Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Edge 1040 Solar GPS Computer

GarminEdge 1040 Solar GPS Computer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(11 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(11)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(100%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 11/17/2022
by Kevin
Cycling Enthusiast
Plainfield, Il.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Another great product from Garmin.

I upgraded from the Garmin Edge 1000 to the 1040 Solar.

Much better computer.

1. The display fonts are larger and bolder.

2. The battery is spectacular and the solar charger keeps charging.

3. Everything is better. Too many improvements to mention.

I really did not want to spend so much $$$$ but like anything, you get what you pay for.

I bike alot on my own 20 to 50 miles routinely and having a great computer I never feel I'm riding alone.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/6/2022
by Biomanghs
Rogers
Overall Rating
Easy to read, great battery

I have taken my new Garmin 1040 solar on 8-9 rides so far and I really love this computer! I had an 810 previously and finally wore it out after 6-7 years. I went for the 1040 solar mainly because my old eyes have trouble seeing the smaller computers. This 1040 is much larger and has much less glare and with the solar replenishment of the battery, 40-50 miles uses 5% battery.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/10/2022
by Timberwolve17
Central Tx
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Looong life, feature laden

Typically i ride road bikes 100-200 miles/week.

I ride during early AM before sunrise, and a couple rides after sunup.

The device is certainly quicker to map rides out on the fly. While the 1030+ had amazing battery life, the 1040 solar takes that even further. Setup was easy thanks to Garmin's new approach to sharing your device data to your new computers.

This device ain't cheap, the screen could be improved, but it's a deal with the devil to make battery life absurd vs the competition.

Would i buy it again, probably, but I'll wait until the next big head unit update.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/17/2022
by lesdunham
Cycling Enthusiast
Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
A lot of tools for the money

Using the 1030 for 6 years and now switching to the 1040 for about a month. The 1040 has better screen clarity in bright sunshine. The solar makes a small improvement in power consumption. Screen and field navigation are different (better is a personal interpretation). Garmin Express and Connect are quick to find the new device. The wifi and phone bluetooth are much better and ride data is loaded once the ride is complete. I find that the power down vs device sleep can be annoying since the power down is only an option after a ride is fully completed (back to the home screen).

My recommendation is get the standard model unless you are totally sold on the solar. It is an improvement on other series of Garmin's, but if your happy now it is hard to say how much happier you will be upgrading. I won't go back to the 1030 (will ensure it gets a good new home that will use it).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/29/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Pennsyltucky
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
So far, so good

I've only used it a few times, but so far it works just as easily as it's predecessor. The screen is different, but fairly easy to adapt to. Battery life has been fine for my shorter rides, but the solar recharging definitely is a boost to the overall battery life. I've had it glitch a couple times and not want to shut down properly, so had to hold the power button until it would turn off completely. Same as with my 1030 Edge, so nothing new there.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/28/2022
by Chilebrown
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Garmin edge 1040 Solar GPS is green and possibly the future.

This is the one I have been waiting for. The battery lasts longer because it charges as you ride. This may be the future and I am glad to play a small part. This is the top of the line Garmin computer and it has every bell & whistle you could ever imagine. How did I ever live with out one?

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/28/2022
by Lou P.
Fruita, Colorado
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best ever

Having used bike computers as far back as that Avocet shaped like an Oreo, this is like magic. Super fast, ultra clear screen, and solar charging. It�s not without issue. It will freeze once in a while while shutting down, and it occasionally won�t cleanly pair with my Stages power meter. Garmin being Garmin, I assume these will be fixed in a firmware update. This computer does everything that I�d want, and more.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/26/2022
by Anonymous
Alabama
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
So far no problems

No problems. It shows solar intensity and what you gain on battery life. On a 3.5 hour ride it gained 53 minutes @ 54% average intensity.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/25/2022
by Rich Roberts
Virginia Beach
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Does everything you need in a cycling computer

Well the feature I discovered worked wonderfully for a century ride was pairing with phone in chest pocket and hearing audio directions. Worked great. There are times in varying light when seeing screen prompts can be an issue but audio always worked.

Pairs fast with a variety of devices from SRAM to Shimano, we use Ride with GPS mapping on many organized rides and that works great.

Not having to worry about exhausting battery is wonderful and works with earlier 1030 auxiliary battery so even on long rando rides you will not run out of battery power.

Contrasted with 1030 where we often ran out of juice after 6 hours continuous use this is major leap forward.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/14/2022
by KShelton
WV
Overall Rating
So late Garmin 1040

I am enjoying this computer as it it so user friendly. I do not have to charge after each ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/22/2022
by KShelton
WV
Overall Rating
So late Garmin 1040

I am enjoying this computer as it it so user friendly. I do not have to charge after each ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 29

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]