Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Grand Prix 5000 S TR Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 S TR Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(26 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(16)
(1)
(3)
(2)
(4)
(62%)
(4%)
(12%)
(8%)
(15%)
Reviewed 7/21/2022
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
What happened Continental!

Compared to their older version, these are trash. The rolling resistance is bad, feels like they drag and go slower unlike the originally gp5000 tubeless. Way over priced. I was excited for a gum wall tubeless conti tire.

If you read an unpaid review site, they found continental took off a layer on the base of the tire to save on weight. But realistically that drops puncture protection. I went with a Schwalbe pro one and what a difference, felt like a rocket ship on butter.

https://www.bicyclerollingresistance.com/road-bike-reviews/continental-grand-prix-5000-s-tr

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/11/2022
by KC Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Kansas City, MO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Fast but fragile

Really wanted to love these tires but after 500 or so miles I have to give these a thumbs down. 99% of my riding is on rough/old pavement but I don't ride where there is a lot of glass or debris. Set up tubeless at 30mm these tires should be more durable but instead I get constant punctures including two big enough to require tubeless repair with Dynaplug.

Pros: very fast, comfortable, and light

Cons: extremely prone to puncture, still too difficult to mount tubeless

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/19/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Riverside
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Pop soooo much easier than TLs

Good

They feel fast and look fantastic. I love the tan walls.

Bad

After only about 200 miles or so on these I have a puncture in the thickest part of my rear tire that simply wont seal. I waited 10 months for these tires to arrive and now it seems I already need a replacement. That's just sad. Especially after paying a premium for these over the TLs. I rode on TLs since they came out and only ever had one puncture that wouldn't seal and it was a massive sidewall blowout. This one is so small I can't believe it's causing me issues.

On top of that, the same tire that I'm having sealing issues with is starting to delaminate. Maybe I'm incorrect in my vocabulary, but the top layer of rubber is peeling off.

I was so stoked on how these felt and looked that I bought another pair after my first couple of rides on these, but now I wish I hadn't.

Maybe its just this one tire. My front one seems fine. A 50/50 shot on quality is no bueno and will keep me from coming back.

As ALWAYS, BikeTiresDirect was great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/6/2022
by tyjacks
Competitive Racer
Memphis, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great set of tires...

Great set of tires, for me that is.... Waited quite a while for these and they were worth the 3 month wait. 700x28 tires roll effortlessly smooth, great grip wet/dry, very durable on city streets. Running these on ENVE 6.5 wheels with Silca latex tubes on a 2022 S-WORKS SL7. Very easy to mount on ENVE SES 6.5 wheels, no issues. This is s phenomenal wheel/tire/tube combination, performance and durability with tubes. Will eventually try a tubeless setup, but this is working great for crits and road races. Two thumps up... Will purchase another set when available from backorder...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/9/2022
by Fcotanis
northernVA
Overall Rating
So far so wonderful

Context: 2021 enve ar 45 - hookless and tubeless, inner diameter of rims 25mm. Tire I ordered 28mm black conti s tr. Previous tire Michelin Power road tlr.

Installation: they went on the easiest.

Aero: measured with my caliper and the total tire width is about a mm less than previous - so more aero on this rim.

Ride quality: on a different level better than the previous tire.

Grip: confidence inspiring in the dry. No wet running for me and no plans for it.

Longevity,Puncture resistence: TDB

Air holding in tubeless running: very good - same as previous tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/12/2022
by kevlarheart
Cycling Enthusiast
Pound Ridge, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
1500 km to failure

Bought with ZIPP 303s wheelset for tubeless setup. From the start the tires felt less grippy than other Conti's. The reduced puncture protection was evident as sealant started spraying after the 4th or fifth ride. After two plugs, 1500 km on mostly tarmac, the rear tire was toast. Loved how they looked, was not impressed with the ride and disappointed with the durability. Still on Conti 5000S II after 4K km on my other wheelset....which were about half the price

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/26/2022
by Randy B
Cycling Enthusiast
Raleigh, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Fast tire, but not impressed with the quality.

I bought these tires to replace the Giant Fondo 32mm tires that came on my 2021 Giant Defy Advanced 1. These tires were definitely faster than the Fondo's, but the contstruction on these have been sketchy. I've had threads coming off the sidewalls for about a year now. I keep cutting off the threads when I see another one pop up so it doesn't unravel further. It's happening more and more and I'm to the point where I'm questioning if the integrity of the sidewall is still what it should be. I contacted Continental about this issue around a year ago and one of their staff (Dan) did reply back. I let him know about the unraveling, sent him pictures and even offered to send them the tires so they could analyze them. From the get go he wasn't interested in the actual issue or having the tires back to see what was happening, but was talking about sending replacements. However, after a month of communication with him that changed to "we don't have any TL5000 replacements we can send and can we send you a different model tire?". I hesitantly agreed to that, but then he went dark on me shortly after that and would no longer respond to my email. What baffles me is I even provided him with pictures of the threads coming off the sidewalls and he still didn't seem to care that it could be a greater issue. Oh well, I guess I won't be buying another set of Continentals. I'm about to switch over to Michelins since I've read so many good reviews about them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/29/2022
by mtswift
Cycling Enthusiast
Middle Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
GP 5000 S TR - tubeless with performance!

