Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Gatorskin Black Edition 700c Road Tire

ContinentalGatorskin Black Edition 700c Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(137 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(120)
(12)
(2)
(3)
(0)
(88%)
(9%)
(1%)
(2%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 1/11/2021
by ddchile
Cycling Enthusiast
Santiago, Chile
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Never failed me yet!

I made the switch to Gatorskins after my first puncture with the tires that came with my TREK Domane. I have never had one issue or puncture with them over thousands of miles of riding. I don't race, I'm a self challenge riders who typically does 2 50 mile rides and 1 70 mile rider per week. I live in Chile and some of the roads I'm o are major-league chip seal with lots of stuff embedded in them and don't get me started on what is on the roadside. All this to say, I LOVE Gatorskins and BTD always has great deals.

-Longevity A+

-Durability A+

The only thing that I don't like about them, is after a little while strings of material from the tire start floating away from the tire. It concerned me at first until I read that Conti's do this. I snip them and keep going. It's just an annoying thing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/30/2021
by RoseOfCimarron
Cycling Enthusiast
Lower Alabama
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Tough as a

I mostly ride on a flat paved trail that has some boardwalk sections, and not to mention some real gators. So the ride is not as smooth as riding on the road, nor is it a fast-paced course. I had the bike shop install the tires to save me that frustration of installing them myself, and then went for a ride. I was very pleased with the smoothness of the ride. I could feel it. These are some great tires and worth the price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/18/2020
by Benzie
Cycling Enthusiast
Grand Rapids
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great looking bike tires

I had purchased the Continental Gatorskin "Black Edition" 700c x 25 tires when they were offered for a sale price from Biketiresdirect. I figured at that price, buy them now for the future. I recently had a chance to sell my older Trek 2300 road bike (that I haven't been riding) to a friend, and I decided to mount the Black Edition tires on the Trek before I sold it for him. It really helped make the bike in like new condition! He was very pleased to see these quality tires on the bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/19/2020
by Jeff
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Tight when they're new but they loosen up quickly.

When I initially mounted the Black Edition Gators on some DT SWISS R460 rims, it was a little tough and required pretty good torque on my levers. After about a month of riding on them, I noticed the directional arrow on the side of the tire was wrong. So here was a good opportunity to correct it and see if the tires had stretched out a bit. Too my surprise, they had definitely loosened up. Now they are not only very easy to get off the rim with my wimpy levers, but I can get them back on with bare hands ! ( Just start putting the 2nd bead of the tire on the rim at 180' opposite of the valve stem and finish at the valve stem).

I have them on my rain bike and they handle very well on Portland's leaf-slop streets.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/4/2021
by Anonymous
Nature coast of Florida
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
No more flats

Used to buy the Conti 4000's which were really suitable for the paved trails I ride. But, I could count on a few flats EVERY month. Florida sand thorns. Switched to the Gatorskins and no more flats! Been through about 5 pairs of these and they really wear well. I do rotate them to get most miles. Very happy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/27/2020
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
San Jose
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Good product, better sidewalls that non-black orig

I've run original gatorskins for years as I do a combination of 40m commutes and long weekend rides. Biggest complaint with originals was sidewalls unraveling before tread wore out. Black edition seems to address that issue, at least has no visible mesh on sidewalls like original.

Beyond that, with about 1K miles, wear is great and ride is about the same (overall good). Seems the tread is less sticky, but just my visual impression - no issues with loss of traction.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2020
by Bacflip65
Cycling Enthusiast
Roseville, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
These Gatorskin Road Tires are great

When I first got into riding a number of months ago, my friend forwarded me the BikeTiresDirect email regarding this offer. Although my current tires were perfectly fine, I decided the deal was too good to pass up. This week I had a blow out in my rear tire and subsequently changed out to my new Gatorskins previously purchased. I am glad I did. Great price back then and they were easy to install. First ride is today. I am looking forward to it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/14/2020
by Leslie K
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Virtually Flat Free - watch your mileage though...

