Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Sprinter Gatorskin Tubular Tire

ContinentalSprinter Gatorskin Tubular Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(62 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(48)
(11)
(1)
(2)
(0)
(77%)
(18%)
(2%)
(3%)
(0%)
Reviewed 7/23/2022
by Anonymous
PNW
Overall Rating
Great tyre

All around great tyre.

Went on smooth. (Inflated on rim for 3 days). Seated very easily with minimal need to align. Handling is phenomenal and cornering is amazing. Increased my confidence with riding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/3/2017
by Billmars04
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tire

Continental tires are my go to tires, and gatorskin makes it even better. I am the only one of 700 members in my club that uses tubulars. I am the only one who doesn't get flats on our rides. I did have one flat, but it was the only flat in 11 years with the club.

With Tubulars one has to glue the tire and the rim, and then put them together. It can get messy, but not with a little experience.

Anyone using tubulars would find this tire to be long wearing and not prone to flats. Well worth the money.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/9/2020
by Denis
Cycling Enthusiast
Westchester, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Best tubular on the market

I've been on tubulars for a long time and these are the best

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/1/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Wilmington, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Tires

I use mine on my road bike with 60mm carbon wheels, I use glue tape and a sealant, have never had a flat with this set up. I run 90psi and get a very comfortable ride. I get around 1100 to 1200 miles on a rear tire, change it out and get another 1000 to 1100 then change out the front and back. I doubt if I will ever use any other brand.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/19/2019
by If I''m Spinnin, I ''m Grinnin
Cycling Enthusiast
Slapout, AL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great all-around tire.

Smooth ride on tar gravel roadsand great traction.

Excellent durability.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/8/2019
by Hyde
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Solid but, unspectacular

A few hundred miles on this tire, so far. The Sprinter Gatorskin is a solid training tire that holds pressure well. I check the pressure once a week. Usually only needs a few pounds of air. Road grip has been good, gluing it up was as it should be (pre stretch, of course!). I take one star off for 2 reasons. 1 there's nothing exciting about the road feel of this tire. It doesn't feel nimble, supple or inspired. Which leads to 2. Price. While they aren't in the top range of pricing, they aren't inexpensive. I'd expect a little more inspired ride from this price range. We'll see how long they last. That could go a long way to changing my opinion here. 4 stars.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/29/2019
by David
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Not the most stable one. Not the most beautiful one. But it worked!

First of all. I think the puncher resistance design worked. I've been riding with this tire for about 1000 km. I live in southern California where you get dustsandpuncher a lot on the open road. I inspect my time weekly. I have noticed several tiny holes on the tire. I even found a small piece of glass sticked into the tire. However, the tire was still good. No flat. Hope it will hold onto this performance in the future.

This tire is not as stable as the one from s-works. The purple color finish on side of the tire doesn't look good to me.

Anyway, overall I think this is a good entry level tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/22/2019
by FHrider
Competitive Racer
salt lake city
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Long distance tire

I've been riding these for 5 years, they have never let me down even on rides over 200 miles. Not the greatest tire in the wet, or particularly good cornering tire, but extremely durable. I inflate them to 115-120psi, to keep the ride a bit more comfortable, as I'm 195lbs. I use Tufo gluing tape and have never had a separation problem.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2018
by LDinSLC
Competitive Racer
Salt Lake City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Use these for long distance rides

These tires are not quite as grippy as some race tires I've used but they are reasonably light and I have never gotten caught out with a flat with these. A bit of Stans No flat seems to perk them right up if they do get a splinter, and I've never had any quality issues with them. I've done quite a few 200 mile races on these, and more 100 mile rides than I can count. BTD has them on sale every now and again, about as often as I need to replace them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/13/2021
by Crossrider
Competitive Racer
Lubbock, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
My go to road tire.

Bomb proof tire for the road and tough enough for some gravel roads.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/24/2017
by Charlie
Cycling Enthusiast
Upstate NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great durable tubular tire

The Contintental Tubular Gatorskin is a durable, longer lasting and fast tire for weight and costs. The reasonable pricing makes this tire a deal! They wear well on rougher road as well as rolling extremely fast on smooth surfaces.

Remember these tires must be pre stretched before applying to rim.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2020
by Anonymous
Albany, Western Australia
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Frequency of factory defects

I have bought and used many Gatorskin tires. They feel secure but not a racing tire . However, the major reason for replacing this tire is not due to an accidental puncture ,but due to significant bulging of tire (usually around the valve ) which makes the ride bumpy and risking a blowout (which has happened when i try to delay replacing tire ). Usually by about 5000km.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/22/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best overal non racing tubular.

If you are an avid cyclist riding on tubulars, these are by far the best tires for everyday training and recreational riding. Comfortable ride, bomb proof, and long lasting. All I can say the are worth the price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/2/2021
by Aimee
Portland
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire

This a great tubular tire. The ride is smooth, no flats so far and easy to mount.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/28/2016
by Mike
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Virginia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Continental Gator Sprinter tubular tire is tough, reliable, responsive

I was using the basic Continental and Vittoria tubulars for years, but getting too many punctures that I had to repair. Tread wore down quickly, especially on the Conti.

I switched to the Gator Sprinters last year and have not had a single flat despite a full year of hard fixed-gear training rides. They hold pressure well and feel responsive on hard cornering. Tread wear has been minor. For the small additional price, well worth it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/17/2020
by sfeisin
Cycling Enthusiast
Orlando, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Outstanding Value!

After a very long break from road cycling, I recently restored two classic Italian frames from the ground up. Having been out of the game for about 30 years, my mechanic highly encouraged me to go with the Continental Gatorskin. I'm sort of old school in that I used to ride only on tubulars. These days, it seems there are fewer tubular choices. Nevertheless, following extensive research, I went with my mechanic's recommendation. Fast forward about 4 months and following a good amount of riding, I am very happy with these tires. They perform beautifully! Try them, you will like it!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/30/2015
by mountainman
Competitive Racer
Middle Appalachia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Very good tireprice

I had been running Conti Competition and thought I'd try the Sprinter out over the winter for training.

Bought the 25 mm to match newer, wider rim and have been running it on the back since gluing it up.

VERY comfortable tire, corners well and hasn't shown signs of wear after hours on the trainer and quite a bit of road wear.

I'm very pleased, and probably won't be spending almost double on Competition's if the Sprinter's are all as consistent as my first.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/6/2015
by Randall
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Cruz CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
well-made

Bought this as a high-mileage training (everything is training) tubular. Have not put enough mileage on it to know if will last as well as the gatorskin clinchers that I have used in the past. However, did notice immediately that the tire is very well-made and balanced. Cheaper tubulars are often unbalanced and this causes some wobble or bump when descending. Also, this tire can take pressure up to 170 psi which is awesomely high.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/29/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Excelent

Excellent product. I have use other brands but I always get back to Contis, they are the best tires in my experience. I wish they would last longer and be less expensive but other wise great product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/29/2014
by AlaBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Alabama
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire!

Finally found a tubular I can trust! Being new to tubulars I went with another brand. Had troubles right off the bat with small punctures but was able to patch with sealant, however that was problematic as it gunked up my valve stems making it hard to put air in the tire eventually. Finally had to walk home about 8 miles and that did it! Replaced with these and several hundred miles later no probs whatsoever! I still carry sealant but haven't had to use it yet. I ride both clinchers and tubulars and will be buying Continentals for both now!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 55

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]