Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Ride Tour 700c

ContinentalRide Tour 700c(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(81 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(43)
(28)
(4)
(4)
(2)
(53%)
(35%)
(5%)
(5%)
(2%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 12/15/2020
by Dano
Casual Cyclist
Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Better all terrain

Used to replace 35mm road tire. Tire sold as 47mm wide measures 42mm after mounting narrow rim. Much improved handling in grave and dirt. Better ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/13/2020
by Corntooth
chicago burbs
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great winter tire

Smooth ride,great traction when conditions are wet

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/18/2020
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
locaal streets
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice smooth ride.

I replaced the factory fat tires on a single speed mountain bike with these tires. I recently started working at home and ride my bike to the grocery store, indoor pool, library etc. At least once a day people ask me about my bike and tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/3/2017
by Slappy
Cycling Enthusiast
Pittsburgh Pa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Bullet proof

Rode the continental tour ride every day for five months flat free. Nice rolling tire very comfortable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/5/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Used as tube for trainer.

Works as planned.........

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/7/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire that works great on trail or road

Ive been running these for a while and couldn't be happier..

I did get one flat after a splintered piece of wood pierced through both the tire and a tube protector liner..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/17/2016
by marky753
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great value, all-rounder go-anywhere.

I first used these tires as they were the only thing that were tour suitable for 27 wheels. (I ride an older Cannondale ST). The tread profile is perfect for mixed surface touring. Sure there is some drag on tarmac, but it's a modest insurance once the roads get rough. I've ridden gravel and hard packed trails for days. I've never had a flat until the tire is showing serious signs of wear. I do find when loaded and at around 65psi get through a rear tire pretty quickly. Nevertheless, for value on 27 rims there is no equal. 700 wheels have plenty more choices, but I'd still have them on my shortlist. They are also my city commuter of choice.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/12/2016
by DrDilWeed
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Solid for the rocks

I am training for DK200 and wanted something that I could go high mileage on most gravel surfaces plus asphalt without feeling like I was leaving dollars on the road as the knobs wore away. I got these last week and have already put about 200 miles on them, including an 85 miler this weekend. On that longer ride I was on my gravel bike and my friends were on road bikes. We stuck primarily to asphalt, but being spring the roads are in pretty rough shape. I had no problems whatsoever flatwise, and was able to hang with the roadies pretty well - as they were weaving around the potholes I was either blasting through them or bunny hoping the really bad ones. They look great on my Giant TCX Pro 2 - I almost feel like Mad Max. As I approach the DK starting line I will think about a lighter option, but I know it will be difficult to let go of these dependable and inexpensive babies! Especially if the spring remains dry out there ...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/27/2015
by Bob
Casual Cyclist
Viera, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great fit for a my Giant Cypress LX - provides a little more shock absorbing performance for city riding.

Liam took the time to help me select these Continental Tour Ride tires and fitted me with 700c x 42mm replacements. I had bought my Giant Cypress LX used, so I was not sure if I could get away with something a little bigger than the 700c x 40mm's that were on it. Was looking for a little more cushion as I run about 6' 1, 250lbs. The 42mm fit fine and I'm it looks like I could even get away with the 47mm - will try those next time.

Took my first spin on them this afternoon and the ride was improved significantly!

Thanks for the extra help Liam - I'll be a returning customer and refer you guys to others.

Regards

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/23/2019
by JAMMINTTR
Casual Cyclist
Tucson Arizona Desert roads
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tires! Upgraded Stock tires Great Price for quality.

The fit was perfect, the quality is great and they ride smooth. Put them together with a thorn resistant tube and no more flats so far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/3/2020
by Jim weaver
Granite Bay
Overall Rating
Great

Tires are solid and ride smooth as described.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/4/2020
by mc2
Casual Cyclist
77584
Value Rating
Overall Rating
nice tire up-grade for me.

put on bike front & rear wheels

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/9/2015
by c1charlie
Cycling Enthusiast
Batesville, AR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Dirty Kanza 200 Finisher 2015

I rode this tire, sized 42mm, during this year's Dirty Kanza 200. No flats.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/4/2015
by Christov10
Cycling Enthusiast
Stepford, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Heavy, Slow Tire that Performs in Foul Weather & Crap Terrain

This should have a three-and-a-half-star rating option for I don't hate it and halfway like it.

