Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Speed Ride Tire (Folding)

ContinentalSpeed Ride Tire (Folding)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(43 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(28)
(6)
(4)
(2)
(3)
(65%)
(14%)
(9%)
(5%)
(7%)
Reviewed 9/29/2018
by B-funk
twin cities minnesota
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Great all around tire.

I have over 800 miles on this tire (29x42). About four hundred of which included a variety of gravel roads, low maintenance state forest roads, atv double track, and mild single track. Good traction in most situations except deep mud and they are stable, predictable, and handle well. I have used this tire in three seasons now, including some snow and rain. I commute daily on this tire around town. Overall the tire has performed flawlessly. Not one flat. Tread and side wall is still in great shape. I anticipate at least another 800 miles on them if not more. They are mounted on wtb kom i25 rims and Mount easily and look great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/25/2018
by Frado
Michigan
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome on road off road tires!

I purchased these Continentals for my Specialiazed CrossTrail and they are awesome!

They roll smoothly on flat pavement with very little resistance and they perform very well on sand, gravel and even larger stone, like cobblestone!

They stop on a dime, epsecially when I was flying on a rail trail and thought I could beat a Ford 250 at a crossroad!

My wife screamed because she thought I couldn't beat the truck and I slammed on my disc brakes at around 15 mph. My Continentals stopped me and my bike on a dime! My wife was relieved, indeed.

If your looking for an all road conditions travel tire, than I recommend the Continental Speed Rides! They wont disappoint you.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/9/2020
by RMichel
Cycling Enthusiast
Madison WI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice ride for gravel paths, but prone to punture

I've taken these off my commutererrand bike, which I sometimes take for short rides on paths too, because I've had three punctures in about 200 miles. They roll real nice on pavement and give good traction on gravel, light dirt paths, but too puncture resistant for what I want out of them. I'm put back on a worn pair of Conti Top Contact 32mm tires, and will likely get new Top Contacts in a wider size next time. Too bad Conti doesn't make the City Ride with another layer of protection, even if it cost $30 per tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/24/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Narrower than expected. Seem good so far.

Limited mileage so far, but these are a nice commuter tire for less than ideal roads, dirt trails, alleys, etc.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/20/2020
by Bikeman1
NW Arkansas
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire, great price

Replaced some OEM wire bead tires with these. Dropped weight and gained comfort and speed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/10/2019
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
blah

The perfect tire if you need practice changing flats. Also started to get threads coming loose around where the bead sits against the wheel. I got four flats on a four day tour which I chalked up to the tires simply not being suitable for loaded touring on mixed surfaces. Then I got two more flats after I got home under completely normal circumstances (no load on bike, no gravel, etc). I threw the tires straight into the trash and went back to Schwalbe Marathons. The Continental Speed Rides were light, seemed to roll fast and had great traction, but were simply too fragile to go anywhere at all without flatting. I have no idea who would want a 42mm treaded tire this thin and fragile.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/7/2019
by RobertoM
Cycling Enthusiast
Madison WI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice rolling, flat resistance isn't great

For the price point, this is a decent tire, but the first time I rode it I got a flat from a sharp piece of flint. This was in December in Wisconsin, so there was sand and debris and a bit of icesnow on the road, but still I didn't expect a flat the first time out. Patched the tube and have take about 4 short rides without flats, and overall, I like the way these roll. I previously had Conti Top Contacts on this commuter bike (an older hybridpath bike), but wanted to try something a bit wider but still light folding tire. Next time, I'll stick with the Top Contacts and pay more, because in many years of riding Top Contacts folding, I've only gotten one flat.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/19/2018
by BobWea
Cycling Enthusiast
Western Virginia Mountains
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Tire at an Excellent Price

I tried these tires on my Surly Karate Monkey 29er. I have been using this bike as a general purpose road and

gravel trail bike. Until trying the Speed Rides I was never satisfied with the other urban , commuter or cyclocross tires

which I was using (including some fairly high priced). I tried the beaded cheaper version of the tires. I was very happy about how quickly these accelerated and climbed hills. I have about 500 miles on them so far and have not seen any unusual wear on the tread.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/26/2020
by ATX
Casual Cyclist
Austin TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
best there is

i took my bike mechanic's advice, he rides with these on his bike, so i'm trying them after years with schwalbe. both brands are outstanding, highly recommended by me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/5/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Norcal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Lighter and softer than other tires in this size. Great grip.

