Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Gatorskin Black Edition 700c Road Tire

ContinentalGatorskin Black Edition 700c Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(62 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(53)
(7)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(85%)
(11%)
(3%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 11/19/2020
by Jeff
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Tight when they're new but they loosen up quickly.

When I initially mounted the Black Edition Gators on some DT SWISS R460 rims, it was a little tough and required pretty good torque on my levers. After about a month of riding on them, I noticed the directional arrow on the side of the tire was wrong. So here was a good opportunity to correct it and see if the tires had stretched out a bit. Too my surprise, they had definitely loosened up. Now they are not only very easy to get off the rim with my wimpy levers, but I can get them back on with bare hands ! ( Just start putting the 2nd bead of the tire on the rim at 180' opposite of the valve stem and finish at the valve stem).

I have them on my rain bike and they handle very well on Portland's leaf-slop streets.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2020
by Bacflip65
Cycling Enthusiast
Roseville, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
These Gatorskin Road Tires are great

When I first got into riding a number of months ago, my friend forwarded me the BikeTiresDirect email regarding this offer. Although my current tires were perfectly fine, I decided the deal was too good to pass up. This week I had a blow out in my rear tire and subsequently changed out to my new Gatorskins previously purchased. I am glad I did. Great price back then and they were easy to install. First ride is today. I am looking forward to it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/27/2020
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
San Jose
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good product, better sidewalls that non-black orig

I've run original gatorskins for years as I do a combination of 40m commutes and long weekend rides. Biggest complaint with originals was sidewalls unraveling before tread wore out. Black edition seems to address that issue, at least has no visible mesh on sidewalls like original.

Beyond that, with about 1K miles, wear is great and ride is about the same (overall good). Seems the tread is less sticky, but just my visual impression - no issues with loss of traction.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/13/2020
by John Rios
Orlando , Florida
Overall Rating
Continental Gatorskin black Edition

I can say with out a Doubt the best all around tires made by Continental. At first I was worried about adding weight and running a slower tire on my bike but that is not a factor on these tires if you want reliability of not getting flats

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/12/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Excellent product - best tires

This product allows for great traction and ability to go over debris on the trail without getting a flat as with other tires. I highly recommend these tires to daily bikers especially during fall months/weather.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/27/2020
by Old timer Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Lincoln, Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
So Far So Good

For years I used Conti 4000 tires. The 5000 came out , so I tried it. At 2200 miles the rear tire was gone, thru the wear indicators and down to the casing. I always got 4 to 5000 miles with the 4000.

So I decided to give the Gatorskins a try. I am at 900 miles, good so far and no flats.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/10/2020
by Kielbasa
Cycling Enthusiast
Boulder, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
15 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
My go to winter tire

These are my go to winter tires for riding in Colorado. The local county here puts gravelsand down over the winters that will shred most other tires. But the Gatorskins stand up and I can normally get 2 winters out of a set, or about 2,500 miles. This year I've kept them on for the summer and have been taking them on gravel roads and dirt, without any puncture issues. I hope they keep making the black limited edition because they look so much better than the standard gator skins. I'm also 6'4 and 195 lbs so I'm on the heavier end of things.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/6/2020
by Roy Halberg
Southern California
Overall Rating
Love these tires

Gatorskins are my go to tires. I've tried others in the hope of saving money but keep coming back. Others always disappoint. I've often ridden my gators for months without any flats. You can't go wrong with these

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/7/2020
by Roy Halberg
Southern California
Overall Rating
Love these tires

Gatorskins are my go to tires. I've tried others in the hope of saving money but keep coming back. Others always disappoint. I've often ridden my gators for months without any flats. You cant go wrong with these

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/7/2020
by Roy Halberg
Southern California
Overall Rating
Love these tires

Gatorskins are my go to tires. I've tried others in the hope of saving money but keep coming back. Others always disappoint. I've often ridden my gators for months without any flats. You can' go wrong with these

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/2/2020
by John
NYS
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
The tires are good but not great

Bought several, lots of miles on them

Also bought several that went flat quickly;

One was a side wall

One was a puncture

Overall, I like them a lot

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/27/2020
by Peter
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great updated look on a consistently high performing tire!

I've relied on Gatorskins for years for commuting. I'm happy to see an updated sleeker-looking version as I prefer my bikes to be as minimal as possible and tend to not adhere to trends such as tan sidewalls, etc.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/29/2020
by Paul, EGRI
Cycling Enthusiast
East Greenwich RIb
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires that last all season.

I use these tires on my two road bikes. They get me through the season without having to change them. Durable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/13/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Holds up well

Tire seems well made, however 700x25 tires seem taller rather than wider than similar tires. I'm not sure how this affects performance if at all.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/14/2020
by Leslie K
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Virtually Flat Free - watch your mileage though...

I do a lot of solo riding long distance, and the most debilitating thing about any ride is a mechanical or a puncture. The Gatorskin Blacks are trusted and tested to deliver me to the end goal every time. I've been riding about 1600k a month lately, so I do keep an eye on the road mileage. When the front tire gets a flat, that's when I know it's time to change them out before I do another century. I buy them in advance, so I always have a back up pair or two on hand. Note: Yes - they are heavier than racing tires, but the time I lose in climbing speed, I make up for, by not having to stop for a puncture. So if you change terrain over the course of one ride: glass, gravel, poor road quality, sand, pine needles, city garbage, etc... and you hate to change out a flat (ladies?) This tire is for you. The regular yellow sidewall Gators are also as durable, but the blacks are prettier. ;)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/12/2020
by CJ3000
sacramento
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Love Them

I really like the new look of the black edition gatorskins and they also have good rolling resistant. They are pretty close in comparison to GP5000 on speed as well, and got them for a good price too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/4/2020
by ccv90
Cycling Enthusiast
S.FL and N.GA mts.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great solid long lasting tire

I replaced some 30mm tires with a set of 28mm for the 6Gap ride. I�ve been using the Gatorskins for years and love their longevity. I ride 25mm on my carbon bike but wanted a bit more comfort for the aluminum bike I used for the mtn. century. Can't really say anything bad about them. I do like the Black sidewall look of this edition. They carry a conventional rubber sidewall in place of the weaved sidewall the Continentals traditionally use and appear a bit more robust to sidewall cuts.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2020
by Paul B.
Eugene
Overall Rating
The Continental Gatorskin Black Edition 700c Road Tire

Great price. A great combination of relatively light weight and durability. I'm going to use these as my winter tires on my rain bike. No flats for 3 months of use on both my bikes. Continentals are great tires!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/8/2020
by Buck49
Cycling Enthusiast
St George Utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I like the tires.

I ride my road bike about 100 miles a week. This is the time of year that a lot of flat tires occur because of stickers on the road. Thankfully I have been able to hold up from getting a flat. Good job Bike Tires Direct.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/29/2020
by George
New York
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The Bomb ??

This is the only brand that I buy. Never let's me down. This is maybe my fourth pair. Yeah.. I ride a lot.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 24