Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Fizik R5 Artica GTX Road Shoe

FizikR5 Artica GTX Road Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(20 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(12)
(7)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(60%)
(35%)
(0%)
(5%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/20/2024
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
ride winter with convenience

First, I had to size down 0.5. I usually wear 44.5 in other brands (Giro, Sidi), but Fizik was a bit large in 44.5. Size 44 fits well and has enough room for a wool sock. Interestingly, the Fizik US sizing was spot on....I typically wear a 10.5 street shoe and the size 44 does actually feel like a 10.6 because there is a bit more room than my normal shoes. The shoes are a great for 30+ degrees. I did a 1 hour ride in about 38F and my toes felt a little bit cold. The shoes are a better option than shoe covers because the plush fleece lining is warm, and they cover above the ankle to keep the ankles warm. The ankle collar feels a bit stiff, but only because all other bike shoes stop before the ankle. I have not problems with the ankle collar, and I would rather have a marginally stiff and warm ankle then the flexibility. Overall they are great and allow me to get outside with more comfort and convenience without messing with 1 (sometimes 2 layers) of shoe covers. I got these on a good sale from BTD so they were good value for me. Full price would be a bit of a tough sell since I can get by with shoe covers.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mike

Reviewed 3/7/2024
by Mike
Plymouth ,Wi
Overall Rating
Fizik R5 Artica GTX Road Shoe for winter riding

Comfortable down to 35 F. With a single winter rated sock. Took several rides for taller cuff to break-in. But shoe feels great and warmer than shoe covers. Ordered same size as summer road shoe.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BwayBiking

Reviewed 2/29/2024
by BwayBiking
Cycling Enthusiast
Shenandoah Valley, VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great styling. Very well designed. Nicely insulated but not quite as warm as I had hoped.

Love the look; the white pops with all the dark winter colors. Very well-made; great material choices. Feels slightly tight with winter wool socks. Insulation is very good but still need HotHands toe warmers. A good value.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/5/2024
by Anonymous
Chicago
Overall Rating
I guess European winters are different

They look great, fit is snug but comfortable, and I was hoping they�d work out but my toes got frigid when about 30F. These will not save you on a typical bone chilling midwestern winter ride, but I will try them again with toe warmers.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/2/2024
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Warm In The Cold

Bought these in an attempt to keep riding in Northern cold temps. Huge improvement from current road shoes worn with thick or two pair of socks. For longer rides 2+ hours these were good to about 50 degrees under that added toe covers. One it starts getting to 40 I add toe warmers. Rode this week for 3 hours with toe warmers and feet were perfect. Yes I would buy these again as it makes riding in the cold outdoors much easier.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CYinPA

Reviewed 5/3/2023
by CYinPA
Competitive Racer
PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Purpose built shoe that works....

I caught a sale on these, and wanted to try them out. I have the Sidi version of these, and they are actually a great winter shoe as well. I felt they were bulky though, I wasn't unhappy with them, but thought they could be slimmed down.

Tried these out and they are basically the same shoe, but not so chunky. I had them down into the 20's with just a thin merino wool sock (my normal for the winter), and no issues. Your feet actually get warm, they aren't meant to ventilate, so basically don't go nuts with sock thickness. The other great part with these is since they aren't so bulky, you could fit an overshoe over them if you needed to (haven't had to).

Also they do keep you dry from the elements, but do be aware that water can run down into them from higher up the leg, it's just how live is unless you wear something that goes over them.

Boa dial stays where you set it, holds the foot well, I did put an aftermarket insole in them for some arch support, but I do that with all of my shoes.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/3/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
These are amazing shoes, but use them for what they were intended for...

I am super happy with these shoes! After putting about 400 miles on them, I can confidently say they have met my expectations. They are quite comfortable, good looking and reasonably warm. To be fair, they probably won't keep your feet warm below about 35 degrees, but anything about that and these do a great job and prevent the need to use unseemly and bulky shoe covers that never seem to work. I would recommend these. I just did an 80 mile ride last week and these were comfortable the entire way. They are true to size and were the same fit as my Shimano RC900 road shoes.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Du-man

Reviewed 3/3/2023
by Du-man
Cycling Enthusiast
New York City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Solid Winter Shoe

Not bulky or heavy like older Sidi winter shoes I own, more akin to a regular road shoe. Keeps your feet and toes warm. I have not been out in below 35 degrees so can�t attest to very cold conditions. Width is a bit snug on the toe box. Had some discomfort pressure on the outside my right small toe metatarsal, a shoe tree fixed the issue. I would suggest measuring your foot in milli meters and add 10 mm to your size on the Fizik sizing chart https://www.fizik.com/rw_en/shoe-sizing-guide. Cleat position is more towards midfoot, good position if you like your cleats back, if you like them forward, may not be for you. BOA dial and Velcro on top provide a nice adjustable fit. Overall, a nice winter shoe.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Greg S

Reviewed 2/17/2023
by Greg S
Cycling Enthusiast
Beaverton
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Warm and dry

These are fur lined, no bottom vents, and waterproof. Very comfortable and warm. They are technically boots, so a bit more bulk to them. I've worn them with waterproof socks, but rain can still get in around the ankle, so shoe covers (to guard the ankles) are still needed for long rides in the rain. I've even set some PRs with these. I wear a 43.5 for summer shoes, and the same size fits perfectly for these. Quality made. Highly recommend them.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steve F

