FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Crank Bros Multi-17 Tool

Crank BrosMulti-17 Tool(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(22 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(15)
(7)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(68%)
(32%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 2/20/2018
by Phil W
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tool for Emergencies!

This is the third one of these I've purchased-I have one in the seat bag of each of my bikes. I have used these for a number of on the road adjustments and have even used it to repair a chain. It's sturdy and is easy to use and covers almost every adjustment you might need to make when riding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/20/2017
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Don't leave home without one.

Best of the compact tools out there.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/17/2017
by GulchGirl
Cycling Enthusiast
CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
My go to tool

I have one of these tools in every bike bag. They have never let me down. I have one that keeps falling apart because it lost a bolt that held all the key together but it still function properly. Highly recommended tool.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/16/2015
by iridetracer
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Feels very solid although a little heavy. has everything you need

Great tool, very solid, had to use the chain tool this past week and it worked well. I love the solid feel of this thing even though it is pretty heavy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/5/2014
by AllanF
Cycling Enthusiast
Brooklyn, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Tool in a Pinch

This tool really comes in handy when you're on the road. It really is a great tool to have when you go on long rides. Saved my bacon on more than one occasion. It has all the necessary tools you need to make quick repairs. I especially like the chain tool.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/1/2013
by Kt22Mike
Cycling Enthusiast
Cape Cod
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
light with right set of tools - just not perfect

The tool has all the right tools for riding and taking care of repairs. Took me a while to figure out that you could unscrew the spoke tightener/chain tool from the body of the multi-tool to effectively use the spoke tightener.

My biggest complaint with the tool is the the head of the philips screwdriver is a little too large for adjusting my derailleur and there is no way to keep the screwdriver (and other tools) locked in the up position. When you apply any force these tools fold back down.

But it is an emergency tool and in that regard it gets the job done - just harder to use than I had hoped.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/26/2013
by NorCal rider
Cycling Enthusiast
NorCal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
More tools than you will ever use

First of all, it has a 4mm hex wrench (not a 3.5 as listed in product description). I have mine sitting in front of me while I am typing this review. As for Quality, it's excellently machined, well made, a little of the hefty side. My plan was to pull out my Park Folding Chain Tool and Park Spoke Wrench out of my mini seat bag and replace them with the Multi 17. The Multi 17 would not fit, took up almost as room as my 700 road tube. Decided to pack it in my jersey pocket instead. It has tools that I will never use. Only hex wrench's I use on rides is a 5,4,3. Phillips screwdriver is too large to use on my derailleurs. No need for a flathead anywhere on my bike.8mm will work for my Look pedals, Never had one come loose on a ride. I broke a chain in my garage for an experiment, using the chain tool. It took a lot of leverage and I had to hold the tool with a rag in my left hand, could not do it otherwise. However in over 40 years of riding I have only broken one chain. This is like the Swiss Army knife of multi tools. I used to pack a Park CT-5 Mini chain Brute. Used it when I broke my one chain. Worded just as well in my shop. I imagine I will never have to use this critter, but it's nice to have just in case.

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments

Hi,

Thanks for the review, and for the heads up about the error in our description! You're correct that there's a 4mm hex wrench included in this multi-tool; we've gone ahead and added it to our description.

Thanks,
Stacia

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/20/2012
by Eisenbud
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta, GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best tool I ever owned.

This is a great tool, nicely made and finished. Allen size is clearly marked. Cleverly designed chain and spoke tool. At 168g it's still suitable to keep in your saddle bag and with the smooth strap it can easily go into your jersey pocket as well.

If you can't fix your problem with this tool you probably need to call a cab.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/13/2012
by mister e
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Denver, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Compact tool with most useful features.

I carry this with me on my lightweight skinny tire bike. It's very compact, and although not particularly lightweight, it's rugged enough to give me confidence that it won't fail when needed.

It has a the required selection of allen wrenches needed to adjust most of the bolts on today's bikes. It also has a phillips and flat screwdriver as well as a chain tool for emergencies. What is not included are any wrenches for hex head bolts. If there aren't any of those on your bike, it's not a problem. If you do have them, this probably isn't the tool for you.

A compact tool is for minor adjustments on the road and may be some help in an emergency breakdown situation. They're not major surgery. If anything major goes wrong while on the road, it typically requires a toolbox, and this is not a toolbox.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/16/2010
by OnYourLeft
Cycling Enthusiast
Virginia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Best all-purpose tool I've found

If you only want to have a single tool in your bag or jersey pocket, this should be it. Solid construction and with a layout that allows you to really torque allens, screws, etc. and not feel like you're going to break the tool. The rubber belt that surrounds it to help keep the tools from popping open is a bit tough to deal with, but otherwise it's a fantastic tool and I highly recommend it. If I'm in my workshop tinkering on my bikes I'll often find myself pulling this out of one of my bike's seat bags to do minor adjustments, even though I have a full set of allen wrenches nearby.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/25/2010
by chris
Casual Cyclist
pacific NW
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
The best tool to keep in your seat bag!

I keep this tool in my bag all the time, its great! Compact, lightweight, and has all the tools needed for a road side repair. Ive fixed broken chains, used it to true a wheel so I could get home after a spoke broke, and fixed a slipping seat post. I felt a lot safer venturing a long ways from cell phone service after I got this tool.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/16/2009
by Mark
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR, USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Toolbox in your pocket!

I think this tool is unparalleled by its competitors. For it's impressive thoroughness, it's unbelievably compact and minimally modular. It's got an 8mm hex for your pedal spindle a variety of spoke wrenches one of which makes an excellent valve tool and need I say more? an uncompromising chain tool! There's very little that could go mechanically wrong on a ride that this guy is unprepared for. If you have a friend that also hasn't got one yet... buy two!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/2/2016
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New Mexico
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Tool box fits in the plam of your hand

11 miles from the trail head my chain broke. Pulled out my palm sized CB 17, fixed the chain. Don't leave pavement without it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/16/2017
by Bubbles
Sunnyvale TP
Overall Rating
Deeeecent!

You could tune shopping carts and rebuild a gocart with this thing!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/26/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
well made multi-tool, shape makes its use comfortable

You can get a good grip on the tool. which makes it easy and comfortable to use. This also makes it difficult to use it tight spaces. To wide to allow me to make adjustments to my 29er disc brake piston through the spokes. great all around tool, will have years of use.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/16/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Not walking, still drinking!

I cannot champion the cause of carrying a multitool enough and there have been enough times where I was able to ride out our help a riding partner ride out because I was carrying one. What is nice about this version, it has a Torx wrench for disk brakes, and no protruding parts that mean you can still drink from an unpunctured Camalbak while you are trying to figure out what you just broke going over your handlebars...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/9/2012
by ASmartt1
Casual Cyclist
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tool for all bikes!

I purchased this multi-tool for my husband who commutes by bike every day. He has been using it regularly and is very happy with it overall. It's very sturdy and seems like it will last forever.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/30/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Overall Rating
very compact and useful.

A most have.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/23/2012
by Lucas
Cycling Enthusiast
Las Vegas, NV
Overall Rating
It has nearly every tool needed without having to bring nearly every tool in your toolbox.

I have had to make brake adjustments while on tour with this cool little tool and it works great although you can adjust more than brakes if needed. Well built, slim compact design makes it easy to carry and store. If only it had a knife and spoon attached...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/27/2012
by bikinon
Cycling Enthusiast
Sunnyvale, CA
Overall Rating
Relatively lite and very useful

I have one of these in my bike bag for each bike so I can't forget it, relatively low weight and very useful, if you are out in the boonies and something happens this tool can be the difference between a long walk and getting home on your bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.