Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Town And Country 26 Inch Tire

ContinentalTown And Country 26 Inch Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(34 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(15)
(15)
(1)
(1)
(2)
(44%)
(44%)
(3%)
(3%)
(6%)
Reviewed 6/16/2020
by older AZ Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Phoenix, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Very versatile tire for a great price. Very pleased with purchase of 26x190 Conti Town and Countrys

I've using these tires for 3 months and have found them capable of more than just riding on streets. Several short rides on non technical desert trails were uneventful. Inflated to 55-60 psi they handled deep and loose sand over hardpack almost as well as mtb tires. Of course , there are limits.

These Town and Countrys roll surprisingly well on roads for 26x190 tires. I use them on my old hardtail and find that averaging 15 mph is routine. Speeds of 15-17 mph, while rolling, are comfortable. I've had 2 flats with these tires. Both caused by the dreaded goat heads that are common in this area.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/27/2020
by Bruce
Casual Cyclist
Manchester, CT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
big improvement for hard surfaces

I have a Trek hybrid bike, about 20 years old, which is why I need the 26 inch tires. I have owned this bike since it was new and have ridden it in Boston, Rhode Island, Chicago, and now in Connecticut on a mix of trails, paved paths, and city streets. I am very familiar with this bike, and deciding to try these tires out was partially due to the fact that the bike still rides beautifully, but choices are now becoming more limited for this size wheel.

After having them on for the last 3 months and really riding them several days per week, I am impressed by their surefooted grip, low rolling resistance, and quiet and comfortable ride. The last tires did well, but these have definitely been a step up.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/22/2020
by Mitch Rapp
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Terrific Tire - Traveling Tough Tarmac

Great Conti tire for cycling on the city streets of NYC and surrounding mountain bike trails. Good tread for both surfaces and tough sidewalls..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/3/2020
by Stuart
Cycling Enthusiast
Scottsdale, Arizona
Value Rating
Overall Rating
excellent tire for riding paved roads, compacted gravel and dirt conditions.

These tires are on my comfort bike that is used to ride around the neighborhood, go thru the parks, and do a 30 mile ride to Tempe, Arizona along paved trails. I like the comfort, the way it handles the road whether there is sand, dirt, or water covering the roads. These tires provide a really smooth ride compared to my previous tires.s

Have not found anything I don't like about the tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/7/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great overall concrete trailoff-road.

Needed an overall tire that could perform well on concrete trail and off-road if required. Riding Scott Scale 30 with Mavic Cross Ride rims. Great tire if you need the ability to switch from concrete or asphalt to grass or dirt.

Performed very well and I actually rode my Scotty with these Continental Town & Country's in the 40-mile Tour de Houston Ride and some of the road cyclists were surprised at how fast I was going.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/11/2017
by hayneda
Cycling Enthusiast
Appalachia, SE USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Low-rolling Resistance Tire for Road and Gravel Touring and Bike Packing

Despite some of negative reviews of this tire on the internet, I decided to give them a try as the specs on them indicated they are significantly lighter than most other offerings of this type. These tires are lighter and thinner (tread thickness not width) than most and, as a result, have noticeably lower rolling resistance and provide a very nice ride.

I use these on my rigid mountain bike turned tourer in the 26 x 1.9 size. On my rims they measure 1.85 so they are pretty close to spec. I didn't weigh them, but when swapping them out with my old 1.5 tires, they were significantly lighter in my hand than the 26 x1.5's.

I have put over 500 miles on these in a combination of road, gravel, and jeep trail riding. In my latest bikepacking trip, they survived a very rocky and ill-used Appalachian jeep trail including some rough descending with a heavy pannier load with no issues. Any concerns I might of had about their durability due to the thinner tread was put to rest. I run them with 35 psi front40 psi back unloaded, and bump the pressure up 5 psi each when bikepacking loaded. That gives a great ride on- and off-road. I particularly like the lack of outside lugs used on many mixed use touring tires as those like to start walking when leaned over in high-speed on road downhills. These tires are confidence inspiring on fast descents.

Bottom line I really like these tires. Time will tell on the long term mileage, but I don't expect they will last as long as other tires given the thinner tread. But I consider that a good trade off for the lighter, lower rolling resistance and supple ride of these tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/8/2016
by NordicNorm
Cycling Enthusiast
SoCal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
fantastic, smooth ride, super durable puncture resistant tread, but scary sidewall cracks

I've run the Indian Conti T&C 26x2.1 exclusively on heavily loaded cargo and Mt bikes mainly on urban streets and trails at less than 60PSI for the last 3 yrs. They provide an amazingly comfortable ride and outstanding tread durability. All of the one's I ride have big scary looking cracks in the sidewalls running around the entire tire. I think the weak sidewall rubber may be one of the reasons the ride is so plush. I have seen pictures of blowouts from tubes finding a way through the inner casing, but I've been lucky so far. Were it not for the great ride, superb flat resistance, and long tread life I'd switch them out. Never seen a German made T&C - but have heard those don't have the sidewall issues.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/14/2019
by Wheels Hubberth
Cycling Enthusiast
Wine country ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
works for me

This tire has been great for hard pack, pavement, even loose gravel. Rolls well. Great tire

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/22/2019
by SJ in SoCal
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A good tire. Even better if BTD did not fold them to ship.

