Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer

GarminEdge 530 GPS Computer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(147 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(100)
(40)
(5)
(0)
(2)
(68%)
(27%)
(3%)
(0%)
(1%)
Reviewed 5/26/2022
by WestCoastGuy
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, BC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Classic head unit

I've been using my Garmin Edge head unit since it was first released, and I recommend it to anyone that will listen. The battery life is exceptional (especially if you decide to use the battery saver mode and turn off your screen). The features are extensive, maps and navigation work great, and it easily pairs with loads of accessories and sensors. Of all the Garmin head units, I truly believe this is the best one for the money.

Sure, computers from Wahoo and Hammerhead offer some compelling competition (thats a great thing), but you can't go wrong with the Edge 530.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/21/2022
by Tim B
Cycling Enthusiast
New York
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Best Garmin Computer Yet!

I've owned several Garmin EDGE models and this is the best one I've had so far. What sets this apart from others is the shear amount of available features. Some would argue that one would never use all of the features but at this price point you get a lot of bang for your buck. One feature in particular that I love is the Climb Pro. I find it very useful to know when I am approaching a climb and how much is remaining until I get to the top. Super helpful. The live Strava Segments are cool as well. The processor speed on the 530 is incredibly fast. A notable improvement over others I've had. This makes the user experience so much better overall. If you are trying to decide between an 830 and a 530 they are essentially the same except that the 830 has a touch screen. My previous Garmin was a touch screen and I find that I am missing it's ease of use. While the buttons on the 530 function fine its just a little bit tedious to navigate the system using buttons. You will have to decide if the extra $100 is worth it to enjoy the ease of use that the touch screen on the 830 provides.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/19/2022
by jdodson
Cycling Enthusiast
Brentwood, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Solid Computer...

Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer: it's much less expensive than the 830 and 1030; I don't care about the bells and whistles of the other models, so for me, it's a better value...works great with the Garmin Varia RTL515 Rear-view radar/tail light too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/28/2022
by Bob W.
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Typical Garmin

Having owned many Garmin products, I can say that this device (Edge 530) is just like every other other - rock solid engineering built to last. Garmins have never let me down. HOWEVER, just like every Garmin I have owned, the documentation (both provided in the box and on-line) is HORRIBLE. If you have owned a Garmin in the past, you know what I am talking about. If this would be your first Garmin, be prepared to spend several hours BEFORE YOU USE IT ON YOUR BIKE learning all of the menu choices and button combinations. If the documentation was written by an athlete instead of a database manager, I would have given it 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/6/2021
by DaveZ
Cycling Enthusiast
Lake Tahoe
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Best Bike computer I ever owned

Great bike computer with many new functions. I really like the climbpro as you get all the etails of the climb and know how much longer you have to go in the climb. Please note that you must be following a pre-loaded course for climbpro to be enabled. Wish it would work on a new ride where I'm doing a climb for first time and don't have the course loaded in. The GPS is very accurate and works well. Several feature that have been flaky for me are the livetracker and incident detection. The livetracker sometimes notifies my contacts but not always, not sure why. I tried the test for incident detector and it does not work.

I paired my 530 with cadence/speed and HR monitor(all ant) with no problems. Recently added the Varia radar and love it as I'm notified of cars approaching from behind. All in all a great computer and well worth the price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/10/2021
by Michael
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Works well, great battery life and GPS connectivity. Does the job I need it to do

