Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Grand Prix 5000 Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(663 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(536)
(80)
(14)
(12)
(21)
(81%)
(12%)
(2%)
(2%)
(3%)
Reviewed 3/9/2020
by mrpelco
Cycling Enthusiast
West Point NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
17 of 18 customers found this review helpful.
Puncture resistance is improved and I put that to the test.

Before taking the new road bike tire for a spin, I reviewed the technology first. The Grand Prix 5000 has a 12% lower rolling resistance, a 20% better puncture resistance and 10 grams less weight according to Continental. The tires puncture resistance was improved and I put that to the test. While out for a ride we encountered a large patch of glass. My buddies all got flats. I pulled some glass shards out of the tire. No damage and No Flats... The tire smoothly glides over asphalt and my bike has no problem accelerating.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/4/2020
by Stan
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Even Better than the 4000's

I bought these at a good sale price a few months ago and put them on last week when my 4000's were getting flats to easily. This is usually a sign to me that they needed replacing-about 3000 miles worth of wear.

The new tires were a tight fit on my DT Swiss carbon rims but the new bike tire tool, a Crank Brothers Speedier lever, lived up to its name. It made mounting the tubes much easier than putting on the 4000's , which was what led me to buying the new Crank Bros. tool in the first place. The tires look good on the bike and ride well with better grip on the turns than the previous ones. The ride is comfortable, too. I'm not sure I can tell if they have less rolling resistance. Obviously, I can't comment on longevity or flat resistance yet but usually have good luck with Continental products.

Try these tires. I think they are a good example of continuing product improvement by Continental.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/23/2019
by Mark A
Cycling Enthusiast
Princeton, NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
12 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent ride quality

I am an avid cyclist of mostly group rides that range between 20 to 75 miles over flat to hilly terrain. Back roads with some countysecondary roads to help connect the dots. I was a long time user of the Continental brand between the GP4000s and the 4Season. I went between the two depending on the season, weather, and the amount of riding where durability was more sought than ride quality. I would trade between the two by switching out the tires. I ride a 500 mile7 day cycling fundraiser every July in the Northeast US so that alone causes some flux as to what tire to use. I recently went off course by trying out the Vittoria Corsa G which claimed to have vastly improved its durability by way of a new material called Graphine. The first two sets where super fast and buttery smooth. The third set which was used over the 500 mile ride rendered the ugly durability head by rendering three flats. I have since switched back to Continental as I was made aware of the 5000s. Of course they are on par with the Corsas in terms of speed and roll resistance but I've been told the 5000s were made with a 20% improvement on puncture resistance. I just took them out for 40 miler and have to say they are impressive from a ride quality and rollspeed standpoint. I did not flat during that ride but honestly its going to take a much larger sample size to determine just how much more durable they are than the 4000s, the Corsas, and whether they're close enough to the Conti 4Seasons which while very reliable deliver a slower ride with greater vibration. Ruins the experience a bit.

I'm very happy with the 5000s but jury remains out on the surviving the rural routes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/28/2020
by AML Pro Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Burlingame, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tire

The Continental Grand Prix 5000 is an excellent road tire.

Comfortable, smooth ride, light weight, wears well.

I am on my second pair, from last year, and I ride a lot. Best tire.

I don't think you can go wrong with this leader in the clincher category !

Buy them !!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/11/2020
by Terry Rardin
Moreno Valley Ca.
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good overall tire. Handles good.

Good tire. A little better than the 4000. Handles good and seems to roll easier. Only complaint, they seem to cut easier than the 4000. Mileage seems about the same. 2 rear tires to 1 front. On my second set.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/15/2020
by BIKERIDER4LIFE
Cycling Enthusiast
Moreno valley CA.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
They're faster than any tire I've ever used

I use this tire for my daily rides(5-6 days a week) and with the exception of a couple of flats early on,once I started using heavy duty intertubes I have not had a problem. My speed might have been a little faster with thinner tubes but it's nothing significant. I'm not a racer

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/3/2020
by Michael Barnes
Cycling Enthusiast
East Bay
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Not sure yet I like these better than the older GP4000s.

