Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Edge 530

GarminEdge 530(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(86 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(56)
(24)
(3)
(1)
(2)
(65%)
(28%)
(3%)
(1%)
(2%)
Reviewed 11/20/2020
by RedBud Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Wichita, KS
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Easy to move from bike to bike.

I have a road profile for my road bike and another profile for my gravel bike. The unit came with two mounts and I have one on my road bike and one on my gravel bike.

The road profile includes average speed in addition to distance, time, and speed. The gravel profile adds temperature and time of day to the parameters. My only concern is that with my sunglasses prescription I don't have a reading lens and I have to limit the number of parameters displayed so they are large enough to read. Not a complaint since there is flexibility in the number of parameters and size of the boxes for the information displayed.

All in all, very pleased with the product. Now that I am wearing winter gloves, I can say that the buttons are really easy to use!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/27/2020
by VTGuy89
Cycling Enthusiast
Alpharetta, GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Works as well as I expected

My Garmin Edge 530 was easy to set up, sync with Garmin connect which syncs with MapMyRide. It is easy to read under clouds or direct sunlight. The battery lasts a long time--should be no problem for a 100 mile ride. I can see text messages coming in through phone pairing. Interesting to see the grade % on those tough climbs--although it does lag by a few yards. There are certainly more features than I have used so far. Mount is solid as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/18/2020
by Pete
Kent
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Sleep design

Been a fan of the Garmin's 500 series for quite sometime. I bought the Garmin Edge 530 to replace my aging 500. The screen is bigger and brighter than its predecessor. The new features such as turn by turn map, live strava segment, and MTB tracking (air time, ft) if you're into that sort of things.

One thing is taken out and i wish Garmin leaves it, the bike profile which tracks each bike odometer (up to 3 bikes). On 530 you can set your bike profile as eitber road or mtb.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2020
by Pete
Kent
Overall Rating
Sleep design

Been a fan of the Garmin's 500 series for quite sometime. I bought the Garmin Edge 530 to replace my aging 500. The screen is bigger and brighter than its predecessor. The new features such as turn by turn map, live strava segment, and MTB tracking (air time, ft) if you're into that sort of things.

One thing is taken out and i wish Garmin leaves it, the bike profile which tracks each bike odometer (up to 3 bikes). On 530 you can set your bike profile as eitber road or mtb.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/22/2020
by Tom
Cycling Enthusiast
Saco, Me.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great cycling computer

I had a Garmin Edge 520 for a couple of years with no issues. Although I was very happy with the 520, I decided to upgrade the the Garmin Edge 530. I really like the functionality and accuracy of this product. The stats and functions of the 530 are very impressive with a larger screen. Excellent quality product!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/3/2020
by John
Elk Grove Village
Overall Rating
2 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Not sure what too think

I bought this Garmin 530 thinking i was going too have routes created so not to get bored riding the same routes doesnt work too great twice I got lost with this. What did wirk great was the emergency contact sos it sends your exact location out too whoever your emergency contacts are that was pin point location of where I needed to get picked up. I do like the drunk and eat alert vert nice feature as well.

The 530 is nice provides alot if cycling stats depending on what you really want info on.

I do like it though its a little quarks though.

Test it out in short distance and experience it for yourself

Also when directions say cycleway that means sidewalk or bike trail that can be very confusing and annoying.

Experiment with it set up you ER accounts and good luck

Safe riding

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/3/2020
by Anonymous
st. louis
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent! Great Product!

I love the 530! I had an old 500 and it was time to upgrade. Love the larger screen and the mapping capability. Very easy to use and much easier to read.

Decided to go with this one vs the 830 because I thought the extra price for really just the touch screen was a bit much. I have not regretted not having the tough screen.

Would definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/2/2019
by Tom J
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
A worthy upgrade from an Edge 500

I've had a edge 500 for a long time, and it was finally falling apart. I was hesitant going forward because the 500 worked so well, and I was concerned that a non LCD screen would wash out in bright sunlight while I was wearing my polarized riding glasses. But the 500 case finally started to disintegrate (literally, I could see the circuit board inside), so it was time.

