Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Craft Mens Cool Mesh Superlight Sleeveless Baselayer

CraftMen's Cool Mesh Superlight Sleeveless Baselayer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(76 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(62)
(9)
(3)
(1)
(1)
(82%)
(12%)
(4%)
(1%)
(1%)

User submitted reviews

Review by MTS

Reviewed 1/9/2023
by MTS
Cycling Enthusiast
Beautiful California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Keeping Cool in the Heat

I've ridden these a lot on rides where the temp goes well over 100�. Keeps you cooler than just a jersey, that's for sure. You wouldn't think they would but they do. You don't even notice that it's there except that you're cooler than without it. If I had to make a complaint, it's that sunscreen stains the neck after a while. But nobody ever sees these when you're riding so who cares, right? They go on sale every so often so keep an eye out.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ti Biker

Reviewed 10/4/2018
by Ti Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Wouldn't ride without it

Have used a warm-weather baselayer for a few years, Craft was the first brand I tried. The sale price made it a no-brainer I needed replacement. White does show some sweat stains (although not until several months of wearing it 2-3 times/week) so also bought a black one this time.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Eric Hensel

Reviewed 10/23/2023
by Eric Hensel
Cycling Enthusiast
PNW
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Run large

I'm 67 inches tall, 140lbs, with a short torso, and the small is much too large for a base-layer intended to be form-fitting. They also stretch, making the situation worse. I have 3 of these, and have used them for many years, so this is not a deal breaker, but a suggestion to BTD that they please order the extra-small I see on the Craft website. These are a fair deal, on sale in the 35 dollar range, but overpriced at retail.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Eric Jensen

Reviewed 9/25/2023
by Eric Jensen
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
love these

This is my third Craft lightweight/summer undershirt. They work great 70-100F, and I swear keep you just that little bit cooler or warmer. I also have a couple of the more insulating unders for cold weather and there is a marked difference in that these do not provide warmth under 50F.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CrazyguyonabikeWI

Reviewed 8/21/2023
by CrazyguyonabikeWI
Central Wisconsin
Overall Rating
Improved my bib short experience

Newbie to bib shorts - rode with jersey above and below bib strap for a year. Read reviews and bought one of these Craft undershirts this spring. Needless to say I am sold on the utility of the undershirt and have since bought a second to add to my rotation. A great addition to those riding bib shorts in warm weather. Medium works great for 6'1" and 175 lb guy.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/3/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect fit.

I hesitantly ordered a size small at 5'9", 150 lbs based on other reviews. The fit is perfect--provides compression without being constrictive or uncomfortable. Have not worn it lately because of the blistering hot temps, but in early summer I did notice it helping my jersey to stay dry, which, I guess, is the whole point. I think it will be very useful this fall as a base layer.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Andy

Reviewed 11/2/2023
by Andy
Overall Rating
Base layer keeps you dry.

Excellent fit, comfortable, really works. I save it for long days in the saddle.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Paul

Reviewed 9/11/2020
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
great to have for a less obvious reason

the main reason i got this was not because its designed to help you stay cool on hot days, but because on hot days i wear a Le Col Pro Air Nexus jersey which is basically a see thru mesh jersey. great for staying cool, but it leaves nothing to the imagination. adding this base layer allows for the benifit of breathablity while also making my jersy top less see through.

its super light and comfortable and i dont notice its even under my jersey which is a plus.

overall im happy with it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mac

Reviewed 9/5/2020
by Mac
Cycling Enthusiast
Massachusettes
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Was very impressed,

This was a Daily Special, Looked like a great option for the hot days, but sounded kind of contradictory to wear additional layer on a hot day. I read the reviews and they were good. The price was good when offered for the daily deal. So I purchased the Crafts cool mesh base layer to try and I can say wow I am impressed it works great under your bike shirts they do not stick to you and the holes in fabric let your skin breath. I was so impressed I purchased another one when it was a daily deal again. Now on some cooler mornings about 70 degrees it adds a little warmth. I will buy one more when a deal again. It works great but the little bit of cloth is a lot of money for the full price.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by OLETABIKER

