Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Continental Grand Prix 5000 AS TR Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 AS TR Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(30 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(27)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(90%)
(10%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/10/2024
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Modesto, Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Major improvement going tubeless

Been a frequent flyer on Conti 4 seasons on my tube tire bikes. The 5K ASTR appears to be the tubeless predecessor to that model (got a squishy confirmation of that from the Continental tent at the Sea Otter in April). Without getting all tangled up in the benefits of tubeless I must say that the ASTR performs perfectly to my expectations, have run my first set 2,500 miles now without one incident. The rear is getting to the bottom of the indicators but the performance and reliability are still 100%. Awesome tires.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kevin

Reviewed 6/3/2024
by Kevin
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay area, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Simply awesome

Continental Grand Prix 5000 AS TR 35mm is simply the best road tires I've ever owned. It is supple, has relatively low rolling resistance that is measurable, hugs the roads like a baby hugging his mother on corners, and so far no puncture. My bike immediately became more agile after tire change. I set it up tubeless with Stan's Original. Tires pumped to 52/55 psi front/rear respectively, and hold pressure no worse than other tires I'd used. Road surface ridden is all dry, and varies from very smooth to very rough, mostly average condition. Terrain is primarily hilly to very hilly.

I've ridden ~300 miles on these tires so far, so this is an early-use review. Durability and long term puncture resistance are still unknown. Drawback? Price, even when bought discounted.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by GEF

Reviewed 5/15/2024
by GEF
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Durable and kush

I have put about 1000 mi on these on mostly tarmac, with fair amount of rough roads and some splintery wood plank bridges. Running tubeless and can compare to tubeless Conti GP5000 S (32) and Conti GP5000 (28), on which I put 1000�s of mi in similar conditions. These are all fabulous smooth running tires on which I had only 1 flat � sidewall cut on the 5000 S. One major difference between the AS and those other 5000�s: They would all get minor cuts that would seep sealant at very low rates � not a problem at all, but occurred consistently. This has not happened at all on the AS�s, apparently due to the greater reinforcement (ply�s). Because of that reinforcement, the AS�s are not as kush as the S�s, until you run them at 2-3 psi less pressure, which works for me. So these are great tires: smooth, durable, and noticeably a bit more sticky than the other 5000�s.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/29/2024
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent

So far, these tires have lived up to the hype. I ride in a metro area and you learn very quickly if a tire punctures easily. These do not. They are not affected by glass and small debris like true race tires are. Puncture protection is very good.

The tread is thick. Obviously. Very comparable to Pirelli P Zero Race.

For me, it�s perfect. Won�t puncture easily and is still as fast as anything else.

Because the tire is so thick, it doesn�t have that �supple� feeling like a Corsa Pro. However, I ride on crap roads and chip seal. So I actually prefer a thicker tread that dampens the chatter.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/4/2024
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Tires deliver as promised

Great all around race tire that definitely feels like a GP 5000- and I don't fear keeping mounted for all rides since they are also durable. Roll awesome at 60-65 PSI.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Joel_CA

Reviewed 4/8/2024
by Joel_CA
Cycling Enthusiast
Norcal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Amazing tires! Comfortable on long rides and confidence inspiring

I managed to install a pair 700cx35 on my 2022 Specialized Roubaix Comp and it turned into a super comfortable endurance bike.. even more comfortable than it already was. At 215 lbs, i was able to run the rear tires at 58psi and front at 55psi and they absolutely soaked up the small bumps and ruts i would ride over. Did not feel any penalty in the speed department as i regularly approach even beat my PR's from previously ridden routes. Very happy! I will look into buying the cream walled version next time to add some style points.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/4/2024
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Modesto, Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Tubeless finds its bike

2023 TREK Emonda SL7 came on tubeless ready carbon rims but had tubes and non-tubeless rated tires. Switched it early to Conti 4 Seasons (25mm) with tubes and 85psi. After 3K miles did the tubeless upgrade with TREK rim strips and Conti 5K ASTR. ASTR seemed to be the closest tubeless compatible product to the 4Seasons I have used for years. 28mm tires with 70 psi (I�m a 200 lb pretender) improved the bike dramatically. Slightly faster, noticeably smoother but mostly the previously chatter prone frame became silent on all but the biggest hits. Have another 2K with the tubeless and am very near the wear indicators on the rear. Maybe a little disappointed in wear rate at this price point but will continue to support this product. My conclusion is that the bike should have shipped with tubeless and without experiencing other brands/models the ASTR is perfect.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by kthuber

Reviewed 5/2/2024
by kthuber
Cycling Enthusiast
Pasadena, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent Tubeless Tires

These tires were easy to set up on my wheels. They feel very nice on the road- smooth rolling, grippy in corners, and do well in the wet. I have only ridden them for about 800 miles, but I have been impressed with the durability. I live in the Los Angeles area, so we have a lot of glass and debris on the road. These tires have resisted getting cuts much better than all the tires I've used in the past. I have not had any flats.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rough road rider

Reviewed 4/27/2024
by Rough road rider
NorCal
Overall Rating
Disappointed it wore so fast

