Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Gatorskin Black Edition 700c Road Tire

ContinentalGatorskin Black Edition 700c Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(154 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(135)
(12)
(3)
(3)
(1)
(88%)
(8%)
(2%)
(2%)
(1%)
Reviewed 10/28/2022
by Biomanghs
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Longer tread life and fewer flats

I have tried SO many different tires over the years and keep coming back to Gatorskins because they last. So much longer than other tires and they are very flat resistant. If you are a weight weenie they probably aren�t for you because they are a little bit heavier but if if you like to mount�em and forget �em, these are awesome!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/4/2022
by Efitness1
Cycling Enthusiast
Spokane, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great product and great service!

Can't say enough good things about the Continental Gatorskin and the customer service at BikeTiresDirect! In regards to the product very durable and very fast tire. I ride about 60 miles per week on smooth and coarse aggregate pavement on a Trek fitness bike. I also encounter some potholes so I wanted a fast, durable tire and this tire fits the bill, very pleased! In regards to the customer service at BikeTiresDirect; outstanding! The day after I had purchased the tires online they went "on sale" and I was given a credit to the sale price, no questions asked. This was my first purchase from this vendor and it certainly won't be my last! "Kudos" to BikeTiresDirect!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/7/2022
by CCCH
Scottsdale AZ
Overall Rating
Outstanding tires

Outstanding tires� I have ridden Continental tires for over 25 years.

The Gatorskins are an excellent tire for serious training, high mileage, and puncture resistance.

A little more work to mount but worth the effort

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/8/2022
by Phil
New Jersey
Overall Rating
Excellent

Mounted these on a Bushnell tandem last month and rode 500km with 12000ft of climbing in Morocco. Tires handle beautifully especially on descents. Only 20 minutes of showers to test road grip but all went well

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/10/2022
by Joe Cazares
Arizona USA
Overall Rating
Continental gatorskins

Solid, dependable and great pricing. Have been using this type tires in all my bikes. Long lasting in Arizona heat.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/7/2022
by Joe Cazares
Arizona USA
Overall Rating
Continental gatorskins

Solid, dependable and great pricing. Have been using this type tires in all my bikes. Long lasting in Arizona heat.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/2/2022
by Matt P.
Cycling Enthusiast
Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
200 mile review

Great deal with a BTD sale price. I ride all over Michigan on these including on light gravel and find them well balanced. I have not ridden them in any rain in the first 200 miles so can't comment on their performance in that situation.

The black look is very appealing to my eye. So far I am observing very little wear. The tires I received have almost no runout installed on 20 mm internal width rims. Weight and quality are as expected.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/27/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Front Range Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice tires at a nice price. My wife and I both run these and they don't disappoint.

Great Product, great price on BikeTiresDirect. Can't beat it! Much lighter than Schwalbe which I also Love.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/21/2022
by Steve W
Cycling Enthusiast
Lakewood Ranch, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I can no longer trust these tires

After riding Gatorskins on my road bike exclusively for the past seven years, I have had three sidewall blowouts so far this year. The last, which was yesterday, after only 280 miles of use. In each example, I could not find a specific cause. Up until yesterday, I had loved these tires. So I�ll be switching to another brand because I�m tired of being stranded miles from home.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/2/2022
by Bob
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, or
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Tough, seem to be more precisely built than previous version

I've used Gatorskins for several years. Since our city (Portland, OR) no longer seems to care to maintain its bikepaths and bikelanes, I need a tougher tire than the Rubino Pros I used to rely on. Only drawback with Gatorskins was that when they were brand new, they often didn't seat in the rims at first, causing unexpected blowouts a few minutes after inflation. Sometimes it took several attempts to get them to seat properly. These new black edition tires -- for whatever reason -- did not have that problem. I've installed several, all perfectly on the first go. They are hard to mount/dismount, especially when new and/or cold, so unless you have hands of Hercules, pack a couple tire levers in your repair kit.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2022
by DCbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington DC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best puncture-resistant performance tire for commutes or training rides

If you're a road bike rider used to lightweight all-season or racing tires, these will have a numb road feel initially. But the added protection will give you peace of mind in the fall-winter-early spring commutes or training rides, and without adding excessive weight or rolling resistance. Traction on wet pavement is excellent and puncture resistance is impressive if not bulletproof. These tires cost more, but they're worth the extra cost if you do a lot of riding and need a tough, reliable tire that performs extremely well in all conditions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/3/2022
by sully v
Daily Commuter
Pacific Northwest
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Three months review in the PNW

Hi - been riding on the Continental Gatorskin Black tires for the last three months after a piece of metal destroyed my 6-month old Vittoria Rubino Pro back tire. I liked the Vittoria, but felt they didn't "roll" as well as other brands that I've used.

