Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Ultra Sport III (Wire Bead)

ContinentalUltra Sport III (Wire Bead)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(13 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(8)
(4)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(62%)
(31%)
(8%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 7/2/2021
by GlennerationX
Casual Cyclist
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Tight, but right.

Tight fit, not easy to install. Had to partially inflate to get bead to seat properly. Once installed, the tires are fine. Decent grip and smooth rolling. No issues so far and no noticeable wear after 300 miles. Looking like a decent tire bargain.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/9/2021
by BassistBiker
Casual Cyclist
Madison, WI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great budget friendly tire.

I bought a pair of these for my SS that I ride around town, I wasn't looking to spend a lot of money, but I was hoping to at least get a durable tire, these fit that purpose perfectly, they are easy on the wallet, and so far have proven to be pretty durable too...and to top it all off, they roll super smooth, have ample traction and were easy to install, what more could you ask for?

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/22/2021
by RCB
Cycling Enthusiast
Auburn AL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great commuter tire

Used on a single speed for commuting around our college town. Durable and free from flats - not a small problem for us. good grip in the damp too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/20/2020
by Gooniezneverdie
San Antonio TX
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire for the price

Used these to replace of continental ride tour 700x28c tires. While this tire is very slick looking and smooth rolling, it lacks the aggressive grip found on other tires. Now, obviously the price point of this tire vs the continental super sports plus on my other bike is substantial and both are clearly made different, do not let that scare you! These are great tires to throw on a road bike for daily riding and stylish slick looks. (I did not get the colorway version). If you are looking for aggressive grip and high end qualities, there are other options. But this tires is definitely an elite in the entry class road bike tire market for the price and specs! And oh so easy to put on a 700x28, compared to other continental tires I've installed (super sport plus, ride tour)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/16/2020
by BigDave
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene,OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
700 x 32 for a big rider

I am 6'3" and 265lbs and dropping. These fit well and easy to install. I keep them at 90psi front and 100psi rear. So far so good with 100 miles on them and the ride is like butter, smooth. Yes they are heavy and when I start to climb it really is an issue, but on the flats, the added weight keeps the momentum going. They are on a Surly Cross-Check w/ 32 spoke wheels. Grip here in the wetland of Eugene, Oregon is good.

Bike Tires Direct is quick to ship and very reasonable cost.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/18/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Lakewood, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Tight

I have not ridden on these tires yet, so I don't know the ride quality. These tires though were very difficult to put on my rims and I don't know if they are true to size. I finally gave up and had a bike shop install the rear wheel tire. They even had trouble installing the tire on the rim and broke a tire lever in doing so.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/5/2021
by dtwnj
Casual Cyclist
Newark, NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice tires

Bought these to replace 20 year old tires on a 1986 road bike I had not ridden much as primarily a commuter. Nice enough quality. Just enough tread. Nice, tight fit. I struggled a bit to mount them, but that's probably just lack of practice.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/12/2020
by Anonymous
Tampa FL
Overall Rating
Excellent tire

This tire is excellent for my vintage road bike, great feel and responsiveness

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/11/2020
by PaulieBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA, United States
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent value for commuter bike!

So i needed a 700x28 for my commuter bike, and tire was perfect. I was worried it would be too slow, as I generally ride 25's on my race bikes, but this was the perfect combination of durability and speed. Great product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/7/2020
by David
Eugene
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Meaty tire tire for smooth ride

Great tire at 30mm, smooth ride @ 100psi. Holding up well after 200 miles or so. I'm a big guy 6' 3" 260lbs. Great on the flats, not so much on the hills.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/16/2020
by Maddy
Daily Commuter
New York, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent city tire

This tire is a great value -- great puncture protection.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/30/2020
by Keith
Pensacola Fl.
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great fit great ride.

Both my tires and tubes fit my bike perfect. And they are giving me a very nice ride on the road.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/20/2020
by blueriderthom
Bend-Redmond-Sisters
Overall Rating
Ultra Sport is ULTRA GOOD VALUE

Continental name guarantees quality. I've never been disappointed in the Ultra Sport tires. I used to log 250 mi/week downtown PDX to Hillsboro and return. Living in Bend area and riding Cascade Lakes, Lower Bridge and McKenzie Pass I've rarely had anything but good traction and very few punctures. Kudos to W Bike Works for stocking the tyre, selling it at a fair price pt and doing every delivery pronto.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 65

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]