahead, even if i am not following a set route. Bought a second 530 for riding with my wife, now we both have downloaded routes to follow, no more arguing over directions, no worries about one of us having to wait for another or one of us rushing ahead in the wrong direction. Garmin Connect is useful to track rides and syncs with Strava. There are many other bells and whistles that seem helpful but i dont really use anything other than navigation. Solid and functional, it just works.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/24/2021
by MJGSCLA
Cycling Enthusiast
Sunnyvale, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent upgrade from 520

I decided to upgrade to the 530 when it was on sale and I am glad I did. Battery lasts longer it connects sooner. No more waiting for the satellite connection. Display is good as I can scroll through the various screens easily though I have settled on the main display with heart rate and the usual metrics. All I know is Garmin. I compared other devices my friends had and they seemed fine but I stayed with what I know and what already fit my bikes. No regrets.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/4/2021
by Vafishinpa
Competitive Racer
South East PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great GPS, NIce step up from edge 520

My bike computer for the last 5 or 6 years has been the Edge 520. LOVE that computer but the battery life had dropped dramatically in cold weather so... For Father's Day I received the Edge 530. Wow. This has all the mapping features I wanted, such as zooming in/out, and I didnt have to get the touchscreen 800 series. I ride in the rain and sweat a lot, so I WANT Buttons. The new metrics the 530 provides are great too! Heart Rate Variability, training value, etc. Most of my time is spent on a road bike but prefer mountain biking... I am still trying get the hang of the Grit and Flow scores, but the jump estimates are cool!

After using the Edge 530 for a month, I gave the 520 to a my father in law... The Edge 530 is AWESOME

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/19/2021
by Anonymous
So Cal high desert
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great product

Very happy with this computer. Great battery life. Impressive graphics. Big upgrade from my 520.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/2/2021
by jcw - ( o)==::
Daily Commuter
York, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
upgrade from the Garmin Edge 130

This was kind of a "crime of opportunity". The 530 was on sale, and I wanted to see what extra features the 530 came with.

If you started out with the Edge 130, there is a bit of a learning curve:

-some of the buttons are in different places

-some of the functions work a bit differently

-you have to choose your type of ride (road, gravel, commuting, etc.) at the beginning of the ride rather than at when you save the ride at the end

Overall, I like the Edge 530. I moved my 130 to the commuter bike, and I'll probably get another 530 for my wife when she is ready for a new one.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/9/2021
by Smytty
Ottawa
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great GPS

Easy upgrade from my old 520, automatically carried over my settings in a minute or two. Love the grit and flow ratings for MTB. Road features are excellent too - reminders to eat and drink if you want them. Overall, a great upgrade with improved battery life.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/4/2021
by Damonpdx
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Happy I upgraded

Upgraded from Edge 130 and very happy.

Able to move seamlessly from my trainer to my road bike with different profiles. (Original edge 130 does not allow this).

Screen much larger than 130.

Love that it uploads my ride via WiFi on trainer rides. When I get home from a ride it seems I have to link via phone to Garmin Connect instead.

Haven't taken advantage of climb pro yet because I typically don't download routes.

Still wonder whether touch screen would be better, but I wear full finger gloves much of the year, so that might be problematic with touchscreen.

I did buy a silicone cover on Amazon in case I drop it as the glass is otherwise unprotected. The Garmin cover is about double the cost of others.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/16/2021
by BruceCurt
Cycling Enthusiast
Saratoga, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
One Great Upgrade

This was an upgrade from an old Edge 500 and I have to say that the difference is like night and day. The unit is so much more customizable, has many more features and color graphics. Like the 500 you can add screens and format them as you wish, but it also has modes for a road bike, a trainer or a mountain bike right out of the box. Pair it with a set of power meter pedals and you'll be overloaded with data during and after your ride. Then when you're done with your ride the 530 provides you an evaluation of your effort and provides a summary. Brilliant!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/17/2021
by TwoStateStick
Cycling Enthusiast
FL OH Snowbird
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Wish the display was easier to read

Good bike computer, I like that it gets brighter when I ride a dark trail but the normal display on a sunny day with dark sunglasses on is difficult for an experienced (67 years old) rider to see all of the values. Will remove some data and try larger fonts I guess. Overall good value, battery life and product performance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/8/2021
by Carey
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Love the routing and data

I've had a Garmin 500 for some time, about 5 years, which has worked just fine with no issues. But... the 530 gives me so much more, especially nice is the routing. Yet then there are the other stats, training options and status updates which are great too. And simply put, I don't mind the setup even though it takes a little time to figure out. I've even configured the Activity Profiles individually by bike (4) as well as for the specific activities such as Indoor Training, so I can break out the data more easily.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Looks great on my bike.

