Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Edge 130

GarminEdge 130(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(33 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(21)
(7)
(3)
(0)
(2)
(64%)
(21%)
(9%)
(0%)
(6%)
Reviewed 11/23/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Highlands Ranch, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Simple, just the essentials

My point of reference is the trusty Edge 500. The 130 really seems to be the spiritual successor of the 500, containing all the same features, but encapsulated in a minuscule, modern package that is more convenient and readable in bright sunlight. I have been looking for something like the 500 but with the ability to sync to Garmin Connect over the air instead of requiring a mini-usb cable to connect with a computer for synchronization. This 130 fits the bill perfectly as it pairs with a phone over bluetooth, and the phone synchronizes with GC.

Granted, I could've continued in the 500 series (520, 520 plus, 530), but frankly, I do not need GPS mapping/directions or other fancy features. I just need a GPS-connected cyclometer that serves me the basics. The 130 satisfies my requirements.

The only downside I would say is the lower battery capacity vs the 500 which was a beast in runtime, but the 130 is not too bad.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/12/2020
by New Orleanian
Cycling Enthusiast
New Orleans, LA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
MEH

I agree with Road Rider's review. I bought this for my wife to use on our tandem after her Edge 20 mysteriously disappeared from our luggage during our last airline trip. It works, and it does link to her phone, but it is much less convenient to use than my 520. It takes multiple button pushes to do what my 520 does with one, and the display is both tiny and not very bright. If you leave the backlight on it devours battery life.

Wish I'd bought her a 520+ on sale.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/10/2020
by Road rider
NE
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
All the features, less user friendly

Bought 3 of these for my family and all work well giving all the info needed. However much less intuitive and less easy to use than the 500 series ( I have 520 plus). Smaller screen is less clear as well. Next time will just wait for 530 on sale.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/15/2020
by Tim O�D
Cycling Enthusiast
Pacific NW. Puget Sound
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good battery life, small form factor, great value

I bought the edge 130 to upgrade from the edge 25. My primary objection to the 25 is it's poor battery life which seldom lasted more the five hours (in cold weather much less). I am very happy with the 130. I've used the device for several months and on one occasion used it at least 8 hours and it still had charge left. I also really like the small size. It takes little space on the stem. It links with the satellite much more quickly and more reliably than the 25.

I'm only downgrading my review to four stars because it doesn't have a convenient mapping feature. Since purchasing the 130 I wish it had more robust mapping.

I am, nonetheless, very happy with the device and for the price I am still getting significant value.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/14/2020
by bike4fun
Cycling Enthusiast
Caledonia, WI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Really good basic GPS bike computer

I really like the features on this computer. It has several screens that are available and they can be configured in several different ways. The down side is that the instructions are not very good on how to configure it and the buttons took awhile to get used to. After I got it set up the way I like it, and I got used to pushing the right buttons, it has worked out really good for me. I think that it is a good computer for the money.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/5/2020
by Pmitt
Plymouth, MN
Overall Rating
Great device!

Good timekeeping & distance. I've compared the Edge 130 to my 2 smartphone apps & it has more options that add useful details.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/28/2020
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Sacramento, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great computer

This has been a great computer for a bike that I have struggled finding one that works (Origin8 cross bike). The GPS accuracy is with 10' of my phone and has been very easy to use and upload to strava without a thought. When my bontrager on my Trek dies I am replacing it with one of these.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/14/2020
by jkcpls
Cycling Enthusiast
Folsom, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Compact GPS Computer

This is a great computer and it does everything I need to record my rides in Strava. It's super compact and mounts perfectly on my mountain bike with an after market stem mount. It's super user friendly and easily syncs with speed/cadence sensors and heart rate monitors. Also the battery life is really long.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/10/2018
by Mr B
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
23 of 23 customers found this review helpful.
One for the minimalists

Great tiny GPS that punches well above it's weight and size. Couldn't believe how small it was when I unboxed! Some initial bugs to be expected with any new Garmin release, which Garmin has mostly ironed out with FW upgrades. I've been using the device since it was first released a back in May and have't had any major glitches or ride loss so far. Note If you take full advantage of multiple sensors(powercadence, HRM, Speed) and features(LiveTrack,BT pairing, GPS-Glonass), battery life will be considerably less than advertised - realistically is more like 8-10hrs for me. Garmin should be more upfront about this in their marketing copy.

