Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental SuperSport Plus

ContinentalSuperSport Plus(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(32 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(17)
(8)
(4)
(1)
(2)
(53%)
(25%)
(13%)
(3%)
(6%)
Reviewed 10/8/2020
by Bob G
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Peninsula
Value Rating
Overall Rating
What's not to like?

I've bought this tire for a friend that isn't well versed in bike parts in general. She just wanted a good value, reliable, replacement tire. There are many to choose from and the array of choices can be overwhelming. I've used many brands (Vittoria, Michelin, and Hutchinson, all good) but one stands out. That is Continental. I've had incredible luck with their tires (2 flats in 4 years, 10k miles). The SuperSport Plus lasted 2k miles on my wife's bike with no flats. They're a little heavy, a little hard, but a great value for the price and for those expecting a no nonsense tire, so I didn't hesitate buying one for my casual riding friend looking for a good value.

My favorite though is the GP5000/4000, What a tire! Supple, serious traction, lightweight, great price and great mileage.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/12/2020
by Grizzly1
Cycling Enthusiast
So. Cal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Top Notch Super Heavy Duty

Top notch flat protection, although Very heavy. However they roll very well on flats and down hills, good stability and confident feel in cornering. Slow and sluggish on climbs, and or headwinds. like pulling a sled.

Best for commuters or anyone interested in flat protection, with some performance values.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
11040
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Negative-Tire was hard to put on rim. Positive- Extremely happy with tire performance

Negative-Tire was hard to put on rim. Positive- Extremely happy with tire performance.

Slightly better size allows for more comfort while riding.

Extremely happy with the tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/2/2020
by Carlos
los angeles
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excelente producto

Me encanto el producto

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/10/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Saratoga Springs, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Too hard to get on the rim.

The bead and sidewall are too stiff. Wound up switching to another brand.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/12/2020
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Arizona
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Don't flat unless you want sore hands and frustration

These tires were cheap and worked fine for training. Durability is about average and puncture protection is OK, which is a good thing because getting these suckers back on is an ordeal. I thought it was just me, but my father with some 35 years riding experience struggled when he tried replacing a flat with these. Probably lasted close to 2000 miles but won't be getting these again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/29/2019
by SMBiker
Daily Commuter
Phoenix, AZ, US
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tire

I was looking for a puncture resistant tire as I the area has lots of cactus needles. This tire has worked well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/15/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Durham, ME
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
If you do not need race quality..... This is a good, tough tire

I average one hundred miles per week once the snow is gone and I hate flatting. I ride in Maine and some roads are rough in Spring with left over frost heaves, cracks and chunks of pavement missing from plow activity...While these may not be race tires they are plenty fast. More importantly, they are rugged and will last....

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/7/2019
by Goatman59
Cycling Enthusiast
Oneonta, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Easy install, very smooth rolling.

Training and some competition.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/23/2016
by Rich
Casual Cyclist
Woodburn, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Okay So Far ... BUT

Tire seems sturdy if rather stiff. It's OK so far but .... WOW Hardest tire to mount I've ever bought. I typically carry just one tire iron on rides but with this tire you'd better have two or be prepared to walk. Hope it's as flat proof as they claim because fixing a flat on the road will be a challenge.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/24/2015
by Ironman-Giant
Cycling Enthusiast
Hocking Hills, Logan, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great city tires but fast, stable, free rolling for country roads.

Easy to mount although others complained. WIRE beads, they are a tough tire. mounted with bare hands, no tools. When dismounting you will need a tire tool. These tires have stood up to uneven brick streets, limestone both large and small, rough sidewalks in town and surprisingly broken glass with NO problems. No flats and No leaks (Continental Race Road Tubes). I am retired and ride every day weather permitting, which has been every day but one since purchasing them. have been on my road bike only one week bit have ridden just over 250 miles. Repeating myself, no leaks and no flats. one more note if you like 23c tires try the 28c and you will get a little better ride. 100 psi and my weight is 229 lbs.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/3/2015
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Tough city tire

I bought it for my daughter she uses it for city riding and loves the toughness of the tire. Personally I think it's one of the hardest tires I've ever had to put on the rim.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/18/2014
by Lisa Eb
Cycling Enthusiast
Upper Peninsula of MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Heavy duty!

As others have said, these tires are a tank. Very thick, gonna take a lot to puncture. Also need tire levers to put them ON. Hope I never get a flat out on a ride, I'll have to call AAA. Having said that, I feel quite confident riding these tires. I don't worry about getting a flat with these. I just go!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/19/2018
by Roberto
Cycling Enthusiast
NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Flats over light weight

I am a big man so I need a sturdy tyre as I ride mostly in NYC, Bronx, TD Bank 5 boros tour, this offer a great value as they rarely get flats, I pump them at maximum pressure, they work great. Last year I did over 2500 miles city rides and got at most 2 flats, slow leaks over night. Got a new pair on for this year tour on already.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/16/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great product for the money

These are used on a tandem. About 5,000 annual miles with few flats.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2014
by SEMOBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Jackson, MO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire for the price!

Bought these for my sons road bike, the first time we rode across Kansas. The year before he had 13 flats in 475 miles. That year, he had none, even with the goat heads, shredded retreads, and glass, not a single flat. This year we rode 555 miles across Kansas on the SAME TIRES! Not a single flat, even had great grip in the rain. Have put 1300 miles on these and they are still going....the next set will be these. Good low roll resistance, great durability!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/28/2014
by K C biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Kansas City Mo.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Faster than the Continental Sport Contact.

I ride to work everyday that i can. Recently switched out a pair of 2 year old Continental Sport Contacts, that were in 28 cm. Just like to say great tire 2 years 2 flats on the back tube not tire related the tire is a tank nothing ever penetrated the tire. But i was looking for a little more speed and the Continental Super Sport Plus fills the order, i got it in 25 cm. And i most say climbing the hills of Kansas City Mo. Has got a lot easier now if they are as tough as the Continental Sport Contacts they will probably be the my tire of choice, this was helpful. My bike a hybrid Dawes Eclipse 3.0.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/12/2018
by Gene
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Dreadnaught tire!

For touring in rough conditions, a tough tire is needed. This is it. Somewhat heavy, but when traveling slowly on backroads in cactus country these tires deliver!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/19/2013
by FontanaBiker
Fontana CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Beefier tires/better road bump absorbtion

I bought this tire for my 7 mile commute (one way). Has been reliable, no flats and slightly wider size helps with ride quality. Has a little more drag at start up from me previous 23-25mm wide tires. Ride quality improvement plus more road protection was a great trade off in my case. Keep 'em pumped up and ride!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/12/2013
by Don
Cycling Enthusiast
Bellingham, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome value for the dollar.

I was looking for a durable tire for my night rides. Because of my work schedule most of my rides each week occur at night. I have great lighting, but even with that you tend to ride over things at night that you wouldn't during the day. There's nothing worse than getting a flat at night. These tires are awesome. They perform well in all types of weather and I've felt and heard myself ride over stuff that if I'd have seen would have avoided. No flats! Great value from a quality name you can trust.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 18