700 x 42 Mounted on wtb rims Salsa Journeyman. Smooth and grippy ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/2/2019
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Oakland, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
So Friggin Affordable

I mean, look at the price. This tire handles gravel, trails, single track, and tarmac like a champ. It's not the lightest, far from it, but that's its only draw back. Only one pinch flat in the 150 miles since I've mounted them on a set of wide rims on a giant TCX. Compared to the stock 35mm tires I had on, these are a dream compared to those.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/31/2019
by teddyb
Daily Commuter
Ephrata, pa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
you get what you pay for

About what you'd expect for a $20 tire.. like anything you get what you pay for. I got four flats on one (four day) trip, and one more soon after I got home. Three of them I could excuse for being loaded on gravel, the other two were under normal circumstances. I coughed up the $$ for gatorskins on my other bike and have no flats in two years. Lesson learned!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2017
by Curt
Daily Commuter
Milwaukee, WI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Good for touring on a 29er

Put these on a Trek 920 for a 200 mile Midwest tour. Worked great for gravel roads, shoulders, etc. but still felt fast on the paced paths. Not too heavy. Seems pretty durable, did well in the rain. I'm happy with them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/1/2017
by dennis at ERG! Bar
Competitive Racer
Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
good fit on my cross bike

They measure at 38-39mm so they fit on my 2012 Stevens Prestige Alloy frame and fork. There's a good solid 18-316 clearance to the chainstays so some mud won't be a problem. Super sticky Kanza mud might present a problem but I'm not going to do 'that' to my body anyway. Good high-volume fast-spinning gravel tire. Less precious than my Grifo XS tubulars which I would use if the course was hard-pack clay with no sand or loose point gravel. Pretty happy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/3/2017
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Bethlehem, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great gravel path tire!

I used the Speed Tire for commuting to and from work. I work 5 miles from home, but take a gravel path from door to door making it a 18 mile trip each way. The Speed tire is perfect for the gravel to pavement environment between home and work.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/21/2016
by dlw
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
love 'em

Price, ride, weight. this tire gets high marks on all fronts. favorite gravel tire - volume really lets you carry speed on descents.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/25/2016
by MarkS
Cycling Enthusiast
Worcester, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Ultimate Commuter Tire

I have a 23 mile, each way, bike commute that is 50% clear pavement, 25% bad pavement, and 25% on single trackcinder bike path. The commute is quite busy, so I don't get to choose my line half the time, the line is chosen for me.

I am faster on my cyclocross bike fitted with this tire than I am on my light road bike. When the line of cars is deep and slow, I drop into the gravel, dirt on the side and keep going. They roll over everything. I run them at max pressure (85psi) so I give up some of the bump absorption, but I don't care if the line is through a pothole, over broken pavement, clear road... it just doesn't matter. Over 500 miles so far and no flats and no sign of wear.

I'm impressed enough with the tire, that they are going onto a Salsa Mountain tandem as our race tire for the Deerfield Dirt Road Randonnee in August.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/28/2018
by Johnnybiker
Plano TX
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great All Around Tire

Being an avid roadie, I resist tires larger than 700x28, but as the time changes I have to outfit my cyclocross with a tire that will take the pot holes and uneven pavement I cant see in the dark while commuting to and from work. The first ride was 35 miles and left me pleasantly surprised at the minimal rolling resistance, so I have to rate these at five stars. Dont have an idea about puncture resistance so I put slime liners in tires. Final word is, Continental manufactures quality tires, and is why it is the only tire I buy for road biking, and now cyclocross.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/29/2015
by Anonymous
Pa and NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect for rail trails

Used on the allegheny passage Route

Rolls great and cushion ride

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/6/2018
by Cycling King
Competitive Racer
East of Seattle Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
A bit more weight and width, a lot more puncture resistance

I have these on my Salsa Fargo Ti, a drop bar fully rigid mountain bike. I use the bike for commuting in the Pacific NW, it rains up here from time to time, so I run full fenders on the bike. I was using the Conti Cyclocross Speed, 35mm. I flatted often on the road but for a light supple sidewall and casing, that's what you get. I now have 11 months on these Conti Speed Ride tires, 42mm, 60 grams heavier, AND HALF THE PRICE. The Speed Ride feels just as fast and supple on the road. I've had only one flat in 11 months, same commute five days a week on wet, gravelly and dry roads and sometimes unpaved shortcuts. I am 6' and 172 (maybe 180 in the winter) and run these at 30-35 psi up front and 35-45 in the rear on Stan's rims. I do the team rides on wet days and hang just fine with others on their 700x25 fendered rain bikes. These tires are fat and super comfortable and still roll fast enough to hang with those who ruin their road bikes in the rain. I have done some trail riding, to include Grand Ridge and Duthie Hill. They climb well, corner pretty good (with enough lean and low pressure the side knobs kick in) and can do what you'd expect a rigid hard tail to do. Not good for snow and ice on the asphalt, so one tire cannot do it all, but these are pretty darn close. Ride quality A, Speed A-, Durability A, Traction A, and did I mention, THEY ARE CHEAP! I am very pleased.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 93