The Continental Gatorskin Black's are amazing. There seems to be less resistance than the Vittoria, I like the tread, and the traction is very good, since I've been using these tires in the cold mixed with snow rain soaked Pacific Northwest. Like all of the other "million" reviews, buy with confidence. And like always, Bike Tire Direct is my go to vendor...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/28/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Ashland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great winter tires...or year round

Thought these tires would be heavy and stiff but haven't found that to be the case. I love them. The ride is more supple than I thought and I find them comfortable to ride on...so much so that I think I'll be using them year round. So far no flats and I've gone through some really bad road debris. Fingers crossed that I don't get a flat because the one thing I don't like about them is that they are extremely difficult to get on and off the rim.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/21/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Best deal on the best tires

I do a lot of shopping around for everything I buy and these were rated the best tires for my fixed gear application. I found the best price at bike tires direct online. The black edition gatorskins look great on my bike thanks to them not having yellow lettering that I was absolutely not going to allow on my red and chrome bike. The tires are still going strong and would recommend them to anyone looking for a lighter weight ultra durable tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/27/2022
by John A
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
This tire hit the sweet spot between durability and ride quality

Mostly a road bike rider averaging 135 miles per week on the typical trash and glass strewn roads in the San Fernando Valley area of Los Angeles. My previous tire of choice was the Continental GP5000. If I lived outside of a big city I likely would have stayed with that tire. While the GP5000 had a slightly smoother ride and may have even been slightly faster (emphasis on slightly), I eventually became tired of getting flats. I would estimate that I easily get 60 to 70% fewer flats on the Gatorskins than on the GP5000. The evidence is anecdotal, but that's all got. I went with the black edition strictly based on appearance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/14/2022
by JoeS
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Resilient to glass, and an overall good tire

I got these for their resistance to blowouts. I read many reviews that rated them highly for that. I live and ride in Florida, so "cold" weather use is the low 40s. Thus far I've put 1,375 miles on these tires. The rear one is just showing signs of wear, but it looks only about 1/3 worn. So my estimate right now is 3,500-4,000 miles. Not bad.

These ride well and corner well in wet conditions. I've had no indication of slippage at all when the roads are wet. I do ride on some roads that have been sealed, and I've previously slid out on other tires when they were wet. These hold tight.

I've run over road glass, not on purpose, but the recycling truck near me dumps little piles of glass here and there and I've hit a few. The tires show no signs of being cut or punctured. Previous tires would have been flat on me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/7/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Mukilteo, Wa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Puncture prone sidewalls

I have had 2 Gatorskin road tires (25 x 700) get sidewall punctures recently. The primary tread has great wear resistance but wow are the sidewalls weak. They need to wrap the primary tread material around the tire a bit (1/4"- 3/8"?). Folks I ride with have had similar issues

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2022
by CaptainPico
Cycling Enthusiast
Pico Rivera, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
All black looks better on my Titanium bike

I have been using Gatorskin tires for several years now because they seem to hold up well against punctures, tears and flats. I don't particularly care for the Gold and Brown accents on the regular models. The black edition is the best of both worlds for me. The tire I prefer in the color I prefer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/11/2021
by elpastor71
Competitive Racer
laredo, texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
great tires!

I'm the type of rider that is very used to GP5000 (mounted on my campys wto 45)and after reading reviews about gatorskins tires I decided to click the button, this tires are tough!, I chose this tires for my winter/rough roads to prevent flats and they haven't disappointed me , I mounted them on a spare wheel set (bontrager aeolus 35)which was not difficult, they rolls good , they are not as fast as GP5000 but the intention is prevent flats and keep me training on winter.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/21/2022
by Ed
Florida
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Got Higher Mileage with Black Edition

I just installed a new set of Gatorskins today.

The set that wore out was the Gatorskin Black Edition. That was my first time using the Black Edition.

I got 7,784 miles out of the old set. This is significantly higher than the 6,500 to 6,900 miles that I get out of the standard Gatorskins.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 43

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]