Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Grand Prix 4-Season Black Edition Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 4-Season Black Edition Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(168 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(151)
(12)
(2)
(0)
(3)
(90%)
(7%)
(1%)
(0%)
(2%)
Reviewed 11/10/2022
by MidwestBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Live in Midwest. Best year round tire.

Use these year round on both my bikes. Swapped out my cotton tires for these to reduce flats in the summer too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/3/2022
by  CycleRef
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great alternative to Gatorskin with better performance

I love the black edition (although it is very difficult to read / find the suggested pressure on the sidewall). I regularly got punctures on other types of tires here in the Portland metro area. I didn't want Gatorskins because of the riding characteristics but these are a great compromise. Very few punctures (I say "few" because we occasionally have to ride through construction areas that seem to get us every now and then so I can't fault the tire in that case). But these roll very well for the amount of protection the provide. There are faster tires with better grip, but this seems to be a great choice for protection and function.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/19/2019
by Toby
Competitive Racer
Cincinnati, Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
19 of 24 customers found this review helpful.
Continental Tires have served me well racing and training for 35 years

These tires are great for training. They wear very well and handle in good and bad weather. I usually get 3 years out of a set of Continental tires. I average 12 thousand miles a year. I'm a light rider weighing between 128 and 130 lbs. The last set I went 3 years without a single flat. A lot of the roads in southwestern Ohio and Indiana are not the greatest either.

I highly recommend these tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/25/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best for zero flats!

If you like to spend more time riding and less time repairing flats out on the road this tire is for you. What you give up in rolling resistance (this tire is slower than the 5000) and grip, you gain in puncture protection. Been using GP 4 Seasons for several years after being sick of flats on the 4000S series. Zero flats, zero. One downside is they are tough to mount, but I think most all conti's are.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/7/2019
by Jay
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
great lighter long lasting trainingendurance tire

My main concern with tires is flats. I just don't want to deal with them. So for years I used Schwable Marathon Plus 32mm tires on my Salsa La Cruz. I use the bike for commuting into Portland (55 miles round trip) and for touring (a few tours each summer of about 300 miles each). I knew the Schwalbes were heavy but didn't care since I never got flats. That is, unless the 95 mile mark in the 2018 Oregon Gran Fondo. It turns out that the inside of the tire casing was defective and a little wire from the casing was poking into the inner tube. I suspect it wasn't an issue before because I typically ran the tires a bit low, but on the day of the Gran Fondo, I pumped them up to the max PSI. It was really a pain to fix (I had to use a worn piece of gravel to grind the frayed wire down and still ended up pumping the tire up to the minimum inflation to complete the ride). After that mess, I swore I'd switch to a folding tire.

I looked around for a folding tire with similar puncture resistance and came upon the Grand Prix 4-season. I have over 3,000 miles on them and have just reached the point where I need to replace the rear tire (trust be told I probably should have replaced it about 500 miles ago). The front will probably be good for another thousand miles or so. And so far, ZERO FLATS! As a side benefit, they are much lighter than the Schwalbes and it's very noticeable. The bike is much snappier from a standstill and much faster on the steeper (and longer) hills.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/23/2022
by Carl
Minneapolis
Overall Rating
Supple, Durable, & Fast

I love Continental tires, so I'm a bit biased, but these are fantastic tires! I put these on my Peugeot commuter about 2 months ago and I've only had one flat on these since then (it was a nail). These are much lighter & more supple-feeling than Gatorskins, which is great for longer rides. The all-black color scheme is a great look, too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/15/2022
by Dr Mono
Cycling Enthusiast
Minnesota
Value Rating
Overall Rating
My favorite road tires ever

I live in Minnesota and I need road tires that can handle extreme weather conditions (e.g. hot summers and VERY cold winters). I have tried everything and I always come back to the Conti 4-Season tires. They have Gatorskin-like durability, but are lighter and fast rolling. They are not as fast as the GP 5000, but they are absolutely the best tires for training - durable and great grip under all weather conditions. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/18/2018
by COLObiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Broomfield, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
My Flats Stopped When I Got These!

When I got my new Trek Domane, it came with 32s which I just wasn't ready to go to. I had always run Continental GP 4000S IIs - 23s or 25s, and I saw they made 28s in that tire also, so I got those. I loved the softness of the wider tire and lower air pressure, but I got 4 flats within 200 miles. All goatheads. I lost confidence in the ability of those tires to fend off a couple teeny tiny goatheads, so I went with these 4 Seasons. So far, 300 more miles on the same roads, zero flats. They are a hair stiffer, but I'll take the stronger durability. The black edition was a little splurge but does look better with my partly black bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/14/2021
by Glorenzen
Cycling Enthusiast
Nature Coast, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Some Things Are Worth The Price

I picked up an old Trek 2100 Composite with many custom components. It had an older version of this tire that made the handling very twitchy. This is a nice upgrade that smooths out the front end, with a nice ride & the stability & durability of a Kevlar tire on a lean profile. I am running a Black Edition Gatorskin on the back with higher rolling resistance ...when it wears out, this is my choice. To paraphrase a successful ad, "Everything rides on your tires".

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/9/2021
by Bill
East Bay Area
Overall Rating
Excellent Product and Service

I used to get a puncture flat once per month on average with Conti Grand Prix 5000. With these Conti Grand Prix 4-season tires I get far fewer flats, once or twice per year, riding 2,500 to 3,000 miles per year. Tire grip is excellent, though not quite as good as the G.P. 5000, but I can live with the small grip difference to avoid spending time fixing flats. Love the look of the Black Edition. Biketiresdirect.com provides excellent, fast service and great prices.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/12/2021
by Cannondale2019
Cycling Enthusiast
Fort Worth TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best tires on the planet!

