Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Grand Prix 4-Season Special Edition Black

ContinentalGrand Prix 4-Season Special Edition Black (Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(115 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(105)
(9)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(91%)
(8%)
(1%)
(0%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 6/26/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great price great tire

If you like the gator skin youll love these. And they are great looking!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/24/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Good all year

Great traction giving me good confidence in cornering and winding roads. Comfortable ride having it with a size of 700x25. Never did I feel concern with the grip on the road.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/24/2020
by AKRoad
Cycling Enthusiast
Anchorage, AK
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I may never use a different tire

I'm sure there's some luck involved, but since using these tires my flats have gone to ZERO last year, and so far this year (knocking on wood now).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/27/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
great tire, arrived as expected.

great everyday trainer tire. Probably better race tires, but this one definitely more durable especially on rough roads and chip n seal.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2020
by Silver Ghost
Cycling Enthusiast
The Villages, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent tire for tandeems.

Continental has always made great tires for tandems. The only problem I noted in the past has been with the brown colored side walls on some tire. It seems that UV light would break down the sidewall fibers causing them to break prematurely. These Continental Grand Prix 4-Season Special Edition Black has eliminated this problem by covering the side walls with a black rubber coating. I also find that when using the 28 and 32mm tires on regular width rims allows for a round tread profile. This offers good straight line and cornering stability.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/27/2020
by Auren
napa, CA
Overall Rating
Great all around tire

I bought these on sale and put both on my road bike. In almost 5,000 miles I only got 2 or 3 flats Before the rear needed replacing. The front lasted a bit longer, but soon needed replacing, too. Definitely great flat protection and long wear-especially for the sale price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/25/2020
by speedsport
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
You will not regret this tire with it's excellent grip and stopping power.

I ride the roads and bike paths but I like the confidence this tire gives you to even ride off the pavement if you have to.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2020
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Seattle, Washington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best bike tires I have ever owned.

Light weight and extremely durable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/13/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A fantastic training tire!

I have a Canyon Ultimate SLX that came w Mavis 25c, so waited until fall to change tires. Went w a 28c on these GP4 Black edition what an upgrade! The ride quality went way up, no more bone vibrations going down the Chicago roads, and these seriously feel faster. Traction and grips on wet roads also is much, much better. Really wish I would have changed over sooner, but makes the upgrade feel even better. Strongly recommend as a daily training tire that is fast, comfortable, and gives you confidence.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/17/2019
by Mark A
Cycling Enthusiast
Princeton, NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Compromise between ride and durability

These tires deliver the best compromise between ride quality, grip, and durability. They don't excel at any one of those aspects and that's likely the objective. Heightening one seems to take away from the other. These are good for everyday commuting or training but they definitely don't roll and ride as well as others targeted for speed or ride quality. For the money, they can't be beat. They'll survive a century ride over rural roads and last a long time. I just wish these delivered a better ride but that would mean the sidewall losing strength and puncture protection being compromised. I am going to try the 5000s and compare. Given I just used the Vittoria Corsas (zero durability but buttery smooth), that's likely the next tire I'll try to get a better ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/3/2020
by Joe
Nevada
Overall Rating
Great Tire

I switched to this tire 3-years ago and do not regret it. They handle great and the durability is excellent. Fewer flats than any other tire I have tried.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/6/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great product

I already have about 800 miles on it and not a flat, great product and great price Thanks

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/27/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Tires!

Bought these tires to ride a Gran Fondo that included some gravel. The comfortable ride and added stability from these wider tires has me thinking I won't go back to the previous brand. They seem very durable but also roll well on all the paved roads I like to ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/15/2019
by chrisvelo
Competitive Racer
Dallas, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A proven favorite with a great colour scheme!

Continental Grand Prix 4-Season tires have always been my faves. So when I saw the special edition black on sale, I knew I had to get them. They look really sharp on my Fulcrum Red Wind 80mm wheels. The all black is really appealing. Performance-wise, you can't beat the Conti's Grand Prix. Great traction, good thread count, tough, puncture-resistant casing and smooth riding. Especially at BTD.com, where the prices are always tough to beat, this purchase was a no brainer!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/26/2020
by Jeff
Florida Vetmont
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Seriously long lasting tires

Puncture proof and long lasting! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/8/2019
by Flying On Iron Horses
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, Mo.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The best all-around clincher tires available

The Continental GP 4 Seasons tire is an awesome all around clincher tire. I am currently using these on all of my machines, 700x25c and 700x32c. They have great protection and stick really well in the dry heat and cold and wet road conditions. I have been using these tires for over five years and get great mileage out of them, especially if you rotate your tires from front to back every 1,000 miles. They were designed for the Paris-Roubaix race. I have no complaints at all toward these fantastic tires. I had put 4,000 miles on a set of these one time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/28/2019
by summerd
Cycling Enthusiast
Chattanooga area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Longest lasting Continental race tire in my experience

I've ridden several tire brands for the last 26 years - Continental has always been durable but not necessarily long-lasting in my experience (in the competitive-race category tires).

It was a pleasant surprise to realize I rode almost 3000 miles on this rear tire (granted, it was off-season), 2000-2500 is more the norm for my usual go-to brand. So if there's something new with the Grand Prix 4 to make it tougher than before, then I can vouch it's true!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/15/2019
by Bikelampbuilder
Cycling Enthusiast
Montoursville, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Robust road tire with awesome grip and dependable sidewall protection at super price!

Avid road rider with a passion for challenging hill climbs and curvy downhills. I needed a set of new tires for the upcoming season and wanted to stay with 28mm tires. I like how robust the Continental Grand Prix 4-Season tires are from previous experience. Tires inflate to 30mm on a 19mm internal width rims at 100 psi which fits my Diamondback Podium Vitesse Disk road frame and fork clearance perfectly. Good grip riding hard in corners both dry and wet. Wears well on multiple road surfaces as well as training on the rollers. The addition of the Special edition Black sidewalls is an added bonus!

Bike Tires Direct had the best deal on a set of these tires and provided fast delivery. Highly recommend this product and purchase through BIKETIRESDIRECT.COM! Looking forward to my next purchase with credit from this great buy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/17/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Fabulous tire

On the roads in and around Los Angeles. The 4Season has a thicker sidewall than the 4000 - better flat protection for the heavier rider or urban rider. Easy on, easy off - much better than the Gatorskins. Pricier than Gatorskins but you'll be glad to have spent the extra money on a lighter, durable, and more pliable tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/14/2019
by oaklandmark
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
My go to road tire

First a confession - this review is for the non-black version of this tire as I have yet to use the black ones, but am reasonably certain the difference is cosmetic only.

I've tried many brands of tires, and many varieties within each brand, and for my use Conti's Grand Prix 4 Season is tops. They are a tiny bit less supple and grippy than many others, but more than make up for it in durability. They roll well, are nicely grippy, and really last. I have gone over 3000 miles on a pair, but find that by then, the rubber has squared off and does not have as strong a grip as I want, so I'm now running them about 2000 miles a pair, and that seems to be a good compromise. When I change them, they still look totally usable. That's always going to be an individual call.

As for durability, these tires will win out over the kinds of glass, rocks, thorns, etc that have flattened pretty much every single other road tire I have tried. On a recent ride, I goofed and rode over a large, sharp rock. No flat. When I got home, and inspected the damage, i could see that not only had I sliced open the riding surface, but had sliced clean through the fibre body of the tire as well! In spit of this catastrophic damage, it was still ridable, although I did replace the tire rather than risk it blowing on me.

Rides well on dry or wet pavement.

If you are patient and wait for the sale, you can also pick them up at about half price, which is frankly a steal.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 31