Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Gatorskin Black Edition 700c Road Tire

ContinentalGatorskin Black Edition 700c Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(76 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(66)
(8)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(87%)
(11%)
(3%)
(0%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 10/27/2020
by Old timer Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Lincoln, Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
So Far So Good

For years I used Conti 4000 tires. The 5000 came out , so I tried it. At 2200 miles the rear tire was gone, thru the wear indicators and down to the casing. I always got 4 to 5000 miles with the 4000.

So I decided to give the Gatorskins a try. I am at 900 miles, good so far and no flats.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/27/2020
by Peter
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great updated look on a consistently high performing tire!

I've relied on Gatorskins for years for commuting. I'm happy to see an updated sleeker-looking version as I prefer my bikes to be as minimal as possible and tend to not adhere to trends such as tan sidewalls, etc.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/29/2020
by Paul, EGRI
Cycling Enthusiast
East Greenwich RIb
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires that last all season.

I use these tires on my two road bikes. They get me through the season without having to change them. Durable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/7/2020
by Roger
Hawaii
Overall Rating
Gatorskin 32cc

Putting these on a Specialized crossroads bike for use on the road more then gravel and rough conditions. The 32s offer more cushion yet have that road tyre feel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/12/2020
by CJ3000
sacramento
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Love Them

I really like the new look of the black edition gatorskins and they also have good rolling resistant. They are pretty close in comparison to GP5000 on speed as well, and got them for a good price too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2020
by Anonymous
sacramento
Overall Rating
Great tires

Great rolling and puncture resistance

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/4/2020
by ccv90
Cycling Enthusiast
S.FL and N.GA mts.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great solid long lasting tire

I replaced some 30mm tires with a set of 28mm for the 6Gap ride. I�ve been using the Gatorskins for years and love their longevity. I ride 25mm on my carbon bike but wanted a bit more comfort for the aluminum bike I used for the mtn. century. Can't really say anything bad about them. I do like the Black sidewall look of this edition. They carry a conventional rubber sidewall in place of the weaved sidewall the Continentals traditionally use and appear a bit more robust to sidewall cuts.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2020
by Paul B.
Eugene
Overall Rating
The Continental Gatorskin Black Edition 700c Road Tire

Great price. A great combination of relatively light weight and durability. I'm going to use these as my winter tires on my rain bike. No flats for 3 months of use on both my bikes. Continentals are great tires!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/8/2020
by Buck49
Cycling Enthusiast
St George Utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I like the tires.

I ride my road bike about 100 miles a week. This is the time of year that a lot of flat tires occur because of stickers on the road. Thankfully I have been able to hold up from getting a flat. Good job Bike Tires Direct.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/17/2020
by Bronson
Overall Rating
Damn good tires

Been through a lot of tires and these are by far the best I�ve purchased. I�ve had them on for over four months now and have put them through the ringer and haven�t had one flat yet. Super responsive on leaning turns.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/15/2020
by Phil
Cycling Enthusiast
NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great training tire

this is a great tire for training, love the new Gatorskins and the price is as always awesome

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2020
by Mimi
norcal
Overall Rating
Durable

Great for commuters or riders who travel sometimes by gutted roads. Feels like they are super durable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/13/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Holds up well

Tire seems well made, however 700x25 tires seem taller rather than wider than similar tires. I'm not sure how this affects performance if at all.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/28/2020
by misterride
Cycling Enthusiast
El Cajon, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
GATORSKINS ARE THE BEST

I normally ride around 125 miles per week through different parts of San Diego County. I have used Gatorskin tires for at least 15 years, and have found them to be the best for reliability and wear. I always have a couple of spare tires on hand to replace older, worn out or severely damaged tires when necessary.

I would recommend, in a heartbeat, Gatorskin road tires for reliable, dependable road bike tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/28/2020
by BKBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
New York City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires!

Excellent tires, great deal, The improvement over the tires I replaced was immediate. I ride New York City streets almost daily and the tires hold up really well on rough surfaces. traction is excellent and without undue drag like the tires I replaced. The improvement in handling is huge. I can make hard and fast turns with confidence now.

I'm installing the second set on my triathlon bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/2/2020
by John
NYS
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
The tires are good but not great

Bought several, lots of miles on them

Also bought several that went flat quickly;

One was a side wall

One was a puncture

Overall, I like them a lot

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/28/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
N E OHIO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Durable trouble free tires I have used for 10 years, now available in Blackwalls!

I used Gatorskins on my tandems for 10 yrs.+ riding 6-9,000 miles a year with never a blowout. Yes I have 2-3flats

per year. This kind of durability gives you the confidence to ride far from home, up and down major hills,

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/29/2020
by George
New York
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The Bomb ??

This is the only brand that I buy. Never let's me down. This is maybe my fourth pair. Yeah.. I ride a lot.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/30/2020
by Paul, EGRI
Cycling Enthusiast
East Greenwich RIb
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tires that last all season.

I use these tires on my two road bikes. They get me through the season without having to change them. Durable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/30/2020
by Spokesmoke
Portland OR
Overall Rating
A++++

Cant beat em. Built for abuse. Not too heavy, great roll resistance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 46