Very stylish. Loaded with lots of stuff I'll probably never use. I believe that Garmin is phasing out support for 500 so I decided to upgrade to the 530. I had great success with the Garmin 500. It had just the right amount of basic functions. The 530 has all the 500 has and lots more, more than I really need. I can link the 530 to my IPhone and get my ride results immediately. That I like. It's a little bigger and heavier, but it has a very nice look on the bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/11/2021
Cycling Enthusiast
New Jersey
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Awesome Bike Computer

I use my Garmin 530 on my road bike and indoor trainer.......I upgraded from a 130 and love the larger screen

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/20/2021
by Bryan
Midwest
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
An amazing upgrade to the edge 820

This is the best cycling computer I have used to date. The battery life is phenomenal. The boot time is faster than I can open Strava. I can upload my rides from zwift so it can calculate my training load. I used the edge 820 prior to this and the upgrade is well worth the price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/13/2021
by spruce
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Works fine, good battery life but too many buttons

Upgraded from a 5+ year old model. Battery life and satellite acquisition is great, and maps have been useful when trying some new routes on the fly as well as doing some "asynchronous group rides" with planned routes. Garmin needs to work on the interface...too many buttons on the device and too many clicks to do the basics.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/27/2021
by GJH
Cycling Enthusiast
Palm Harbor, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
great product

I bought this as a replacement for the Garmin Edge 520. Very happy with the choice

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/7/2021
by BgMotor
Valencia, CA
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Very happy i upgraded over the 520!

I bought a 520 a year ago under the impression I could fully navigate. After several months of training, I finally felt my fitness was now up to actually level to download maps and explore.

I went to the Garmin site, punched in "520", said there was map for that model, so after taking my $20 I got a link.

The link didn't work.... huh. I called Garmin and found out I needed the 529 PLUS to get real (sorta) navigate.... grrrr.

At that time BTD had a sweet sake on the 530, so i went for it and so happy i did!

Just the mere fact that it does everything the 520 does but FASTER (better processor) and last literally ALL DAY LONG even while navigating and the back lighting on!

It tells me when a call comes in, tracks and reminds me to drink and eat and has a bigger screen.

The ONLY thing I'm disappointed with is it doesn't display text msg's even though it's capable (though that's an Android thing more than this unit).

One last thing. I borrowed my buddy's 830 to try out the touch screen before I decided which one i wanted (the 830 and 530 are the same, but the 830 is a touch screen). Like many have said about the 830, once the display gets wet, you're SOL getting it to respond to touch, plus all the touching makes the screen unreadable in the sun... bleh!

Go for the 530 and you'll be in Garmin bless! :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/16/2021
by fearlessphil
Cycling Enthusiast
Arkansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great cycling computer, once you get used to the confusing interface

I love all of the metrics you can get from the Edge 530. I especially like the detailed maps, turn notifications, nutrition/hydration alerts, and climbpro. The unit has a great screen that is easy read even in the bright sun. The user interface takes some getting used to. I also had trouble with routes I loaded constantly telling me to make a U-turn even though I know I am going right way.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/20/2020
by RedBud Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Wichita, KS
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Easy to move from bike to bike.

I have a road profile for my road bike and another profile for my gravel bike. The unit came with two mounts and I have one on my road bike and one on my gravel bike.

The road profile includes average speed in addition to distance, time, and speed. The gravel profile adds temperature and time of day to the parameters. My only concern is that with my sunglasses prescription I don't have a reading lens and I have to limit the number of parameters displayed so they are large enough to read. Not a complaint since there is flexibility in the number of parameters and size of the boxes for the information displayed.

All in all, very pleased with the product. Now that I am wearing winter gloves, I can say that the buttons are really easy to use!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/27/2020
by VTGuy89
Cycling Enthusiast
Alpharetta, GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Works as well as I expected

My Garmin Edge 530 was easy to set up, sync with Garmin connect which syncs with MapMyRide. It is easy to read under clouds or direct sunlight. The battery lasts a long time--should be no problem for a 100 mile ride. I can see text messages coming in through phone pairing. Interesting to see the grade % on those tough climbs--although it does lag by a few yards. There are certainly more features than I have used so far. Mount is solid as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 75

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]