Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
ENVE SES Tubeless Road Tire

ENVESES Tubeless Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(40 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(22)
(8)
(3)
(3)
(4)
(55%)
(20%)
(8%)
(8%)
(10%)
Reviewed 11/3/2022
by Andy
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
Great feel, great puncture resistance

Have these 31�s mounted tubeless on Zipp 303 rims. Have ridden about 3 thousand miles on them, mostly 3 seasons as I opt for a wider, slightly textured tire (38mm Schwalbe G One Speed) for the thoroughly gross, wet PacNW winter miles.

Have never had a puncture in all the time they�ve been on my bike. Hold air well although they were a little challenging to seat initially. They still look good and the road feel is excellent, supple and fast. Traction on sharper corners is great, maybe not truly excellent but up there with other great tires. Durability is proving to be excellent for a higher performing tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/3/2022
by Andy
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
Great feel, great puncture resistance

Have these 31�s mounted tubeless on Zipp 303 rims. Have ridden about 3 thousand miles on them, mostly 3 seasons as I opt for a wider, slightly textured tire (38mm Schwalbe G One Speed) for the thoroughly gross, wet PacNW winter miles.

Have never had a puncture in all the time they�ve been on my bike. Hold air well although they were a little challenging to seat initially. They still look good and the road feel is excellent, supple and fast. Traction on sharper corners is great, maybe not truly excellent but up there with other great tires. Durability is proving to be excellent for a higher performing tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/9/2022
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Absolutely terrible, unsafe and downright dangerous tires

I've had two whole sets of these tires and had another pair shipped to me through ENVE customer service because I expressed my frustration at how they were performing. I set them up tubeless and had two tires blow off the rim on downhills. Thankfully I didn't crash either time but I've never in my life expected a tire to completely separate from the rim like that.

One of the other sets of tires, I mounted the tire with a tube on a DT Swiss wheel and physically could not remove the tire when I needed to change the tube. Not with one tire lever, not with two tire levers, not with a bead jack, not with anything. I actually had to cut the tire off and even that was a ridiculously hard task to get a blade underneath the bead.

These are absolutely terrible to use - tubeless or tubed. They are unsafe and there are clearly production inconsistencies. I expected so much better from a company with a reputation like ENVE. I will not be mounting the extra pair that I received - maybe I'll give them to my worst enemy?

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/10/2021
by Jon T.
Daily Commuter
Nashville, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
ENVE SES road tubeless 25mm

I'd be lying if I said these tires were easy to mount. I am good at mounting tires and understand very well what I'm doing and what optimizes the ability to get that last 4-5 inches of bead over the edge. These were very hard to mount. It required patience, some fans (the kind that blow air as well as the ones that encourage you), and hand strength.

So, once these beauties were mounted, I removed the valve core and inflated to seat the bead with no difficulty. I added about 1.5 oz orange seal endurance sealant using the valve stem and a 60mL syringe with the orange seal adapter (it fits the luer lock on syringes); spun the wheel slowly and repeatedly tilting it to ensure the sealant makes contact all the way round both beads. With that done, I replaced the valve core and inflated to 80psi. I like to put the bike on a stand and give the wheels a spin numerous times over the next several hours. The next morning they'd lost some pressure, but once reinflated, they held pressure pretty well.

Did my first long ride on them two days later. They perform remarkably well. I'm really pleased with the road feel, cornering, and overall performance. The tan walls look killer on my bike, I think. First puncture happened the following weekend. About the size of a pinhead, the hole took some time to seal and I lost most of the sealant and pressure. However, with a couple of stops to carefully reinflate with CO2, it held at least 50 psi for the remainder of the ride and got me home. I booted it using gorilla tape, remounted and did a 90+ mile ride the following weekend with no issues whatsoever.

Great tires!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/11/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good tires; durable

Tires were difficult to get onto a set of ENVE SES 3.2AR's and I had to use a compressor to get them to seat. However, after they were initially set up, they have been trouble free for 2,100 miles (all paved) and counting. These are my first tubeless tires. For comparison, I would typically get about 1,500 miles on a set of Conti GP4000 riding the same roads.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/29/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portlandia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Sweet rubber!

I don't have a ton of miles on these yet, but I am totally in love with them. I have the 29 mm tires mounted on Spin Fatboy rims, and the aero fit is pretty close, maybe 1 mm wider than the rims on each side. I weigh around 180 lbs, and I've been experimenting with with the psi. I started out with 70/65 rear/front, and I'm now down to 60/55, with the feeling like I could definitely take it down maybe another 5 psi. Super comfortable and grippy, and they roll beautifully.

They weren't the easiest to seat. I'm guessing that if you have an ENVE wheel set, they might seat easier, but I had considerable difficulty. After several unsuccessful attempts, I left them alone for a while, came back, and voila!

The tan walls are not everyone's fave, but I like them.

Not enough miles to judge wear yet. But riding around Portland's disgustingly gritty and glass riven streets, no puncture issues so far (fingers crossed).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/29/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great tires - look awesome, ride great

Bought these because they were tan wall and so far I've been really impressed with them. They ride great. They were a little tough to mount, but did workout after a couple of tries. No punctures or flats so far and they lose about 20 psi/day on average.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/7/2022
by GT
Casual Cyclist
Fort Worth, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Enve SES 31

Not impressed. Went on easily enough, but getting them to seat was another matter, and I have a compressor. Now, after 1500 miles, one is cut and destroyed. The other has very small cuts all over it. I knew they were not endurance tires, but I guess I expected more than 4 months. Switched to Pirelli Cinturato a couple weeks ago. Better ride and don't make the annoying sound the ENVEs made.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/6/2021
by Karksta
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Paired With Enve Wheels, These Are Fast...

