Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
In Stock & Ready To Ship — XT/Ultegra RT-MT800 Disc Rotors
Continental Grand Prix 5000 Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(1064 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(860)
(121)
(28)
(19)
(36)
(81%)
(11%)
(3%)
(2%)
(3%)
Reviewed 5/23/2022
by eric
Cycling Enthusiast
Irvine, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
700X28 tyres very compliant and comfortable!

Bought this tyres to replace sworks turbo tyres, Alot forgiving and bullet proof from pinch flats, Bike tires direct is very prompt and had it shipped same day, Customer service was very helpful and on top my issue when they sent me a defective tyres, after having assessed the situation, they sent me a new tyre right away! thank you!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/26/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Madison WI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best all around tire for comfort, lightness, performance and wear.

This is used on my performance titanium bike. Very good durability. Use then on paved backroads and sometimes crushed stone trails common as rec trails in WI.

A little pricey, but probably still a good value considering tire life.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/26/2022
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Light and smooth but delicate

Used the 32mm with tubes for a month and about 500 miles after a 6 month back order. I ran over something that put a 1 inch slice in the rear and now that tire is useless. Maybe just bad luck but will not order them again. I'll stick with the 4-season or gatorskin.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/13/2022
by Carl
Texas
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Still a great all-around tire

First a reminder: With wide rims the norm, conti resized the GP5k to be the width it now appears on ON THE RIM. So your GP5k in 28 is the width of your old GP4K in 25 when it's mounted. Second, there is a bit less tread there- something like .2mm. So obviously the tire is really no lighter than the 4K in the same ACTUAL size. Still, I went ahead and replaced one of my GP4ks in 25 with a 5k in 25. I've ridden it through some pretty bad debris-on-highway-shoulders so far and durability has been great. I'm impressed by anyone getting over 2000 miles out of any tire. I don't try. The 4K would always flatten (wear down) at the top of the tread well before the wear indicator got anywhere near replacement depth and that's when I have problems so I replace early. I thought I'd give up some cornering prowess with the smaller size but didn't notice that either. Race last weekend revealed this to be a fast predictable tire, just like the 4K. No complaints, I'm buying more.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/9/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Top of the Line

Got the 28 mm version. Extraordinarily comfortable especially on chip seal roads which are very common where I live. Great grip on wet roads, too. A little pricey, but if you want to avoid disappointment, always buy the best; and these are the best.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/19/2022
by Maxmf
new york
Overall Rating
Instant Speed

My Bike instantly was faster!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/19/2022
by coaster
Cycling Enthusiast
North Oregon Coast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Rolls well, the extra volume cushions some road rattle. I don't corner brisikly enough these days to rate the grip.

Short rides with moderate hills, decent but not great paving quality. Put the tires on an older Bianchi Eros that doesn't get a lot of miles these days.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/27/2022
by Anonymous
Pennsylvania
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire to ride on Tough tire to mount

I'm only giving this tire 4 stars because they were a bear to mount on my daughter's Mavic Cosmic wheels. Just for reference we bought the 25s. I'm not sure if the larger 28s would be any easier but I kind of doubt it. She's good at changing flats (especially for a 14 year old) on the road but if she does gets one either I'll have to come change it or she'll need help from someone fairly strong.

After struggling for a bit and almost breaking my tire spoon I ended up attempting to prestretch them by pulling as hard a I could with my feet and hands for about 10 minutes. Only then could I mount them with a tire spoon. Usually I can get other non-tubeless tires mounted by hand.

She's got about 200 miles on them so far and enjoys the ride quality and grip.

With any luck these will last the spring and summer CRIT season.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/22/2021
by OaklandMark
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
28 of 32 customers found this review helpful.
Smooth, grippy, not robust

I am a Conti fan, having settled in on the Grand Prix 4 Season tire as my go for many years, after trying several different brands. I got a new road bike a year ago, and thought I wold give the 5000's a try when the OEM tires gave way. Those were Specialized Turbo Pro's, and based on my previous experience with Specs, I thought they would be shot after 500 miles. In fact, I got 3150 out of the rear, and 4000 on the front!

Once I was fully on the 5000's I noticed 2 things right away - they are indeed smooth, fast, and grippy, but the sizing is a little questionable. I moved from being a 700x23 @120psi diehard, to 25's, and with the new bike, 28's running 75 psi F, 85 psi R. (I am 6'2", 180 lbs). If you're an old diehard skinny tire rider, do yourself a favor and try something different - easily just as fast, and waaaay more comfortable. When I mounted the 5000's it was immediately clear that although labelled 28's they were no bigger than 25's. So if you're looking for bigger tires, I would suggest going all the way to 32's - that's what I plan to do if these last long enough to be worth repeating.

The rear tire has 900+ miles on it now, and is showing considerable wear. Lots of cuts and nicks, with one fairly small cut having nicked a cord of the casing. By contrast, the Spec's had many more and deeper cuts, without a single injury to the casing. In fact on removal I saw that the sidewall had been cut along the radial line about 1" all the way to the casing, yet the tire performed flawlessly!

A word about rubber- these 5000's new out of box had noticeably less rubber on the wear surface than my 4000 mile worn Spec did!

If I can get 2000 miles flat free, I will consider another pair. The Specs went their entire life flat free, which is amazing. Plus they were a dream to ride.

Some reviewers commented on sidewall weakness. So far, no problems. Also, others say tires difficult to mount, but mine went on pretty easily, FYI. Lastly, I believe these are an improvement over the 4000's, as my experience with those was that they flatted like crazy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/5/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Grip

Awesome tyres ! Good for training and racing

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/20/2022
by TiredOfFlats
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, tx
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Reliable and flat resistant - exactly what I need in a tire.

