FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Continental Sprinter Gatorskin Tubular Tire

ContinentalSprinter Gatorskin Tubular Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(42 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(31)
(9)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(74%)
(21%)
(2%)
(2%)
(0%)
Reviewed 8/31/2018
by LDinSLC
Competitive Racer
Salt Lake City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Use these for long distance rides

These tires are not quite as grippy as some race tires I've used but they are reasonably light and I have never gotten caught out with a flat with these. A bit of Stans No flat seems to perk them right up if they do get a splinter, and I've never had any quality issues with them. I've done quite a few 200 mile races on these, and more 100 mile rides than I can count. BTD has them on sale every now and again, about as often as I need to replace them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/6/2018
by MiMike
Cycling Enthusiast
Linden, MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice tires

These tires have a nice feel and were easy to install. I've only been on one damp ride to seat the tires and felt very secure on the road.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/3/2017
by Billmars04
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tire

Continental tires are my go to tires, and gatorskin makes it even better. I am the only one of 700 members in my club that uses tubulars. I am the only one who doesn't get flats on our rides. I did have one flat, but it was the only flat in 11 years with the club.

With Tubulars one has to glue the tire and the rim, and then put them together. It can get messy, but not with a little experience.

Anyone using tubulars would find this tire to be long wearing and not prone to flats. Well worth the money.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/24/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Westfield, new jersey
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Big improvement over more economical brands

The ride and performance are much improved over more economical brands but only have about 200 miles on so longevity is yet to be determined

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/20/2018
by Tylerdurden
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange County, California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Superior quality materials and construction, not puncture resistant.

Excellent shape. Uniform, smooth and round. Superior construction. Sticks well and is fast especially at higher pressure. Can go to 175 psi. Light and Quiet. Not the best for training on American roads which are not well maintained. Punctures fairly easily.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/24/2017
by Charlie
Cycling Enthusiast
Upstate NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great durable tubular tire

The Contintental Tubular Gatorskin is a durable, longer lasting and fast tire for weight and costs. The reasonable pricing makes this tire a deal! They wear well on rougher road as well as rolling extremely fast on smooth surfaces.

Remember these tires must be pre stretched before applying to rim.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/27/2018
by happy camper
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin. Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Durable, and ride well

I literally never have flats with these, though I do wear them out especially the back. Best to get a bunch of these when on sale. Get the Tufo tape when on sale also. It's a lot easier install them with the tape, not glue (and tape works well). The easiest is the Tufo tape (removes most easily) but 3M VHB Heavy Duty Mounting Tape (5952 Black, 34 in x 15 yd 45 mil) works great too though harder to remove used 3M tap (I usually get two mounts out of the 3M tape). Be sure to mount them on a rim and bring them up to max pressure overnight to stretch them (don't hand stretch them). Definitely use orange seal and you'll be good to go.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/28/2016
by Mike
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Virginia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Continental Gator Sprinter tubular tire is tough, reliable, responsive

I was using the basic Continental and Vittoria tubulars for years, but getting too many punctures that I had to repair. Tread wore down quickly, especially on the Conti.

I switched to the Gator Sprinters last year and have not had a single flat despite a full year of hard fixed-gear training rides. They hold pressure well and feel responsive on hard cornering. Tread wear has been minor. For the small additional price, well worth it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/12/2017
by Dave
pennsylvania
Overall Rating
Wrong tire for my use

This is not a good tire for my racing wheelchair. It is to wide a tire for my racer and is a bit softer under weight. However works perfectly for my handcycle

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/30/2015
by mountainman
Competitive Racer
Middle Appalachia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Very good tireprice

I had been running Conti Competition and thought I'd try the Sprinter out over the winter for training.

Bought the 25 mm to match newer, wider rim and have been running it on the back since gluing it up.

VERY comfortable tire, corners well and hasn't shown signs of wear after hours on the trainer and quite a bit of road wear.

I'm very pleased, and probably won't be spending almost double on Competition's if the Sprinter's are all as consistent as my first.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/6/2015
by Randall
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Cruz CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
well-made

Bought this as a high-mileage training (everything is training) tubular. Have not put enough mileage on it to know if will last as well as the gatorskin clinchers that I have used in the past. However, did notice immediately that the tire is very well-made and balanced. Cheaper tubulars are often unbalanced and this causes some wobble or bump when descending. Also, this tire can take pressure up to 170 psi which is awesomely high.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/29/2017
by Jamis
Cycling Enthusiast
New Hampshire
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A very good wearing tire

Handles well in the hills and mountains of New hampshire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/29/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Excelent

Excellent product. I have use other brands but I always get back to Contis, they are the best tires in my experience. I wish they would last longer and be less expensive but other wise great product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/29/2014
by AlaBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Alabama
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire!

Finally found a tubular I can trust! Being new to tubulars I went with another brand. Had troubles right off the bat with small punctures but was able to patch with sealant, however that was problematic as it gunked up my valve stems making it hard to put air in the tire eventually. Finally had to walk home about 8 miles and that did it! Replaced with these and several hundred miles later no probs whatsoever! I still carry sealant but haven't had to use it yet. I ride both clinchers and tubulars and will be buying Continentals for both now!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/7/2013
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Noisy

I am 200lb triathlete using these in 25mm for racing 40K. Very nice looking tire. However, at 22-23mph they get noisy and the front one had a vibration un-attributable to the wheel or road. I was only running them at 135psi. Any higher than that and much worse. Avoid these for race speeds.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/26/2013
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
San Francisco, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Great training tubie, and light enough for everything else

We use these as an everyday/every occasion tire. It hasn't let us down yet. I prefer Conti tires when it comes to mounting. They have a snug fit and the cotton backing isn't coated in wax so it absorbs the glue easily (requiring more glue but at least you know it is good).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/5/2013
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Breckenridge, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Great Grip and feel!!!

Placed them on my Road racing wheels....what a difference in confidence for the tight turns, as well as, the fast descents here in the Colorado mountains..

Definitely will run these...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/5/2013
by Toki
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
In 25mm good tubular for training and bad roads

Especially the 25mm version in combination with new wide rims like ZIPP Firecrest a very comfortable yet fast choice - also for winter rides with bad road conditions and a lot of stonesgravel in your way. Nice all year training tubular - I clearly prefer 25mm over 22mm.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/27/2013
by Cycling dude 6
Cycling Enthusiast
Salt Lake City UT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Long Lasting and durable!

This is the only tubular I buy due to the fact that I am a fast recreation rider that can hold my own and have some KOM on Strava. I ride about 200 miles a week and this is the only tire that holds up for a long time. Love it. Ive tried lighter, but hate the lack of wear of them. I ride these on my daily ride wheels.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/10/2013
by rrwms28
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great to be riding sewups again.

I recently decided to take my 1983 Pinarello and it's Mavic GP4 sew up wheels out of mothballs. I was looking for durable tires as well as legendary sewup comfort and handling. These Gatorskins did not disappoint. I have only about 200 miles on them so I can't speak to longevity but so far they have been great. They are very difficult to mount on the rims, though.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.