I am a denizen of the Garmin universe, having purchased two Garmin running watches, track efforts on Garmin Connect, including cycling. Purchased Garmin 530 mainly for navigation for organized gravel rides and travel. Tried using GPS on my iphone and it was less than optimal primarily due to poor reception and poor battery life. Enter Garmin 530, so far have been very happy. There is a bit of a learning curve but am now pretty familiar with downloading and creating routes with Strava or Ride with GPS and loading onto Garmin. Very easy to use, like the push button controls rather than touchscreen, battery life and GPS reception are excellent. Use almost exclusively in navigation/map mode, like that the screen tells me where I am and what roads are coming up ahead, even if i am not following a set route. Bought a second 530 for riding with my wife, now we both have downloaded routes to follow, no more arguing over directions, no worries about one of us having to wait for another or one of us rushing ahead in the wrong direction. Garmin Connect is useful to track rides and syncs with Strava. There are many other bells and whistles that seem helpful but i dont really use anything other than navigation. Solid and functional, it just works.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/24/2021
by MJGSCLA
Cycling Enthusiast
Sunnyvale, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent upgrade from 520

I decided to upgrade to the 530 when it was on sale and I am glad I did. Battery lasts longer it connects sooner. No more waiting for the satellite connection. Display is good as I can scroll through the various screens easily though I have settled on the main display with heart rate and the usual metrics. All I know is Garmin. I compared other devices my friends had and they seemed fine but I stayed with what I know and what already fit my bikes. No regrets.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/4/2021
by Vafishinpa
Competitive Racer
South East PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great GPS, NIce step up from edge 520

My bike computer for the last 5 or 6 years has been the Edge 520. LOVE that computer but the battery life had dropped dramatically in cold weather so... For Father's Day I received the Edge 530. Wow. This has all the mapping features I wanted, such as zooming in/out, and I didnt have to get the touchscreen 800 series. I ride in the rain and sweat a lot, so I WANT Buttons. The new metrics the 530 provides are great too! Heart Rate Variability, training value, etc. Most of my time is spent on a road bike but prefer mountain biking... I am still trying get the hang of the Grit and Flow scores, but the jump estimates are cool!

After using the Edge 530 for a month, I gave the 520 to a my father in law... The Edge 530 is AWESOME

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/2/2021
by jcw - ( o)==::
Daily Commuter
York, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
upgrade from the Garmin Edge 130

This was kind of a "crime of opportunity". The 530 was on sale, and I wanted to see what extra features the 530 came with.

If you started out with the Edge 130, there is a bit of a learning curve:

-some of the buttons are in different places

-some of the functions work a bit differently

-you have to choose your type of ride (road, gravel, commuting, etc.) at the beginning of the ride rather than at when you save the ride at the end

Overall, I like the Edge 530. I moved my 130 to the commuter bike, and I'll probably get another 530 for my wife when she is ready for a new one.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/19/2021
by Anonymous
So Cal high desert
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great product

Very happy with this computer. Great battery life. Impressive graphics. Big upgrade from my 520.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/9/2021
by Smytty
Ottawa
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great GPS

Easy upgrade from my old 520, automatically carried over my settings in a minute or two. Love the grit and flow ratings for MTB. Road features are excellent too - reminders to eat and drink if you want them. Overall, a great upgrade with improved battery life.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/5/2022
by Eric Hine
Competitive Racer
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
This is an amazing computer and I would totally buy it again?

This is an amazing computer I would highly recommend it to anyone from everyday commuters to World Tour pro cyclists. One of my favorite things about this computer is the navigation features and how easy it is to use. It will give you turn by turn directions and read aloud the directions. I think everyone needs one of these because of how easy it is to use.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/4/2021
by Damonpdx
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Happy I upgraded

Upgraded from Edge 130 and very happy.

Able to move seamlessly from my trainer to my road bike with different profiles. (Original edge 130 does not allow this).

Screen much larger than 130.

Love that it uploads my ride via WiFi on trainer rides. When I get home from a ride it seems I have to link via phone to Garmin Connect instead.

Haven't taken advantage of climb pro yet because I typically don't download routes.

Still wonder whether touch screen would be better, but I wear full finger gloves much of the year, so that might be problematic with touchscreen.