I don't really use the navigation features much, but its nice to know I can have the ability to at least upload up a simple course in a new area or to scout a new route. The only thing I find myself missing is the ability to load interval workouts-but honestly I do all my workout rides indoors these days anyway, so this is more of a nice to have. YMMV.

Bugs - elevation ht not always accurate (although accumulated elev will be correct)

Hits

Strava segments, Customizable data pages, text alerts, LiveTracking, very sharp screen, fast GPS lock, fairly easy setup and menus.

Misses

Battery life, elevation accuracy

Buy it if you don't need the more robust navigation and workout features of the 520520

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/5/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Garmin Edge 130

All Garmin Edge products are packed with great user friendly technology and the Edge 130 is no exception, however due to its size it is a challenge to read all the data, I do give it 5 stars and highly recommend the Edge130!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/25/2020
by Paul Mittendorff
Plymouth, MN
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Instant GPS display

I appreciate the easy-to-read screen and continuous real-time updates to ride speed, distance and elapsed time. The free smart phone app allows you an easy to access interface for your ride data.

One thing has me puzzled though: the Button sequence required to advance through screens, or even to �save� your ride to your database is too complicated!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/2/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Just what you need

it's great gives you everything you need without all of the excess.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/7/2020
by Rrenbro
Southampton pa
Overall Rating
Great product

Great product. Has almost all the features of the more expensive products. If you don�t wanna spend a lot get this. GPS,mileage sensors text messages. Works great

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/7/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
AWESOME

Price was fantastic ! Works great, but the best part my hubby loves it??

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/20/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Awesome product

It is easy to setup and hook up to my smart lights and new Garmin radar

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/22/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great replacement for my Edge 520

Was looking for a replacement for my Edge 520 that no longer would charge.

It has all the basic features of my former 520.

Pros

BluetoothANT

Fast to charge

Displays entire text message vs. first 50 characters

Has GPSGlonassGalielo tracking.

Cons

Smaller screen than 520

Need to activate update to log to Strava

Profile settings not as customizable

Weathertemp reading needs Garmin Connect App to be on

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/9/2019
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Capable computer with nav in a very compact package.

This compact cyclecomputer does all I need it to, and more. I haven't used the nav function as yet. It fits conveniently on the stem, reducing bar clutter. The Garmin connect app is fun, and would have satisfied me when I was training seriously. Its a big improvement over my Polar M450, but also uses the bluetooth Polar sensors so i saved some bucks that way.. Battery life is about 12 hours, so you randos will need some kind of charger, although you can turn off the gps and just use a speed sensor. No complaints

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/27/2019
by Anonymous
Valparaiso, IN
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Solid Performance

This has more features and better accuracy than my old Edge 500. Not quite all the bells and whistles of a 530 or 830, but lots of capability at a reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/15/2019
by GigBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Small with good battery life

My first gps computer. For strava was using my phone andor watch (plus a Bad Elf for long rides). I cant stand having gadgets on my handlebars and so most gps computers are way too big. The problem with the small ones is battery life is too short. My phone and watch didnt last long enough either. Im very pleased with the 130. Everything is super easy and automatically uploads from Garmin Connect to Strava and Training Peaks. Way more capable than old methods and its small enough to live on my stem without getting in the way.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/21/2019
by Gdogpdx
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice computer

This 130 is my first GPS cycle computer. I love not having any sensor on my wheel. It's easy to switch between bikes w the extra mount. I may need to get more mounts for my other bikes. So far it's been really easy to use. I like the alerts and elevation profile especially. On sale, it's a no brainer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 85