If you are somebody that does long rides. You have to have these tires. I just ordered a second set as a back up the ones I bought about a month ago. These tires allow you to lean into that curb, roll through water and ride on gravel with out a worry in the world. They stick to the road perfect. Bike tires direct is the only place that I have found to have the 700/28. When I can I will be buying another set. I just don�t want to use any other tire after putting these on my bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/16/2021
by Jack
Boston
Overall Rating
0 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Huge frustration - 1 month/5 flats

I want to love these tires. Coming from Conti gatorskins (wirebeads), i trusted the Conti name and I love that these are lighter and much easier to install, and bonus points for looking slick. However, in month of use, I've had FIVE flats, 4 in front and 1 in back. Each one has been a pinch, totally blowing out the tube and leaving me stranded on the side of the road miles from home. I'm not new to changing tubes and I never had an issue like this before. Immensely immensely disappointed and frustrated with these tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/28/2022
by Ed
macungie
Overall Rating
Angry

Imagine my surprise when I opened the box only to find a USED Continental Grand Prix 4-season tire. Are you kidding me??? These tires are good, but they're not THAT good.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/26/2020
by JeromeG
Cycling Enthusiast
Westchester, N-Y
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Premium tyre for reasonable cyclists

Good balance between performance and life-time. Of course they are plenty of cheaper tyres but you pay for quality here. on the other hand, there are more expensive tyres too, but risk of getting a flat tyre or tiny incremental performance ( on the paper) does not justify premium cost for me. I ride every week, all seasons and thus tyre fits my need. Also, i was lucky to get the all-black edition, it looks awesome on my carbon wheels.

I will definitely repurchase in few months.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/26/2020
by Andrew R
Austin, TX
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best Tire for Me

Already reviewed the 28mm. These are excellent, durable tires without the rock hard feel of Gatorskins. I rode 1000s miles over 18 months without a single puncture on very messy urban roads where multiple punctures per ride are the norm, as well as a lot of time on the turbo trainer. Rear tire finally retired due to a small sidewall gash that I booted to get home. Could've kept using it but decided to upgrade to 32mm.

32mm just give a bit more comfort with lower pressure.

All black version is slightly darker sidewall then the regular ones that have an almost imperceptible burgundy tint.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/28/2020
by SHBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Upstate NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
My First Contis - Love em

I've been running these in 32mm on my trek domane 'gravel' for the last couple months and loving them. Was previously running Schwalbe G-one Allrounds 35mm (tubed), but I just wasn't riding that much real gravel, so wanted something more road-oriented and quicker but still comfortable.

I've put about 800mi on them since early October and have had no issues so far, and the tires show hardly any signs of wear (re wear, they seem to be much long-lasting than the g-ones - as a point of comparison, I wore though the rear tire tread in 1300mi on my old g-ones...). Also I'd say I'm about 0.5mph-1mph faster on avg. on these vs. the g-ones. Haven't yet tried the GP4000s or 5000s but I think those would be a bit quicker but less durable. Was hesitant at first to take these tires on dirt paths (towpaths, well maintained dirt roads) near me, but have since ridden them multiple times and felt sturdy and fast, more so than I was expecting. They also handle sections of pretty rough pavement near me well. Overall, a strong, grippy, and versatile tire, esp in 32mm (curious to try 28s in the future). And the black edition looks dope, in my opinion. Very happy with the contis so far, my first experience with the brand - would buy again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2020
by Jeronimo
New Mexico
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tandem tire!

Co motion Tandem carries around 350 pounds including bike weight. Replaced original conti gatorskins which flatted twice while new. Then self de-rimmed at slow speed. New 4-Seasons, both wheels trouble free. No flats since mounting. Handles well and a confident grip on scary heavy tandem decending. New Mexico varies hot to below freezing roads. Performs on tandem as expected. Worth it!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/23/2020
Cycling Enthusiast
Rocklin CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent in many ways

After trying many other tires I finally discovered the best of 'em all. This is a durable, long lasting tire. I get thousands of miles out of these tires and very few flats. It fits the rims nicely, so it is less effort when taking them off and putting them back on. Great cornering and tracking, even on wet pavement. I ride 25's and the drag is not noticeable if there is one. My air pressure is 100 psi. My opinion is this is the best tire out there.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2020
by Carfreeguy
Cycling Enthusiast
No Virgina
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Reliable gravel and road tire

Used this in the rear (700x32) to complete the C&O Canal and the Great Allegheny Passage trails. Rock solid performance with no flats or issues. 334 miles of gravel, mud and asphalt.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2020
by Wally
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Illinois, SE Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
my favorite rear tire

My history for rear flats is appalling. This is my latest attempt at mitigation..

It has turned out quite well. 2100 miles w no rear flats. This is very good for me and includes removing a staple from the rear tread after one ride wo a problem.

On the downside I blew out a front at 500 miles w a sidewall cut.

Now riding w Michelin Power Protection on the front (always been good on the front) and Conti 4-Season on the rear and having very good results. I do 100 mile rides (3 last week) so tire reliability is a big deal for me.

It's not scientific, but I haven't ever had better results.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 39

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]