I did buy a silicone cover on Amazon in case I drop it as the glass is otherwise unprotected. The Garmin cover is about double the cost of others.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/16/2021
by BruceCurt
Cycling Enthusiast
Saratoga, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
One Great Upgrade

This was an upgrade from an old Edge 500 and I have to say that the difference is like night and day. The unit is so much more customizable, has many more features and color graphics. Like the 500 you can add screens and format them as you wish, but it also has modes for a road bike, a trainer or a mountain bike right out of the box. Pair it with a set of power meter pedals and you'll be overloaded with data during and after your ride. Then when you're done with your ride the 530 provides you an evaluation of your effort and provides a summary. Brilliant!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/17/2022
by RivBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Riverside CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Hands down I would not ride with out itIIII

This will track anything you want in a workout, it has lots of buttons and whistles......But I bought it for back/Hearing issues.

With The EDGE 530 is connected to the VARIA RT515 I can track the traffic Behind me. This is exactly why I bought it and its AWESOME! I would not ride without it . I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/8/2021
by Carey
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Love the routing and data

I've had a Garmin 500 for some time, about 5 years, which has worked just fine with no issues. But... the 530 gives me so much more, especially nice is the routing. Yet then there are the other stats, training options and status updates which are great too. And simply put, I don't mind the setup even though it takes a little time to figure out. I've even configured the Activity Profiles individually by bike (4) as well as for the specific activities such as Indoor Training, so I can break out the data more easily.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Looks great on my bike.

Very stylish. Loaded with lots of stuff I'll probably never use. I believe that Garmin is phasing out support for 500 so I decided to upgrade to the 530. I had great success with the Garmin 500. It had just the right amount of basic functions. The 530 has all the 500 has and lots more, more than I really need. I can link the 530 to my IPhone and get my ride results immediately. That I like. It's a little bigger and heavier, but it has a very nice look on the bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/7/2021
by BgMotor
Valencia, CA
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Very happy i upgraded over the 520!

I bought a 520 a year ago under the impression I could fully navigate. After several months of training, I finally felt my fitness was now up to actually level to download maps and explore.

I went to the Garmin site, punched in "520", said there was map for that model, so after taking my $20 I got a link.

The link didn't work.... huh. I called Garmin and found out I needed the 529 PLUS to get real (sorta) navigate.... grrrr.

At that time BTD had a sweet sake on the 530, so i went for it and so happy i did!

Just the mere fact that it does everything the 520 does but FASTER (better processor) and last literally ALL DAY LONG even while navigating and the back lighting on!

It tells me when a call comes in, tracks and reminds me to drink and eat and has a bigger screen.

The ONLY thing I'm disappointed with is it doesn't display text msg's even though it's capable (though that's an Android thing more than this unit).

One last thing. I borrowed my buddy's 830 to try out the touch screen before I decided which one i wanted (the 830 and 530 are the same, but the 830 is a touch screen). Like many have said about the 830, once the display gets wet, you're SOL getting it to respond to touch, plus all the touching makes the screen unreadable in the sun... bleh!

Go for the 530 and you'll be in Garmin bless! :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2021
by sleeptein
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Does what it says

Full retail price a little painful for me, but this does what it says it will. Supplied mounting hardware works, the screen is visible and informative, and it quickly pairs with the Varia radar unit and my Vivoactive 3 watch (for heart rate). That said, I find the side buttons difficult to operate, and it took me a while to figure out how to navigate all the different display options (still learning).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/20/2020
by RedBud Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Wichita, KS
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Easy to move from bike to bike.

I have a road profile for my road bike and another profile for my gravel bike. The unit came with two mounts and I have one on my road bike and one on my gravel bike.

The road profile includes average speed in addition to distance, time, and speed. The gravel profile adds temperature and time of day to the parameters. My only concern is that with my sunglasses prescription I don't have a reading lens and I have to limit the number of parameters displayed so they are large enough to read. Not a complaint since there is flexibility in the number of parameters and size of the boxes for the information displayed.

All in all, very pleased with the product. Now that I am wearing winter gloves, I can say that the buttons are really easy to use!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 90

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]