The details

1. Unit finds the satellites much faster and can hold them when under tree cover better than the 500.

2. Wireless syncing works great. I don't even have to wake the unit up, just throw it on the shelf in the garage with my other riding gear after a ride and it automatically syncs. Now if it could only automatically charge too......

3. The screen is quite readable in bright sunlight, even with the sunglasses.

4. Metrics like 'grade' seem much more stable (the 500 wouldn't do well on very steep grades...15%....probably because I was not moving fast enough).

5. The new metrics, like 'load' and 'grit' and level of aerobic and anaerobic effort are kinda fun. Not sure if they are accurate, but they seem fairly stable (ie, rides of similar effort give similar numbers). Are they needed....no.... but it's fun. There is a 'flow' metric that seems useless to me so far but maybe that will change over time.

So far I have found nothing that is significantly worse on the 530 relative to the 500. It does take a bit more time to learn (more buttons) and customize, but once you are past that it is an upgrade.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/11/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Some bugs as expected but overall nice upgrade from Edge 520 - Bluetooth needs work

I had been using an Edge 520 and upgraded to the 530 as my battery life was starting to decline and the 530 has a few interesting features that the 520 didn't.

The turn notification is much nicer. The screen switches to the map and shows exactly which way the route goes. It also is notifying when and where it should. The 520 was always a little late giving the turn notices, as if it always thought I was a few seconds behind where I actually was.

The Di2 integration is better, letting me set the chainring sizes for the unconventional setup on my tandem,

I like the smart hydration notifications and I've been drinking a lot more during rides on hot days while using that feature.

I like the climb feature that shows me the distance, vertical, and average grade on a climb, but the algorithm needs some work. Some of the climbs it detects are no bigger or harder than climbs it doesn't detect. On some climbs it stops before the very top, and on others it will include a descent and then maybe 20 more feet of climbing where it would have made more sense to call the peak before the descent the end of the climb.

I've had a few unexpected reboots and glitches, but I expect that from any new Garmin product while they work out the kinks. Two issues I'm having for now First, the bluetooth just won't stay connected to my phone. I have to open the Garmin app to get it to connect. That makes the emergency notifications and SMS notifications useless. My 520 didn't have this issue, so I don't think the problem is on the phone side. Second if I turn off the computer at a rest stop while navigating it will lose the 'Distance to Course Point' and the turn-by-turn list. It will still show each turn when I get to it however. So after I leave the rest stop it will just show the distance to next course point as the distance to the finish. I have to stop the route navigation and re-start it to get it working correctly again. I generally don't turn it off now at rest stops due to this issue, and luckily the battery life is really good, so I can do 2 or 3 rides of 40 or 50 miles without recharging.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/22/2019
by Ben tobey
Gresham OR
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very happy

Sweet computer! Switched from an Edge Explore to this 530. Big plus, rec'd enough credit to get the speed sensor 2 (saves distance if computer putts out - 300hrs!!). Out front mount is solid, buttons are clicky and snappy. My only gripe is some minor 1st release software hiccups. It was logging me moving and stopping, constantly setting off collision detection. It froze up on initial setup too, but both issues have subsided with sensors connected and out on the road. Very solid, highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/24/2020
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
San Diego
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great, except

It works well, has the screens I need, and is fairly easy to personalize, but don't buy if connecting to your iPhone is important

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/3/2020
by mgmoehn
Competitive Racer
Iowa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Huge upgrade from 520 - Battery life amazing

I came from being a long time 520 user and I really love the 530. I upgraded primarily because my 520 was about 4-5 years old and the battery was really bad. I do gravel events and use the gps course mapping feature a lot in those events as well as in cold temperatures. This is a battery destroyer typically but the 530 has held up very very well on 6-7 hour elasped time for gps mapping, colder weather (30-40F), power meter, bluetooth phone, and brightness dimmed to 20%, and GPS enabled. Looking beyond the extended battery life are features that go above and beyond the 520.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/13/2020
by Dan
Philadelphia
Overall Rating
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
The Good and the Bad.

