Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Continental Grand Prix 5000 Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(1348 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(1115)
(134)
(35)
(21)
(43)
(83%)
(10%)
(3%)
(2%)
(3%)

User submitted reviews

Review by mistyowl

Reviewed 4/12/2024
by mistyowl
Cycling Enthusiast
Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Size is off

I bought the 25mm size from BikeTIresDirect on 6/3/2023. Just now (April 2024) installing them for the new season. However, they are not 25mm wide, despite clearly stating so on the sidewall. When properly mounted and fully inflated, they measure 23mm. Too late to return them and shouldn't have to pay return shipping anyway. Though I'm a long-time customer, I will not likely buy any more tires from your store. And though I've used Conti tires for years, I will likely switch to another brand. They had an outstanding tire in the GP4000; and the GP 4-Season is good too. But I will find another brand.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/10/2024
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Bellingham
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Fast and no flatting, good grip

I love these tires, have them on both my road bikes. They are fast and they don't get flats. Perfect combination.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/10/2024
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Well Made Tires That Go The Distance

Have been using Grand Prix now for about 5 years. Very satisfied with performance. Well made tire. Get good mileage, which is an improvement over previously purchased Michelin Pro 4s.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mander

Reviewed 6/11/2024
by Mander
Cycling Enthusiast
HIllsboro Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love the Continental Tires

I have been using the Continental tires for a number of years now, and love them. They are long lasting and for the most part are fairly puncture resistant. I have a hard time even looking at other brands because I know these will last for a good amount of time.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Stewdebiker

Reviewed 5/27/2024
by Stewdebiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Raleigh, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Fast and long-lasting

I have nothing to add to the reviews of overall performance for the GP 5000s. I've found them to be fast and long-lasting. But they are a pain to install. I have found that the EZ Clincher makes installation a lot easier.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Serge

Reviewed 5/24/2024
by Serge
Tampa Florida
Overall Rating
Bullet proof

I�ve been riding the GP5000 for five years love the way they roll , smooth ride and when they say puncture resistance they mean it, no flats. The CONTI�S are my go too tires ,the prices are reasonable and worth it two thumbs up!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mike d

Reviewed 5/9/2024
by mike d
Cycling Enthusiast
Utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Still the gold standard

I still haven't gone tubeless for road tires and GP5000s have been my go-to tires for years. I've occasionally tried something else only to be disappointed in durability and/or cut resistance.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bill

Reviewed 5/16/2024
by Bill
Holly Springs, GA
Overall Rating
My go-to road tires

Continentals have always been my go-to for clincher tires. I�ve never had. Conti flat, ever.

They wear well, I get thousands of miles from a set.

Having praised them (which they deserve) I hate having to mount new ones onto Campagnolo wheels.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Germanrazor

Reviewed 3/19/2024
by Germanrazor
Cycling Enthusiast
Asheboro, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
The best.....so far

Absolutely the best brand and model Conti has for road bikes. I have run a variation of the GP for about two decades! They should tell you something. The bad reviews for flats and sidewall issues have me perplexed a bit. I am not saying there can't be a few bad ones that get by, but I really wonder if it is a road quality issue or improperly mounted by the rider. I ride some junk roads on daily routes too, and knock on wood, no issues like I had with Michelin tires I use to run. These 5000's are truly a race tire and very durable. I even have a daily section of over a football field length of gravel to reach the black top and no issues. Go get yourself a set and those who think the tire is bad that have used them.....check what your roads are like or get them mounted professionally then reassess. If you do in fact have rough roads you may need a gravel bike instead!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by LP

Reviewed 5/2/2024
by LP
Competitive Racer
Houston TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
excellent tire - good from training to race day.

I've been using these tires for training and racing, and I've had excellent results in various situations - from chip to asphalt to cement, very straight or technical courses. They feel secure in the turns, and are extremely comfortable even in long rides >100mi.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Grout

Reviewed 4/18/2024
by Grout
South Western Ontario
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Continental rolls out quality

GP 5000 tires are my go to tire.

Lately my purchases are 30 and 32 mm both used for road riding.

They seem to me no different in speed vs a 25mm tire. Granted nothing to prove this.

On really poor surfaces the 32mm at lower pressure allow you to hold your speed better.

