Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
In Stock & Ready To Ship — XT/Ultegra RT-MT800 Disc Rotors
Continental Gatorskin Black Edition 700c Road Tire

ContinentalGatorskin Black Edition 700c Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(136 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(119)
(12)
(2)
(3)
(0)
(88%)
(9%)
(1%)
(2%)
(0%)
Reviewed 4/5/2022
by DCbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington DC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best puncture-resistant performance tire for commutes or training rides

If you're a road bike rider used to lightweight all-season or racing tires, these will have a numb road feel initially. But the added protection will give you peace of mind in the fall-winter-early spring commutes or training rides, and without adding excessive weight or rolling resistance. Traction on wet pavement is excellent and puncture resistance is impressive if not bulletproof. These tires cost more, but they're worth the extra cost if you do a lot of riding and need a tough, reliable tire that performs extremely well in all conditions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/3/2022
by sully v
Daily Commuter
Pacific Northwest
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Three months review in the PNW

Hi - been riding on the Continental Gatorskin Black tires for the last three months after a piece of metal destroyed my 6-month old Vittoria Rubino Pro back tire. I liked the Vittoria, but felt they didn't "roll" as well as other brands that I've used.

The Continental Gatorskin Black's are amazing. There seems to be less resistance than the Vittoria, I like the tread, and the traction is very good, since I've been using these tires in the cold mixed with snow rain soaked Pacific Northwest. Like all of the other "million" reviews, buy with confidence. And like always, Bike Tire Direct is my go to vendor...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/28/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Ashland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great winter tires...or year round

Thought these tires would be heavy and stiff but haven't found that to be the case. I love them. The ride is more supple than I thought and I find them comfortable to ride on...so much so that I think I'll be using them year round. So far no flats and I've gone through some really bad road debris. Fingers crossed that I don't get a flat because the one thing I don't like about them is that they are extremely difficult to get on and off the rim.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/21/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Best deal on the best tires

I do a lot of shopping around for everything I buy and these were rated the best tires for my fixed gear application. I found the best price at bike tires direct online. The black edition gatorskins look great on my bike thanks to them not having yellow lettering that I was absolutely not going to allow on my red and chrome bike. The tires are still going strong and would recommend them to anyone looking for a lighter weight ultra durable tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/27/2022
by John A
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
This tire hit the sweet spot between durability and ride quality

Mostly a road bike rider averaging 135 miles per week on the typical trash and glass strewn roads in the San Fernando Valley area of Los Angeles. My previous tire of choice was the Continental GP5000. If I lived outside of a big city I likely would have stayed with that tire. While the GP5000 had a slightly smoother ride and may have even been slightly faster (emphasis on slightly), I eventually became tired of getting flats. I would estimate that I easily get 60 to 70% fewer flats on the Gatorskins than on the GP5000. The evidence is anecdotal, but that's all got. I went with the black edition strictly based on appearance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/14/2022
by JoeS
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Resilient to glass, and an overall good tire

I got these for their resistance to blowouts. I read many reviews that rated them highly for that. I live and ride in Florida, so "cold" weather use is the low 40s. Thus far I've put 1,375 miles on these tires. The rear one is just showing signs of wear, but it looks only about 1/3 worn. So my estimate right now is 3,500-4,000 miles. Not bad.

These ride well and corner well in wet conditions. I've had no indication of slippage at all when the roads are wet. I do ride on some roads that have been sealed, and I've previously slid out on other tires when they were wet. These hold tight.

I've run over road glass, not on purpose, but the recycling truck near me dumps little piles of glass here and there and I've hit a few. The tires show no signs of being cut or punctured. Previous tires would have been flat on me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/14/2022
by Mark
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OREGON
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Tough as Heck

Got tired of punctures in my previous road tires, so figured I'd switch to these. Are they as light, zippy, and responsive? Well, no. But they're more than adequate for the sort of riding I do. And they're virtually bombproof. I no longer spend every ride wondering, in the back of my head, whether I'll have to stop and repair a flat.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/11/2021
by elpastor71
Competitive Racer
laredo, texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
great tires!

