Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Grand Prix 4-Season Black Edition Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 4-Season Black Edition Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(166 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(149)
(12)
(2)
(0)
(3)
(90%)
(7%)
(1%)
(0%)
(2%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 4/3/2020
by FR
Daily Commuter
San Francisco, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
So far these are great

I have a set of these on my Lynskey Helix, on which I've been doing an 11-mile urban commute. I have a 28 on the back, 25 on the front. So far, these have been great. They're showing minimal wear, I've had zero flats, they seem to hold pressure pretty well. They feel fine to ride on - it's true what they say about wider tires giving a smoother ride and not adding to the overall effort. They were easy to put on. Feels like I have good feel, good control, tight in the turns. Two thumbs up.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/6/2021
by 700cfanatc
wisconsin
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Love at first ride!

I was looking for a road tire to use on my gravel bike. Something wide enough to handle poor roads and the occasional unsaved trail but with low rolling resistance and a great ride. These fit my needs perfectly. Continental is my go to brand and the tires definitely live up to my expectations.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/13/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A fantastic training tire!

I have a Canyon Ultimate SLX that came w Mavis 25c, so waited until fall to change tires. Went w a 28c on these GP4 Black edition what an upgrade! The ride quality went way up, no more bone vibrations going down the Chicago roads, and these seriously feel faster. Traction and grips on wet roads also is much, much better. Really wish I would have changed over sooner, but makes the upgrade feel even better. Strongly recommend as a daily training tire that is fast, comfortable, and gives you confidence.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/22/2021
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Duluth, MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
So far this has worked fabulous.

I have been using these tires for the last year and now I put them on my wife's bike and she is happy with them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/17/2019
by Mark A
Cycling Enthusiast
Princeton, NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Compromise between ride and durability

These tires deliver the best compromise between ride quality, grip, and durability. They don't excel at any one of those aspects and that's likely the objective. Heightening one seems to take away from the other. These are good for everyday commuting or training but they definitely don't roll and ride as well as others targeted for speed or ride quality. For the money, they can't be beat. They'll survive a century ride over rural roads and last a long time. I just wish these delivered a better ride but that would mean the sidewall losing strength and puncture protection being compromised. I am going to try the 5000s and compare. Given I just used the Vittoria Corsas (zero durability but buttery smooth), that's likely the next tire I'll try to get a better ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/27/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Tires!

Bought these tires to ride a Gran Fondo that included some gravel. The comfortable ride and added stability from these wider tires has me thinking I won't go back to the previous brand. They seem very durable but also roll well on all the paved roads I like to ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/15/2019
by chrisvelo
Competitive Racer
Dallas, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A proven favorite with a great colour scheme!

Continental Grand Prix 4-Season tires have always been my faves. So when I saw the special edition black on sale, I knew I had to get them. They look really sharp on my Fulcrum Red Wind 80mm wheels. The all black is really appealing. Performance-wise, you can't beat the Conti's Grand Prix. Great traction, good thread count, tough, puncture-resistant casing and smooth riding. Especially at BTD.com, where the prices are always tough to beat, this purchase was a no brainer!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/1/2021
by harrisam
Cycling Enthusiast
32168
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
So far a couple of hundred miles on these tires, no flats and the sprue tags haven't even worn off.

I have been using Continentals for a long time without any serious issues. The quality control seems to have improved. They go on easier and seem to seat better. It's too early to tell about the durability, but so far it is starting to look better as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/10/2021
by SATXcyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
San Antonio, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent road tire

I log 6000 miles per year on several bikes and only use Continental tires. The GP 4 season is one of my favorites. My county does a poor job of accommodating cyclists so that riding is on county roads and shoulders that are filled with debris. The GP 4 does an excellent job of soaking up the rough pavements with minimal punctures.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/8/2019
by Flying On Iron Horses
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, Mo.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The best all-around clincher tires available

The Continental GP 4 Seasons tire is an awesome all around clincher tire. I am currently using these on all of my machines, 700x25c and 700x32c. They have great protection and stick really well in the dry heat and cold and wet road conditions. I have been using these tires for over five years and get great mileage out of them, especially if you rotate your tires from front to back every 1,000 miles. They were designed for the Paris-Roubaix race. I have no complaints at all toward these fantastic tires. I had put 4,000 miles on a set of these one time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/28/2019
by summerd
Cycling Enthusiast
Chattanooga area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Longest lasting Continental race tire in my experience

I've ridden several tire brands for the last 26 years - Continental has always been durable but not necessarily long-lasting in my experience (in the competitive-race category tires).