I bought these cheap tires one size too wide for no other reason than I clicked that size option without thinking about it. They were what I chose for my Craigslist 2007 Jamis Supernova with Frankenbike mountain-bike brakes and circa 2002 Dura-Ace components. It's my rain bike, off road bike, knockaround bike. This tire at 37 mm has plenty of clearance on the Jamis (a cyclocross bike with plenty of clearance, anyway).

As other reviewers have noted, this tire is heavy and it feels SLOW. I reckon I've lost about one to one and a half miles per hour in average speed from the cheapo-smooth tires that came with the bike. On road, my average with this tire is about 14 to 14.5 mph. Not great, but not so slow that I dread riding on road with it.

I weigh about 175 and inflate the tires to their full 70 psi rating. The tires hold the road predictably during cornering and on some potentially disastrous, speedy descents with curves and corners at bottom. Certainly, I attribute to the tires, rather than my cycling skill, the fact that at the bottom of one steep hill, I was able to keep on the road (although not in my lane) rather than launching into the creek branch the road crossed at that point. These tires grip well and corner well on wet, gravel & crud strewn pavement.

These tires are superb on rutted dirt and gravel alleyways, fire roads, degraded tarmac, and most of the total crap conditions to which I formerly tended to subject my mountain bike. They only failed me once when they were unable to grip the silt-bottom of a rain-flooded creek I tried to ride across in the woods.

I've ridden without fear of flats the entire time I've had these tires - since about October 2014?

This year, I may replace the Tour Rides with a set of cheap-version Clement Xplor USH to see if I can get more speed and thus more joy out of the Jamis, all around. But I'll probably also keep these tires in case they're needed. That said, they're such a good value at the price, if you hate them, you can always donate them to the local bike co-op or to that guy in your neighborhood with a hybrid bike.

I've also reviewed these tires on my blog - search for Continental Tour Ride and my user name.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/28/2019
by WILLIAM
Cycling Enthusiast
29681
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
rides smooth and seems duravle on the paved surface that I ride on

Rear tire for my specialized road bike. I ride paved surfaces 20 milesday in wet and dry weather

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/9/2015
by Will
Casual Cyclist
North Idaho
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
These seem like durable tires so far.

I installed these tires on my Cannonade Quick hybrid several weeks ago. I ride on gravel to asphalt to gravel almost exclusively. I ride for the cardio mostly and my daily trips range from 6 to 12 miles, depending on the route I take. These tire have held up well so far, no leaks, flats, pr problems. I'm using the Slime tubes. The gravel can be troublesome, but no complaints. I don't use this bike on rocky trails with tree roots and various nasty obstacles. Just country roads. They're actually smooth riding, not as noisy or rough as mountain tires or as smooth as road tires, but they're okay. They seem to corner well, but I'm no expert rider. Appropriate tires for a hybrid bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/19/2015
by Phoenix biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Phoenix az
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Very nice tire for a reasonable price

Used mainly for recreational rides on city streets

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/10/2019
by Edo
SY bay area
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect for my winter commute

Not a bad choice for riding in wet and muddy conditions where grip is very important. They weight more than a normal Gatorskin but they offer me the grip I need to go though 2 inches layers of mud and thats reassuring.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/8/2015
by jeaglesh
Casual Cyclist
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Smoother than expected. So far so good.

I do about 10 miles per day for exercise. Previous smooth road tires wore through to the canvas in less than 700 miles. I am hoping this tire will handle the weight, punctures better than the last. So far so good and smooth.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/25/2018
by Paha poika
Cycling Enthusiast
Phoenix
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Could not hold my weight.

I am a 68 year old retiree and am not slender (200 pounds). My Strava is at 3300 miles since I got a new bike in late February 2018 mostly on Arizona canal paths. These tires are incredibly hard to mount. It's a worry that the tube is going to get pinched when mounting. I inflate to 70 psi. The rear tire feel squishy. I have gone through several tubes. At 100-200 miles of use, the rear tube starts leaking. It took a couple of tries to find a good fitting tube. Most were too large. The same tire on the front have been great. It has rolled 1,000 miles with no problems. I will replace the rear and keep this one for a front spare.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 71

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]