Setting up the GP 5000 S TR tubeless was no problem, once fitted I was successful the first time with only a floor pump! Ride, performance and durability are all top-notch (as expected from Conti.) Currently riding at 65 PSI (80 KG rider), feels fast.

Conducted tire rolling tests from previous tire, American Classis (Torchbearer 32mm) to new GP 5k S TR (28mm). Results for .4 mile downhill roll test show the Conti was 2 seconds faster and on a 6-mile Time Trial test the Conti was almost 2 minutes faster on 20 minute effort although my power was not consistent (human error).

Overall - 5 stars for the Conti GP 5000 S TR

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/9/2022
by Bob T
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Pleased so far.

I have been riding Continentals for the past 7 years. This is my first pair of TR tires. I used Conti 5000 25C with tubes previously and thought I would try tubeless. Mounted the 28C 5000 S TR on new Hunt Rims without much ado after watching a couple videos. Was able to inflate with a regular floor pump (possibly due to design of tire and rims). I have a Trek Domane and ride exclusively on the road. After 600+ miles I can say I have had no issues and the ride and handling are great. I am confident in the tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/27/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Not your Dad's Continentals

Tried new Conti 5000 and side wall definitely under performs in puncture resistance. Half a dozen rides ?? pretty $$$. I felt nearly bullet proof on 4000's. Its either some really bad luck or these are just slow racing tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/5/2022
by Anonymous
Midwest
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Looks great, rides smooth.

These are great tires. I bought the transparent version and I love the way they look. The tires also ride very smooth as well. I�m definitely satisfied.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/30/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Fantastic upgrade

The pair of GP5000 S TR were an amazing upgrade on my bike. At 493g for the pair (700x26), these were massive 305g weight savings over the stock tires on my Giant TCR Pro 1. I'm running these on hookless rims in tubeless configuration with PSI 67 front and 71 rear. The weight savings were noticeable when you come up to speed. It is easier to hold your speed with less effort.

The only downside to this product is that they are still quite pricey. Hopefully in some months we will see a price drop.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/17/2022
by gbd
Competitive Racer
US Southeast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best road tire I've ever ridden

I've had about all the Conti road tires over the past 20yrs riding and racing. Clinchers, tubulars, & tubless. I was not a big fan of the 4000s and thought the 5000s were not bad. But then I ordered these TLs (28mm) & mounted on a set of Cadex 42s and am still shocked at how amazing they feel. I thought tires are tires, but these ride like tubulars on another level. I run around 80psi and the grip on corners is noticeable even in the wet. I used to dread chip & seal road surface but now look forward to it as these tires will make it feel like fresh pave. I've only had them for about 1K miles but have had zero problems. They are well worth the price. Ordering another set.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/5/2022
by chasatx
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good road tire though tough to install

This is a good quality road tire, though kinda pricey. I have used similar Conti clinchers in the past and this is consistent. Being tubeless, I found it rather difficult to install. Had to resort to one of those tire bead lever gadgets you see advertised. Without that, you better have big strong hands.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/21/2022
by Chris
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great grip and durability, tight fit

Got 4200 miles on the last GP 5000 TR rear tire, front looked like it still had quite a few miles left. I would rotate the tires if they weren't so difficult to mount.

Mounting was slightly easier than the GP 5000 TR, but some of that could be due to experience and making sure to do it on a nice warm day after leaving the tire in the sun.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/16/2022
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
12 of 25 customers found this review helpful.
Impossible to mount

Absolutely impossible to mount on Rovals. Literally, will not go on. Tried everything including a tire jack and heating the tire. Took it to LBS; couldn't do it, either. Would give it zero if I could since it's useless.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/2/2022
by JW
Cycling Enthusiast
Midwest
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
How do you mount these?

Frankly, I have given up trying to mount these. A lot of anguish and the effort to mount them even drew blood. What a waste of money!

I am a long time cyclist and not a rookie at putting tires on rims. This is not the first difficult time I've had with Continentals but even though the others were difficult this is the one I finally gave up on. I had to give it one star as zero isn't an option.

Can I have my money back?

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/28/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Couldn't get them mounted

I've been riding and doing most of my own bike maintenance for going on 28 seasons and I've never encountered a tire that was so difficult to mount. In fact, I never got it mounted. I tried both tires on 2 different HED wheels, but no dice. I spoke with the mechanic at my LBS and he said that they are that tight and are near impossible to get on/off. In the end I had to return them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/1/2022
by Robert Lubeck
Central California
Overall Rating
Tubeless Road Tire

Best performing tubeless tire I've ridden!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/18/2022
by David
San Antonio
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
GP 5000 STR

These tires are way easier to mount with much less finger damage and swearing the the GP 5000 TLs. I've only ridden a few hundred miles without any issues so far, but clearly not enough to speak to longevity. So far, seems to have a similar ride feel to the previous GP 5000 TL. These tires are very hard to come by. Waited about 4 months for the set.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 95

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]