Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Grand Prix 4-Season Special Edition Black

ContinentalGrand Prix 4-Season Special Edition Black (Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(62 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(56)
(6)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(90%)
(10%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 6/26/2020
by Wally
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Illinois, SE Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
my favorite rear tire

My history for rear flats is appalling. This is my latest attempt at mitigation..

It has turned out quite well. 2100 miles w no rear flats. This is very good for me and includes removing a staple from the rear tread after one ride wo a problem.

On the downside I blew out a front at 500 miles w a sidewall cut.

Now riding w Michelin Power Protection on the front (always been good on the front) and Conti 4-Season on the rear and having very good results. I do 100 mile rides (3 last week) so tire reliability is a big deal for me.

It's not scientific, but I haven't ever had better results.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2020
by Silver Ghost
Cycling Enthusiast
The Villages, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent tire for tandeems.

Continental has always made great tires for tandems. The only problem I noted in the past has been with the brown colored side walls on some tire. It seems that UV light would break down the sidewall fibers causing them to break prematurely. These Continental Grand Prix 4-Season Special Edition Black has eliminated this problem by covering the side walls with a black rubber coating. I also find that when using the 28 and 32mm tires on regular width rims allows for a round tread profile. This offers good straight line and cornering stability.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/27/2020
by Auren
napa, CA
Overall Rating
Great all around tire

I bought these on sale and put both on my road bike. In almost 5,000 miles I only got 2 or 3 flats Before the rear needed replacing. The front lasted a bit longer, but soon needed replacing, too. Definitely great flat protection and long wear-especially for the sale price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/25/2020
by JeffD0
Cycling Enthusiast
Mississippi
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tire with fair rolling resistance and very good puncture resistance

I've used Continental 4 Seasons for several years on my road bike (Lynskey R360). I have rarely had a flat. Are they the lowest rolling resistance tires out there, no they are not but they are stable and will take a lot of abuse. I like the black edition because it looks good on my titanium frame.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great price great tire

If you like the gator skin youll love these. And they are great looking!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/6/2020
by Fred
Cycling Enthusiast
rocklin ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Extended mileage and resistant to flats

I have been road biking for many years, completing many centuries. I get more miles out of this tire than any other I have tried. I have less flats, too. The grip is good on wet pavement and cornering is excellent. Great traction. I use the 25's.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/25/2020
by speedsport
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
You will not regret this tire with it's excellent grip and stopping power.

I ride the roads and bike paths but I like the confidence this tire gives you to even ride off the pavement if you have to.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/25/2020
by speedsport
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
You will not regret this tire with it's excellent grip and stopping power.

I ride the roads and bike paths but I like the confidence this tire gives you to even ride off the pavement if you have to.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2020
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Seattle, Washington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best bike tires I have ever owned.

Light weight and extremely durable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/19/2019
by Toby
Competitive Racer
Cincinnati, Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
18 of 21 customers found this review helpful.
Continental Tires have served me well racing and training for 35 years

These tires are great for training. They wear very well and handle in good and bad weather. I usually get 3 years out of a set of Continental tires. I average 12 thousand miles a year. I'm a light rider weighing between 128 and 130 lbs. The last set I went 3 years without a single flat. A lot of the roads in southwestern Ohio and Indiana are not the greatest either.

I highly recommend these tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/3/2020
by FR
Daily Commuter
San Francisco, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
So far these are great

I have a set of these on my Lynskey Helix, on which I've been doing an 11-mile urban commute. I have a 28 on the back, 25 on the front. So far, these have been great. They're showing minimal wear, I've had zero flats, they seem to hold pressure pretty well. They feel fine to ride on - it's true what they say about wider tires giving a smoother ride and not adding to the overall effort. They were easy to put on. Feels like I have good feel, good control, tight in the turns. Two thumbs up.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/18/2018
by COLObiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Broomfield, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
My Flats Stopped When I Got These!

When I got my new Trek Domane, it came with 32s which I just wasn't ready to go to. I had always run Continental GP 4000S IIs - 23s or 25s, and I saw they made 28s in that tire also, so I got those. I loved the softness of the wider tire and lower air pressure, but I got 4 flats within 200 miles. All goatheads. I lost confidence in the ability of those tires to fend off a couple teeny tiny goatheads, so I went with these 4 Seasons. So far, 300 more miles on the same roads, zero flats. They are a hair stiffer, but I'll take the stronger durability. The black edition was a little splurge but does look better with my partly black bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/26/2020
by Jeff
Florida Vetmont
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Seriously long lasting tires

Puncture proof and long lasting! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/17/2019
by Mark A
Cycling Enthusiast
Princeton, NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Compromise between ride and durability

These tires deliver the best compromise between ride quality, grip, and durability. They don't excel at any one of those aspects and that's likely the objective. Heightening one seems to take away from the other. These are good for everyday commuting or training but they definitely don't roll and ride as well as others targeted for speed or ride quality. For the money, they can't be beat. They'll survive a century ride over rural roads and last a long time. I just wish these delivered a better ride but that would mean the sidewall losing strength and puncture protection being compromised. I am going to try the 5000s and compare. Given I just used the Vittoria Corsas (zero durability but buttery smooth), that's likely the next tire I'll try to get a better ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/20/2020
by lhiday
Competitive Racer
Southwets Washington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
great quality continues

these four-season tires are great for winter riding and last longer than I expected. I also use them on the trainer and compared to the wear on other tires, these last significantly longer. I don't like the cost of Continentals in general, but Bike Tires Direct helps make them affordable for the average Joe Cyclist. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/17/2020
by DonWA
Cycling Enthusiast
Palatine, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Good Tire

These tires will obviously not be as light as the GP4000's or GP5000's that I put on my road bikes but on my commuter bike they are perfect. They provide a really nice ride. If you get caught in wet weather they channel water away from the bike very effectively. A really solid tire. Get them on sale and they would be hard to beat.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/17/2020
by Silver Fox
Cycling Enthusiast
The Villages, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tandem tire.

The 32 or 28 size is the tires to use on a tandem bicycle. The ride is good and wet traction...with a reduction in tire pressure...instills confidence. Especially like the black side wall. Punctures are a thing of the past.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/28/2019
by summerd
Cycling Enthusiast
Chattanooga area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Longest lasting Continental race tire in my experience

I've ridden several tire brands for the last 26 years - Continental has always been durable but not necessarily long-lasting in my experience (in the competitive-race category tires).

It was a pleasant surprise to realize I rode almost 3000 miles on this rear tire (granted, it was off-season), 2000-2500 is more the norm for my usual go-to brand. So if there's something new with the Grand Prix 4 to make it tougher than before, then I can vouch it's true!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/14/2019
by DonWA
Cycling Enthusiast
Palatine, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Repeat Buyer

These are a nice riding, durable tire. I have them on 3 of my bikes now. Get them on sale and they become an outstanding value.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2019
by P�l m�ller
sf bay area
Overall Rating
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Amazing!

Recently installed these and with over 100 miles I am extremely willing to say that these roll smooth,they are light, I can run high psi and quiet to boot! If looking for a tyre I highly recommend these.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 26