Okay, so these tires ARE not the easiest tubeless tires to install, but I have to say that paired with my Enve AR 4.5s I was able to post PRs on some of the flat routes I routinely ride, this without any perceived extra effort on my part. I've been posting consistently fast times on segments, despite these wheels on my "slower" bike. I can only imagine that Enve's promise that these tires are designed to work best with their wheels is spot on. Haven't tried them on other wheels, but I'm super happy with the results on my AR 4.5s and on my SES 5.6s. And the sidewalls look fantastic.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/5/2021
by Anonymous
Fallon
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice looking hoops

The rode feel is sublime. Feels like I riding a pair of tubulars on race day.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/5/2022
by KJ
Competitive Racer
FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
very good so far

So far so good. About 700 FL mi and my initial impression is they still have at least another 1k left. Would use for training and racing because they are durable but soft and grippy. I expect to get more milage than the Schwalbe Pro Ones and at least as many as my Conti tubeless. 3 Reasons for 4*. Tan wall turned brown, one tire was missing direction mark and of the three tires mentioned, they were the most difficult to seat.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/13/2021
by jshwlff
Competitive Racer
SoCal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Light, supple, fragile

I like everything about these tires except their fragility. I ran 27mm (front) and 29mm (rear) on Roval wheels, using Stan's Race sealant. The tires are light, supple, and easy to mount, they track straight and ride smooth. However ...

Both tires flatted within 200 miles due to small tears, the kind you cannot seal or plug. I have since patched the tires (because the tread is still fresh); but dare I remount them? Even for racing only, I am not sure I trust the tires enough.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/25/2021
by dide
Cycling Enthusiast
N.Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Light, tough, nice riding tires.

I have been using tubeless road tires for 8 years and have seen some big improvements.

The Enve SES tires in 25 mm on my Enve SES 3.4 wheels measure 27 mm wide once mounted.

They mount easy and I use a compressor to seat the bead. ( a generous amount of sligtly soapy water makes a hugh difference in getting the bead to seat ).

I have confidence they will stay on the rim if I get a blow-out, which is very important to me.

The tires ride very nice at 72F and 77R psi for my 170# weight . No cuts at all so far.

The are quite thin so I don't expect to get a lot of miles on them, but they do seem quite tough so I am confident the miles I do get will be trouble free.

They are very light for tubeless road tires. I've bought 4, 700x25 mm from BTD and they all were 232-238 grams.

Less than the stated weight , which is nice.

Most tubeless tires are improving and these are a good example of the current crop .

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/10/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Worst Tire Ever

I flat almost every ride (100 miles). Very fragile. I ride the same road on Conti GP4000 - rarely if ever flat. Its not the road. Worst tire ever.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/7/2021
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Contrary to others on here, I thought these tires were awesome!

I ran the 25mm on my 20mm internal rims and they worked great. A lightweight tire that felt quite supple. Contrary to others on here I actually found them to be quite durable. They were really easy to mount, I did have to use one lever but otherwise it was a breeze putting on. I live in the mountains and have extremely variable road conditions from fresh pavement to super rough chip seal and gravel. I have been riding these things on long chunky gravel roads many times with no issues.

Used stans sealant and only had 1 puncture over 2700mi. The one puncture I did have did not immediately seal at first but eventually did seal a few mins later after I pumped the tire back up to pressure. I ran 77/80psi f/r @ 162lbs. I also found them to be very confidence inspiring in the corners. Overall I am satisfied and will be ordering them again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/14/2022
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Central Valley, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Perfect match.

These tires are perfect match for my Enve 5.6 wheels. I'm aware that these tires are made by a different company but i'm confident that these are as good as it gets. I've used the company for a long time since my tubular tire days and now Enve made use of their expertise, great idea.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/5/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Miami, Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The tire seems thin and wore out faster compared to other tires I have tried. I think that is because they are lighter and maybe designed for racing.

The tire seems thin and wore out faster compared to other tires I have tried. I think that is because they are lighter and maybe designed for racing. I have ridden a little over 1,000 miles and the tires are worn and get punctures consistently. The sealant fluid quickly sealed the punctures but they are happening more frequently now and I am not confident using them any longer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/11/2020
by Vigo72
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Feel Great

Long time waiting for these tires from ENVE. I own two ENVE wheelsets, the tires purchased were specifically used on the ENVE AR 4.5 wheels, completely tubeless, size 29. They fit great, attached immediately to the sides with the compressor and fit nice and snug. They roll nicely with 70 psi, and corner nicely too. But hit some road debris on the road, and the tire got slashed, and it hasn't sealed since. They are not great in the puncture resistant category. The tire got sliced on it's second use, about 1/4" gash. Two rides, and the tire is practically useless now.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/8/2020
by Anonymous
cRiverside Ca
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Won�t hold air

These tires are really nice and track straight however they won't hold air. Lose at least 20-30 psi per day. I have video of the tires leaking from the sidewall where the raised lettering is. Both front and rear had the same problem. I tried extra sealant and keeping the wheel flat so the sealant would cover the area that leaked(several times) Very small but inadequate improvement. I reached out to enve and told them I have a video of the obvious manufacturing problem. I never got a reply. I expected more from enve as every other product I have bought from them is simple incredible.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/26/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New Jersey
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Fast and Puncture Resistant

These are the best tires I have used. I always would praise Rubino's as a great compromise tire. Fast enough but puncture resistant. These seem as fast as my Conti 5000 GP's and as puncture resistant (at least) as the Rubino's. I got them initially because they came with the bike, but when it came time to replace I was not buying anything else (even if I had to get the tan sidewalls - which look way better than I expected)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 42

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]