At 1200 miles the rear 32c tire developed a slow leak. A month later it stopped holding air. Wear dots were down to nothing, I�m a heavier rider but that seemed a little early as I usually get 1600-2000 miles on the tube GP5000, the earlier 5000 TL, S-Works RapidAir, and Vittoria N.EXT. Disappointed it wore down so soon. Road feel ok, the 32c smooths out rough pavement at 58-64psi. The 28c is a rough ride.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/18/2024
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good all purpose spring tire

Long time GP tire consumer. Order a set of these for spring training. Have about 500 plus miles on them so far with no flats. They have performed very well even with all the crud left from winter on the roads.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by lmaisonv

Reviewed 3/15/2024
by lmaisonv
Competitive Racer
Pelham Alabama
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tires

These a great tires to be used while doing training out on the roads and also for road races where the surface can be a bit rough. So far no issues at all. Also they installed very well and sealed up with a regular bike pump. Love that.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/31/2023
by Anonymous
Toronto
Overall Rating
18 of 18 customers found this review helpful.
I WANT TO MARRY THESE TIRES

I am almost through a 35-day cross-country tour. 110 miles per day. I swapped to these new, tougher Conti 5000 tubeless after wearing out a set of Schwalbe Pro One tubeless. I have never had any piece of bike tech make as much of a difference to my performance. They are dramatically more comfortable and faster. They also installed easily on my notoriously difficult Zipp 303 hookless rims. I can install myself with arthritic hands, without a tire jack. I love these tires!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by OV Dragonman

Reviewed 8/2/2023
by OV Dragonman
Cycling Enthusiast
Oro Valley, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Tougher Alternative to S TR

I'm trying these as a replacement for the GP 5000 S TR I started with. The S TR only got 3300 mi / 5300 km before being worn out, barely 6 months of riding. The AS version is a much tougher version. I've got only a few hunder miles / km on them, so I've no indication, yet, if they are longer wearing, but I am very pleased with the handling of this tire. Corners like the racing version, grips like the racing version, but the feel is much stiffer. At 10-15 psi less than I used to carry, the bumps are still noticeable. Previously, I used about 70 psi, and I'm now down to 55 - 60 psi.

The stiffness of the ride is due to the increased tread thickness. This is also supposed to provide more puncture resistance, but I'm hoping just to get a full year out of these tires. Using Silca Ultimate Tubeless Sealant, I never noticed if I had any punctures, so the puncture resistance is not an issue for me. Only time, and distance, will tell if this change was worth it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Cowpokey

Reviewed 4/18/2024
by Cowpokey
Cycling Enthusiast
Harford Co, MD
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Go to tires for the roadie

Good rolling resistance, good puncture protection....Continental Grand Prix tires have been my "go to" for decades, the 5000 AS TR live up to my expectations.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/6/2023
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
irvine, ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Some pretty thick rubber.

Performs the same as a regular gp5000tr as far as traction/handling in dry weather but slightly heavier and thicker which helps with comfort and durability. It absorbs vibrations slightly better than the regular lighter version. I found that the thicker tire is also less prone to deforming when your rotate tires frequently between rims which helps with easy inflation. Unfortunately I ended up flatting my 28mm about 300 miles in on a massive m8 wood screw. Patched it up but the tire would inflate with a slight hump where the puncture was which pretty much made it useless. Overall it is a great tire that performs just as good as previous models but with added comfort, durability, and reliability but is not invincible. The extra weight is not noticeable. Great for daily use but I wouldn't mind racing on them.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Shaun

Reviewed 4/4/2024
by Shaun
florida
Overall Rating
GO 5000

Great tire! Great price! Quick delivery

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Spring Surf

Reviewed 5/15/2023
by Spring Surf
Competitive Racer
Houston, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Grippy in Wet

Rode these twice in the rain, wet roads, and found them to be very grippy. Much better than Goodyear and Schwable I had on these rims before. Even pushing pretty hard into corners on wet road I have a great deal of confidence with these tires. I'm 175-180 lbs, and I ran them at 45 psi on wet, vs 50psi for dry roads.

Also raced two criteriums with these tires and they worked fine. Probably not the lightest race-day tire you can get, but good enough for me (Cat 4).

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Spring Surf

Reviewed 4/15/2023
by Spring Surf
Competitive Racer
Houston, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
17 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Easy to Mount

After many years working in a bike shop, I have a longstanding hatred for Continental tires because they are traditionally so tight. BUT, I broke down and tried these as there are very few options for my rims, Giant SLR2 carbon hookless. They were super easy to mount, no problem, and sealed right away.

Out of the package they feel a little more substantial than Schwable Pro One, but not quite as heavy as Goodyear Eagle F1s that I have run on this bike. Roll seems really good and they are very grippy, at least on dry pavement. Only had them one week, but if they're as durable as the ad says, they could be my go-to for training and racing. Pleasantly surprised.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by HOTWEATHERRIDER

Reviewed 2/26/2024
by HOTWEATHERRIDER
Cycling Enthusiast
Hot Town, USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Latest and Greatest generatino of GP5000

Not the cheapest tires but you get what you paid for. These have great puncture resistance and lower rolling resistance. The new standard in performance!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rainman

Reviewed 10/30/2023
by Rainman
Cycling Enthusiast
Camarillo, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Solid Performance in Urban Areas

Not the lightest TR tire out there but robust enough for the daily grind in Urban areas. The performance has been such that I can safely rely on these tires in conditions that would shred my previous Coni GP5000TRs. They are as expensive as my Car tires�

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]