FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Continental Grand Prix 4-Season Special Edition Black

ContinentalGrand Prix 4-Season Special Edition Black (Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(30 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(27)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(90%)
(10%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 4/9/2019
by Military D
Japan
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tires!

These tires are worth the money! They have a great feel (FAST) low rolling friction and look great. I use them on my steel frame commuter bike (size 700x32) and absolutely love them! Highly recommended!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/19/2019
by Toby
Competitive Racer
Cincinnati, Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Continental Tires have served me well racing and training for 35 years

These tires are great for training. They wear very well and handle in good and bad weather. I usually get 3 years out of a set of Continental tires. I average 12 thousand miles a year. I'm a light rider weighing between 128 and 130 lbs. The last set I went 3 years without a single flat. A lot of the roads in southwestern Ohio and Indiana are not the greatest either.

I highly recommend these tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/18/2018
by COLObiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Broomfield, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
My Flats Stopped When I Got These!

When I got my new Trek Domane, it came with 32s which I just wasn't ready to go to. I had always run Continental GP 4000S IIs - 23s or 25s, and I saw they made 28s in that tire also, so I got those. I loved the softness of the wider tire and lower air pressure, but I got 4 flats within 200 miles. All goatheads. I lost confidence in the ability of those tires to fend off a couple teeny tiny goatheads, so I went with these 4 Seasons. So far, 300 more miles on the same roads, zero flats. They are a hair stiffer, but I'll take the stronger durability. The black edition was a little splurge but does look better with my partly black bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/28/2019
by summerd
Cycling Enthusiast
Chattanooga area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Longest lasting Continental race tire in my experience

I've ridden several tire brands for the last 26 years - Continental has always been durable but not necessarily long-lasting in my experience (in the competitive-race category tires).

It was a pleasant surprise to realize I rode almost 3000 miles on this rear tire (granted, it was off-season), 2000-2500 is more the norm for my usual go-to brand. So if there's something new with the Grand Prix 4 to make it tougher than before, then I can vouch it's true!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/14/2019
by GaryF
Cycling Enthusiast
CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Same as regular Grand Prix 4-Season only black

Love these tires and the regular Grand Prix 4-Season. The last upwards of 2500 miles or more. They don't puncture often, are grippy in both dry and wet, and are reasonable comfortable. These tires are my all year tires, the only exception being when I'll use the GP 4000s during the summer months. The 25mm tires (which I love and now use only) are not overly wide, while a set of 28mm tires I purchased left little to no room in the rear brake caliper, sometimes rubbing the rear caliper or getting small pebbles jammed in there while riding. So, depending on the size you choose and your clearance, you'll need to make sure you have enough room.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/11/2019
by VIADOOOOM
Seattle, WA
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Toughness and grip

Came off a set of Veloflex Masters, and the difference is just as you'd expect between Italy and Germany. Italy passionate or whatever aka cool but flawed, lighter, faster, more delicate. Germany tough, thorough, engineered precision.

Great tires for the PNW. Not the fastest but so grippy and inspiring in slimy to wet conditions. Seem super tough so far also. I was gentler on the Veloflexes, pinch flats and all that, not so on the Contis. Full speed ahead on whatever comes, bunnyhop the urban campers. We have a lot of random shit and broken glass on our streets.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/11/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Island
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
These are strong and fast tires!

I put these on my off season bike for when the roads are not in the best condition and I found them to be pleasant to ride and sense of speed and responsiveness that is not in the usual 'winter' tire...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/1/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Montpelier, VT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent all round tire

I bought these tire for general use. Some pavement. Some well maintained gravel trails. After 1500 miles they are still in excellent condition and have handled all the riding and weather conditions without flinching.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/25/2018
by Luigui
Overall Rating
1 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Excelent continental tire

Grate tire frim continantal

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/11/2018
by N V
Miami Fl
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire

Durable and rides comfortably. Rains a little in the summer here in Miami and this tire has very good traction in the wet plus great flat protection

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/14/2018
by Luigui
Overall Rating
2 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Like on black

Like it on black

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/22/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Replacements of great tire

I use these tires for everyday biking on the road this will be my 2nd set. I switched to Continental from Michelin and have not looked back. I like the durability more than once I have come across glass in road and had no problems

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/24/2018
by Anonymous
San Diego
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Nice tire

Have put in several hundred miles on these tires and no cuts and no other issues.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/21/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Replacements of great tire

I use these tires for everyday biking on the road this will be my 2nd set. I switched to Continental from Michelin and have not looked back. I like the durability more than once I have come across glass in road and had no problems

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/12/2019
by John
Portland
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires

Great tires for all season riding. These tires have great road feel and fend off flats even when riding through the gravel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/11/2019
by Bikes 4 Pizza
Competitive Racer
Portland
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great shoulder season tires

This is my second pair of these Grand Prix tires. They roll fast, come in several sizes and have fantastic flat protection. They are great for Spring and Fall conditions when the roads might be rather nasty. You might want to swap for something a bit lighter in the Summer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/7/2019
by Tal
Cycling Enthusiast
NorCal
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A great tire at a great price!

I cant think of anything to add to all thats been said about this tire. Its been my go-to for years.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/11/2018
by Doug L.
Cycling Enthusiast
Knoxville ,TN
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
The commuter standard or close to it.

I ride gravel trails with the grand kids and occasionally commute on debris laden deteriorating city streets with inattentive drivers. Good side wall protection is a must and thus have avoided many opportunities for punctures. Adjust the air pressure to the terrain 40 - 55 lbs. and ride with confidence. I have not made a direct comparison with comparable Compass tires but I think they are close in speed and comfort - on sale well worth the price. Had been using 32 mm Gatorskins and these are better for all weather traction, comfort and speed. The black edition actually improves the appearance of my beater VO campeur. To sum up, A tire that does its job very well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/21/2019
by PDXKing
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The tougher version of the best all around road clincher available.

I've used 28mm GP 4-Seasons tires for years - for winter training, commuting, touring, gravel, and on a tandem. I think of them as a tougher version of the 4000S. Great grip, durability, and puncture resistance. The black side walls on the Black Edition make 'em look a bit cooler than the old gum-wall version, too!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/18/2019
by Bill G
Cycling Enthusiast
Mass
Overall Rating
Great tire

These are awesome. No flats on my last pair that Im still using.. they also look nice..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.