Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Edge 530

GarminEdge 530(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(69 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(45)
(18)
(3)
(1)
(2)
(65%)
(26%)
(4%)
(1%)
(3%)
Reviewed 7/3/2020
by Anonymous
st. louis
Overall Rating
Excellent! Great Product!

I love the 530! I had an old 500 and it was time to upgrade. Love the larger screen and the mapping capability. Very easy to use and much easier to read.

Decided to go with this one vs the 830 because I thought the extra price for really just the touch screen was a bit much. I have not regretted not having the tough screen.

Would definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/3/2020
by John
Elk Grove Village
Overall Rating
Not sure what too think

I bought this Garmin 530 thinking i was going too have routes created so not to get bored riding the same routes doesnt work too great twice I got lost with this. What did wirk great was the emergency contact sos it sends your exact location out too whoever your emergency contacts are that was pin point location of where I needed to get picked up. I do like the drunk and eat alert vert nice feature as well.

The 530 is nice provides alot if cycling stats depending on what you really want info on.

I do like it though its a little quarks though.

Test it out in short distance and experience it for yourself

Also when directions say cycleway that means sidewalk or bike trail that can be very confusing and annoying.

Experiment with it set up you ER accounts and good luck

Safe riding

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/24/2020
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
San Diego
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great, except

It works well, has the screens I need, and is fairly easy to personalize, but don't buy if connecting to your iPhone is important

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/3/2020
by mgmoehn
Competitive Racer
Iowa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Huge upgrade from 520 - Battery life amazing

I came from being a long time 520 user and I really love the 530. I upgraded primarily because my 520 was about 4-5 years old and the battery was really bad. I do gravel events and use the gps course mapping feature a lot in those events as well as in cold temperatures. This is a battery destroyer typically but the 530 has held up very very well on 6-7 hour elasped time for gps mapping, colder weather (30-40F), power meter, bluetooth phone, and brightness dimmed to 20%, and GPS enabled. Looking beyond the extended battery life are features that go above and beyond the 520.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/2/2019
by Tom J
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A worthy upgrade from an Edge 500

I've had a edge 500 for a long time, and it was finally falling apart. I was hesitant going forward because the 500 worked so well, and I was concerned that a non LCD screen would wash out in bright sunlight while I was wearing my polarized riding glasses. But the 500 case finally started to disintegrate (literally, I could see the circuit board inside), so it was time.

The details

1. Unit finds the satellites much faster and can hold them when under tree cover better than the 500.

2. Wireless syncing works great. I don't even have to wake the unit up, just throw it on the shelf in the garage with my other riding gear after a ride and it automatically syncs. Now if it could only automatically charge too......

3. The screen is quite readable in bright sunlight, even with the sunglasses.

4. Metrics like 'grade' seem much more stable (the 500 wouldn't do well on very steep grades...15%....probably because I was not moving fast enough).

5. The new metrics, like 'load' and 'grit' and level of aerobic and anaerobic effort are kinda fun. Not sure if they are accurate, but they seem fairly stable (ie, rides of similar effort give similar numbers). Are they needed....no.... but it's fun. There is a 'flow' metric that seems useless to me so far but maybe that will change over time.

So far I have found nothing that is significantly worse on the 530 relative to the 500. It does take a bit more time to learn (more buttons) and customize, but once you are past that it is an upgrade.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/11/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Some bugs as expected but overall nice upgrade from Edge 520 - Bluetooth needs work

I had been using an Edge 520 and upgraded to the 530 as my battery life was starting to decline and the 530 has a few interesting features that the 520 didn't.

The turn notification is much nicer. The screen switches to the map and shows exactly which way the route goes. It also is notifying when and where it should. The 520 was always a little late giving the turn notices, as if it always thought I was a few seconds behind where I actually was.

The Di2 integration is better, letting me set the chainring sizes for the unconventional setup on my tandem,

I like the smart hydration notifications and I've been drinking a lot more during rides on hot days while using that feature.

