Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
ENVE SES Tubeless Road Tire

ENVESES Tubeless Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(52 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(30)
(10)
(3)
(4)
(5)
(58%)
(19%)
(6%)
(8%)
(10%)

User submitted reviews

Review by msknopf

Reviewed 5/10/2023
by msknopf
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Smooth Fast Ride, No Problem Mounting, Prone to Flats if Not Careful

New to tubeless, upgraded to ENVE 3.4 AR wheels, came with ENVE tires. Very happy with the feel of these tires, very fast, soft and plush. As a tubeless newbie, it took a while to get used to care and feeding of the tires (sealant/air leaks/plugs etc) so tended to get flats, especially on horrible city tarmac.

After approximately 2500 miles, was time to replace. Watched a ton of videos on YouTube and ENVE website and asked mechanically inclined riding buddies for mounting and inflating techniques. As usual BTD had the tires in stock at great price so I took the plunge. I was able to get the tire on the rim without too much trouble, being careful to make sure the beads were in the rim's center channel as per the ENVE videos It took a few minutes of coaxing but was not too horrible. No worse than mounting a new clincher tire. I was unable to inflate the tires using my regular floor pump but a friend had advised getting an AirShot, which worked perfectly and inflated on the first try.

Very happy with the feel and ride of these tires. Now that I am more familiar with tubeless, I have a better idea of how to care for them and feel comfortable installing new tires when they wear out. I rode Michelin Pro4 Endurance for years and these ENVEs compare favorably if not better. These are not endurance-type tires and may need to be replaced more frequently (2000 miles?) than Pro4 Endurance (2500) and are a bit more $$ but for me, the feel and ride are worth the trade off.

As usual, BTD had great selection and prices and had everything I needed to get the tubeless going.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jeff H.

Reviewed 12/1/2023
by Jeff H.
Cycling Enthusiast
South Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Awesome Tubeless tires

The regular price is a bit high but whenever these ENVE SES Tubeless Road Tires are on sale I buy several.

These tires are compatible with both hooked and hookless rims. I am using them on a set of hookless tubeless rims, setup tubeless. The setup for me requires either a burst pump or a co2 cartridge, to seat the beads but it's not a difficult setup.

Roadside repairs, I rode into a hole an put a large cut in the rear tire. I had to put a tire boot in and a tube in order to continue. The process was not difficult to unmount and remount the tire out on the roadside.

Wear:

I have logged as many as 4k miles on a front tire and 3k miles on a rear tire. I can't say that I have actually worn out a tire though, I usually run over something that tears or gouges the tire and ends the tires life.

Punctures:

Only the large punctures are noticeable when sealant is spraying out. Most small punctures seal and go un-noticed. When I have a larger puncture I have successfully un-mounted the tire, patched the hole with a tubeless patch, remounted and continued using the tire.

The ride:

I will never ride a 23mm or 25mm tire again. These 29mm tires are far more comfortable and require a much lower pressure.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jay

Reviewed 1/3/2023
by Jay
Cycling Enthusiast
Pittsburgh
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires

I'm adding this review so that people aren't misled by the negative reviews here.

I bought the SES 29's to run on my Enve 3.4 AR wheels (tubeless) / Specialized Aethos.

I rode over 2,000 miles this summer (not kilometers!) on some pretty rough country roads... No flats, no problems, not a single issue.

They are fast and comfortable and very durable.

They are a little rough to get on... but no worse that GP5000s.

I'll be buying another set this year.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Sunshine in Colorado

Reviewed 12/24/2023
by Sunshine in Colorado
Cycling Enthusiast
Longmont, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
WONDERFUL

Tubeless is now delightful since they're offering wider road tires. These are 31mm and are perfect. Comfortable and fast enough for me on road and rugged enough for some gravel roads. As usual BTD folks had the best price and have a remarkable turnaround time on their product deliveries.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jon T.

Reviewed 8/10/2021
by Jon T.
Daily Commuter
Nashville, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
ENVE SES road tubeless 25mm

I'd be lying if I said these tires were easy to mount. I am good at mounting tires and understand very well what I'm doing and what optimizes the ability to get that last 4-5 inches of bead over the edge. These were very hard to mount. It required patience, some fans (the kind that blow air as well as the ones that encourage you), and hand strength.

