Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Continental Speed Ride Tire (Folding)

ContinentalSpeed Ride Tire (Folding)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(53 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(35)
(9)
(4)
(2)
(3)
(66%)
(17%)
(8%)
(4%)
(6%)
Previous Page

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/29/2015
by Anonymous
Pa and NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect for rail trails

Used on the allegheny passage Route

Rolls great and cushion ride

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by marclaker

Reviewed 5/22/2015
by marclaker
Cycling Enthusiast
Batesville, IN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire for the price!

They are light and roll fast and I've not had a flat yet. I got the 42mm tires for my mountain bike and use these to ride gravel and some unmaintained roads.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/1/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Georgia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
14 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Can't beat them for the price

Just finished up a 40 mile gravel grinder on these tires with about 4000 feet of climbing. First impressions are great. Really like having the extra width/volume to smooth out washboard dirt roads and rough descents. I felt like I could bomb down steep/rough sections with more confidence since the tire was soaking up bumps a whole lot better. Ran these at 40 psi front/rear and they are very smooth. The diamond tread rolls great on road/dirt/gravel and the tiny side knobs have just enough grip for gravel roads while not getting in the way when you're on the pavement. For the price these are really hard to beat, especially considering the folding bead.

-1 star for the weight-advertised at 420 grams, mine weighed 445 each. Also the width of these tires mounted on my Ksyriums measured more like 38c. Still a good bit wider than a standard cyclocross tire, but pretty far from the 42c they're labeled.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/24/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Narrower than expected. Seem good so far.

Limited mileage so far, but these are a nice commuter tire for less than ideal roads, dirt trails, alleys, etc.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SmcMason

Reviewed 7/11/2014
by SmcMason
Annapolis, MD
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent tire!

Great combination of grip and roll. Very smooth for my daily commute, and performs well in gravel and dirt also. Very pleased with these!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bikeman1

Reviewed 2/20/2020
by Bikeman1
NW Arkansas
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire, great price

Replaced some OEM wire bead tires with these. Dropped weight and gained comfort and speed.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/5/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Norcal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Lighter and softer than other tires in this size. Great grip.

700 x 42 Mounted on wtb rims Salsa Journeyman. Smooth and grippy ride.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/2/2019
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Oakland, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
So Friggin Affordable

I mean, look at the price. This tire handles gravel, trails, single track, and tarmac like a champ. It's not the lightest, far from it, but that's its only draw back. Only one pinch flat in the 150 miles since I've mounted them on a set of wide rims on a giant TCX. Compared to the stock 35mm tires I had on, these are a dream compared to those.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by teddyb

Reviewed 5/31/2019
by teddyb
Daily Commuter
Ephrata, pa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
you get what you pay for

About what you'd expect for a $20 tire.. like anything you get what you pay for. I got four flats on one (four day) trip, and one more soon after I got home. Three of them I could excuse for being loaded on gravel, the other two were under normal circumstances. I coughed up the $$ for gatorskins on my other bike and have no flats in two years. Lesson learned!!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Johnnybiker

Reviewed 10/28/2018
by Johnnybiker
Plano TX
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great All Around Tire

Being an avid roadie, I resist tires larger than 700x28, but as the time changes I have to outfit my cyclocross with a tire that will take the pot holes and uneven pavement I cant see in the dark while commuting to and from work. The first ride was 35 miles and left me pleasantly surprised at the minimal rolling resistance, so I have to rate these at five stars. Dont have an idea about puncture resistance so I put slime liners in tires. Final word is, Continental manufactures quality tires, and is why it is the only tire I buy for road biking, and now cyclocross.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Cycling King

Reviewed 7/6/2018
by Cycling King
Competitive Racer
East of Seattle Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
A bit more weight and width, a lot more puncture resistance

