Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Edge 530

GarminEdge 530(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(103 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(68)
(28)
(4)
(1)
(2)
(66%)
(27%)
(4%)
(1%)
(2%)
Reviewed 4/5/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Looks great on my bike.

Very stylish. Loaded with lots of stuff I'll probably never use. I believe that Garmin is phasing out support for 500 so I decided to upgrade to the 530. I had great success with the Garmin 500. It had just the right amount of basic functions. The 530 has all the 500 has and lots more, more than I really need. I can link the 530 to my IPhone and get my ride results immediately. That I like. It's a little bigger and heavier, but it has a very nice look on the bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/8/2021
by Carey
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love the routing and data

I've had a Garmin 500 for some time, about 5 years, which has worked just fine with no issues. But... the 530 gives me so much more, especially nice is the routing. Yet then there are the other stats, training options and status updates which are great too. And simply put, I don't mind the setup even though it takes a little time to figure out. I've even configured the Activity Profiles individually by bike (4) as well as for the specific activities such as Indoor Training, so I can break out the data more easily.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/8/2021
by MattO.
C L E
Overall Rating
Quality piece of equipment

I mainly purchased this for navigational purposes, but also use it on local rides. Interface is user friendly and easy to get accustom to. Climb profile is a neat touch! Navigation has been pretty spot on. Happy with the purchase

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/7/2021
by BgMotor
Valencia, CA
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very happy i upgraded over the 520!

I bought a 520 a year ago under the impression I could fully navigate. After several months of training, I finally felt my fitness was now up to actually level to download maps and explore.

I went to the Garmin site, punched in "520", said there was map for that model, so after taking my $20 I got a link.

The link didn't work.... huh. I called Garmin and found out I needed the 529 PLUS to get real (sorta) navigate.... grrrr.

At that time BTD had a sweet sake on the 530, so i went for it and so happy i did!

Just the mere fact that it does everything the 520 does but FASTER (better processor) and last literally ALL DAY LONG even while navigating and the back lighting on!

It tells me when a call comes in, tracks and reminds me to drink and eat and has a bigger screen.

The ONLY thing I'm disappointed with is it doesn't display text msg's even though it's capable (though that's an Android thing more than this unit).

One last thing. I borrowed my buddy's 830 to try out the touch screen before I decided which one i wanted (the 830 and 530 are the same, but the 830 is a touch screen). Like many have said about the 830, once the display gets wet, you're SOL getting it to respond to touch, plus all the touching makes the screen unreadable in the sun... bleh!

Go for the 530 and you'll be in Garmin bless! :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/27/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Upgrade never stops

Lots of improvement from 520. Quicker loading and connection. Longer battery life and auto reminders are great. Connects very well with my 2 powermeters, no more drops. I got my order on time. Thanks BTD.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/20/2020
by RedBud Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Wichita, KS
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Easy to move from bike to bike.

I have a road profile for my road bike and another profile for my gravel bike. The unit came with two mounts and I have one on my road bike and one on my gravel bike.

The road profile includes average speed in addition to distance, time, and speed. The gravel profile adds temperature and time of day to the parameters. My only concern is that with my sunglasses prescription I don't have a reading lens and I have to limit the number of parameters displayed so they are large enough to read. Not a complaint since there is flexibility in the number of parameters and size of the boxes for the information displayed.

All in all, very pleased with the product. Now that I am wearing winter gloves, I can say that the buttons are really easy to use!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/27/2020
by VTGuy89
Cycling Enthusiast
Alpharetta, GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Works as well as I expected

My Garmin Edge 530 was easy to set up, sync with Garmin connect which syncs with MapMyRide. It is easy to read under clouds or direct sunlight. The battery lasts a long time--should be no problem for a 100 mile ride. I can see text messages coming in through phone pairing. Interesting to see the grade % on those tough climbs--although it does lag by a few yards. There are certainly more features than I have used so far. Mount is solid as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/18/2020
by Pete
Kent
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Sleep design

Been a fan of the Garmin's 500 series for quite sometime. I bought the Garmin Edge 530 to replace my aging 500. The screen is bigger and brighter than its predecessor. The new features such as turn by turn map, live strava segment, and MTB tracking (air time, ft) if you're into that sort of things.

One thing is taken out and i wish Garmin leaves it, the bike profile which tracks each bike odometer (up to 3 bikes). On 530 you can set your bike profile as eitber road or mtb.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/1/2021
by Tom R
Asheville, NC USA
Overall Rating
Garmin Edge 530: Solid!

With my 8-year old Edge 520 showing its age (battery life, location accuracy, Bluetooth consistency), BTD's daily special could not have come at a better time! After several months' use, I am still really happy with the 530's expanded functionality, ease of use, and L-O-N-G battery life.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/1/2021
by Otoman
Competitive Racer
Nashville, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Much better than 520

Great upgrade over 520 while retaining a lot of the familiar button sequences you are already used to. Big time improvement in battery life. YUUUUGGGEE battery. It's very bigly. Biggest battery ever I'm told. Color display is crisp, size is right, not too big, not too small.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2020
by Pete
Kent
Overall Rating
Sleep design

Been a fan of the Garmin's 500 series for quite sometime. I bought the Garmin Edge 530 to replace my aging 500. The screen is bigger and brighter than its predecessor. The new features such as turn by turn map, live strava segment, and MTB tracking (air time, ft) if you're into that sort of things.

One thing is taken out and i wish Garmin leaves it, the bike profile which tracks each bike odometer (up to 3 bikes). On 530 you can set your bike profile as eitber road or mtb.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/22/2021
by JC
Competitive Racer
Ocala, Fl
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Perfect Display

I had an old version for several years and the 530 is far superior is like day and night difference.

