Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Gatorskin Black Edition 700c Road Tire

ContinentalGatorskin Black Edition 700c Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(104 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(87)
(12)
(2)
(3)
(0)
(84%)
(12%)
(2%)
(3%)
(0%)
Reviewed 6/21/2021
by Huddy
SoCal
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires, fair price

I ride an average of 500 miles/month. The tires don't even seem to wear. Never had a flat yet. Since riding with these I have not purchased any other road tires. I have several bikes and use various sizes of 700c and all are excellent. I prefer the folding tires

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2021
by Velo Geezer
Cycling Enthusiast
NY Metro Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Black Edition: Gatorskin With a New Look

I've been using Gatorskins for years because they are durable and smooth rolling. The Black Edition rides just like the originals. Hopefully,these will continue the Gator reputation for durability. The only difference so far is the lack of a brown waffling pattern on the sidewalls. Don't miss that one bit. Reduced sale price made these a really good value.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/15/2021
by Tomboy
St. Louis
Overall Rating
Good tire

Excellent tire I've used them a great deal.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/13/2021
by lou
Cycling Enthusiast
Hilo, Hawaii
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great price, tough to mount

Ride in Hawaii over littered roads, either up or downhill with plenty glass, tire wire, pig guts and the occasional discarded virus mask. Mounting them (32s) on Swiss 470ds was nearly impossible (old man in 70s) but so far (400miles) no problem. They do, however, seem taller than wider so I've taken to riding them at lowest pressure. I more concerned with comfort than speed. Hope I never have to find out if, as one reviewer stated, they loosen up with time. As usual, great deal from BTD, and black is beautiful

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/6/2021
by KXGuy324
Cycling Enthusiast
Southwest Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
bought these after my wife's bike accumulated 500 miles of no issues. easy to install and so far so good

bought these after my wife's bike accumulated 500 miles of no issues. easy to install and so far so good

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/1/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Awesome

Less flat tires

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/28/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Gator skins

Awesome tire for any kind of riding with no flats! Easy to mount and @ Biketiresdirect you always get good deals!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/18/2021
by Dan K
Cycling Enthusiast
Ky
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Quality of product is great. Customer service is EVEN BETTER!!

This is my second set of Gatorskins. My first set lasted 10 years and I ride a lot. I have been a Bike Tires Direct customer for over 10 years. Always returned to BTD as they have great pricing, quick delivery and NO issues. I did recently run into a defective item and reached out to BTD. This (In my opinion) is where the rubber meets the road. Their Customer Service was OUTSTANDING!!!. They immediately responded and promptly sent a replacement. I will note that that the defective item was NOT the fault of BTD and could have happened with any company/product. The manner in which BTD handled this tells you that it puts its customers first. BTD is a pleasure to work with and I will continue to buy from them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/18/2021
by MrNaturalMaui
Cycling Enthusiast
Kihei, HI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent protection from flats

Gatorskins provide excellent protection against a large percentage of flat-causing debris on the road. No tire is perfect, but these really offer everything you could hope for. They may be slightly heavier than optimum, but really aren't that many grams heavier than GP4000s, which are a terrible tire, wear-wise.

I usually get about 2500-2800 mi on rear Gatorskin, and over 6000mi on front tire.

I'm 180# and majority of roads I ride are pretty smooth pavement.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/25/2021
by Roger the shrubber
Laurel, MD
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent tires

I have been using Continental Gatorskin tires for years and they have never let me down. Outstanding puncture resistance and excellent longevity. They really go the distance and then some.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/11/2021
by ddchile
Cycling Enthusiast
Santiago, Chile
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Never failed me yet!

I made the switch to Gatorskins after my first puncture with the tires that came with my TREK Domane. I have never had one issue or puncture with them over thousands of miles of riding. I don't race, I'm a self challenge riders who typically does 2 50 mile rides and 1 70 mile rider per week. I live in Chile and some of the roads I'm o are major-league chip seal with lots of stuff embedded in them and don't get me started on what is on the roadside. All this to say, I LOVE Gatorskins and BTD always has great deals.

-Longevity A+

-Durability A+

The only thing that I don't like about them, is after a little while strings of material from the tire start floating away from the tire. It concerned me at first until I read that Conti's do this. I snip them and keep going. It's just an annoying thing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/17/2021
by Dave V.
St. George, UT
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent!

I, for a short time, tried out Continental 5000. But here in southern Utah they were simply too fragile. I switched back to the Gartorskins and my puncture frequency dropped considerably.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/18/2020
by Benzie
Cycling Enthusiast
Grand Rapids
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great looking bike tires

I had purchased the Continental Gatorskin "Black Edition" 700c x 25 tires when they were offered for a sale price from Biketiresdirect. I figured at that price, buy them now for the future. I recently had a chance to sell my older Trek 2300 road bike (that I haven't been riding) to a friend, and I decided to mount the Black Edition tires on the Trek before I sold it for him. It really helped make the bike in like new condition! He was very pleased to see these quality tires on the bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/19/2020
by Jeff
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Tight when they're new but they loosen up quickly.

When I initially mounted the Black Edition Gators on some DT SWISS R460 rims, it was a little tough and required pretty good torque on my levers. After about a month of riding on them, I noticed the directional arrow on the side of the tire was wrong. So here was a good opportunity to correct it and see if the tires had stretched out a bit. Too my surprise, they had definitely loosened up. Now they are not only very easy to get off the rim with my wimpy levers, but I can get them back on with bare hands ! ( Just start putting the 2nd bead of the tire on the rim at 180' opposite of the valve stem and finish at the valve stem).

I have them on my rain bike and they handle very well on Portland's leaf-slop streets.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/27/2020
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
San Jose
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good product, better sidewalls that non-black orig

I've run original gatorskins for years as I do a combination of 40m commutes and long weekend rides. Biggest complaint with originals was sidewalls unraveling before tread wore out. Black edition seems to address that issue, at least has no visible mesh on sidewalls like original.

Beyond that, with about 1K miles, wear is great and ride is about the same (overall good). Seems the tread is less sticky, but just my visual impression - no issues with loss of traction.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/1/2021
by Anonymous
Bentonville
Overall Rating
Awesome

Tires came in fast and quality is good as ever!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/3/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Excellent trainer

Holds up extremely well on bad roads!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/3/2021
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Eastern Washington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Long lasting, nice riding tire.

We've used the Continental Gatorskins for many years. We are entirely satisfied with the value and performance of the Gatorskins and recommend them to our riding buddies.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/3/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
100%

Absolutely great feel and ride ! Highly recommend !

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/4/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Colo mountains
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Very Pleased

A little tough to get on but they roll great. Really pleased with them. My guess is if they're like the other gator skins I've had they'll be flat resistant.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 35

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]