Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Continental Grand Prix 5000 S TR Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 S TR Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(111 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(82)
(9)
(5)
(4)
(11)
(74%)
(8%)
(5%)
(4%)
(10%)

User submitted reviews

Review by frizbking

Reviewed 11/2/2023
by frizbking
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Dependable and grippy

The tubeless journey started with the MTB tires and then I tried the road tires. This new version of the Grand Prix is superb. I have acquired the appropriate tools and I can now change this tire in my garage in 5-10 minutes. Check out the Park Tool wheel block, it makes it much easier to get the needed leverage. I have been using Orange Seal Endurance without incident. The occasional puncture gives off a little spray and then seals. I'm talking 4k miles this year without a ride ending flat. I ride in Central Oregon on chip seal and on local mountain roads with debris and pot holes and snow plow gouges. I continue to lower the pressure on the tires until this year 64 front and 70 rear. I'm 189 pounds and this has significantly softened the ride.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Joel_CA

Reviewed 1/9/2024
by Joel_CA
Cycling Enthusiast
Norcal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires, however they wear fast

My first go around with these tires and I absolutely love them. Fast, smooth, confidence inspiring, and the tan sidewalls look great on my 22 Roubaix Comp. The only negative is that I've only put only 1700 miles on them and the TWI is almost indistinguishable. Gonna switch to the "all season" version of these tires in hopes that they last me over 1 season.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/13/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
7 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Fast- not durable. Great for race day

Really love the feel of these, they�re light and fast. Unlike the schwalbes and the enves they seem to retain their speed after the first hundred miles.

Very susceptible to small punctures- definitely not as durable as the schwalbes. Probably equivalent to the enves.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Santo

Reviewed 11/2/2023
by Santo
Federal Way, WA USA
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Fast and Grippy

The tires are great. For a point of reference, I ride them on a Canyon Endurace - carbon fiber frame, aluminum wheels and Di2 drivetrain. 700x28. They are fast but, still smooth. A more comfortable ride than Gatorskins. They�re very grippy. I�m taking corners and descending with these like perhaps and old man shouldn�t. I did over time end up with gashes that wouldn�t seal and had tubes in both tires before the wear indicators were all the way down. It�s my third set so, I definitely like them. I weigh 210 lbs (95ish kg) and they last me 1500 to 2000 miles.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by daveK Scientist

Reviewed 10/3/2023
by daveK Scientist
Daily Commuter
Chicago in the City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
QC issues

I outfitted my new dream road bike with these pricey tires, and I have nearly 1400 mi on these 28C tires without a single flat, despite frequently being unable to avoid rolling through broken glass on Chicago streets, so I'm impressed with the puncture resistance. Indeed, the tires are remarkably unscarred considering the miles. Similarly, the rear tire is showing minimal wear despite my 215 lbs, so I'm also impressed with tread wear. Together with the sweet ride, these are the best-performing Contis I've ever ridden, and I anticipate that they will serve me well beyond my typical life cycle of 2500mi for road tires except... Unfortunately, the loss of 2 stars in my rating is due to the regular appearance of threads peeling from the sidewalls approximately 5mm from the rim on my Enve SES 3.4s at what appears to be a subtle seam line. The threads of up to several inches in length fray from the sidewall of both front and rear tires, indicating the issue is not unique to a single tire. I trim away the loose ends, rather than pulling them due to concern for somehow compromising the tire. I've ridden mostly Contis for the last 40,000mi, and I've never experienced this issue with Conti road tires or any other tires on any of my bikes. Very disappointing for a pricey tire that's otherwise worth every penny!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by John

Reviewed 9/18/2022
by John
NYC Area
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Very Happy with These

I got these in 28mm and mounted them on HED Ardennes LT+ TR rim brake rims (21mm interior width). Replaced a set of tubed GP4000s. Like other commenters note, the 28mm tubeless look like my former 25mm tubed tires, but I haven�t measured them. I didn�t have any trouble mounting these, though I used tire levers to mount them. They�re a pleasure to ride; tubeless is always a little plusher than tubed, but these are a bit silkier than other tubeless I�ve ridden. It may be my imagination but they seem a little faster than my previous GPs. I�ve ridden about 300 miles on them over all kinds of surface, including milled asphalt, crappy NYC streets, and dirt, and I�ve had no flats and no premature wear. Expensive but I expect to get every penny out of them.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/18/2023
by Anonymous
East Coast (US)
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great all around tire

Comfortable, good grip, and feels fast. Great so far. I need more miles to test their puncture protection and durability.

The 30mm were easy to setup on Zipp 303s with a regular floor pump.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/18/2023
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best road tire

Very few tires last so long that the tread is the first to go, after probably 1,000 + miles. With the tubeless setup I don't even notice when I get a thorn, and glass hardly creates a cut in the rubber.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Darecki

Reviewed 8/24/2023
by Darecki
Cycling Enthusiast
Plainfield IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Continental great new tire

After 1k miles ridden on this tires I can say Conti 5000 S TR new tire is better than old 5000 one. Feels like is faster, more supple and have better grip probably due to lower pressure. Max tire pressure for 700x30 is listed 70psi but since its made for tubless setup - shall be fine for even for heavier riders. No flats or cuts or other issues so far and based on regular tear and wear seems like I can squeeze more miles from those, compare to the previous Conti 5000`s.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by AtxBikeRider

Reviewed 7/10/2023
by AtxBikeRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Don't seem to be very durable

I decided to try out a pair of these tires based upon reviews that I had read.

