Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Grand Prix 4-Season Special Edition Black

ContinentalGrand Prix 4-Season Special Edition Black (Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(107 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(98)
(9)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(92%)
(8%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 9/14/2020
by gfparsons
Cycling Enthusiast
Clark County, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good Flat Protection with Lower Rolling Resistance

Perfect rear tire on my new Cannondale Super Six for rough roads, chip seal, debris. Much lighter than my previous go-to, Gatorskins. Great bridge between training and racing tires. More expensive, but worth it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2020
by Carfreeguy
Cycling Enthusiast
No Virgina
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Reliable gravel and road tire

Used this in the rear (700x32) to complete the C&O Canal and the Great Allegheny Passage trails. Rock solid performance with no flats or issues. 334 miles of gravel, mud and asphalt.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/3/2020
by Keith
Cycling Enthusiast
Corvallis, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Continental makes great tires

I couldn't decide between these or Gatorskins, but I like the all-black look. I had to replace one destroyed by a piece of metal that would have taken out any tire short of a Schwalbe Marathon. The Marathons are like truck tires, so the Conti's are a much better compromise between toughness and performance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/4/2020
by Aaron
Farmington
Overall Rating
No issues

I've put several hundred miles on this tire already. No flats and great traction. Bike handles like a totally different bike in a good way! I'll be buying these for my road bike as long as they're available.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/24/2020
by James
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tire

Great tire at a good price from BTD!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/25/2020
by Scotty K
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Go To Tire Got Better

Continental 4 season is my go to tire for riding in the Fall through Spring when New England weather and road conditions can be iffy. This new version seems tougher than previous versions and the all black looks nice

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/24/2020
by Eric
CA
Overall Rating
It�s good for tough roads.

If you're used to fast 4000s or 5000.

You are not going to like it. It�s rolling resistant is not as good as gp 4000. But it�s tough on side wall cuts and grippy. Not the fastest tire for speed, it�s good for training set of tires or commute. So far so good as I have intended to use for.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2020
by Wally
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Illinois, SE Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
my favorite rear tire

My history for rear flats is appalling. This is my latest attempt at mitigation..

It has turned out quite well. 2100 miles w no rear flats. This is very good for me and includes removing a staple from the rear tread after one ride wo a problem.

On the downside I blew out a front at 500 miles w a sidewall cut.

Now riding w Michelin Power Protection on the front (always been good on the front) and Conti 4-Season on the rear and having very good results. I do 100 mile rides (3 last week) so tire reliability is a big deal for me.

It's not scientific, but I haven't ever had better results.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/19/2019
by Toby
Competitive Racer
Cincinnati, Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
18 of 21 customers found this review helpful.
Continental Tires have served me well racing and training for 35 years

These tires are great for training. They wear very well and handle in good and bad weather. I usually get 3 years out of a set of Continental tires. I average 12 thousand miles a year. I'm a light rider weighing between 128 and 130 lbs. The last set I went 3 years without a single flat. A lot of the roads in southwestern Ohio and Indiana are not the greatest either.

I highly recommend these tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/24/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Good all year

Great traction giving me good confidence in cornering and winding roads. Comfortable ride having it with a size of 700x25. Never did I feel concern with the grip on the road.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/24/2020
by AKRoad
Cycling Enthusiast
Anchorage, AK
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I may never use a different tire

I'm sure there's some luck involved, but since using these tires my flats have gone to ZERO last year, and so far this year (knocking on wood now).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/27/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
great tire, arrived as expected.

great everyday trainer tire. Probably better race tires, but this one definitely more durable especially on rough roads and chip n seal.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/6/2020
by Fred
Cycling Enthusiast
rocklin ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Extended mileage and resistant to flats

I have been road biking for many years, completing many centuries. I get more miles out of this tire than any other I have tried. I have less flats, too. The grip is good on wet pavement and cornering is excellent. Great traction. I use the 25's.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/7/2019
by Jay
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
great lighter long lasting trainingendurance tire

My main concern with tires is flats. I just don't want to deal with them. So for years I used Schwable Marathon Plus 32mm tires on my Salsa La Cruz. I use the bike for commuting into Portland (55 miles round trip) and for touring (a few tours each summer of about 300 miles each). I knew the Schwalbes were heavy but didn't care since I never got flats. That is, unless the 95 mile mark in the 2018 Oregon Gran Fondo. It turns out that the inside of the tire casing was defective and a little wire from the casing was poking into the inner tube. I suspect it wasn't an issue before because I typically ran the tires a bit low, but on the day of the Gran Fondo, I pumped them up to the max PSI. It was really a pain to fix (I had to use a worn piece of gravel to grind the frayed wire down and still ended up pumping the tire up to the minimum inflation to complete the ride). After that mess, I swore I'd switch to a folding tire.

I looked around for a folding tire with similar puncture resistance and came upon the Grand Prix 4-season. I have over 3,000 miles on them and have just reached the point where I need to replace the rear tire (trust be told I probably should have replaced it about 500 miles ago). The front will probably be good for another thousand miles or so. And so far, ZERO FLATS! As a side benefit, they are much lighter than the Schwalbes and it's very noticeable. The bike is much snappier from a standstill and much faster on the steeper (and longer) hills.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/18/2018
by COLObiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Broomfield, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
My Flats Stopped When I Got These!

When I got my new Trek Domane, it came with 32s which I just wasn't ready to go to. I had always run Continental GP 4000S IIs - 23s or 25s, and I saw they made 28s in that tire also, so I got those. I loved the softness of the wider tire and lower air pressure, but I got 4 flats within 200 miles. All goatheads. I lost confidence in the ability of those tires to fend off a couple teeny tiny goatheads, so I went with these 4 Seasons. So far, 300 more miles on the same roads, zero flats. They are a hair stiffer, but I'll take the stronger durability. The black edition was a little splurge but does look better with my partly black bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/3/2020
by FR
Daily Commuter
San Francisco, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
So far these are great

I have a set of these on my Lynskey Helix, on which I've been doing an 11-mile urban commute. I have a 28 on the back, 25 on the front. So far, these have been great. They're showing minimal wear, I've had zero flats, they seem to hold pressure pretty well. They feel fine to ride on - it's true what they say about wider tires giving a smoother ride and not adding to the overall effort. They were easy to put on. Feels like I have good feel, good control, tight in the turns. Two thumbs up.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/25/2020
by JeffD0
Cycling Enthusiast
Mississippi
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire with fair rolling resistance and very good puncture resistance

I've used Continental 4 Seasons for several years on my road bike (Lynskey R360). I have rarely had a flat. Are they the lowest rolling resistance tires out there, no they are not but they are stable and will take a lot of abuse. I like the black edition because it looks good on my titanium frame.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great price great tire

If you like the gator skin youll love these. And they are great looking!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2020
by Silver Ghost
Cycling Enthusiast
The Villages, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent tire for tandeems.

Continental has always made great tires for tandems. The only problem I noted in the past has been with the brown colored side walls on some tire. It seems that UV light would break down the sidewall fibers causing them to break prematurely. These Continental Grand Prix 4-Season Special Edition Black has eliminated this problem by covering the side walls with a black rubber coating. I also find that when using the 28 and 32mm tires on regular width rims allows for a round tread profile. This offers good straight line and cornering stability.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/27/2020
by Auren
napa, CA
Overall Rating
Great all around tire

I bought these on sale and put both on my road bike. In almost 5,000 miles I only got 2 or 3 flats Before the rear needed replacing. The front lasted a bit longer, but soon needed replacing, too. Definitely great flat protection and long wear-especially for the sale price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 67