Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Sprinter Gatorskin Tubular Tire

ContinentalSprinter Gatorskin Tubular Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(64 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(50)
(11)
(1)
(2)
(0)
(78%)
(17%)
(2%)
(3%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 9/29/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Excelent

Excellent product. I have use other brands but I always get back to Contis, they are the best tires in my experience. I wish they would last longer and be less expensive but other wise great product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/29/2014
by AlaBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Alabama
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire!

Finally found a tubular I can trust! Being new to tubulars I went with another brand. Had troubles right off the bat with small punctures but was able to patch with sealant, however that was problematic as it gunked up my valve stems making it hard to put air in the tire eventually. Finally had to walk home about 8 miles and that did it! Replaced with these and several hundred miles later no probs whatsoever! I still carry sealant but haven't had to use it yet. I ride both clinchers and tubulars and will be buying Continentals for both now!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/7/2013
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Noisy

I am 200lb triathlete using these in 25mm for racing 40K. Very nice looking tire. However, at 22-23mph they get noisy and the front one had a vibration un-attributable to the wheel or road. I was only running them at 135psi. Any higher than that and much worse. Avoid these for race speeds.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/15/2021
by Leslie
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Best overall non racing tubular.

These tubulars are the epitome of quality! Made by hand in Germany. They are durable, afford a comfortable ride and are resistant to punctures.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/14/2019
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
berkeley.CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
awesome

these are the bomb no flats

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/22/2021
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
New York
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best tubular on the market

If you ride tubular's this is the best and last long

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/6/2018
by MiMike
Cycling Enthusiast
Linden, MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice tires

These tires have a nice feel and were easy to install. I've only been on one damp ride to seat the tires and felt very secure on the road.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/19/2020
by Leslie
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best overall non racing tubular.

Comfortable/ Durable and almost bombproof.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/24/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Westfield, new jersey
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Big improvement over more economical brands

The ride and performance are much improved over more economical brands but only have about 200 miles on so longevity is yet to be determined

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/20/2018
by Tylerdurden
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange County, California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Superior quality materials and construction, not puncture resistant.

Excellent shape. Uniform, smooth and round. Superior construction. Sticks well and is fast especially at higher pressure. Can go to 175 psi. Light and Quiet. Not the best for training on American roads which are not well maintained. Punctures fairly easily.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/27/2018
by happy camper
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin. Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Durable, and ride well

I literally never have flats with these, though I do wear them out especially the back. Best to get a bunch of these when on sale. Get the Tufo tape when on sale also. It's a lot easier install them with the tape, not glue (and tape works well). The easiest is the Tufo tape (removes most easily) but 3M VHB Heavy Duty Mounting Tape (5952 Black, 34 in x 15 yd 45 mil) works great too though harder to remove used 3M tap (I usually get two mounts out of the 3M tape). Be sure to mount them on a rim and bring them up to max pressure overnight to stretch them (don't hand stretch them). Definitely use orange seal and you'll be good to go.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/12/2017
by Dave
pennsylvania
Overall Rating
Wrong tire for my use

This is not a good tire for my racing wheelchair. It is to wide a tire for my racer and is a bit softer under weight. However works perfectly for my handcycle

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/29/2017
by Jamis
Cycling Enthusiast
New Hampshire
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A very good wearing tire

Handles well in the hills and mountains of New hampshire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/3/2019
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
this is the ultimate rear tire. i ride every day rain or snow , and i hate getting a flat, especially in th rain

road training

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/26/2013
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
San Francisco, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Great training tubie, and light enough for everything else

We use these as an everyday/every occasion tire. It hasn't let us down yet. I prefer Conti tires when it comes to mounting. They have a snug fit and the cotton backing isn't coated in wax so it absorbs the glue easily (requiring more glue but at least you know it is good).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/5/2013
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Breckenridge, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Great Grip and feel!!!

Placed them on my Road racing wheels....what a difference in confidence for the tight turns, as well as, the fast descents here in the Colorado mountains..

Definitely will run these...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/5/2013
by Toki
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
In 25mm good tubular for training and bad roads

Especially the 25mm version in combination with new wide rims like ZIPP Firecrest a very comfortable yet fast choice - also for winter rides with bad road conditions and a lot of stonesgravel in your way. Nice all year training tubular - I clearly prefer 25mm over 22mm.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/27/2013
by Cycling dude 6
Cycling Enthusiast
Salt Lake City UT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Long Lasting and durable!

This is the only tubular I buy due to the fact that I am a fast recreation rider that can hold my own and have some KOM on Strava. I ride about 200 miles a week and this is the only tire that holds up for a long time. Love it. Ive tried lighter, but hate the lack of wear of them. I ride these on my daily ride wheels.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/10/2013
by rrwms28
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great to be riding sewups again.

I recently decided to take my 1983 Pinarello and it's Mavic GP4 sew up wheels out of mothballs. I was looking for durable tires as well as legendary sewup comfort and handling. These Gatorskins did not disappoint. I have only about 200 miles on them so I can't speak to longevity but so far they have been great. They are very difficult to mount on the rims, though.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/6/2013
by kunsunoke
Cycling Enthusiast
southeastern PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Fat tubies to make you forget about clinchers

Even on an older bike (Peugeot PX-10) they perform quite well, adding plushness to an already comfortable and fast platform. At high pressures (over 150 psig) they accelerate well without giving up too much in the way of compliance. Wish I had these on all my bikes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 22

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]