I do a lot of solo riding long distance, and the most debilitating thing about any ride is a mechanical or a puncture. The Gatorskin Blacks are trusted and tested to deliver me to the end goal every time. I've been riding about 1600k a month lately, so I do keep an eye on the road mileage. When the front tire gets a flat, that's when I know it's time to change them out before I do another century. I buy them in advance, so I always have a back up pair or two on hand. Note: Yes - they are heavier than racing tires, but the time I lose in climbing speed, I make up for, by not having to stop for a puncture. So if you change terrain over the course of one ride: glass, gravel, poor road quality, sand, pine needles, city garbage, etc... and you hate to change out a flat (ladies?) This tire is for you. The regular yellow sidewall Gators are also as durable, but the blacks are prettier. ;)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/10/2020
by Kielbasa
Cycling Enthusiast
Boulder, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
16 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
My go to winter tire

These are my go to winter tires for riding in Colorado. The local county here puts gravelsand down over the winters that will shred most other tires. But the Gatorskins stand up and I can normally get 2 winters out of a set, or about 2,500 miles. This year I've kept them on for the summer and have been taking them on gravel roads and dirt, without any puncture issues. I hope they keep making the black limited edition because they look so much better than the standard gator skins. I'm also 6'4 and 195 lbs so I'm on the heavier end of things.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2021
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Des Moines, Iowa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tires! So far - very pleased with the tires.

Only put a few hundred miles on the tires so far but I have been very happy with them. They provide a much better feel and grip than my previous tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/2/2021
Spanish Springs
Overall Rating
Long lasting and tough

Been buying Gatorskins for a while but the black edition looks great and give you lots of flat free miles.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/23/2021
by BigRingJoe
Cycling Enthusiast
Kunkletown, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A tire that makes you feel confident

The tires mounted without issue, I did a bare-handed install. So far so good, I've only put a few hundred miles on these tires in both wet and dry conditions. The tires ride smooth and seem to have good traction, while not picking up road debris. I'm very satisfied with them and I would recommend them

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/20/2021
by Paul
Eugene
Overall Rating
Continental Gatorskin Black Edition

Great puncture resistance. A quite light tire though really. Only weighed slightly more than the Continental 5000 tires I purchased. I will keep buying these, especially with the excellent sale prices that bike tires direct offers occasionally.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/2/2021
by Anonymous
woodbridge va
Overall Rating
Great tires, flats tires are a thing of the past

Great for local roads and bike trails, ride all season pretty much flat free. Awesome value

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/29/2021
Cycling Enthusiast
Land O Lakes, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Repeat Purchases

Both my wife and I have these tires on our road bikes - both of which are Trek cycles. Years ago (maybe ten) we started using Gatorskin tires after multiple flats using another brand of tire - which clearly was not as puncture resistant as the Gatorskins. They usually last use a couple years - I ride about 1,500 miles a year and my wife rides about 1,800 miles a year.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/10/2022
by Anonymous
Portland
Overall Rating
Conti Gatorskin 700c road tire

Always dependable. My go to tire for winter riding!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/21/2021
by Huddy
SoCal
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires, fair price

I ride an average of 500 miles/month. The tires don't even seem to wear. Never had a flat yet. Since riding with these I have not purchased any other road tires. I have several bikes and use various sizes of 700c and all are excellent. I prefer the folding tires

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2021
by Velo Geezer
Cycling Enthusiast
NY Metro Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Black Edition: Gatorskin With a New Look

I've been using Gatorskins for years because they are durable and smooth rolling. The Black Edition rides just like the originals. Hopefully,these will continue the Gator reputation for durability. The only difference so far is the lack of a brown waffling pattern on the sidewalls. Don't miss that one bit. Reduced sale price made these a really good value.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/28/2021
by Rob
arkansas
Overall Rating
0 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Maybe good but nearly impossible to mount

I had Gatorskins as my last tire and got 6000 plus miles I replaced the rear with one of these and it was so tight to get over the rim I went through 5 inner tubes over the last 3 weeks. My son had to pick me up 3 times. Something is wrong with the sizing on these.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/27/2021
by Rob
arkansas
Overall Rating
0 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Maybe good but nearly impossible to mount

I had Gatorskins as my last tire and got 6000 plus miles I replaced the rear with one of these and it was so tight to get over the rim I went through 5 inner tubes over the last 3 weeks. My son had to pick me up 3 times. Something is wrong with the sizing on these.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 66

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]