Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Gatorskin Black Edition 700c Road Tire

ContinentalGatorskin Black Edition 700c Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(125 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(108)
(12)
(2)
(3)
(0)
(86%)
(10%)
(2%)
(2%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 7/29/2021
Cycling Enthusiast
Land O Lakes, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Repeat Purchases

Both my wife and I have these tires on our road bikes - both of which are Trek cycles. Years ago (maybe ten) we started using Gatorskin tires after multiple flats using another brand of tire - which clearly was not as puncture resistant as the Gatorskins. They usually last use a couple years - I ride about 1,500 miles a year and my wife rides about 1,800 miles a year.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2020
by Bacflip65
Cycling Enthusiast
Roseville, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
These Gatorskin Road Tires are great

When I first got into riding a number of months ago, my friend forwarded me the BikeTiresDirect email regarding this offer. Although my current tires were perfectly fine, I decided the deal was too good to pass up. This week I had a blow out in my rear tire and subsequently changed out to my new Gatorskins previously purchased. I am glad I did. Great price back then and they were easy to install. First ride is today. I am looking forward to it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/21/2021
by Huddy
SoCal
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires, fair price

I ride an average of 500 miles/month. The tires don't even seem to wear. Never had a flat yet. Since riding with these I have not purchased any other road tires. I have several bikes and use various sizes of 700c and all are excellent. I prefer the folding tires

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/14/2020
by Leslie K
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Virtually Flat Free - watch your mileage though...

I do a lot of solo riding long distance, and the most debilitating thing about any ride is a mechanical or a puncture. The Gatorskin Blacks are trusted and tested to deliver me to the end goal every time. I've been riding about 1600k a month lately, so I do keep an eye on the road mileage. When the front tire gets a flat, that's when I know it's time to change them out before I do another century. I buy them in advance, so I always have a back up pair or two on hand. Note: Yes - they are heavier than racing tires, but the time I lose in climbing speed, I make up for, by not having to stop for a puncture. So if you change terrain over the course of one ride: glass, gravel, poor road quality, sand, pine needles, city garbage, etc... and you hate to change out a flat (ladies?) This tire is for you. The regular yellow sidewall Gators are also as durable, but the blacks are prettier. ;)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/10/2020
by Kielbasa
Cycling Enthusiast
Boulder, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
16 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
My go to winter tire

These are my go to winter tires for riding in Colorado. The local county here puts gravelsand down over the winters that will shred most other tires. But the Gatorskins stand up and I can normally get 2 winters out of a set, or about 2,500 miles. This year I've kept them on for the summer and have been taking them on gravel roads and dirt, without any puncture issues. I hope they keep making the black limited edition because they look so much better than the standard gator skins. I'm also 6'4 and 195 lbs so I'm on the heavier end of things.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2021
by Velo Geezer
Cycling Enthusiast
NY Metro Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Black Edition: Gatorskin With a New Look

I've been using Gatorskins for years because they are durable and smooth rolling. The Black Edition rides just like the originals. Hopefully,these will continue the Gator reputation for durability. The only difference so far is the lack of a brown waffling pattern on the sidewalls. Don't miss that one bit. Reduced sale price made these a really good value.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/24/2021
by Anonymous
Alabama Gulf Coast
Overall Rating
Great

Nice looking tire,, ridden about 200 mi

performing great. I have always been able to depend on Gatorskins for 12 yrs +.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/16/2021
by Anonymous
salt Lake City
Overall Rating
I highly recommend these tires. They we recommended to me by a friend who rode a lot. He swore by them so I thought I'd give them a try. I've had them on my road bike ever since.

These tires ride extremely well, and provide good traction under a variety of weather conditions. They are very durable. I have not had a flat since I started using these.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/28/2021
by Rob
arkansas
Overall Rating
0 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Maybe good but nearly impossible to mount

I had Gatorskins as my last tire and got 6000 plus miles I replaced the rear with one of these and it was so tight to get over the rim I went through 5 inner tubes over the last 3 weeks. My son had to pick me up 3 times. Something is wrong with the sizing on these.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/27/2021
by Rob
arkansas
Overall Rating
0 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Maybe good but nearly impossible to mount

I had Gatorskins as my last tire and got 6000 plus miles I replaced the rear with one of these and it was so tight to get over the rim I went through 5 inner tubes over the last 3 weeks. My son had to pick me up 3 times. Something is wrong with the sizing on these.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/26/2021
by Rob
arkansas
Overall Rating
0 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Maybe good but nearly impossible to mount

I had Gatorskins as my last tire and got 6000 plus miles I replaced the rear with one of these and it was so tight to get over the rim I went through 5 inner tubes over the last 3 weeks. My son had to pick me up 3 times. Something is wrong with the sizing on these.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/21/2021
by Grizzly1
Cycling Enthusiast
So. Cal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Outstanding!!!

40+ years of riding, training & racing, a certified master mechanic since 1978 . I can tell you this much, Try to do better. Performance+ Price+ Durability+ Hand Made in Germany= Value beyond comparison.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/11/2021
by Geoff
Saline, Michigan
Overall Rating
Gator Skins

I have always used Gator Skins. I ride a Trek Domane. My color is yellow with black trim. The black gator skins go great with my bike and black rims. Gator skins hold up great riding on Michigan roads.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/19/2021
by Jim
Colorado
Overall Rating
Best wearing road tire

These tires definitely are the best for riding on roads with debris and potholes. Great service from BTD

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/15/2021
by Tomboy
St. Louis
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good tire

Excellent tire I've used them a great deal.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/23/2020
by Old and in the way
Cycling Enthusiast
Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Lets you keep riding

Nothing will mess up your group ride like a rider with a flat and the down time while the tube is replaced. I replace these tires out about every two years of riding (about 6,000 miles). I very rarely flat with these tires. I admit that I am a bit anal when I clean my bike and I do look for and remove glass, metal and rocks from the little cuts it get in the normal course of riding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/24/2020
by wah
Cycling Enthusiast
up in the mountains
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
color blind

just like the "regular" gator skin, best daily tire for riding. just buy them, either/or, been on gator skins since late '80's, incredible pieces of work.....i ride 5-7 days a week 12 months a year, with or without a bike tour. best tire, that is NOT A TOURING TIRE!!! i guess if you carry no gear, and just ride it'll do well for you ... best touring tire is schwalbe...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/6/2021
by KXGuy324
Cycling Enthusiast
Southwest Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
bought these after my wife's bike accumulated 500 miles of no issues. easy to install and so far so good

bought these after my wife's bike accumulated 500 miles of no issues. easy to install and so far so good

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/19/2020
by Jon S
rhode island, usa
Overall Rating
Go-To Tire

The continental gator skin tire is my go-to tire for most of the year. Being able to ride in the messier months is a must for me and these tires hold up to some of the worst weather and roads covered in anything from sand to salt.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/18/2020
by kw-2wheel
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Gatorskins have the durability I needed & I liked the all black color

I have been riding Continental Gatorskins for a decade, all road miles. These tires are very durable. I recently bought the 32mm Black Edition for my Trek Domane+ e-bike. With the extra weight of an e-bike, the Gatorskins have the durability I needed & I liked the all black color. With BTD, I always get a great price -- I've been a customer for years.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 31

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]