Reviewed 8/21/2023
by OLETABIKER
Cycling Enthusiast
S.FLA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
STAY COOL BASE LAYER

Mandatory for cooling riding in these hot temperatures!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/15/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A very cool garment

The difference in cooling effect between the new base layer and an well worn bade layer of the same garment was quite noticeable. Definitely felt cooler wearing this base layer. Comfortable, snug without being uncomfortable.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Duckberry

Reviewed 8/3/2020
by Duckberry
Cycling Enthusiast
Berkshires
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Do I need this?

I can't tell if I need this thing. I've worn this and another Craft baselayer ten or so times in the heat, and on some days it has made me too hot, and on others it seemed to make me sweat more, and the sweat soaked the baselayer, which helped cool me down, but it feels like I'm dehydrated faster. On other days, I feel cool and this thing seems to work. The effect is different with different jerseys. Was I too hot without this baselayer? I don't think so. Best utility is for shoulder seasons, I think.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Paul

Reviewed 8/10/2023
by Paul
Boerne. TX
Overall Rating
Cooler rides?

Yes, cooler, rides nice, buffer between jersey and body

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DTH

Reviewed 7/26/2022
by DTH
Competitive Racer
park city Ut
Value Rating
Overall Rating
GREAT FOR EVERYDAY SUMMER RIDING.

Great for everyday summer riding, you can unzip your jersey and not have your chest exposed and the light material helps in wicking and cooling. Also, great for traveling and be easily washed in a hotel sink and drys quickly, or you can roll it up in a dry towel and it ready to wear immediately.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/28/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Works mostly as expected

I�m using this in the really hot weather we�re experiencing, and for the most part, it helps to dissipate the sweat and cool my body. I think it would be better if it had no elastaine.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kav

Reviewed 7/19/2022
by Kav
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great hot weather base

Bought this on sale but would buy full price. This is one of those pieces of gear you put on and forget because it is so good. Does the job in hot humid weather and great for indoor training. I also wear under work shirts to keep a sweaty cotton shirt off of me.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TOMASLDO

Reviewed 7/14/2022
by TOMASLDO
Competitive Racer
Surprise, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent base layer for those hot AZ rides in the mountains

I use the Craft Cool Mesh on my MTB rides and on long E-MTB rides (exploring remote areas). I love the barrier and the ventilation it provides. I now have 4 of these to prevent laundry becoming an everyday event.

PROs - great ventilation, doesn't stick to my skin, no odor problems, I use the white ones so they are always cool.

CONs - A bit pricey for what it is, the laundry tag is enormous

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/15/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Size is BIG

The baselayer is great, the mesh is nice, breathes well and stretchy but the size is huge. I am 5 6' and bought a small. It is super long and bunches under a jersey.

3 stars because of the size.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kagielu

Reviewed 7/24/2017
by Kagielu
Competitive Racer
Tampa, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Very light and cool.

It's still too early to tell if this will fall apart over time. I plan on using it weekly as I did with my Pearl Izumi baselayer and so far it's lasted me 3 years with no issues. So I will compare it to my PI. It's very light, and comfy, keeps me cool in the Florida hot and humid weather. I don't feel sticky at the end of my rides and still able to not feel overheated. I bought a size medium, which I usually wear, but appears to be more loose. Maybe next time I'll order a small and see if it'll fit well. Anyway, like I said earlier my review might change over time since I'm going to compare it to my PI that I've been using for over 3 years and so far nothing wrong with it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/29/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Traverse City MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Love this shirt, use in all weather conditions to keep sweat off of the skin and constantly evaporating

Used under jersey in all weather conditions. Keeps a layer of ventilation when it's hot out allowing cooler air layer between skin and jersey, jersey doesn't stick to the skin.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]