Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Town And Country 26 Inch Tire

ContinentalTown And Country 26 Inch Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(41 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(20)
(15)
(2)
(2)
(2)
(49%)
(37%)
(5%)
(5%)
(5%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 1/2/2018
by MJB
North Bay Area
Overall Rating
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
27.5???

I love these tires but cant find them for my Santa Cruz Bronson

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/10/2017
by Tourist
Cycling Enthusiast
hilly Pennsylvania
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Have used Town & Country For Years

I switched my bike to Continental Town & Country tires a few years ago. I use my mountain bike for mostly road riding with some rail trail riding mixed in.

They must be properly inflated. Some reviewers indicate sidewall failure, shich I never had in thousands of miles. I get about 3-4,000 miles out of these with no problem.

I am riding on high quality Mavic wheels with sealed cartridge bearings, and the combination has both of us amazing road bike riders that we ride as fast as them, and coast right with the pack.

A huge benefit when on a several day tour in an area we are not familiar. Road conditions that leave others walking or doing a slow tedious ride,...we keep going and kind of smirk!

Overall if you keep them at about 55 - 60 pounds they perform and last well.

Wet roads are also fine with these tires, with a load or not.

Buy them and try them - you should not be disappointed. Just don't try to do single track or mud. Do that ? Buy knobbies.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/1/2017
by JG
Pennsylvania
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Fast rolling and long wear

Have been using these for several years. Ride about 3,500 mile per year, mostly on road.

These tires have held-up to bad roads, and nasty weather conditions.

With good wheels they roll along with road bikes.

My bike is a Cannonsale hard tail with Mavic Cross Ride wheels.

Have toured in multiple states and conditions and swear by using Continent Town & Country tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/1/2017
by burkettjoshua
Daily Commuter
St. Louis, MO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Would not recommend.

I bought these for my wife's bike. We wanted something that would last and allow her to ride on gravel, sand and still have good performance on the road. We have had them for about two and a half months and the sidewalls are already cracking. We have only put about 50 miles on the tires. This should not be happening so soon. I will not buy these tires again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/28/2017
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Smoother Ride

These tires have made my ride so much smoother in the Chicago city streets than the previous mountain tires I had on previously. I am also able to get through rough terrarian ( rocks, muddy grass, etc...) when having to navigate around concrete.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/1/2016
by TRACKS50
Cycling Enthusiast
GALVESTON COUNTY TEXAS
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent quality very durable .

I ride ten miles daily and have logged several hundred miles on these tires. Excellent construction and wearability.lots of tread left to go many more miles.I am a large powerful rider at 260 lbs. What's not to like ?

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/21/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Miami Fl.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
smooth, fast and cushy!!

Urban mountain biking.. steps, parking garages, sidewalk trails..Very smooth and fast.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/19/2013
by Bob
Walla walla
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good value

Rides smooth and steady

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/23/2012
by Dennis Johnson
Cycling Enthusiast
Salem OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great urban tire

I used these tires for street work for 10 years as a bike cop. Not light but pretty tough and good flat resistance. Enough tread to do mud without sliding all over the place. Roadies will not like the weight but for an urban tire, riding the gutters, side walks or wherever you have to ride, these are my choice. ( the ones I used were the gumwall)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/28/2012
by John
Casual Cyclist
Mesa, Az
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Good tire for me

As I said, a good tire as I ride on dirt hard pack trails and transition to the street.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/12/2012
by LamboGhini
Casual Cyclist
San Francisco, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Very Good Tire For Intended Purpose

I have had the 2.1 wide version for about 4 years and probably 300 leisurely miles. Most were on city streets with occasional forays onto dirt trails. With no sporting pretense, these are cushy and I think perfect for the way I ride.

On hard surfaces, the tire presents continuous road contact. Ride is quiet with apparently low rolling resistance. When ground is soft, the reverse knobby thread sinks in a bit and provides pretty good traction. Thread is hardly worn and should be good for at least another 300. I've not had a flat yet.

Some years ago I took a spill on smooth ground with a mono-layer of probably 3mm gravel (like ball bearings). I chose these tires with the thought of not repeating the same again with smooth road tires. The thread pattern should allow firm ground contact without the constant noise of normal knobbies. I've had good luck so far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/12/2012
by Texas79603
Competitive Racer
Miami
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Super product. These tires allowed my wife to keep riding, good grip long wear!

Changed tires on my wife's bike to allow less resistance as compared to her maxxis igniters. Shes so impressed I may put them on my mtn bike. I'd definitely purchase them again. Thanks

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/28/2012
by MaineBikah
Cycling Enthusiast
Glacial, Me.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire for gravel roads, some dirt, but really shine on pavement.

I'm a roadie and still put over 500 miles a year on my old hardtail mountain bike. In the Spring, Maine roads can be brutal for a road bike, so I normally start the riding season on my mountain bike. I switched from a knobby to the Conti Town and Country (2.1) about 5 years ago and glad I did. They are perfect for any pavement and gravel trail. OK for sandy conditions. Smooth and very comfortable. Obviously, not for steep mountain trails. Durability is insane and no flats to top it off. Not sure if one could tell, but I really enjoy these tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/16/2012
by rear round commuter
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Good tire for commuting on city streets.

This is a kevlar bead tire that works great for commuting on city streets with good traction but slick enough to move fast!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/21/2010
by 1man3jobs
Casual Cyclist
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Many, Many Miles

Purchased two sets for two differnt bikes. Faster than an dirt tire but was looking for something with a bit less rolling resistance. I have had these tires for years and have well over 2000 miles (all road) on them. Although I think there are a few miles left on them I a switching to a 26x1.3 tire with an 80 psi rating (slick). I would buy these again if I wanted a tire that would last...and last....and last.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/17/2009
by blaiddwyn
Casual Cyclist
San Francisco, USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
21 of 22 customers found this review helpful.
We call 'em 'Cop Tires' - They're quiet, fast and sticky... I love 'em.

They used to be gum-wall in the photo now they're black, and the sidewalls would rot out from air pollution, or whatever LONG before I could wear the tread out... NEVER got a puncture - they actually reject stuff like broken glass so forcefully to the side that it's alarming. On the fat side for sure, yet rolling resistance is nil you'll be coasting on these long after the knobbly guys are peddling their legs off, and they are effectively silent no more deafening 'pick-up truck' racket. Can't imagine a better city tire for a MTB, and they go well enough off road for occasional excursions - an excellent trade-off in my book. I'll never buy anything else as long as they keep making these, and will forever go out of my way if need be to find them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/17/2009
by Peter
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis, MN.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Long Haul

I've been running the 26x2.1 tires on my cargo bike all summer and have been very happy with them. I like the larger air volume and smoother tread on this tire and have not had a flat yet either.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/17/2009
by VA BIKER
Casual Cyclist
Dumfries VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
35 of 46 customers found this review helpful.
Not so fast

These would be great street ties except for the fact that the side walls rip out after about 600 miles

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/21/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Venice, Fl.
Overall Rating
Good all purpose tire.

Used for replacement on an older mountain bike used mostly on road and bike pathes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2020
by bvahey
Cycling Enthusiast
CT
Overall Rating
Sturdy value

easy rolling yet decent grip in wetdirt. good value. will see how many miles they provide.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 03

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]