I'm the type of rider that is very used to GP5000 (mounted on my campys wto 45)and after reading reviews about gatorskins tires I decided to click the button, this tires are tough!, I chose this tires for my winter/rough roads to prevent flats and they haven't disappointed me , I mounted them on a spare wheel set (bontrager aeolus 35)which was not difficult, they rolls good , they are not as fast as GP5000 but the intention is prevent flats and keep me training on winter.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/8/2022
by Kevin
Lancaster
Overall Rating
Fast, Smooth & Reliable

Really just the best all around. Don't be fooled they ride as well as any more expensive tires just last longer, with fewer to No Flats. Made in Germany

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/8/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Gatorskins are the best

Changing the Gatorskins every 2000 miles and have not had a flat in almost 9700 miles

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/3/2022
by Tall Paul
SoCal
Overall Rating
Rides Long

I switched from the Michelin Race tire many years ago after a flat landed me on the road after the sidewalls collapsed in a turn - too thin & weak.

This tire has stood the test of time - it rarely flats, gives a smoother ride, grips well in turns and on wet roads.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/4/2022
by Douglas Boggie
Raleigh,NC
Overall Rating
Ride is smooth and they look great.

I have been riding Cont's for years and have been pleased with the durability {no flats}. I was concerned about the gator skins durability because of smooth tread. So far no problem and they are smoother, smoother equals faster?, feels like it anyway.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/4/2022
by Douglas Boggie
Raleigh,NC
Overall Rating
Ride is smooth and they look great.

I have been riding Contis for years and have been pleased with the durability {no flats}. I was concerned about the gator skins durability because of smooth tread. So far no problem and they are smoother, smoother equals faster?, feels like it anyway.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/14/2022
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Pacific NW
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
tough and dependable

Road riding in the PNW always comes with wet gritty tires. These hold up to the road conditions and I have only gotten a couple flats in the decade I've ridden with a set of these tires on my bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/13/2022
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Lincoln, alit
Value Rating
Overall Rating
My Favorite tire for the rides I do

I like this tire on the Rear of both my bikes, and my wife's bike. It almost never gets a flat, and lasts a long time.

I use a 5000 on the front. The Gatorskin Black is not quite as performance oriented as the 5000, but has extra side protection that the 5000 does not have. And from my experience, I get more miles from the Gatorskin than the 5000.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/14/2022
by paulp
Cycling Enthusiast
Pittsburgh
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Extremely Durable Tire

These tires ride very well and last forever. With over 5000 miles I will finally replace the tires even though there is probably a few more mile in them. With over 5000 miles on the set, I have had zero flats!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/13/2021
by lou
Cycling Enthusiast
Hilo, Hawaii
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great price, tough to mount

Ride in Hawaii over littered roads, either up or downhill with plenty glass, tire wire, pig guts and the occasional discarded virus mask. Mounting them (32s) on Swiss 470ds was nearly impossible (old man in 70s) but so far (400miles) no problem. They do, however, seem taller than wider so I've taken to riding them at lowest pressure. I more concerned with comfort than speed. Hope I never have to find out if, as one reviewer stated, they loosen up with time. As usual, great deal from BTD, and black is beautiful

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/30/2021
by RoseOfCimarron
Cycling Enthusiast
Lower Alabama
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Tough as a

I mostly ride on a flat paved trail that has some boardwalk sections, and not to mention some real gators. So the ride is not as smooth as riding on the road, nor is it a fast-paced course. I had the bike shop install the tires to save me that frustration of installing them myself, and then went for a ride. I was very pleased with the smoothness of the ride. I could feel it. These are some great tires and worth the price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/18/2021
by Dan K
Cycling Enthusiast
Ky
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Quality of product is great. Customer service is EVEN BETTER!!

This is my second set of Gatorskins. My first set lasted 10 years and I ride a lot. I have been a Bike Tires Direct customer for over 10 years. Always returned to BTD as they have great pricing, quick delivery and NO issues. I did recently run into a defective item and reached out to BTD. This (In my opinion) is where the rubber meets the road. Their Customer Service was OUTSTANDING!!!. They immediately responded and promptly sent a replacement. I will note that that the defective item was NOT the fault of BTD and could have happened with any company/product. The manner in which BTD handled this tells you that it puts its customers first. BTD is a pleasure to work with and I will continue to buy from them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/18/2021
by MrNaturalMaui
Cycling Enthusiast
Kihei, HI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent protection from flats

Gatorskins provide excellent protection against a large percentage of flat-causing debris on the road. No tire is perfect, but these really offer everything you could hope for. They may be slightly heavier than optimum, but really aren't that many grams heavier than GP4000s, which are a terrible tire, wear-wise.

I usually get about 2500-2800 mi on rear Gatorskin, and over 6000mi on front tire.

I'm 180# and majority of roads I ride are pretty smooth pavement.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 70

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]