I must say that from a performance perspective the lived up the hype. Grippy and fast. Although the ride seemed to be a bit harsher than what I experienced with the Enve tires I had ridden previously.

What I don't like is that they seem to be more prone to punctures & cuts than my Enves. The surfaces I ride are primarily chip seal, so sharp little rocks are the norm for these types of roads.

After 4 weeks, I've already had to replace one of my tires due to a cut, that couldn't be plugged. I rode my Enves on these same roads with no significant issues.

I'm giving these tires a 2nd chance but will find something else to ride, if they continue to cut & puncture so easily.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/1/2023
by Anonymous
Pittsburgh
Overall Rating
As Advertised

This wheel contributed greatly towards a smoother ride, on alloy or carbon. Unfortunately I�ve had three puncture flats in two months and will be switching to something else. I knew I was taking a risk. These are excellent as far as performance goes, so my advice would be to use in a specific situation and not expect it to commute well or withstand city roads for very long.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rough road rider

Reviewed 6/19/2023
by Rough road rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Western WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
My favorite slick tire

I've seen great performance from these tires in the 30mm width running tubeless on a wide carbon rim. On road they roll fast and feel like a magic carpet. Very grippy. On broken tarmac they soak up the bumps and on gravel they endure way better than they should. So far no punctures after about 1k miles and they still hold pressure for days. I found them no more difficult than other tubeless tires to mount. Technique is key. Study some online videos to make the task easier.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mondingas

Reviewed 6/8/2023
by Mondingas
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent rolling resistance and weight

I had previous experience with the 32mm tubeless GP5000 on a gravel bike with 38mm rims. On very unscientific downhill rolling tests, I would consistently gap riders on road bikes -- I chalked up the surprising downhill speed to the higher weight of the gravel bike.

Going to an aero road bike I first used 28mm tubeless Vittoria Corsas. Seemed fine, but when I was ready to replace them and wanted 30mm tires, the GP5000s were the only easily available option.

Again, not a scientific comparison, but there's every indication that the 30mm Contis are faster than the 28mm Vittorias. First ride with the Contis was no big deal, but once scrubbed in they really started to shine. It felt like going from the Vittorias to the Contis was like going from the gravel bike to the aero road bike -- the Contis are that good. Possibly a good mile-an-hour faster or more.

Grip and comfort are excellent (rider+bike=175lbs; front 58 PSI, rear 62 PSI). I don't bother mounting my own TL tires -- it's always a struggle on my Reserve wheels so I let a shop take care of it, especially with their air compressor. That said, I struggled to even get one side of the Contis over the rim; they're extremely tight.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SABike

Reviewed 1/2/2024
by SABike
Cycling Enthusiast
Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Continental Tubeless Road tire

This is my first set of tubleless tires and so far I love them. Ride is smooth and no more having to change a flat out in the cold weather

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Hal Taylor

Reviewed 11/6/2023
by Hal Taylor
l
Overall Rating
Great tire and mounts easy

Installed by weak hands on Zipp 303 Firecrest wheels. and only needed a little help with front wheel. Rear wheel inflated with hand pump. Front wheel needed the compressor. 32 mm tires inflated to 32mm. Running tubeless with 42 lbs front and 46 rear. I�m 150 lbs. Superior cornering The only negative is they aren�t as compliant as other similar tires I have used.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/30/2023
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
The best ride tire for me

I run 30mm 5k S TR at 60/65 pressure and they have loads of grip, roll fast & no punctures in over 2000 miles even though I regularly run over glass, pebbles & road debris.They are tough to mount but i use some sealant on the bead which allows them to slip on & seal up with a standard floor pump. The original GP 5k were great also, 15k & only 2 flats, 1 because I ran out of sealant.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bill M

Reviewed 11/2/2023
by Bill M
Cycling Enthusiast
Placerville CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Continental Grand Prix 5000 S TR Road Tires are great

Continental Grand Prix 5000 S TR Road Tires are fairly easy to setup tubeless. Thay ride well, stable in corners and smooth on rougher pavement.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SF biker

Reviewed 3/27/2023
by SF biker
Cycling Enthusiast
South Bay CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Extremely difficult to mount

I've used Continental tires for over 15 years, starting with Gator Skins for my tubed tires. 7 years ago I went tubeless with Mavic wheels. I was able to mount the older Continental tubeless tires, but with a lot of effort. I now have Mavic Ksyrium Elite Disc UST rims. Today I tried to mount the new version Continental tubeless tires 700X30C. I couldn't event get close to mounting them, even the first side. I'll go to my local bike shop for help tomorrow. FYI, the bike shop has told me that Mavic rims are difficult for mounting, depending on the tire type. I love Continentals as being very durable tires. But if you go tubeless, don't even try to mount them yourself.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dave P

Reviewed 12/18/2023
by Dave P
Madison, WI
Overall Rating
Buy Them, these tires ride great!

Not the easiest to install or seat onto my Hunt carbon ribs, but once set up, these tires ride extremely well and even took them on gravel trails. Ride great on the road and trails.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Davie J.

Reviewed 4/3/2023
by Davie J.
Cycling Enthusiast
19426
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Very supple ride

Fairly difficult to mount, like the Challenges, but buy the Challenge tire mounting tool and two Schwalbe tire

levers with the rim clip, you'll get them on! I think the ride is not as supple as the Vitoria's or Challenge tires,

(700cx30mm) but I can live with them. Installed tubeless with Finish Line sealant, they hold air for 2-3 months.

Great looking with the tan sidewall

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]