Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Dakine Hot Laps 5L Waist Hydration Bag

DakineHot Laps 5L Waist Hydration Bag(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(13 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(7)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(2)
(54%)
(23%)
(8%)
(0%)
(15%)
Reviewed 8/12/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Pisgah, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great pack!

The pack is big enough to carry water for a few hours in high heat and still has room for tools, food, and a water filter. I was initially worried but it stays put on rowdy descents. It also allows your back to breathe - something a backpack style water pack won't. The only thing that would make it better is the upgraded water bladder that's available separately. I crashed and landed on the pack and the water bladder sprung a leak so I ordered the upgraded one. It's nice to have the quick disconnect for the hose. Other than that this pack is a really good alternative to a backpack style pack.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/30/2018
by DJM371
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Uncomfortable waist belt and short drinking tube

The pack is a good size and laid out well. Construction and materials are excellent. I have two issues with the pack (1) The drinking tube is about 3 inches too short for me. I have to slow way down or stop and bend over to get a drink. (2) the waist belt adjusts to length well, but it doesn't hold - it slips and loosens. I have to re-adjust it several times an hour.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/25/2019
by Anonymous
Victor, ID
Overall Rating
Good for short rides

This pack feels OK was about a liter of water in it, tools, light layer and a snack. It doesnt carry much and I usually use a water bottle in the cage on my bike with it as well. I put a piece of cardboard in the pocket behind the bladder to make it a little stiffer. Seems like Piccone couldve done that. For the most part a good little pack for shorter rides!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/7/2020
by Hornbeam
Cycling Enthusiast
St Pete,FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
If you are a bigger person this might not work

This has nothing to do with the service at BTD. They are great!

I have a 36 inch waist and I could barely buckle the belt on this waistpack. It won't work with a full water bladder. I contacted Dakine and they do not sell matching buckles so that I could simply make an extender with a piece of velcro. You would have to unsew the belt from the buckle and replace it with a longer piece or sew a length to the belt already on there. That's too much trouble. I read another review on the REI website and the reviewer said they had a larger waist than me and the pack fit, but this was not my experience.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/27/2020
by Hornbeam
Cycling Enthusiast
St Pete,FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Not good for 36 inch waist and bigger

I have a 36 inch waist. The Dakine Hot Laps 5L Waist Hydration Bag just fits, but it is a very tight squeeze. It won't work with a full bladder. I contacted Dakine to get an extender, but they don't make one. So I asked for a matching buckle and I can make my own extender. No big deal. Uh, yeah, no. They apparently don't have replacement buckles to match what's on the bag. It seems like such a silly problem, but I am going to have to return it because I can't use it.

No complaints about BTD, this is a one star review strictly about the product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/25/2018
by JimC
Southern Cali
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Outstanding Waist Pack!!

The Hot Laps pack is very comfortable. Allows you to take 70 oz of water with you plus tools, snacks, phone and Co2,s along for a 2.5 hour ride. The pack does need to be tightened as you drink water but for the most part, it stays in place. If I ever wear out this pack, I would purchase another.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/1/2019
by Sky
Southern Oregon
Overall Rating
Best hip pack yet.

I've gone through about 4 or 5 different hip packs, and this is by far the most comfortable and best sized pack I've used!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/23/2020
by Kelley
colorado
Overall Rating
Awesome pack for short to medium rides

Have used this pack about 10 to 15 times, and I love it! It holds plenty of water for a ride up to about three hours long. Anything more than that and you�ll probably need an extra bottle on your bike. The pack stays in place well and the extra storage is very handy. The only thing that kept it a four-star instead of five stars is the magnet holding the drink nozzle to the pack doesn�t always hold as strong as I would like.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/6/2020
by #Gofruita
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
Overall Rating
Perfect mountain biking pack

Love this pack! The bladder is the perfect size for a mid-length ride and there is plenty of room for a multi-tool, mini pump, snacks and even a light jacket.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/11/2020
by Kelley
colorado
Overall Rating
Awesome pack for short to medium rides

Have used this pack about 10 to 15 times, and I love it! It holds plenty of water for a ride up to about three hours long. Anything more than that and you�ll probably need an extra bottle on your bike. The pack stays in place well and the extra storage is very handy. The only thing that kept it a four-star instead of five stars is the magnet holding the drink nozzle to the pack doesn�t always hold as strong as I would like.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/4/2020
by Ryan
Colorado
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Enjoying this pack!

Its always that question for shorter rides... water bottle and seat bag or hydration pack (backpack)? While this waist-pack holds as much water (which is good) as a traditional pack, it is lighter and more efficient. It solves the dilemma for me. I did add the quick connector from Hydrapak for easier cleaning. It also has very breathable panel to keep the backside relatively dry. Also comes with a tube magnet! Great product!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/2/2020
by Ryan
Colorado
Overall Rating
Enjoying this pack!

Its always that question for shorter rides... water bottle and seat bag or hydration pack (backpack)? While this waist-pack holds as much water (which is good) as a traditional pack, it is lighter and more efficient. It solves the dilemma for me. I did add the quick connector from Hydrapak for easier cleaning. It also has very breathable panel to keep the backside relatively dry. Also comes with a tube magnet! Great product!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/2/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Snug, well made and stylin!!

Awesomely well built , stays in place. Love it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 70