Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Gatorskin 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)

ContinentalGatorskin 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(598 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(469)
(113)
(9)
(5)
(2)
(78%)
(19%)
(2%)
(1%)
(0%)
Reviewed 10/20/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great wear and durability

Have used Gatorskins on my hybrid and road bike with only a few flats in several years. I�ve got almost 6,000 miles only last (rear) tire

I find the wire bead 700x23 or 28 a little tough to change but that�s because I don�t need to do it very often

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2022
by mph66
Rhode Island
Overall Rating
Tires for the Apocalypse

I cannot say how much I love these tires. I�ve been rolling Gatorskins for over a decade. Zero flats. Tons of mileage. Won�t buy anything else (or anywhere else).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/20/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great wear and durability

Have used Gatorskins on my hybrid and road bike with only a few flats in several years. I�ve got almost 6,000 miles only last (rear) tire

I find the wire bead 700x23 or 28 a little tough to change but that�s because I don�t need to do it very often

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/19/2021
by Marty
Boise, Idaho
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent tires!

I HATE getting flats, so I went to 28 c Gatorskins and added an aftermarket puncture strip, extra thick tubes and sealant. I've pulled construction staples and mean-ass goatheads out of the tires and the tubes were fine. These tires laugh a such things. Overkill probably but nothing will slow you down more than a flat. I know they are a bit slower so I keep them at 110 psi, dropping to 95 psi if it's over 100 F outside. I ride a titanium bike so that smooths out the ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Redlands CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Best Built Tires

I've heard so much about these Gatorskin tires. I purchased a pair back in March of 2020. I currently have about 2000 miles on them and they are still looking great. Not much wear. I believe they are bullet proof. I Live in Southern Ca and the streets have so much glass and rocks. I have not had a flat at all. I would recommend these to all.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/29/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great training tire

As older stubborn cyclist I am reluctant to move to tubeless from tubes, and really why when I run Gatorskins. For me I haven't had any punctures in 2800km with them and I travel on all kinds of surfaces. Not the fastest nor the most comfortable tire, but for me there is no better training tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/11/2022
by Bandier
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Gatorskins... Can't go wrong

Continental Gatorskins are your best bang for the buck. They aren't the cheapest but you definitely get loooong life and very good road hazard protection. They are built with a tougher interior to prevent that intrusive thorn or glass bit that may stall the ride. Yet still give an excellent road control and comfort. Two thumbs for these babies!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/8/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
So far indestructible

Use these tires for road touring and have been through some rough roads as well forced to ride the shoulder and have not had any flat tires so far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/13/2022
by Colin
Daily Commuter
Toronto, Canada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires

I found that my 23C tires were a bit delicate and unforgiving for daily rides. These Continentals are a bit heavier, but seem durable, and are still very fast. The ride is certainly more comfortable. Very happy with this purchase

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/2/2022
by mph66
Rhode Island
Overall Rating
Tires for the Apocalypse

I cannot say how much I love these tires. I�ve been rolling Gatorskins for over a decade. Zero flats. Tons of mileage. Won�t buy anything else (or anywhere else).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/26/2022
by Chazz
Santa Fe, N.M
Overall Rating
Awesome tire!

Love the Conti Gatorskins! Since mounting on my bike no flats from goat heads or debris. They ride well and mount easily. $$ well spent!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/9/2021
by Grab
Cycling Enthusiast
Jacksonville, Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good so far, but extremely difficult to mount on rim.

Replaced worn out Conti Ultra Sport III. Rolling resistance higher than Ultra Sport. Noticed a 1 mph drop in average speed over 10 mile daily course that I ride, but I expected this. Otherwise happy with the tire so far. Seems durable and holds pressure well. Good lateral grip going around corners and cul-de-sacs.

This is the most difficult tire to mount - compared to my experience with other Continental tires previously. it took all of my patience and 30+ minutes per tire to get them on. Extremely stiff and tight tire bead.

Expensive, but time will tell if the durability enhances value. I ride 2000+ miles a year, so I won't know for a while about cost/longevity trade off. I expect it to be good.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/5/2022
by Chilebrown
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
No flats and Smooth Ride

This is my go-to tire. I was getting so many flats and now I do not. The tire rolls just fine and I get a lot of miles out of it. I actually prefer the wire bead because to me it is a little easier to change on a tight rim.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/9/2017
by SallyB
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Gatorskins Always

The Continental Gatorskins are not only light but are extremely durable. I have been logging 1500 miles per road tire and could probably get more miles if I waited to have a flat before replacing them. Also, they seem to retain air more readily then other road tires I've tried. Gatorskins are now my tired of choice for ride comfort, and confidence.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/8/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tire

Very durable with great low rolling resistance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/19/2022
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
rubber comes off in chunks

These tires are pretty good at flat protection. The problem I have with them is the rubber starts coming off in chunks when there seems to still be quite a few miles left on them. I run them at the max pressure, maybe that is the problem. I don't know. I still like them compared with other tires I have tried.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/4/2022
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Value Rating
Overall Rating
great tire

great tire

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/5/2022
by Anonymous
ohio
Overall Rating
Nice tire to ride everyday

They are a little hard to get on but offer great performance

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/31/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Robust protection, smooth ride

I switched from balding 25mm that came with my (used) bike to new 28mm Gatorskins, and although I've lost a little bit of speed, I have a much smoother ride and have much more confidence in the integrity of my tubes. No flats yet!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/18/2021
by wah
Daily Commuter
riding all the mountain roads
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
rollin' along down the highway of life

i've been riding on these tires... it seems like forever. best road tires out there in a world of choices! i rode 246 days in 2020.... that's another story for another time... great handling, traction,cornering, very few flats. great value for the money, and bike tires direct has the best price retail to the end consumer, so what's not to love. for pure road riding, best tire on the market IMHO..... i've got more at my house than most bike shops have in stock. hurry up and read this and get out there and ride... well what are you waiting for... i'm outta here...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 54

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]