So, once these beauties were mounted, I removed the valve core and inflated to seat the bead with no difficulty. I added about 1.5 oz orange seal endurance sealant using the valve stem and a 60mL syringe with the orange seal adapter (it fits the luer lock on syringes); spun the wheel slowly and repeatedly tilting it to ensure the sealant makes contact all the way round both beads. With that done, I replaced the valve core and inflated to 80psi. I like to put the bike on a stand and give the wheels a spin numerous times over the next several hours. The next morning they'd lost some pressure, but once reinflated, they held pressure pretty well.

Did my first long ride on them two days later. They perform remarkably well. I'm really pleased with the road feel, cornering, and overall performance. The tan walls look killer on my bike, I think. First puncture happened the following weekend. About the size of a pinhead, the hole took some time to seal and I lost most of the sealant and pressure. However, with a couple of stops to carefully reinflate with CO2, it held at least 50 psi for the remainder of the ride and got me home. I booted it using gorilla tape, remounted and did a 90+ mile ride the following weekend with no issues whatsoever.

Great tires!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JTridesbicycles

Reviewed 2/16/2023
by JTridesbicycles
Daily Commuter
Nashville
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
ENVE SES road tubeless

I have a pair SES road tubeless 25mm that I run on my carbon fiber road bike. When I was searching for a new set of 30-32mm tubeless tires to replace the worn Panaracer Gravel Kings on my All City Space Horse, it never occurred to me that the ENVE SES would come up in the search. What a great tire, at this width especially! On this bike, I basically use as a commuter, I mainly take paved road. Occasionally, I cut through a park that has broken/buckled pavement, but still no real gravel. Anyway, it basically transformed the ride feel of the Space Horse and is measurably faster as well.

I seat the beads easily using a floor pump that has a compression chamber. Once that's done I go with Orange Seal endurance sealant; spin the wheels and bounce them; then I rest them horizontally for several hours coming back to spin them and flip them over to the other (horizontal) side. They hold the seal extremely well and seem to far more durable than their 25mm counterpart, which makes all the sense in the world. I'm very happy with them.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Andy

Reviewed 11/3/2022
by Andy
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great feel, great puncture resistance

Have these 31�s mounted tubeless on Zipp 303 rims. Have ridden about 3 thousand miles on them, mostly 3 seasons as I opt for a wider, slightly textured tire (38mm Schwalbe G One Speed) for the thoroughly gross, wet PacNW winter miles.

Have never had a puncture in all the time they�ve been on my bike. Hold air well although they were a little challenging to seat initially. They still look good and the road feel is excellent, supple and fast. Traction on sharper corners is great, maybe not truly excellent but up there with other great tires. Durability is proving to be excellent for a higher performing tire.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Andy

Reviewed 11/3/2022
by Andy
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
Great feel, great puncture resistance

Have these 31�s mounted tubeless on Zipp 303 rims. Have ridden about 3 thousand miles on them, mostly 3 seasons as I opt for a wider, slightly textured tire (38mm Schwalbe G One Speed) for the thoroughly gross, wet PacNW winter miles.

Have never had a puncture in all the time they�ve been on my bike. Hold air well although they were a little challenging to seat initially. They still look good and the road feel is excellent, supple and fast. Traction on sharper corners is great, maybe not truly excellent but up there with other great tires. Durability is proving to be excellent for a higher performing tire.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/9/2022
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Absolutely terrible, unsafe and downright dangerous tires

I've had two whole sets of these tires and had another pair shipped to me through ENVE customer service because I expressed my frustration at how they were performing. I set them up tubeless and had two tires blow off the rim on downhills. Thankfully I didn't crash either time but I've never in my life expected a tire to completely separate from the rim like that.

One of the other sets of tires, I mounted the tire with a tube on a DT Swiss wheel and physically could not remove the tire when I needed to change the tube. Not with one tire lever, not with two tire levers, not with a bead jack, not with anything. I actually had to cut the tire off and even that was a ridiculously hard task to get a blade underneath the bead.

These are absolutely terrible to use - tubeless or tubed. They are unsafe and there are clearly production inconsistencies. I expected so much better from a company with a reputation like ENVE. I will not be mounting the extra pair that I received - maybe I'll give them to my worst enemy?

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/2/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Lancaster, CA, USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This is the old standard

Has become my favorite, above all others.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/29/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portlandia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Sweet rubber!

