Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Continental Sprinter Gatorskin Tubular Tire

ContinentalSprinter Gatorskin Tubular Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(69 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(55)
(11)
(1)
(2)
(0)
(80%)
(16%)
(1%)
(3%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Dave Cook

Reviewed 12/7/2023
by Dave Cook
Lansing MI
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I love tubular gaterskin tires

I had originally ordered the tubeless gate skin tires & didn�t realize I wanted the tubular tire until they arrived! I called bike tire direct not knowing there policy & was very pleased that an exchange was no problem & a very easy process.

The customer service person was very professional & understanding. Great experience!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Billmars04

Reviewed 8/3/2017
by Billmars04
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
12 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tire

Continental tires are my go to tires, and gatorskin makes it even better. I am the only one of 700 members in my club that uses tubulars. I am the only one who doesn't get flats on our rides. I did have one flat, but it was the only flat in 11 years with the club.

With Tubulars one has to glue the tire and the rim, and then put them together. It can get messy, but not with a little experience.

Anyone using tubulars would find this tire to be long wearing and not prone to flats. Well worth the money.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by donnatiara

Reviewed 9/26/2023
by donnatiara
Cycling Enthusiast
Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The only tire I ride.

The toughest tire around.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Pam

Reviewed 12/15/2022
by Pam
Milton Delaware
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great anytime gift!

My husband is an Ironman and loves the gatorskin tubulars! He hinted he wanted a couple for Christmas, which I already bought and hid from him. However, he recently said he could use some more! Mmm... has he been peeking? Great gift idea, always be prepared!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Pam

Reviewed 12/15/2022
by Pam
Milton Delaware
Overall Rating
Great anytime gift!

My husband is an Ironman and loves the gatorskin tubulars! He hinted he wanted a couple for Christmas, which I already bought and hid from him. However, he recently said he could use some more! Mmm... has he been peeking? Great gift idea, always be prepared!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/26/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
My go to road tire.

Long lasting and bomb proof tubular road tire.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Denis

Reviewed 5/9/2020
by Denis
Cycling Enthusiast
Westchester, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Best tubular on the market

I've been on tubulars for a long time and these are the best

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Neal

Reviewed 5/26/2023
by Neal
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
High quality, as usual.

Recumbent century rider. All of my bikes have Continental tires on them. I got tired of lighter weight tires and multiple flat tires. Flats are rare and these tires give me a lot of miles.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/23/2022
by Anonymous
PNW
Overall Rating
Great tyre

All around great tyre.

Went on smooth. (Inflated on rim for 3 days). Seated very easily with minimal need to align. Handling is phenomenal and cornering is amazing. Increased my confidence with riding.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/1/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Wilmington, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Tires

I use mine on my road bike with 60mm carbon wheels, I use glue tape and a sealant, have never had a flat with this set up. I run 90psi and get a very comfortable ride. I get around 1100 to 1200 miles on a rear tire, change it out and get another 1000 to 1100 then change out the front and back. I doubt if I will ever use any other brand.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by If I''m Spinnin, I ''m Grinnin

Reviewed 8/19/2019
by If I''m Spinnin, I ''m Grinnin
Cycling Enthusiast
Slapout, AL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great all-around tire.

Smooth ride on tar gravel roadsand great traction.

Excellent durability.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Hyde

Reviewed 8/8/2019
by Hyde
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Solid but, unspectacular

A few hundred miles on this tire, so far. The Sprinter Gatorskin is a solid training tire that holds pressure well. I check the pressure once a week. Usually only needs a few pounds of air. Road grip has been good, gluing it up was as it should be (pre stretch, of course!). I take one star off for 2 reasons. 1 there's nothing exciting about the road feel of this tire. It doesn't feel nimble, supple or inspired. Which leads to 2. Price. While they aren't in the top range of pricing, they aren't inexpensive. I'd expect a little more inspired ride from this price range. We'll see how long they last. That could go a long way to changing my opinion here. 4 stars.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by David

Reviewed 7/29/2019
by David
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Not the most stable one. Not the most beautiful one. But it worked!

First of all. I think the puncher resistance design worked. I've been riding with this tire for about 1000 km. I live in southern California where you get dustsandpuncher a lot on the open road. I inspect my time weekly. I have noticed several tiny holes on the tire. I even found a small piece of glass sticked into the tire. However, the tire was still good. No flat. Hope it will hold onto this performance in the future.

This tire is not as stable as the one from s-works. The purple color finish on side of the tire doesn't look good to me.

Anyway, overall I think this is a good entry level tire.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by FHrider

Reviewed 2/22/2019
by FHrider
Competitive Racer
salt lake city
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Long distance tire

I've been riding these for 5 years, they have never let me down even on rides over 200 miles. Not the greatest tire in the wet, or particularly good cornering tire, but extremely durable. I inflate them to 115-120psi, to keep the ride a bit more comfortable, as I'm 195lbs. I use Tufo gluing tape and have never had a separation problem.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by LDinSLC

Reviewed 8/31/2018
by LDinSLC
Competitive Racer
Salt Lake City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Use these for long distance rides

These tires are not quite as grippy as some race tires I've used but they are reasonably light and I have never gotten caught out with a flat with these. A bit of Stans No flat seems to perk them right up if they do get a splinter, and I've never had any quality issues with them. I've done quite a few 200 mile races on these, and more 100 mile rides than I can count. BTD has them on sale every now and again, about as often as I need to replace them.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Charlie

Reviewed 7/24/2017
by Charlie
Cycling Enthusiast
Upstate NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great durable tubular tire

The Contintental Tubular Gatorskin is a durable, longer lasting and fast tire for weight and costs. The reasonable pricing makes this tire a deal! They wear well on rougher road as well as rolling extremely fast on smooth surfaces.

Remember these tires must be pre stretched before applying to rim.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mike

Reviewed 3/28/2016
by Mike
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Virginia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Continental Gator Sprinter tubular tire is tough, reliable, responsive

I was using the basic Continental and Vittoria tubulars for years, but getting too many punctures that I had to repair. Tread wore down quickly, especially on the Conti.

I switched to the Gator Sprinters last year and have not had a single flat despite a full year of hard fixed-gear training rides. They hold pressure well and feel responsive on hard cornering. Tread wear has been minor. For the small additional price, well worth it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/31/2020
by Anonymous
Albany, Western Australia
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Frequency of factory defects

I have bought and used many Gatorskin tires. They feel secure but not a racing tire . However, the major reason for replacing this tire is not due to an accidental puncture ,but due to significant bulging of tire (usually around the valve ) which makes the ride bumpy and risking a blowout (which has happened when i try to delay replacing tire ). Usually by about 5000km.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mountainman

Reviewed 5/30/2015
by mountainman
Competitive Racer
Middle Appalachia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Very good tireprice

I had been running Conti Competition and thought I'd try the Sprinter out over the winter for training.

Bought the 25 mm to match newer, wider rim and have been running it on the back since gluing it up.

VERY comfortable tire, corners well and hasn't shown signs of wear after hours on the trainer and quite a bit of road wear.

I'm very pleased, and probably won't be spending almost double on Competition's if the Sprinter's are all as consistent as my first.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Randall

Reviewed 2/6/2015
by Randall
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Cruz CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
well-made

Bought this as a high-mileage training (everything is training) tubular. Have not put enough mileage on it to know if will last as well as the gatorskin clinchers that I have used in the past. However, did notice immediately that the tire is very well-made and balanced. Cheaper tubulars are often unbalanced and this causes some wobble or bump when descending. Also, this tire can take pressure up to 170 psi which is awesomely high.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]