It was a pleasant surprise to realize I rode almost 3000 miles on this rear tire (granted, it was off-season), 2000-2500 is more the norm for my usual go-to brand. So if there's something new with the Grand Prix 4 to make it tougher than before, then I can vouch it's true!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/15/2019
by Bikelampbuilder
Cycling Enthusiast
Montoursville, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Robust road tire with awesome grip and dependable sidewall protection at super price!

Avid road rider with a passion for challenging hill climbs and curvy downhills. I needed a set of new tires for the upcoming season and wanted to stay with 28mm tires. I like how robust the Continental Grand Prix 4-Season tires are from previous experience. Tires inflate to 30mm on a 19mm internal width rims at 100 psi which fits my Diamondback Podium Vitesse Disk road frame and fork clearance perfectly. Good grip riding hard in corners both dry and wet. Wears well on multiple road surfaces as well as training on the rollers. The addition of the Special edition Black sidewalls is an added bonus!

Bike Tires Direct had the best deal on a set of these tires and provided fast delivery. Highly recommend this product and purchase through BIKETIRESDIRECT.COM! Looking forward to my next purchase with credit from this great buy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/18/2021
by smileyme
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, New York
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Happy with these tires.

These don't feel faster than GP5000's; however it last 3x as long. Solid tires for all seasons if you're in the North Coast. I never got any flats to the roads we have here in NYC. I'm happy with Continentals and will be using them forever.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/10/2022
by Debby Brown
Phoenix, AZ
Overall Rating
Continental 4 season tires

These tires are AWESOME!! I ride 500 miles a month and am on my second purchase. Rode for a year and only 1 flat. A must tire for women who ride solo a lot.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/14/2019
by oaklandmark
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
My go to road tire

First a confession - this review is for the non-black version of this tire as I have yet to use the black ones, but am reasonably certain the difference is cosmetic only.

I've tried many brands of tires, and many varieties within each brand, and for my use Conti's Grand Prix 4 Season is tops. They are a tiny bit less supple and grippy than many others, but more than make up for it in durability. They roll well, are nicely grippy, and really last. I have gone over 3000 miles on a pair, but find that by then, the rubber has squared off and does not have as strong a grip as I want, so I'm now running them about 2000 miles a pair, and that seems to be a good compromise. When I change them, they still look totally usable. That's always going to be an individual call.

As for durability, these tires will win out over the kinds of glass, rocks, thorns, etc that have flattened pretty much every single other road tire I have tried. On a recent ride, I goofed and rode over a large, sharp rock. No flat. When I got home, and inspected the damage, i could see that not only had I sliced open the riding surface, but had sliced clean through the fibre body of the tire as well! In spit of this catastrophic damage, it was still ridable, although I did replace the tire rather than risk it blowing on me.

Rides well on dry or wet pavement.

If you are patient and wait for the sale, you can also pick them up at about half price, which is frankly a steal.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/11/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Virginia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Fantastic tires

Faster than Gatorskins and tougher than GP4000 or GP5000. A great tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/24/2020
by David Brown
Stevenson Ranch, CA
Overall Rating
Great Winter Tire

No flats in 500 miles! I bought the 32mm width to fit under the fenders on my Rivendell Leo Roadini. I put them on in November and have been averaging 18 miles/day.

My impression is that they are smooth riding and have low rolling resistance. Traction is good on wet or dry. (No snow here.) Quite a good bargain at the price I paid. I am very satisfied.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/21/2020
by Bobarmilo
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Well constructed tire with confidence building bead and tread.

I was able to mount these 700x28 tires on my deep carbon rims, which I was unable to accomplish with other tires. They have low rolling resistance and excellent traction on all surfaces. So far, no punctures over a variety of road surfaces and conditions. I have confidence in these tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/23/2020
by Andrew R
Competitive Racer
Austin TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome tires

What can you say, they're Conti 4 Seasons. Ran the 28mm version of these tires for 1000s of miles without a flat (and ride though plenty of glass, wires and nasty bits).

They seem to provide similar protection to the Gatorskins but way more supple/lower weight.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/21/2020
by David
Cycling Enthusiast
Bethlehem, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice riding tire

Recently changed my selection of tires to the Continental Grand Prix 4-Season. Logged close to a 1000 miles, still rides well. Price for this tire is stiff, hoping to see price reduction soon.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 89

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]