I have these on my Salsa Fargo Ti, a drop bar fully rigid mountain bike. I use the bike for commuting in the Pacific NW, it rains up here from time to time, so I run full fenders on the bike. I was using the Conti Cyclocross Speed, 35mm. I flatted often on the road but for a light supple sidewall and casing, that's what you get. I now have 11 months on these Conti Speed Ride tires, 42mm, 60 grams heavier, AND HALF THE PRICE. The Speed Ride feels just as fast and supple on the road. I've had only one flat in 11 months, same commute five days a week on wet, gravelly and dry roads and sometimes unpaved shortcuts. I am 6' and 172 (maybe 180 in the winter) and run these at 30-35 psi up front and 35-45 in the rear on Stan's rims. I do the team rides on wet days and hang just fine with others on their 700x25 fendered rain bikes. These tires are fat and super comfortable and still roll fast enough to hang with those who ruin their road bikes in the rain. I have done some trail riding, to include Grand Ridge and Duthie Hill. They climb well, corner pretty good (with enough lean and low pressure the side knobs kick in) and can do what you'd expect a rigid hard tail to do. Not good for snow and ice on the asphalt, so one tire cannot do it all, but these are pretty darn close. Ride quality A, Speed A-, Durability A, Traction A, and did I mention, THEY ARE CHEAP! I am very pleased.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by [email protected]

Reviewed 6/16/2018
Cycling Enthusiast
Boulder, Co
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Do NOt buy the folding tires

I bough these two folding tires and new tubes for my Ksyrium rims. In two days I have had 6 flat tires. Took them to the bike shop and they told me that it was pinching the tires and we swap diameters from 32mm to 35-43mm tubes. Left tthe bike shop and had two other flats, front and rear tires. I have to throw them away. A a piece of crap.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tom

Reviewed 5/7/2018
by Tom
colorado
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Amazing tire

Bike tires were perfect for my use. Good road and off road performance

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DNP

Reviewed 3/20/2018
by DNP
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great performance, bad longevity.

I love the way this tire handles pavement and dirt. Excellent volume, grip, and fast rolling...and cheap! It's not so great at preventing flats so I would never use it as a city tire. This one is best left for the fun rides. I've had four of these tires and all of them started breaking down at the beadsidewall. They're unthreading themselves like a stitch coming loose on your clothes. There are threads all over where the tire meets the rim.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CincinnatiKid

Reviewed 3/5/2018
by CincinnatiKid
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire and very affordable

I replaced my big, wide heavy Schwalbe Big Bens with Continental Speed Ride Tires on my Salsa Fargo 2.

I do a mix of street riding with rail-to-trail riding-asphalt in a few places but mostly fine gravel rolled and compacted. Wherever I go the Continentals give me plenty of control and minimal rolling resistance. The Schwalbes certainly are more puncture resistant, though I have ridden about 800 miles on the Speed Rides without a flat. The fact that they are foldable is a big plus as it makes it much easier to pack an extra one in a pannier bag and have it handy-just in case. I highly recommend the Speed Ride.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by stormrider

Reviewed 11/6/2017
by stormrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Reeders PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
light and fast, these tires take all the rough roads can dish out with no problems...great value to.

i like the file tread with the small side nobs, also that its folding bead a plus to keep the weight down.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Marckxman

Reviewed 10/31/2017
by Marckxman
PDX
Overall Rating
Amazing tire

Light, fast, grippy. What more can you want in a tire? Oh yeah, its stupidly cheap. Not sure how they can get a tire this good but they did. Rolls great on the street and does very well on hard packed dirt gravel. Plush ride too. If they fit your frame, get them.

I did manage to flat one on a blackberry thorn, but so what? Thats what you carry a spare tube for

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/2/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Grip and Speed

Typical Continental tire quality at a great price. These roll fast and have good grip on loose surfaces. Depending on your bike set up, these would be great commuter tires as well.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by chouwalker

Reviewed 10/23/2017
by chouwalker
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good light weight touring tire that is not immune to punctures

I put these tires on my Trek 520 to ride from Pittsburgh to DC along the GAP and C&O Canal Towpath. The tires did great on the ride, with a smooth ride and easy rolling, even over the rough and sometimes muddy C&O Towpath. I did get 2 puncture flats in 400 miles of riding a fully loaded bike (self contained tour). So, while these tires may be puncture resistant, they are not puncture proof. If you want that, you have to get a heavier tire like the Schwalbe Marathon, which weighs twice as much as this tire. You make your choices and live with the consequences. If you want a lightweight touring tire, this is an excellent choice.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Plattner

Reviewed 9/19/2017
by Plattner
Cincinnati
Overall Rating
Great on Salsa Fargo

Wanted lower rolling resistance, puncture protection and good grip on rail trails like the GAP Trail in PA and Katy Trail in CA and so far they've been great. Very affordable too.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]