Reviewed 1/30/2023
by Steve F
Saugus, MA
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Summer shoe comfort

These are very comfortable but not quite as warm as I was hoping. I forget that most winter shoes are designed for European temperatures. I�ve been using shoe covers for anything below 40 degrees, from 40-45 my feet start getting a little bit cold after 60 minutes or so but never painfully cold. My feet do tend to run cold and I don�t like wearing extra thick socks so these are probably warm enough for plenty of cyclists, the fleece lining does seem to be pretty effective as well. I like that these to not come up very high on the ankles as well, my dexterity or lack there of has not been effected. I don�t really like how the cleat position is set back on these though, I have them all the way forward and I�m still getting the occasional toe rub on turns when I�m not paying attention. It�s not uncomfortable I�m just used to a more forward position.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by iggyto

Reviewed 12/19/2022
by iggyto
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Barbara
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
One the best winter shoes for me

I've had a few winter shoes and this one rates very high on the list. Easy to get on and off with the BOA cinch and the finger hook on the back. Just right insulation and protection for chilly mornings and not too much when the weather warms up a bit. I have been using it with 40deg mornings turning to mid-50deg days. Fit was right on with my usual shoe size of 45.5. It felt as comfortable as my regular road shoes. The only downside is the velcro strap on the front of the ankle. When tight, I found it irritated my ankle during pedaling. Cuts into the ankle where it bends the most. So I just leave it loose and it feels fine. No loss of insulation with the nice high ankle cuff. Even better deal getting this on sale from BTD.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Calme

Reviewed 12/12/2022
by Calme
New Milford NJ
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best buy

I am so happy with this winter shoes. I had the Fizik R5 Artica ( not the GTX ) but it was heavy and rubbing against the crank arm. The GTX is suave! I used it 3x on 35-42� and added a toe warmer, my toes were warm on my entire 40, 50 miler rides.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by NJ Cyclist

Reviewed 4/6/2023
by NJ Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This should be your winter shoe of choice

After wearing booties for years and constantly having trouble keeping my feet warm, I decided I needed a reliable winter shoe. These do not disappoint. The fleece lining really keeps your feet and toes nice and warm. The shoe fits snug, especially if you wear heavier socks. You may consider a half size larger than your normal road shoe. The BOA closure enables the shoe to fit your foot snuggly.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by hindsneville

Reviewed 11/2/2023
by hindsneville
Casual Cyclist
MARYLAND
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A great cycling boots. I will be purchasing the all-white. I have the black ones.

Its comfortable and warm

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by thom

Reviewed 2/21/2023
by thom
Cycling Enthusiast
redmond, washington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
good comfortable shoe right out of the box

I wear an 11 tennis shoe, with this shoe i wear the same size as my regular road shoe, a 45. I have neither a narrow or wide foot. Right out of the box i put these on and did 1.5 hours on the trainer. Very comfortable shoe and no issues whatsoever. Shoe is just the right height, sorta between a high and low top shoe. Quality is good and looks also.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bob S.

Reviewed 2/16/2023
by Bob S.
Cycling Enthusiast
Maineville, Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Warm and better than summer shoes plus covers

Really warm. With wool socks and toe heaters, I was comfortable at 30 degrees. So much easier than dealing with shoe covers. They do run narrow and both my wife and I had to return for a size up.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by viva velo

Reviewed 11/26/2022
by viva velo
Cycling Enthusiast
Grand Junction, Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Happy feet

I rode over 2 hours and had no frozen feet when I finished my ride. high temperature was 45 degrees , little sun, the first real winter ride here in Colorado. The shoes are very comfortable and it was way less hassle then shoe covers. I wish i had had these in the mid 1980`s when all they had were the Sean Kelley`s Belgian booties. Quality product, worth the price if you are a year round rider like myself. Cheers, viva velo

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jon

Reviewed 3/13/2023
by Jon
Denver, Colorado
Overall Rating
Me like

I love these shoes for winter. Comfortable and warm for the cold winter rides. Below 45 degrees I still recommend toe covers or shoe covers. Good shoe, I'd buy them again.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Curtissimo

Reviewed 6/20/2023
by Curtissimo
Washington, D.C.
Overall Rating
If you ride in the winter, you need winter shoes!

Got these for the really cold days, below 40F. I previously rode with my Bontrager XXX Road Shoes with rain covers. It worked, I wasn't freezing, but I wasn't comfortable either. Switched to these and winter riding is now comfortable even in below freezing conditions.

Fit is good. I�m a 44.5 in Bontrager and it is the same here. Shoe is a bit more narrow, so if you have wide feet, this may not be for you.

I haven't used them long enough to comment on durability. I got them in white (have to match the helmet), so time will tell how the hold up to the winter roads. If they had a HiViz option, I may have opted for that instead considering the short dark days in the Northeast.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Chris

Reviewed 11/22/2023
by Chris
PDX
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Wet feet, but warm

Had high hopes for these being a good winter rain boot for the wet Portland rides. Unfortunately all the water still seeps in through the neoprene ankle cuff and then the shoe turns into a pool of water.

They do keep the foot warm in the cold weather, but fall pretty short in the rain.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]