First off, Ive been using Garmin since the beginning and always loved their products. I bought the 530 with confidence (my old 820 was well used and failing) but was immediately disappointed. The GPS isnt very accurate so I ride with a wheel sensor to correct the nearly .2 of a mile I lose on every 10 miles. Nit picky? Perhaps but my 820 was accurate. Secondly, it crashes, wont power on at times (even with a fully charged battery). I had to send my first one back and get a replacement. It, too, has the same issues. I feel like Garmin didnt product test and customers are working out their flaws.

The good, when its working, its awesome. The battery lasts, realistically, 13-15hrs. The data it has the ability to collect is crazy.

If I had to do it over I wouldnt get it. I no longer race so all that data isnt something I pay too much attention to anymore and the headaches of dealing with customer service (very nice and helpful as they are) is annoying. Just my 2 cents.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/31/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Pennsylvania
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
A very nice upgrade.

Use this mainly for road rides. The battery life is awesome.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/22/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SC, NC, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
They don't have the bugs out of this one yet!!

When if works, it's great. When you can't get the timer to turn off, it's frustrating. The button (switches) are about the quality that you would expect on a $5 Chinese toy. Battery life is GREAT! Garmin has a great product idea with the Edge 530, but a very poor execution when it comes to design details and production. I sent the unit back to Garmin.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
Reviewed 11/5/2020
by Retired HPD Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Henderson, NV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
AWESOME, FANTASTIC, GREAT! I LOVE IT.

The Garmin Edge 520 Plus has been the most important item I have purchased for my bicycle. I ride around 16 miles a day, and I has improved my skill and speed on the bike. I love that it keeps a record of every ride so that I can track my progress. I also like that I can read incoming texts while riding.

Unfortunately I had an accident one dark morning on a isolated bike trail, where I dropped a chain, cracked my carbon fiber frame, and injured my right knee. When I came to a stop the Garmin sent an emergency text to my contacts, alerting them I had an accident, and before I could get up from the ground I received a phone call from one of them. It was really reassuring that I could get help if I was total disabled in a crash. I'm riding again and will always have my Garmin with me.

I highly recommend other bicyclist get a Garmin Edge 520 Plus, because it could save your life.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
Reviewed 11/2/2020
by plat72
Competitive Racer
Crossville, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Very pleased with the upgrades for the Edge plus

I have owned a Garmin 520 for several years. One too many mtn bike crashes probably did it in. Anyway, my biggest complaint with the old 520 was battery life, especially in cold temps. I didn't want a bigger computer, so I took a gamble with the 520 plus. Battery life is exceptional (8-12 hours average) and am really enjoying the navigation features. I have it synced with my wife's cellphone number so she can track my riding, thus giving her peace of mind that I'm not dying on the side of a road or trail somewhere. All in all, I am very pleased with the features and the price was the lower than anyone else offered.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
Reviewed 11/24/2020
by Car
boston
Overall Rating
Very accurate and easy to use

Love how easy communication w/ strava app and all sensors (heart rate monitor and cadence sensor for me).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
Reviewed 8/8/2020
by JoeRicky
West Texas
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Consistent and easy to use

I had some difficulty getting it to work at first, but great customer support from Garmin got me going. 520+ doesn�t shut down mid-ride like my 510 was doing. It also automatically reads the right sensor from different bikes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
Reviewed 10/12/2020
by Darren
Summit NJ
Overall Rating
Garmin 520 plus

Great GPS bike computer in a small package with all the metrics you need to enjoy riding! No touch screen. Mapping is simplistic but works at an acceptable level. Easy to load maps through garmin connect and just as easy to upload onto Strava.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 69