FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Continental Ride Tour 700c

ContinentalRide Tour 700c(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(47 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(22)
(17)
(3)
(3)
(2)
(47%)
(36%)
(6%)
(6%)
(4%)
Reviewed 10/13/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great traction, smooth rolling, great bump absorption.....great price

Not a super technical guy, but I can tell you what I like about the tire.

Compared to Marathons, for example, this tire is really smooth. It is a softer rubber... maybe more supple is the word. Tires seem to be wearing great. I have at least 1500 miles on them with very little wear and tear. I ride all sorts of dirt, fire roads, bike paths, asphalt, concrete, Lake Hodges (San Diego) dirt and cactus. These tires GRIP really well. The supple rubber provides superior grip to my other gravel bike with the harder rubber of the Marathons. The supple rubber seems to really absorb the bumps better as well.

Third point is the price! That price for a set of 2 tires 700 x 42? Unmatched. I expected lower quality due to price, but I am very happy with the ride, the bump absorption, the amazing grip on ALL surfaces, the traction on the dirt and dirt hills, both up and down, I have a hard time finding a con.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/5/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Skinnier than their sizes would suggest

I had to go for the 42 before I got a tire that measured as 35mm. The 35 is about a 30. Good tire for the money once you get the size right though!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/9/2018
by Jsamayoa
leawood, kansas
Overall Rating
Tires narrower than specified

Tires appeared and measured less than the 32 mm width shown.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/29/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Horrible

Sidewalls split all the way around tire and yes the correct tire pressure was used. Have used Gatorskins and 4000 with no issues, my first Continental dissapointment.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/2/2018
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
southern Nevada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I am pleased with the tires.

I use the tire on my bike and ride on rough oiled roads.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/29/2018
by Daniel
las vegas nevada
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Cheap material

Very disappointed at this 700c tires , 2nd time to take the bike out for a ride and the tire blowout

Side wall came apart on one side

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/12/2018
by goldenrad
Cycling Enthusiast
Golden, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great road tire.

Put this on my wife's and daughter's bike for a 50 miles tour around Jackson, WY and the Tetons. These tires did great on all the surfaces we encountered including gravel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/12/2018
by THEBUN
Casual Cyclist
Morrisdale pa.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good tire for the price.

Hybrid bike tire for casual use.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/29/2018
by Dr Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Bayfield, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A great all-a-round tire

I recently put this tire on my gravel-bike- a freshly rebuilt 2008 KHS CX. I love these tires, they work on most surfaces short of mud, I get great mileage (2K), it mounts easy and I have fewer flats, what's not to like?. I often recommend this tire to friends & customers as a commutingtouring tire and I have not had a complaint yet. While it may not be the lightest or fastest tire available it is rock-solid reliable and a great bargain when you get them from BTD. Don't hesitate buy them you won't regret it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/19/2014
by BikeFanatic
Casual Cyclist
Oakdale, MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
18 of 21 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire Slow and Steady

After regularly flatting on my previous tires, which included several CST, Bontrager and Kenda tires, I decided to buy a set of Conti's after hearing how some road cyclists swear by the Conti Gatorskin. At the time, I was rather skeptical given they were only [$] a piece. Now, after 500 miles, any doubts I had were gone. So far, these tires have covered 500 miles on MN roads and bike paths. My daily commute covers sections of road where there are numerous cracks and small rocks that made riding a flat-fest. I have yet to flat with the Tour Ride. The lower inflation pressure also gives a much better ride than any previous tire I used, and the aggressive tread pattern performs better than expected on dirt. I can't wait to see how they do in snow.

These tires are not the fastest, but they are not so slow that you think you're riding on a flat. For my commute and weekend trail rides, these tires are great. And at [$] a piece, a definite steal.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/3/2018
by triguy1956
Raleigh NC
Overall Rating
Continental Tour Ride

Great tire for city and greenway riding. Smooth ride but tough enough to handle city pot holes and obstacles.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/7/2018
by m
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Good Price, Good Durability, Good Traction, But Call Uber When You Flat

Please note Value rating will be based on what your total UberLyft tab is or how many tire levers you break.

This review is limited to the 700x x 28mm tire. Also note that these 28s are skinny.

Leave German engineering to third world manufacturing and you're bound to get off-spec tolerances.

The tire performs well for the money (in terms of durability, puncture resistance, traction in varying road surface and weather conditions, etc), but after you've mounted it, or pulled it off the rim, you may find that all your levers are busted, or your hands, most particularly, your thumbs, are aching andor inoperable. If not, then your new tube has been punctured by the lever...

While mounting it, I MADE CERTAIN to add a tire liner to help prevent the above cenario, and it's been pretty good (WITH LINER) , only one flat in 18 months of riding an average of 3-4 times a week on this bike. However, this is not a good indication of the tire's puncture resistance. Most importantly, DO NOT GET A FLAT and make sure your Uber or Lyft account is active when riding! You will not be able to do the fix out in the field. I recently acquired a special tool (15 bucks and added weight) that helps quite a bit with mounting. However, I'll have to additionally, figure that into the overall cost.

Moral of the story If you already use Uber or Lyft when you flat, and subsequently take the wheel to the LBS for repair, go for it. If not, steer very clear...

Interestingly, I just swapped them for a pair of Travel Contact Reflex 37s (also thinner than 37) and they were easy as pie! Again, it's all about tolerances!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/24/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Mounts well, wears well, good value.

Mounted easily and wears well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/3/2017
by Slappy
Cycling Enthusiast
Pittsburgh Pa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Bullet proof

Rode the continental tour ride every day for five months flat free. Nice rolling tire very comfortable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/5/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Used as tube for trainer.

Works as planned.........

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/7/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire that works great on trail or road

Ive been running these for a while and couldn't be happier..

I did get one flat after a splintered piece of wood pierced through both the tire and a tube protector liner..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/17/2016
by marky753
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great value, all-rounder go-anywhere.

I first used these tires as they were the only thing that were tour suitable for 27 wheels. (I ride an older Cannondale ST). The tread profile is perfect for mixed surface touring. Sure there is some drag on tarmac, but it's a modest insurance once the roads get rough. I've ridden gravel and hard packed trails for days. I've never had a flat until the tire is showing serious signs of wear. I do find when loaded and at around 65psi get through a rear tire pretty quickly. Nevertheless, for value on 27 rims there is no equal. 700 wheels have plenty more choices, but I'd still have them on my shortlist. They are also my city commuter of choice.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/27/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Plan for the unknown when reviewing.

I've been spinning these conti tires for over three seasons now. I value them because I have their rubber side down on the wheel of my road bike along exhilaratingly winding and rolling bucolic countryside roads, some unknown, including dirt roads and trails year-round in four full and effervescent seasons.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/15/2017
by tntbiker
Casual Cyclist
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
perfect tire for my type of ride

the tread pattern provides me better traction than the original racing tires

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/8/2017
by William wilson
Cycling Enthusiast
Madison, WI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire for city ridingcommuting

People will complain about everything. Yes, they are heavier than a road bike tire because they are thicker. That's how weight works. If you're not doing a time trial it isn't going to make a difference. It's a great puncture resistance tire with good grip for city riding. Price is very reasonable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.