I had been searching for a tire that would not get punctures when I rode vaguely near some piece of detritus with an edge or a point. I had tried other highly rated tires but with no success. The Continental Grand Prix 4K & now 5K do the trick. I imagine they are heavier than some but I can live with that. They are a bit pricey, but since I have to replace them less often, I'm probably not actually spending more. I certainly get a lot fewer flats which makes riding far more fun. As long as Continental keeps up the quality, I'll keep buying them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/24/2021
by LoneRidah
Cycling Enthusiast
NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Less Tread for More Money

Like many, I used the 4000s II for years and loved them. This newer version has less tread thickness and costs more. I bought them based on my experience with the previous model, but cannot recommend them due to changes in manufacturing and the price. There are more 700C sizes available in this model and the graphics are smaller and more appealing to me. It is still a good tire but Continental has not advanced the model technologically as much as the introduction of Black Chili compound did years ago.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/24/2022
by OU Titan
Cycling Enthusiast
Oklahoma City, OK
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Feel smooth and fast

Ride smooth, feel fast, not enough miles to comment on puncture resistance. Moved to these from a pair of Pro Endurance 4's and they are a tighter fit for sure but nothing I'm concerned about if I have to make a change on the road.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/9/2020
by mrpelco
Cycling Enthusiast
West Point NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
27 of 29 customers found this review helpful.
Puncture resistance is improved and I put that to the test.

Before taking the new road bike tire for a spin, I reviewed the technology first. The Grand Prix 5000 has a 12% lower rolling resistance, a 20% better puncture resistance and 10 grams less weight according to Continental. The tires puncture resistance was improved and I put that to the test. While out for a ride we encountered a large patch of glass. My buddies all got flats. I pulled some glass shards out of the tire. No damage and No Flats... The tire smoothly glides over asphalt and my bike has no problem accelerating.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/4/2020
by Stan
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Even Better than the 4000's

I bought these at a good sale price a few months ago and put them on last week when my 4000's were getting flats to easily. This is usually a sign to me that they needed replacing-about 3000 miles worth of wear.

The new tires were a tight fit on my DT Swiss carbon rims but the new bike tire tool, a Crank Brothers Speedier lever, lived up to its name. It made mounting the tubes much easier than putting on the 4000's , which was what led me to buying the new Crank Bros. tool in the first place. The tires look good on the bike and ride well with better grip on the turns than the previous ones. The ride is comfortable, too. I'm not sure I can tell if they have less rolling resistance. Obviously, I can't comment on longevity or flat resistance yet but usually have good luck with Continental products.

Try these tires. I think they are a good example of continuing product improvement by Continental.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/22/2022
by Anonymous
houston
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very content

No issues going on DT Swiss 421 rims. Loved the look with dark grey bike and tan sidewall. Feels softer and grippier than Michelin Power, Specialized Turbo Pro and Vitoria Rubino. No issues with flat protection on Houston streets and bayous. Bought in 28 and installed width is 29mm on 20mm internal wheel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/23/2019
by Mark A
Cycling Enthusiast
Princeton, NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
15 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent ride quality

I am an avid cyclist of mostly group rides that range between 20 to 75 miles over flat to hilly terrain. Back roads with some countysecondary roads to help connect the dots. I was a long time user of the Continental brand between the GP4000s and the 4Season. I went between the two depending on the season, weather, and the amount of riding where durability was more sought than ride quality. I would trade between the two by switching out the tires. I ride a 500 mile7 day cycling fundraiser every July in the Northeast US so that alone causes some flux as to what tire to use. I recently went off course by trying out the Vittoria Corsa G which claimed to have vastly improved its durability by way of a new material called Graphine. The first two sets where super fast and buttery smooth. The third set which was used over the 500 mile ride rendered the ugly durability head by rendering three flats. I have since switched back to Continental as I was made aware of the 5000s. Of course they are on par with the Corsas in terms of speed and roll resistance but I've been told the 5000s were made with a 20% improvement on puncture resistance. I just took them out for 40 miler and have to say they are impressive from a ride quality and rollspeed standpoint. I did not flat during that ride but honestly its going to take a much larger sample size to determine just how much more durable they are than the 4000s, the Corsas, and whether they're close enough to the Conti 4Seasons which while very reliable deliver a slower ride with greater vibration. Ruins the experience a bit.

I'm very happy with the 5000s but jury remains out on the surviving the rural routes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/17/2022
by SixSeven
NE FL
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Worth the wait

I placed an order in Oct 2021 and received these tires in January (28cm). Conti tires are my mainstays and can already tell a difference.

The last set (another brand) punctured with relative frequency and the thought of a possible puncture was always present.

Time will tell with this set, but experience with Conti tires leads me to believe I'm in good shape.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/18/2022
by Old guy in KC
Cycling Enthusiast
Kansas City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very noticable difference

I am not a hot shot hi speed rider but more like an old guy looking for every advantage. I have ridden on Conti 4000 since they came out and when I got a new bike I upgraded to the 5000. The improvement was noticeable and when I experienced a really bad cut in my 5000 I ordered a new one. I don't think it is my imagination that the newer 5000 I bought is even better than the originals. Plus the sidewalls give me that '56 Chevy look!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/7/2022
by DD
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good ol' GP5000s

GP5000s are a great all-rounder for road tires. Perfect balance between rolling resistance, durability, and puncture resistance. BTD's price matching program is amazing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 99

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]