I am a long time user of this tire as a good combination city and dirt tire.

A mountain bike in street use is my general purpose around town bike.

Knobbies provide little traction on wet streets and I have the scars to

prove it. This tire is a durable, highly functional combi tire that covers

you on streets and on sandy street surfaces such as near bike paths or

in parks.

A good value for the money.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/10/2015
by HiRide
Cycling Enthusiast
Honolulu
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Unhappy

I bought these for my wife and I for our towny bikes and they were not as good as I'd hoped. The sidewalls were wimpy, rough on the inside and rubbed on the tubes enough that I had several flats. I examined the tubes and they were scuffed around the tire where the sidewalls rubbed on them. These were not pinches, but rubbed through.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/2/2014
by Pantera
Cycling Enthusiast
San Juan, PR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Side walls rip out prematurely

I guess i rode over 1.250 miles and the side walls disintegrated when it still had good tread on them, nevertheless only one flat and tires where good.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/7/2014
by Motojtusa
Cycling Enthusiast
NW Washington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Durable & Comfortable

Got these tires as a stock tire on my Novara Safari (2008). I've ridden 3000 miles on them and they've been quiet, comfortable, capable of carrying full-on touring loads (60 pounds) and have only had two flats this whole time. If I wasn't an anti-puncture FREAK I'd get another set. (I hate unloading a touring bike to fix a flat. Its a big pain). They have served me well on pavement and dirt roads and I can't say enough positive about them. They last and they are good tires. I'm really only replaceing them because they are getting old and starting to show side-wall cracks from age. If only they had a more robust anti-puncture layer I'd get another set in a heart-beat. A solid product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/30/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
South Bay CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Compelling value in a versstile tire

I needed new rubber for my mountain bike that sees mostly street use. It was a pleasure to be able to afford Conti quality for such a modest price - 20.00 ea on special. The tires arrived promptly, were not difficult to fit and immediately inspired confidence, imparting good feel (traction,ease of pedaling)and a smooth riding experience. I have had no problems with traction or control. What more can I say - perhaps not optimal for those who spend most of their time on the dirt, but a great compromise for the rest of us

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/8/2013
by Oregon RainMan
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Fast tire but scary on ice or wet

These tire roll fast and are very quiet but watch out on icy roads, on leaves, a thin layer of dirt or in the wet. I commute on them but they have almost no traction when it is raining on the three wooden unpainted bridges that I have to cross each way. I have fallen when the wheels slip out from under me even when going under 5 MPH to make the bridges' 90-degree corners. Scary!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/2/2018
by MJB
North Bay Area
Overall Rating
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
27.5???

I love these tires but cant find them for my Santa Cruz Bronson

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/10/2017
by Tourist
Cycling Enthusiast
hilly Pennsylvania
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Have used Town & Country For Years

I switched my bike to Continental Town & Country tires a few years ago. I use my mountain bike for mostly road riding with some rail trail riding mixed in.

They must be properly inflated. Some reviewers indicate sidewall failure, shich I never had in thousands of miles. I get about 3-4,000 miles out of these with no problem.

I am riding on high quality Mavic wheels with sealed cartridge bearings, and the combination has both of us amazing road bike riders that we ride as fast as them, and coast right with the pack.

A huge benefit when on a several day tour in an area we are not familiar. Road conditions that leave others walking or doing a slow tedious ride,...we keep going and kind of smirk!

Overall if you keep them at about 55 - 60 pounds they perform and last well.

Wet roads are also fine with these tires, with a load or not.

Buy them and try them - you should not be disappointed. Just don't try to do single track or mud. Do that ? Buy knobbies.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/1/2017
by JG
Pennsylvania
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Fast rolling and long wear

Have been using these for several years. Ride about 3,500 mile per year, mostly on road.

These tires have held-up to bad roads, and nasty weather conditions.

With good wheels they roll along with road bikes.

My bike is a Cannonsale hard tail with Mavic Cross Ride wheels.

Have toured in multiple states and conditions and swear by using Continent Town & Country tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/1/2017
by burkettjoshua
Daily Commuter
St. Louis, MO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Would not recommend.

I bought these for my wife's bike. We wanted something that would last and allow her to ride on gravel, sand and still have good performance on the road. We have had them for about two and a half months and the sidewalls are already cracking. We have only put about 50 miles on the tires. This should not be happening so soon. I will not buy these tires again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/28/2017
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Smoother Ride

These tires have made my ride so much smoother in the Chicago city streets than the previous mountain tires I had on previously. I am also able to get through rough terrarian ( rocks, muddy grass, etc...) when having to navigate around concrete.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/1/2016
by TRACKS50
Cycling Enthusiast
GALVESTON COUNTY TEXAS
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent quality very durable .

I ride ten miles daily and have logged several hundred miles on these tires. Excellent construction and wearability.lots of tread left to go many more miles.I am a large powerful rider at 260 lbs. What's not to like ?

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 14