I like the climb feature that shows me the distance, vertical, and average grade on a climb, but the algorithm needs some work. Some of the climbs it detects are no bigger or harder than climbs it doesn't detect. On some climbs it stops before the very top, and on others it will include a descent and then maybe 20 more feet of climbing where it would have made more sense to call the peak before the descent the end of the climb.

I've had a few unexpected reboots and glitches, but I expect that from any new Garmin product while they work out the kinks. Two issues I'm having for now First, the bluetooth just won't stay connected to my phone. I have to open the Garmin app to get it to connect. That makes the emergency notifications and SMS notifications useless. My 520 didn't have this issue, so I don't think the problem is on the phone side. Second if I turn off the computer at a rest stop while navigating it will lose the 'Distance to Course Point' and the turn-by-turn list. It will still show each turn when I get to it however. So after I leave the rest stop it will just show the distance to next course point as the distance to the finish. I have to stop the route navigation and re-start it to get it working correctly again. I generally don't turn it off now at rest stops due to this issue, and luckily the battery life is really good, so I can do 2 or 3 rides of 40 or 50 miles without recharging.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/13/2020
by Dan
Philadelphia
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
The Good and the Bad.

First off, Ive been using Garmin since the beginning and always loved their products. I bought the 530 with confidence (my old 820 was well used and failing) but was immediately disappointed. The GPS isnt very accurate so I ride with a wheel sensor to correct the nearly .2 of a mile I lose on every 10 miles. Nit picky? Perhaps but my 820 was accurate. Secondly, it crashes, wont power on at times (even with a fully charged battery). I had to send my first one back and get a replacement. It, too, has the same issues. I feel like Garmin didnt product test and customers are working out their flaws.

The good, when its working, its awesome. The battery lasts, realistically, 13-15hrs. The data it has the ability to collect is crazy.

If I had to do it over I wouldnt get it. I no longer race so all that data isnt something I pay too much attention to anymore and the headaches of dealing with customer service (very nice and helpful as they are) is annoying. Just my 2 cents.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/22/2019
by Ben tobey
Gresham OR
Overall Rating
Very happy

Sweet computer! Switched from an Edge Explore to this 530. Big plus, rec'd enough credit to get the speed sensor 2 (saves distance if computer putts out - 300hrs!!). Out front mount is solid, buttons are clicky and snappy. My only gripe is some minor 1st release software hiccups. It was logging me moving and stopping, constantly setting off collision detection. It froze up on initial setup too, but both issues have subsided with sensors connected and out on the road. Very solid, highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/31/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Pennsylvania
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
A very nice upgrade.

Use this mainly for road rides. The battery life is awesome.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/22/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SC, NC, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
They don't have the bugs out of this one yet!!

When if works, it's great. When you can't get the timer to turn off, it's frustrating. The button (switches) are about the quality that you would expect on a $5 Chinese toy. Battery life is GREAT! Garmin has a great product idea with the Edge 530, but a very poor execution when it comes to design details and production. I sent the unit back to Garmin.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
Reviewed 8/6/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Nice

Have enjoyed this very much for better feedback.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
Reviewed 8/6/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Garmin works

Id like to give it 4 1/2 stars. The only issue was that my usb plug cover on the back has never shut properly and always flips open when I put it into the mount. Might be an issue in the future in the rain.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
Reviewed 8/1/2020
by Charlie
Florida Keys
Overall Rating
Excellent unit

Great unit. Works flawlessly and syncs to smartphone easily. Easy to read face even when not lit. Buttons are small but so is this unit. Excellent cycling feedback with the Garmin Connect app.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
Reviewed 11/23/2018
by Long Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Victorville, Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Magnificent Technology

The one caveat I had with my 520 Plus was a horrible time pairing and synch-ing when I first got it. I almost returned it to BTD, but then, mysteriously, I got a half dozen updates from Android and Garmin and Garmin Connect started talking properly to Strava & RWGPS and I was in LOVE.

My wife paid for half of the cost as she wanted to know where I was if I needed rescue and LiveTrack does just that. (so do free phone apps, but I don't like relying on my phone for everything, I like a backup) I haven't used GroupTrack, but my local bike group does, and it's great if riding with another rider who has different skills or a different fitness level.

