Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental SuperSport Plus

ContinentalSuperSport Plus(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(32 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(17)
(8)
(4)
(1)
(2)
(53%)
(25%)
(13%)
(3%)
(6%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 8/10/2017
by SCUM
Daily Commuter
Fort Collins, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tire, heavy

My wife has run these on her commuter for the last three years. They held up fairly well and she seemed pleased with them. It was time for a change up on my fixed gear and I thought I would give them a shot. Previously, I ran Schwalbe Duranos and I had been very pleased with their durability and performance. The Contis provide a way cushier ride than my duranos, but the weight gain has been significantly noticeable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/6/2017
by Roberto
Cycling Enthusiast
Bronx NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great road tire

I am 260 and need a rugged tire I use my bike in the city (Bronx, Manhattan) most of the time and the road is rough on the tires, this gives me what I want few flats, mostly about 1 every 350 miles.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/19/2013
by Variant530
Cycling Enthusiast
Utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tire and all around good value

Great tire, mounts easily, seats perfect on the first try. Tire spins very true. I've ridden this tire over dirt and grass as well as road and have not had any issues in over 500 miles.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/8/2013
by Fuji Absolute 2.1
Casual Cyclist
New Orleans
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great Choice!

Bought the 700X28 for a Fuji Absolute 2.1 which came stock with 700x32 and the ride is definitely more refined. I mostly ride city in and around New Orleans. The Super Sports feel much more agile and have zero lag or resistance like my stock tires did which also had much more tread pattern to them. Tires are ten times better than stock in regards to quality. One flat and a walk home with a disabled bike 2 miles out is no fun. Always keep proper tire inflation to help avoid pinch flats. I just didn't feel safe in my stock tires and for good reason they are cheap and thin. Stepped down a size and went for the Super Sports which worked out great. My bike coasts significantly more than with stock treaded tires. Great Choice!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/23/2012
by ARrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Little Rock, AR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great performing tire so far...

Tires were delivered quickly, and in new condition. As others have stated, they are a little hard to mount (very tight fit, broke two tire levers). I have put about 400 miles on them to date, and so far they have been great. They are easier rolling than my previous tires, quiet on the pavement, and have had no flats yet. If this performance continues, I will definitely order these again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/16/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
So far so good!

The tires are working out well as commuter tires. Needed tire levers and a lot of effort to get them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/16/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Littleton, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Not a fast tire nor particularly smooth, but very puncture resistant and super commuter.

I have yet to see if it's going to develop flat spots the way other Conti tires usually do. I don't use the Conti's any longer for fast riding or racing, but so far, these have really held up to some rough stuff. We've had a done of wind in Colorado that scatters bad, evil things on the bike path, and they've held up find. Rode over some bad broken glass by accident without any sidewall punctures as well. Just know you're going to have to pedal harder to get speed out of this rubber and it corner's on the rough side too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/11/2011
by MVDevilDog
Cycling Enthusiast
Mission Viejo, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Peace of mind!

Bought this to run on my Fuji SST 3.0. Since I am considered a bit of a Clyde - 6'5, 215 I got tired of rear tire cuts and punctures. Bought the 28mm to hopefully smooth out the ride. I can honestly say it has met all of my expectations. I have run various tires over the years and this is the first tire that has produced a noticeable difference in ride quality for me. Buy it if you hate flats and weight is not a concern. My only complaint was the difficulty I had mounting it. I ended up putting it in my dryer for a few minutes to soften up the rubber. Would buy again, whenever that may be!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/12/2011
by timbo
Cycling Enthusiast
toronto, ont.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
12 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
my perfect tire

these tires are quite fast and the flat protection works the sidewalls are super thick witch means the are heavy but will take an offroad shortcut no problem. the tread is thick too and are not destroyed with an accidental skid or two.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/28/2016
by PDXKat
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best tire for the price

I commute 6 miles to work through many construction areas. The first SuperSport Plus tire I bought last me over a year before I needed to replace it versus 6 months for other more expensive Continental tires. The first time mounting these tires is a bit challenging, but well worth it since I didn't need to do it very often over the course of a year.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/11/2015
by Wanderlust 66
Cycling Enthusiast
Minnesota Mississippi Hills
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Extremely difficult to mount!

The are without a doubt one of the hardest tires to mount I've had the misfortune to deal with! Now I'm not new to mounting tires as I've been riding and doing all of my own mechanical work for over 40 years. It is almost like they are a half size too small. I would never buy them again because of this. I cannot comment on how well they ride or wear because I haven't ridden on them yet (I was too exasperated to even go out after mounting them).I do hope I never have a flat on the road because I would hate to try and remount them along the side of the road! I have used Continental tires for years and never had this sort of trouble with any other model.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/23/2012
by Ben K
Competitive Racer
Boston, MA
Overall Rating
4 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Commuter and Racer

I commute to and from work every day and race on the weekends.

A few months ago, I purchased a nice set of tires, hit a pot hole and destroyed both new tires in a short time. I can't afford to purchase tires every few months. I went with the SuperSport Plus tires becuase I can purchase two for the cost of a nice tire and I won't feel so bad when I tear it up. I keep my nice ones for racing.

The downfall with these tires is their weight penalty. I noticed the weight in the first 100 feet and continue to notice the weight every mile I ride, but yet, it's making me stronger.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 93