Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Grand Prix 4-Season Special Edition Black

ContinentalGrand Prix 4-Season Special Edition Black (Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(92 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(85)
(7)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(92%)
(8%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 4/8/2019
by Flying On Iron Horses
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, Mo.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The best all-around clincher tires available

The Continental GP 4 Seasons tire is an awesome all around clincher tire. I am currently using these on all of my machines, 700x25c and 700x32c. They have great protection and stick really well in the dry heat and cold and wet road conditions. I have been using these tires for over five years and get great mileage out of them, especially if you rotate your tires from front to back every 1,000 miles. They were designed for the Paris-Roubaix race. I have no complaints at all toward these fantastic tires. I had put 4,000 miles on a set of these one time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/20/2020
by lhiday
Competitive Racer
Southwets Washington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
great quality continues

these four-season tires are great for winter riding and last longer than I expected. I also use them on the trainer and compared to the wear on other tires, these last significantly longer. I don't like the cost of Continentals in general, but Bike Tires Direct helps make them affordable for the average Joe Cyclist. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/28/2019
by summerd
Cycling Enthusiast
Chattanooga area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Longest lasting Continental race tire in my experience

I've ridden several tire brands for the last 26 years - Continental has always been durable but not necessarily long-lasting in my experience (in the competitive-race category tires).

It was a pleasant surprise to realize I rode almost 3000 miles on this rear tire (granted, it was off-season), 2000-2500 is more the norm for my usual go-to brand. So if there's something new with the Grand Prix 4 to make it tougher than before, then I can vouch it's true!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/17/2020
by DonWA
Cycling Enthusiast
Palatine, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Good Tire

These tires will obviously not be as light as the GP4000's or GP5000's that I put on my road bikes but on my commuter bike they are perfect. They provide a really nice ride. If you get caught in wet weather they channel water away from the bike very effectively. A really solid tire. Get them on sale and they would be hard to beat.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/17/2020
by Silver Fox
Cycling Enthusiast
The Villages, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tandem tire.

The 32 or 28 size is the tires to use on a tandem bicycle. The ride is good and wet traction...with a reduction in tire pressure...instills confidence. Especially like the black side wall. Punctures are a thing of the past.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/15/2019
by Bikelampbuilder
Cycling Enthusiast
Montoursville, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Robust road tire with awesome grip and dependable sidewall protection at super price!

Avid road rider with a passion for challenging hill climbs and curvy downhills. I needed a set of new tires for the upcoming season and wanted to stay with 28mm tires. I like how robust the Continental Grand Prix 4-Season tires are from previous experience. Tires inflate to 30mm on a 19mm internal width rims at 100 psi which fits my Diamondback Podium Vitesse Disk road frame and fork clearance perfectly. Good grip riding hard in corners both dry and wet. Wears well on multiple road surfaces as well as training on the rollers. The addition of the Special edition Black sidewalls is an added bonus!

Bike Tires Direct had the best deal on a set of these tires and provided fast delivery. Highly recommend this product and purchase through BIKETIRESDIRECT.COM! Looking forward to my next purchase with credit from this great buy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/14/2019
by oaklandmark
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
My go to road tire

First a confession - this review is for the non-black version of this tire as I have yet to use the black ones, but am reasonably certain the difference is cosmetic only.

I've tried many brands of tires, and many varieties within each brand, and for my use Conti's Grand Prix 4 Season is tops. They are a tiny bit less supple and grippy than many others, but more than make up for it in durability. They roll well, are nicely grippy, and really last. I have gone over 3000 miles on a pair, but find that by then, the rubber has squared off and does not have as strong a grip as I want, so I'm now running them about 2000 miles a pair, and that seems to be a good compromise. When I change them, they still look totally usable. That's always going to be an individual call.

