Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Grand Prix 4-Season Special Edition Black

ContinentalGrand Prix 4-Season Special Edition Black (Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(121 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(110)
(10)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(91%)
(8%)
(1%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 11/26/2020
by Andrew R
Austin, TX
Overall Rating
Best Tire for Me

Already reviewed the 28mm. These are excellent, durable tires without the rock hard feel of Gatorskins. I rode 1000s miles over 18 months without a single puncture on very messy urban roads where multiple punctures per ride are the norm, as well as a lot of time on the turbo trainer. Rear tire finally retired due to a small sidewall gash that I booted to get home. Could've kept using it but decided to upgrade to 32mm.

32mm just give a bit more comfort with lower pressure.

All black version is slightly darker sidewall then the regular ones that have an almost imperceptible burgundy tint.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/21/2020
by Bobarmilo
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Well constructed tire with confidence building bead and tread.

I was able to mount these 700x28 tires on my deep carbon rims, which I was unable to accomplish with other tires. They have low rolling resistance and excellent traction on all surfaces. So far, no punctures over a variety of road surfaces and conditions. I have confidence in these tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2020
by Jeronimo
New Mexico
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tandem tire!

Co motion Tandem carries around 350 pounds including bike weight. Replaced original conti gatorskins which flatted twice while new. Then self de-rimmed at slow speed. New 4-Seasons, both wheels trouble free. No flats since mounting. Handles well and a confident grip on scary heavy tandem decending. New Mexico varies hot to below freezing roads. Performs on tandem as expected. Worth it!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/20/2020
by TIM
South Florida
Overall Rating
Great tires

Great value for the money. Tires provide grest traction and feel

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/23/2020
Cycling Enthusiast
Rocklin CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent in many ways

After trying many other tires I finally discovered the best of 'em all. This is a durable, long lasting tire. I get thousands of miles out of these tires and very few flats. It fits the rims nicely, so it is less effort when taking them off and putting them back on. Great cornering and tracking, even on wet pavement. I ride 25's and the drag is not noticeable if there is one. My air pressure is 100 psi. My opinion is this is the best tire out there.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/23/2020
by Andrew R
Competitive Racer
Austin TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome tires

What can you say, they're Conti 4 Seasons. Ran the 28mm version of these tires for 1000s of miles without a flat (and ride though plenty of glass, wires and nasty bits).

They seem to provide similar protection to the Gatorskins but way more supple/lower weight.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2020
by Carfreeguy
Cycling Enthusiast
No Virgina
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Reliable gravel and road tire

Used this in the rear (700x32) to complete the C&O Canal and the Great Allegheny Passage trails. Rock solid performance with no flats or issues. 334 miles of gravel, mud and asphalt.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/1/2020
by Bikerchick
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida/Pennsylvania
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Tires

I have had these tires since August 2020. I ride over 150 miles a week. So far I have had no issues(no flats or anything else).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/19/2019
by Toby
Competitive Racer
Cincinnati, Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
18 of 22 customers found this review helpful.
Continental Tires have served me well racing and training for 35 years

These tires are great for training. They wear very well and handle in good and bad weather. I usually get 3 years out of a set of Continental tires. I average 12 thousand miles a year. I'm a light rider weighing between 128 and 130 lbs. The last set I went 3 years without a single flat. A lot of the roads in southwestern Ohio and Indiana are not the greatest either.

I highly recommend these tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/7/2019
by Jay
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
great lighter long lasting trainingendurance tire

My main concern with tires is flats. I just don't want to deal with them. So for years I used Schwable Marathon Plus 32mm tires on my Salsa La Cruz. I use the bike for commuting into Portland (55 miles round trip) and for touring (a few tours each summer of about 300 miles each). I knew the Schwalbes were heavy but didn't care since I never got flats. That is, unless the 95 mile mark in the 2018 Oregon Gran Fondo. It turns out that the inside of the tire casing was defective and a little wire from the casing was poking into the inner tube. I suspect it wasn't an issue before because I typically ran the tires a bit low, but on the day of the Gran Fondo, I pumped them up to the max PSI. It was really a pain to fix (I had to use a worn piece of gravel to grind the frayed wire down and still ended up pumping the tire up to the minimum inflation to complete the ride). After that mess, I swore I'd switch to a folding tire.