I find my rear tire wears a little faster so I buy in 3s vs by the pair.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/20/2024
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Greenville SC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The only tire I ride

The best tires on the market - especially for the price. I rarely get flats and just migrated up to 28 mm for my road bike. They are very comfortable.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Roadiemtb

Reviewed 4/22/2024
by Roadiemtb
Competitive Racer
Trussville, AL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent tires

Love these tires! Bike Tires Rolling Resistance names this one of the best rolling tires on the market, and I have run them since 2021 with only a couple of issues. I highly recommend both these tires and bike tires directly! P.S. The 5000s are not a 5/5 for value, but this website is by far!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by AML Pro Rider

Reviewed 5/2/2024
by AML Pro Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Burlingame, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Grand Prix 5000 - great tire

Been riding on this tire since it first came out. Great tire, comfort, durability, and just plain all-good !

Try them...Go Continental.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bryan

Reviewed 3/7/2024
by Bryan
Brea
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
GP 5000 28mm

After doing the tubless scenario I went back to my roots a roll with clichers again. If you run 80+ psi. on your setup you won't be disappointed. Much better tread-life than most. 3,000+ miles is about my average before having to replace them. BTW, they Roll Fast Too!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Germanrazor

Reviewed 10/18/2023
by Germanrazor
Cycling Enthusiast
NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Absolutely the best RT

I have been running Conti GP's for almost two decades and keep moving with the nomenclature progression. They are very much puncture resistant, light, very sticky for cornering, and a real value for a German made tire for pro racing standards. Unless QC goes out the window or I am given a competitor tire to try to formulate feedback, I will not vacate using this tire. I run a 700 x 25 sizing on a set of full carbon Spinergy wheels that are 32 mm deep with a Hadley Ti Racing hub. If you have not ridden these and are looking for a new manufacturer, give them a try.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dave Wright

Reviewed 10/9/2023
by Dave Wright
Cycling Enthusiast
Upstate SC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Sweet Spot Road Tire

Continental hit the exact sweet spot with the 5000. Perfect mix of speed and flat resistance. Excellent cornering grip too. I use the 32mm size on both my road bike and gravel bike's road wheelset. Have worn out 25mm and 28mm similar Conti 4000s as well, and strongly recommend the 32mm width if your bike can take it. The lower pressure greatly & noticeably improves comfort, traction, and tread life. For the occasional fast smooth pavement ride you can pressure them up to be same or lower rolling resistance as thinner tires. I suppose their extra width adds wind resistance, but if that makes a statistically provable difference in your riding then no worries because your team mechanic is wrangling your gear anyway. My only qualification on the 5000 is that it should only see minimal gravel use. I ruined the sidewall on a rear tire one time.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/20/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
MD
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
The tire I love and hate

I am a Conti GP5000 devotee and have been for years. They get consistently great reviews, roll fast and feel very comfortable on the road. They also look great. That said, you have to have the correct wheel/tire combination for them or you will suffer as they run tight. Had to cut one off and there have been plenty where no amount of manipulation could get my tire lever under the tire bead even having the whole tire down in the center channel. These were supposed to be my tires for life but they disappointed and I've moved on. My bike shop guy who's been in business for years told me that Conti's main business is car and truck tires, not bike tires. Therefore the R&D just isn't there as opposed to a company like Vittoria which only makes bike tires. It was because of the Conti's that I bought longer vinyl coated steel tire levers because they were the only levers with which I could get the last bit of bead over the tire rim and do so without breaking the lever. Getting stuck on the road because I can't change an inner tube is unacceptable.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by bikingchef

Reviewed 10/2/2023
by bikingchef
Cycling Enthusiast
Del Mar, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
The best German road tire for my German Canyon bike.

I like how easy it mounts (slips) on to the rim. I had many other tires before and they were a pain to put on.

I even had to go see a bike shop mechanic to force other tires than the Contintal Grand Prix 5000 on the wheel.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/3/2023
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Walnut Creek, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Super Fast Road Tire

The GP 5000 S-TRs are the best I've ever ridden and I've tried a lot! The rolling resistance of these tires are among the lowest in production - super fast, great road feel, supple and sticky. I'm 155 lbs, run them tubeless, and they last me about 3,000 miles on the rear; longer on the front. They are not a puncture free tire but for a race tire they are more durable than others (Pirelli, Specialized Turbo). If you want puncture free - go with the Conti Gatorskins. I ride about 5,000 miles per year and have burned through at least 5 of these tires. I keep coming back! At $120 they are an okay deal. But if you are patient, you can often find them under $90 - a great value!

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]