FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(592 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(477)
(71)
(13)
(11)
(20)
(81%)
(12%)
(2%)
(2%)
(3%)
Reviewed 8/19/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Kansas City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Generally very good despite recent defect

I have been riding these tires for years, with absolutely no issues - not even a flat. However, recently installed a new set on Zipp carbons just 200 miles ago and had a bead failure (bead material snapped completely, punctured 3 tubes before pinpointing the issue). These are excellent when they work - hopefully this is an anomaly. These are amazing value at the current pricing as they are being replaced with the 5000s.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/19/2019
by Dog''s Boy
Cycling Enthusiast
All of Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
A GREAT Tire

I've been using Grand Prixs for about 10 years. Great traction & few tire-related problems.

While the 5000 was recently released, and is 'new & improved,' there was nothing wrong with the 4000 IIs and the reduced price commonly found on them now makes them a really great deal. I will continue to run them on my road bike for years to come.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/9/2018
by Don
Cycling Enthusiast
Boulder, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 25 customers found this review helpful.
Disappointing sidewall flaw

I'm a longtime fan of Continental clincher tires, having used Grand Prix 4000 (including S II) , All Season, & Gatorskin versions. Past GP 4000 tires have lasted 2000-3000 miles treadwear with few flats and no sidewall problems, with ride quality noticeably more supple than the All Season or Gatorskin. But in a GP 4000 S II pair bought from BTD this season that had only about 1000 miles use, the one on the rear wheel recently had a sidewall hole directly under the reflective strip letting a bit of tube push out through it (analogous to an intestine pushing through an abdominal hernia). This required discarding that tire for safety. Fortunately I had an extra tire available to replace it. I don't know if this indicates declining quality control or was just a random event, but I'm disappointed in the exception to the GP 4000's customarily excellent reliability.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/22/2019
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A good performer for both the avid cyclist and racer.

I have used these tires for both recreational riding, racing and race training. They have been good performers with reasonable wear and are solid in the corners for both criteriums and high speed descents.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/6/2019
by Tim
Cycling Enthusiast
N Seattle Metro
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Sidewall separated from bead

Been riding Conti GP4000's for over 10 years without issue. Just put a new one on in June and had about 34 of sidewall separate from the bead after 400 miles. Riding on a paved trail, no debris hits, no warning...just went bad.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/11/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Humid, Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
My go-to tires.

All tires involve trade-offs, but these require very little sacrifice in road feel and handling to get good flat-protection and respectable longevity. When they're discounted, they're a steal.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/22/2018
by T. Johnson
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Very favorable impression

I bought these to replace a set of Schwalbe Marathon Plus tires specifically because I was looking to reduce weight and rolling resistance. Based on research, this tire seemed to check both of those boxes while still providing reasonable puncture resistance.

These tires run incredibly smooth and effortless. As for puncture resistance, I just returned from a weeklong bike trip covering 500 miles of rural roads littered with sharp rocks and steel belted tire shards and didn't have one puncture. I even did a little gravel riding (less than 10 miles). I cannot comment on traction in the rain as I plan to use my Schwalbes for winter commuting, however due to the low weight and very low rolling resistance, I very highly recommend these tires for any type of distance riding (multiple day trips, or centuries), they exceeded my expectations.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/6/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Soft and tacky

Great for races, climbing, and descending. Probably a little soft for commuting.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/23/2018
by Spartan Cyclist
Competitive Racer
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire for 2018

Conti GP 4000 S II, great all around tires. I've been using these for racing and riding for the past two years. I would say I get about 2000-3000 miles out of a tire, so they do last a good while. They handle great and are nice and fast.

They also provide very good puncture protection for a high performance tire. I know there are other 'racing' tires on the market, but they are very light and thin and certainly put you at risk for flats. From my past experience, there are few things that take you out of a race as fast as a flat tire.