I looked around for a folding tire with similar puncture resistance and came upon the Grand Prix 4-season. I have over 3,000 miles on them and have just reached the point where I need to replace the rear tire (trust be told I probably should have replaced it about 500 miles ago). The front will probably be good for another thousand miles or so. And so far, ZERO FLATS! As a side benefit, they are much lighter than the Schwalbes and it's very noticeable. The bike is much snappier from a standstill and much faster on the steeper (and longer) hills.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2020
by Wally
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Illinois, SE Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
my favorite rear tire

My history for rear flats is appalling. This is my latest attempt at mitigation..

It has turned out quite well. 2100 miles w no rear flats. This is very good for me and includes removing a staple from the rear tread after one ride wo a problem.

On the downside I blew out a front at 500 miles w a sidewall cut.

Now riding w Michelin Power Protection on the front (always been good on the front) and Conti 4-Season on the rear and having very good results. I do 100 mile rides (3 last week) so tire reliability is a big deal for me.

It's not scientific, but I haven't ever had better results.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/21/2020
by David
Cycling Enthusiast
Bethlehem, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice riding tire

Recently changed my selection of tires to the Continental Grand Prix 4-Season. Logged close to a 1000 miles, still rides well. Price for this tire is stiff, hoping to see price reduction soon.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/18/2018
by COLObiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Broomfield, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
My Flats Stopped When I Got These!

When I got my new Trek Domane, it came with 32s which I just wasn't ready to go to. I had always run Continental GP 4000S IIs - 23s or 25s, and I saw they made 28s in that tire also, so I got those. I loved the softness of the wider tire and lower air pressure, but I got 4 flats within 200 miles. All goatheads. I lost confidence in the ability of those tires to fend off a couple teeny tiny goatheads, so I went with these 4 Seasons. So far, 300 more miles on the same roads, zero flats. They are a hair stiffer, but I'll take the stronger durability. The black edition was a little splurge but does look better with my partly black bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/6/2020
by Fred
Cycling Enthusiast
rocklin ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Extended mileage and resistant to flats

I have been road biking for many years, completing many centuries. I get more miles out of this tire than any other I have tried. I have less flats, too. The grip is good on wet pavement and cornering is excellent. Great traction. I use the 25's.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/14/2020
by gfparsons
Cycling Enthusiast
Clark County, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good Flat Protection with Lower Rolling Resistance

Perfect rear tire on my new Cannondale Super Six for rough roads, chip seal, debris. Much lighter than my previous go-to, Gatorskins. Great bridge between training and racing tires. More expensive, but worth it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/17/2020
by Anonymous
camas
Overall Rating
Conti Grand Prix 4-season

Love these tires. My go to as I feel safe in any riding condition. They grip the road well and stick well when cornering. I usually wait until they go on sale but well worth the price if you have to buy at regular selling price. I used to ride Gator Skins (which are great all purpose tires) but now I only ride the 4-seasons.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/3/2020
by Keith
Cycling Enthusiast
Corvallis, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Continental makes great tires

I couldn't decide between these or Gatorskins, but I like the all-black look. I had to replace one destroyed by a piece of metal that would have taken out any tire short of a Schwalbe Marathon. The Marathons are like truck tires, so the Conti's are a much better compromise between toughness and performance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/4/2020
by Aaron
Farmington
Overall Rating
No issues

I've put several hundred miles on this tire already. No flats and great traction. Bike handles like a totally different bike in a good way! I'll be buying these for my road bike as long as they're available.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/25/2020
by Scotty K
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Go To Tire Got Better

Continental 4 season is my go to tire for riding in the Fall through Spring when New England weather and road conditions can be iffy. This new version seems tougher than previous versions and the all black looks nice

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/24/2020
by James
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tire

Great tire at a good price from BTD!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 80