As for durability, these tires will win out over the kinds of glass, rocks, thorns, etc that have flattened pretty much every single other road tire I have tried. On a recent ride, I goofed and rode over a large, sharp rock. No flat. When I got home, and inspected the damage, i could see that not only had I sliced open the riding surface, but had sliced clean through the fibre body of the tire as well! In spit of this catastrophic damage, it was still ridable, although I did replace the tire rather than risk it blowing on me.

Rides well on dry or wet pavement.

If you are patient and wait for the sale, you can also pick them up at about half price, which is frankly a steal.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/14/2019
by DonWA
Cycling Enthusiast
Palatine, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Repeat Buyer

These are a nice riding, durable tire. I have them on 3 of my bikes now. Get them on sale and they become an outstanding value.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2019
by P�l m�ller
sf bay area
Overall Rating
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Amazing!

Recently installed these and with over 100 miles I am extremely willing to say that these roll smooth,they are light, I can run high psi and quiet to boot! If looking for a tyre I highly recommend these.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/27/2019
by Ewing NJ Bike guy
Cycling Enthusiast
New Jersey
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent tire . . . tread looks great after 2,000 miles

I switched from by usual Continental Gator Hardshell to these because they were on sale, and can't tell the difference. I have about 2000 miles on the Continental Grand Prix 4-Season Special Edition Black and very little wear on the tread. The sidewall seems a little more beat up than usual, but I don't know if it's me or the tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/25/2019
by Merlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
My preferred tire year round.

I've used these tires (either special edition black or original) for over 5 years. The hold up well, get relatively few punctures, and ride very well.

I'll certainly continue using these in wet or dry weather!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/29/2019
by Anonymous
Boulder, CO
Overall Rating
Low drag, smooth rolling, and great in the cold

Went up to x32's from my summer x28 (GPs). Been on some long rides with them in both real cold (single digit) and fall (50's) conditions and they are awesome. Early to tell but expect to get a lot of life out of them. Had no issues keeping pace with a pack on summer skinny race tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/21/2019
by mjg1231
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent all around road tire

Second time around for these tires after having run the first pair for 5000 mi. Feels like a smooth roll and grips well on asphalt. Durable for off road like short, safe connector trails. I tend to reorder a tire that works at least once before going new unless I have a recommendation that motivates me to change.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/13/2019
by Griff
Cycling Enthusiast
Wichita, KS
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was having too many flats.

Have used a different brand of tire for many years, too many flats, needed something with less flats.

Ordered these in a 700x25c this year to try. My first ride on them I noticed much less rolling resistance.

I have ridden them for 2200 miles this year and have not had any flats. I use these on a Cannondale Cad8

bicycle ridden only on paved roads. These will be my go to tire on my road bike now.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/17/2019
by Mack
Cycling Enthusiast
Northeast, Upstate NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I was skeptical and now I've been completely sold. Going from Vredesteins and Continentals was tough.

I use these on my daily rides. They are mounted on Enve Composites and the combination is extra special, at least in my book. They stay pressurized (I realize that is the use and stem too), so very reliable. This year's century included some gravel and they performed very well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/17/2020
by weimar wrangler
Cycling Enthusiast
auburn ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
great ride

good fit, solid ride!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/26/2019
by VW
inland empire
Overall Rating
Great tire

Have had great success with these tires. They have given me great wear timr

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/12/2019
by nzmrh
irvine, ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
All round performance with exceptional puncture resistance..

These are my go to tyres for ALL seasons. Great puncture protection, they dont feel too sluggish either. Great investment for a training tyre.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/5/2019
by Paulie
Daily Commuter
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Continental Fan

I'm an every-day city commuter. This tire handles glass and has a very nice roll.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/1/2019
by Tal
Cycling Enthusiast
NorCal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
What more is there to say???

The GP 4 Season is the tire I ride the most. I ride 28c on my endurance type bike. I ride 32c on one set of wheels for my gravelrain day bike. Over the years the GP 4 Season has gotten nothing but better. It is remarkably flat resistant even on bad roads and gravel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 11