I don't have a ton of miles on these yet, but I am totally in love with them. I have the 29 mm tires mounted on Spin Fatboy rims, and the aero fit is pretty close, maybe 1 mm wider than the rims on each side. I weigh around 180 lbs, and I've been experimenting with with the psi. I started out with 70/65 rear/front, and I'm now down to 60/55, with the feeling like I could definitely take it down maybe another 5 psi. Super comfortable and grippy, and they roll beautifully.

They weren't the easiest to seat. I'm guessing that if you have an ENVE wheel set, they might seat easier, but I had considerable difficulty. After several unsuccessful attempts, I left them alone for a while, came back, and voila!

The tan walls are not everyone's fave, but I like them.

Not enough miles to judge wear yet. But riding around Portland's disgustingly gritty and glass riven streets, no puncture issues so far (fingers crossed).

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kevin

Reviewed 6/18/2023
by Kevin
Salt Lake City
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Quality control problem?

My 31 mm front SES developed two pinhole leaks in the sidewall at less than 200 miles of easy pavement riding. Tubeless repair kit could not seal the holes, made them bigger. Replaced them with Conti 5000s.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/18/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington, DC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I bought this tire for Enve Foundation 65

The tire looks good on the wheel. I usually don't get punctures on the road, but with this tire, I got at least two punctures per tire in a short period of time. There is a good reason for it. The casing is thin throughout and it has no puncture protection. Spend a little bit more money and get GP 5000 tires.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/18/2023
by Anonymous
Los Angeles
Overall Rating
Excellent quality tires

Easy to set up tubeless and 400 miles in have had no issues. They roll well and no flats yet.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by shwnlgo

Reviewed 8/29/2023
by shwnlgo
Casual Cyclist
PDX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Over-all a very good quality tire

Great tires! Only issue is that sealant seem to seep out on one spot on one of the tire wall. The other one is fine.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Karksta

Reviewed 9/6/2021
by Karksta
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Paired With Enve Wheels, These Are Fast...

Okay, so these tires ARE not the easiest tubeless tires to install, but I have to say that paired with my Enve AR 4.5s I was able to post PRs on some of the flat routes I routinely ride, this without any perceived extra effort on my part. I've been posting consistently fast times on segments, despite these wheels on my "slower" bike. I can only imagine that Enve's promise that these tires are designed to work best with their wheels is spot on. Haven't tried them on other wheels, but I'm super happy with the results on my AR 4.5s and on my SES 5.6s. And the sidewalls look fantastic.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by garagon

Reviewed 8/25/2023
by garagon
Competitive Racer
New Mexico
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice tires for smooth roads

Tires are very light and should only be used on smooth roads. Hard to mount tires need stretching.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/5/2021
by Anonymous
Fallon
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nice looking hoops

The rode feel is sublime. Feels like I riding a pair of tubulars on race day.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by jshwlff

Reviewed 5/13/2021
by jshwlff
Competitive Racer
SoCal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Light, supple, fragile

I like everything about these tires except their fragility. I ran 27mm (front) and 29mm (rear) on Roval wheels, using Stan's Race sealant. The tires are light, supple, and easy to mount, they track straight and ride smooth. However ...

Both tires flatted within 200 miles due to small tears, the kind you cannot seal or plug. I have since patched the tires (because the tread is still fresh); but dare I remount them? Even for racing only, I am not sure I trust the tires enough.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by dide

Reviewed 4/25/2021
by dide
Cycling Enthusiast
N.Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Light, tough, nice riding tires.

I have been using tubeless road tires for 8 years and have seen some big improvements.

The Enve SES tires in 25 mm on my Enve SES 3.4 wheels measure 27 mm wide once mounted.

They mount easy and I use a compressor to seat the bead. ( a generous amount of sligtly soapy water makes a hugh difference in getting the bead to seat ).

I have confidence they will stay on the rim if I get a blow-out, which is very important to me.

The tires ride very nice at 72F and 77R psi for my 170# weight . No cuts at all so far.

The are quite thin so I don't expect to get a lot of miles on them, but they do seem quite tough so I am confident the miles I do get will be trouble free.

They are very light for tubeless road tires. I've bought 4, 700x25 mm from BTD and they all were 232-238 grams.

Less than the stated weight , which is nice.

Most tubeless tires are improving and these are a good example of the current crop .

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 15

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]