If you balance price, performance and protection I don't think there is currently a better tire on the market.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/17/2018
by Boll Weevil
Cycling Enthusiast
Arkansas Delta
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Reliable. Just reliable

The only puncture I've ever had with Conti GP4000s was a pinch flat - my bad. For my road bike, I can't imagine a better investment, especially when they're on sale!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/7/2018
by Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
Scottsdale, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
The Continental Grad Prix 4000S II road tire is the Go To Tire for cyclists.

I run the Continental Grand Prix S II road tire on three of my four road bikes. They simple are the best tire for the money. Good rolling characteristics, puncture resistant and long lasting. I have tried other brands with no where the success of these fine tires. Highly recommended for your road cycling both racing and training.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/6/2018
by Philip
Philadelphia
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire - improved ride

This tire has just the right amount of road-gripping firmness while delivering a very comfortable ride. I'm very happy with the feel and handling. Its a big improvement over what was on my road bike previously.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/22/2019
by JP
Cleveland, OH
Overall Rating
Amazing tires

Great tires. They are my go to tire for training and racing

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/1/2019
by Rob from Rhode Island
Cycling Enthusiast
Rhode Island
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Rides well, wears well, my whole bike group uses them.

I ride 100 miles a week on 3 different bikes and all 6 rims have the Conti 4000.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/27/2019
by rondickinson
Cycling Enthusiast
Council Bluffs
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Two tires, five rides, three flats, hole in each tire.

Totally disappointed.

holes in both front and back tire.

multiple flats. Riding on roads, highway, chip seal, etc.

I'm done with these after less than 100 miles.

Going back to Schawlbe Tires

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2017
by MightyG
Cycling Enthusiast
Beverly Hills, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
BEST BALANCE OF, DURABILITY, MILEAGE, PERFORMANCE AND VALUE...

Like many cyclists, I've tried a lot of different high performance tires looking for that one tire that excels at everything. In the end, I use GP4000's on all of my wheels. A few tires have a more supple ride, a few corner better. Other tires are miserable to fit or have weak side walls or get lousy mileage or are prone to flats. GP4000,s just inspire confidence. They corner well in wet and dry, I get excellent mileage, (3,000 mi. plus), average about 1 flat per year, never had a side wall problem and they have relatively low rolling resistance. I've hammered these tires on So. California roads and the GP4000.s always get me home safely.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/22/2019
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A good performer for both the avid cyclist and racer.

I have used these tires for both recreational riding, racing and race training. They have been good performers with reasonable wear and are solid in the corners for both criteriums and high speed descents.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/21/2017
by Tommy
Atlanta
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Spider-Man tyres

If Spider-Man rode a bicycle instead of using webs he would be on a set of Continental GP 4000's enough said!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/5/2017
by morningglass
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
GP4000S II inflates to wider than sidewall spec

GP 4000S II inflates to wider than sidewall spec. After blog search, purchased GP4000S II to ride in Tour of Flanders Sportive. Blog recommendations were to use wider tires inflated to lower pressure to take out some of the harshness of riding on the Flemish cobbles. Measured width of forks, chain stays, and seat stays (eight year old Fondriest carbon frame and Easton fork) and determined not wide enough for 28mm but 25mm should fit. Purchased and mounted 700x25 GP4000S IIs and inflated to 95 psi. Measured width of inflated tires (digital micrometer) was 27.75mm leaving about 1 mm clearance each side between tires and fork and stays. Tires rode well on the cobbles - comfortable, good traction in the damp, and most importantly NO PUNCTURES. Remounted 700x23 other brand tires that had been removed to mount the GP4000s IIs to regain tire-to-forkstays clearance and will use the GP4000s IIs on another bike with greater forkstay widths. Great tires, next time this bike needs tires will probably buy another set of GP4000s IIs in 23mm width.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/28/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Island, ny
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Order came on time and was correct.

Ive used this tire before. It is durable. not prone to flats

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.