I find two things annoying about these tires compared to the older GP4000s. First, there isn't much rubber there to start with, which helps explain the low rolling resistance. But I wonder how long they will last. Second, the tires are narrower than the older GP4000s. This is to compensate for the wider rims in use today. But I liked the width of the GP4000 700x25s. The new GP5000 700x25s are too narrow, but the 700x28s are two wide.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/9/2020
by SLOSpokes
San Luis Obispo, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Improvement over GP 4000s.

After experiencing poor durablity performance with the prior GP 4000 tire (lots of cuts and too many punctures) I started leaving my GP Four Seasons on all year. I have recently tried the new GP 5000s and so far they are a significant improvement. Rolling resistance and speed are obviously better over the Four Seasons, but durability also seems to be improved. After a couple hundred miles, no cuts or punctures. Cornering grip is stellar and stepping up to the 25mm has improved overall ride comfort. They measure 26.3 at 105 PSI, which just barely fits in my narrow Ridley Noah ISP frame, but the ride quality over 23mm versions of the GP 4000 and Four Seasons is apparent.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/8/2020
by Gary W Davis
omaha council bluffs
Overall Rating
Love these tires. Run great rain or shine.

Love these tires. Run great rain or shine.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/25/2019
by Anonymous
Dallas
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Best tires, yet

Love these tires. Comparing really to the continental TT. These have amazing rolling resistance. Very similar to the TT but the 5000s feel stronger and stickier.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/26/2019
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
17 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
great tires

Been riding the 5000s (regular version) for a couple weeks now and have a few hundred miles on them. 23mm in front, 25mm in rear, latex tubes. I'm 145lbs. I've gotten to do a lot of varied riding on them, including a very wet and rainy crit and gravel. IMO they are excellent tires.

I used to be a die hard Veloflex fan. I rode them for many years for the ride quality. I switched over to GP4000s because they wore better and rolled fast. I could tell they weren't as supple as the Veloflex but I was tired of how easily they cut. I was really excited to try the Michelin Power Competitions, but those were a failure for me. They roll fast and feel good but I got bad sidewall cuts that ruined the tires and made them unrepairable. Bad luck I suppose. I also tried some Vittoria Corsa G for a time, because I got a deal on them. They are okay. They are pretty durable for a supple tire, but they don't really ride that great for me. Not sure why. They definitely don't ride as nicely as the Veloflex. In any case, the 5000s are undeniably fast and IMO feel better than the 4000s, and better than any of the other tires I've mentioned above save for the Veloflex. I haven't ridden them for a few years now so can't really do a direct comparison but the 5000s feel close.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/2/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
So far so good

Got this when it was on sale, otherwise I would rate it 4 stars because they are a pricey tire, but you get what you pay for and this is all around a great tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/15/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
5 of 23 customers found this review helpful.
Good

Good

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/4/2020
by Merlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Works very well at protection and comfort.

I put these on my new Diverge. They ride really well and no flats so far!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/29/2020
by Sound Beach biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Sound Beach, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tires fewer flats

last long and fewer flats

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/22/2020
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Minnesota
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Reasonable price when on sale
GPs are great tires. Good puncture protection and grip.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/15/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good tires. good value

Great tires, though I did get a flat

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/12/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Initial Review

Tires feel great but definitely fit truer to size than 4000's. The 700x23's measure 24mm on my HED Belgiums vs. 25mm for the 23mm 4000's. I couldn't clear 25mm 4000s on my frame, will probably give the 25mms 5000s a go next time around.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/14/2020
by Pedro
Miami
Overall Rating
Best tires GP5000

Fast rolling resistance tire, Puncture protection is excellent

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/14/2020
by Aladin
Cycling Enthusiast
Wis summer Tx winter
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Rolls like a Pro One... wears like iron.. hard to puncture

1500 miles plus this 5 month winter south Tx.. compared the wear indicators to the new one waiting to be mounted on the front vs.... one can not see any difference in their depth. I do not run sealant.. just enough to

get a decent sidewall seal and then carry plugs and seal if needed. Noted many cuts.. no leaks. 28mm.

Pro One on the front is holding up well 25mm.. yet on the front. I'm 195 lbs.. fitness rider. Like the P Ones.. just the 5000 is superior in all respects. IMO experimenting w roll out testing in various tires.. I'd vote for 28's over 25's for rolling resistance. Especially if your wheelset is light wt.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 84