I went back to my Edge 305 last week because my 520 Plus was doing an hour map update, and it felt like I was going back to the stone ages. I love the way the new Garmins works flawlessly with my cell, but doesn't depend on it working for anything critical. I also wanted a color screen, so, in the end, I decided against the Wahoo. I seldom use the mapping of the Plus, but when I need it I'm extremely thankful I have it. We have a lot of roads that curve back around on themselves here, as well as paved roads that suddenly turn into dirt. Good maps are a god-sent.

I got mine here at BTD, but with a bunch of discounts, so about $50 less after watching prices on the Wahoo for over 6 months that wouldn't budge. In the end the mapping features of the Plus, and color screen, were exactly what I was holding out for and am very happy with my purchase.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
Reviewed 10/1/2018
by  Vince
washington DC
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
It takes a little getting used to

Im new to Garmin GPS units and reading the history on them the new 520 Puls seemed to be a good place to jump in. Pretty decent tech for the rapidly falling price. The data and screen are great, more than I know what to do with. The Garmin Connect App is pretty basic, seems you need Strava and other third party apps to get more value out of the GPS data. Uploading routes is still clunky having to plug your device into a laptop but its pretty solid once you get it in the device. All and all its a cool toy, we arent totally there yet with GPS cycling computers but its cheaper than ever to try it out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
Reviewed 3/25/2020
by Jim Imezgon
Cycling Enthusiast
Knoxville, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Worth the money and a well thought out bike computer

Road cycling is my preferred use. I would suggest anyone using this to download the manual. It was very well done in explaining the functions through the various menus. A few minor things were missed, but definitely not a deal breaker. The various data screens can be customized nicely to your preferences of what is important to you to see for each type of activity (type of riding). From the Connect store many addons can be installed so you would be hard pressed not to make this computer personalized. Pairing a Bluetooth ear piece is nice as it will give you periodic stats as you ride along with info on in-coming calls, etc. , too. The navigation map is really done well giving you detailed turn-by-turn directions with uploaded courses. When paired with a Bluetooth ear piece, you'll get audio on directions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
Reviewed 9/26/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent upgrade from Garmin 520 - navigation, screen size and clarity great!

Physically not much larger than Garmin 520.

Better Battery life, map on the device, clarity and size of characters, Speed of booting up, ease of use. Setup - connected my 530 to Garmin Connect and it sucked down most of my screen settings, saving setup time.

meh Track of where i've been on the map is very hard to see on the map.. maybe a setting somewhere? 520 map is black and white.. so pretty easy, though the map itself on the 530 is much better than on the 520.

If you have a bit more money, buy the 830 .. map is the same, but touch screen helps navigate the map itself, slide left and right, etc..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
Reviewed 9/5/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Littleton, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great product, great price

Bought this unit on sale from BikeTiresDirect as my old GPS watch measuring method was cutting out too often with gaps in my trips. Great product, but make sure you install all the updates before using it the first time! I had several strange issues because I thought I was fully patched and wasn't. So even after Garmin says there are no updates, unplug it, reboot, and plug it back in several times. Once fully patched, everything worked brilliantly. Easy to use, clear display, accurate, and mounted stably even on bumpy gravel bike rides. I highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
Reviewed 8/2/2019
by GG
Cycling Enthusiast
Foot hills in northern CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great computer. Easy to use,more accurate, no wires to run , and nothing to put on your rims.

There is nothing that I dont like. I use this on my road bike and it goes on and off with ease. Also comes with a rechargeable plugin cable. This computer will last for several rides before it needs to be recharged.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
Reviewed 7/11/2019
by Mike G.
Cycling Enthusiast
Dysartsville, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Better than my old Edge

My decided to upgrade my old Edge which still works fine but I wanted an upgrade that would communicate via Bluetooth. I have used it for a couple hundred miles and I have been happy. The device connects very quickly to GPS better than any of my other Garmin devices. It also connects very quick to my phone using Bluetooth. The navigation is a toy that I do not really need but works fine. If you have a slow internet connection, initial setup takes some time and patience.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 01