Display can be set up in many different ways, I don't have to wait for satellites to be found and at night the screen adjust itself too a cozy background.

I haven't fully discover all about it but so far I'm loving it, thanks Garmin.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/18/2021
by Wattaride
Washington
Overall Rating
Tons of functions, hard to access

Data geeks delight - unit tracks tons of data and metrics. The buttons on the side are small and difficult to press during a ride. Loading a route takes several steps and syncing to RWGPS or Strava routes is much more cumbersome than with the Wahoo Elemnt Bolt I had before.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/8/2021
by Tom Ratajczak
Asheville, NC
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Cyclocomputer @ Great Price ... and Just-In-Time

I had been waffling on replacing my increasingly unreliable 6+ year old Edge 520. BTD had a Special Offer that I couldn't pass up! Frankly, I am still on a learning curve for the new functionalities available, but the unit (and those new features) is proving more useful than I expected. Battery life easily exceeds my needs (even for 5-6 hour weekend rides).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/7/2021
by Jjl
Greenville, SC
Overall Rating
Works as expected. No issues thus far.

Been using a Garmin smart activity watch for years. The cyclometer offers so much more. Very convenient to add road maps and now trailforks. The button interface can be a bit of a learning curve if not use to Garmin interface. Linking phone was easy and seems to be very reliable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/3/2020
by John
Elk Grove Village
Overall Rating
4 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Not sure what too think

I bought this Garmin 530 thinking i was going too have routes created so not to get bored riding the same routes doesnt work too great twice I got lost with this. What did wirk great was the emergency contact sos it sends your exact location out too whoever your emergency contacts are that was pin point location of where I needed to get picked up. I do like the drunk and eat alert vert nice feature as well.

The 530 is nice provides alot if cycling stats depending on what you really want info on.

I do like it though its a little quarks though.

Test it out in short distance and experience it for yourself

Also when directions say cycleway that means sidewalk or bike trail that can be very confusing and annoying.

Experiment with it set up you ER accounts and good luck

Safe riding

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/15/2021
by Mark
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange County, CA.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This unit has a longer lasting battery that my 520 edge plus. That is what I wanted.

I am using this 530 edge on my training rides using the power meter and the lap controls to see my specific results.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/22/2020
by Tom
Cycling Enthusiast
Saco, Me.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great cycling computer

I had a Garmin Edge 520 for a couple of years with no issues. Although I was very happy with the 520, I decided to upgrade the the Garmin Edge 530. I really like the functionality and accuracy of this product. The stats and functions of the 530 are very impressive with a larger screen. Excellent quality product!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/2/2019
by Tom J
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
A worthy upgrade from an Edge 500

I've had a edge 500 for a long time, and it was finally falling apart. I was hesitant going forward because the 500 worked so well, and I was concerned that a non LCD screen would wash out in bright sunlight while I was wearing my polarized riding glasses. But the 500 case finally started to disintegrate (literally, I could see the circuit board inside), so it was time.

The details

1. Unit finds the satellites much faster and can hold them when under tree cover better than the 500.

2. Wireless syncing works great. I don't even have to wake the unit up, just throw it on the shelf in the garage with my other riding gear after a ride and it automatically syncs. Now if it could only automatically charge too......

3. The screen is quite readable in bright sunlight, even with the sunglasses.

4. Metrics like 'grade' seem much more stable (the 500 wouldn't do well on very steep grades...15%....probably because I was not moving fast enough).

5. The new metrics, like 'load' and 'grit' and level of aerobic and anaerobic effort are kinda fun. Not sure if they are accurate, but they seem fairly stable (ie, rides of similar effort give similar numbers). Are they needed....no.... but it's fun. There is a 'flow' metric that seems useless to me so far but maybe that will change over time.

So far I have found nothing that is significantly worse on the 530 relative to the 500. It does take a bit more time to learn (more buttons) and customize, but once you are past that it is an upgrade.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/11/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Some bugs as expected but overall nice upgrade from Edge 520 - Bluetooth needs work

I had been using an Edge 520 and upgraded to the 530 as my battery life was starting to decline and the 530 has a few interesting features that the 520 didn't.

The turn notification is much nicer. The screen switches to the map and shows exactly which way the route goes. It also is notifying when and where it should. The 520 was always a little late giving the turn notices, as if it always thought I was a few seconds behind where I actually was.

The Di2 integration is better, letting me set the chainring sizes for the unconventional setup on my tandem,

I like the smart hydration notifications and I've been drinking a lot more during rides on hot days while using that feature.

I like the climb feature that shows me the distance, vertical, and average grade on a climb, but the algorithm needs some work. Some of the climbs it detects are no bigger or harder than climbs it doesn't detect. On some climbs it stops before the very top, and on others it will include a descent and then maybe 20 more feet of climbing where it would have made more sense to call the peak before the descent the end of the climb.

I've had a few unexpected reboots and glitches, but I expect that from any new Garmin product while they work out the kinks. Two issues I'm having for now First, the bluetooth just won't stay connected to my phone. I have to open the Garmin app to get it to connect. That makes the emergency notifications and SMS notifications useless. My 520 didn't have this issue, so I don't think the problem is on the phone side. Second if I turn off the computer at a rest stop while navigating it will lose the 'Distance to Course Point' and the turn-by-turn list. It will still show each turn when I get to it however. So after I leave the rest stop it will just show the distance to next course point as the distance to the finish. I have to stop the route navigation and re-start it to get it working correctly again. I generally don't turn it off now at rest stops due to this issue, and luckily the battery life is really good, so I can do 2 or 3 rides of 40 or 50 miles without recharging.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 90

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]