FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Continental Gatorskin 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)

ContinentalGatorskin 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(477 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(363)
(103)
(5)
(4)
(2)
(76%)
(22%)
(1%)
(1%)
(0%)
Reviewed 4/29/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
southern Minnesota
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This is such a great value as I get 5k miles one a set of these tires!

I rarely get flats when I am riding on these tire and normally get five thousand miles.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/8/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
So far indestructible

Use these tires for road touring and have been through some rough roads as well forced to ride the shoulder and have not had any flat tires so far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/19/2019
by DR
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tires

Gatorskins are the only tire I'll use. I've tried others only to be disappointed. BTD is the place to go for price. I haven't found them less expensive anywhere else. Plus, their shipping is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/8/2019
by Cycling-Gent
Cycling Enthusiast
Buda Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best Road Tire Anywhere

After 10 years of cycling totaling over 48,000 miles the Gatorskin is the only tire I use. I live in rural Texas on many rough roads. My first year or two I had weekly flats with sometimes 2 in a day. I was running though tires and money.

After I moved to Gatorskins my flats are almost non-existent. I have run over broken bottles cutting the tire yet still make it home. I normally get about 3,500 miles on my tires. I may change out a tube for a nail, sticker or other puncture YET still use the tire.

Best Road Tire Anywhere! Wait I said that already.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/25/2019
by Smohr3
Cycling Enthusiast
Medina, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very impressed with Gatoskins. Have bought 12 over the last 5 years.

Good value, very durable-

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/15/2019
by Gappel
Cycling Enthusiast
Phoenix
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great. So far, no flats in goat head season

Ride about 75 or more miles per week in urban setting. Here in Arizona we have goat head issues. So far so good.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/1/2018
by Russ
Cycling Enthusiast
Olympia, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
The Gatorskin is a classic a bit slow rolling resistance made up for by the serious puncture resistance

I switched to this tire from a more narrow road tire for more stability and shock resistance. It serves these purposes very well. It is significantly slower as its hard and inflexible rubber needed for puncture resistance comes at the expense of rolling resistance. Totally worth it especially for the winter in the Northwest. Tires are great and as always, dealing with Bike Tires Direct a true pleasure.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/9/2017
by SallyB
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Gatorskins Always

The Continental Gatorskins are not only light but are extremely durable. I have been logging 1500 miles per road tire and could probably get more miles if I waited to have a flat before replacing them. Also, they seem to retain air more readily then other road tires I've tried. Gatorskins are now my tired of choice for ride comfort, and confidence.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/18/2019
by Burlharper
Madison wis
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
fast service

Very fast service.and always ready to answer your questions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/11/2019
by Randy S
Cycling Enthusiast
92861
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
My Go To Tire

I've been riding Continental Gatorskin 700C Road Tires for years and they're a great tire. I just keep buying them over and over again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/10/2018
by MeaghanUT
Daily Commuter
Salt Lake City, UT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
One tough tire

These tires are great, durable, all weather tires that I use for commuting to work everyday. The wider surface area and thicker tires makes for a very comfortable ride. I've used them for over a month now and am very happy. Overall, I would say great purchase!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/21/2019
by Mike
yuma az
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Continental Gatorskin very good ride quality for a training tire

These tires are great for winters in the southwest for winter trading with all the tire wires on the road and all the goatheads we have from the desert very few flats

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/28/2018
by John G
Cycling Enthusiast
Dover NH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
great tires

these are great tires for durability and longevity

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/21/2018
by Royboy
Colorado
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Rollin round the world

Ive been using these tires forever,well almost forever....even before i found out about bike tires direct. I get a ton of miles from them and very few if any flats. Strong,durable, could say they are like my feet or a favorite pair of shoes... i ride 5-7 days a week year round,in all types of colorado weather, and these puppys are the bomb. Woud be interesting to test them on a tour,but they arent built for that, but that's how much i love them. Just get a set, and your set for your adventre of following your bliss,on any road,any time,anyhow! I am totally satisfied and content eith these babies! Any questons?? Come find me on any road i'm on,we'll talk.... enjoy today!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/4/2018
by Esrico
Antioch Ca
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Exelente

Great tires wet and dry conditions. Used them on my commute bike 16 miles around trip. 10,000 miles 2 flats. still track on the tires but the sidewalls start to break true
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/26/2018
by Pittsburgh#1
Cycling Enthusiast
pittsburgh
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire for touring

My wife will not use any tire other than the Continental Gatorskin. The tires easily last 3,000 miles and she has not had a flat tire in close to 10,000 miles with multiple Gatorskins. I have been riding the Continental 4000 with great success, but have had at least 5 flats with approximately the same mileage and rising conditions. I will probably switch to the Gatorskins for next years touring.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/19/2014
by Bicycleman57
Cycling Enthusiast
Philadelphia PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
These tires cannot be beat, worth the weight and the cost.

I've tried many different types of tires from the modest priced ones to the very costly ones and none have measured up to the Gatorskins. I've completed 10 Ride the Rockies, and the only year I had flats (note the plural)was when I did not ride on Gatorskins. They are a bit heavier, but for the vast majority of riders this small additional weight will make little to no difference over 80, 90, or 100 miles. These are my go to tires and I fear not the broken glass, metal fibers, thornes, sharp rocks and all the other debris that come with riding. I ride urban, suburban and rural roads and trails and these work well on all surfaces. My current set have well over 4,000 miles and are still going strong.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/17/2014
by gcreason
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
21 of 21 customers found this review helpful.
Amazing combination of performance and durability

Recently, I rode Continental Gatorskins (700 x 32 with folding bead) on a fully loaded touring bike from San Diego to Boston. About 300 miles of the trip were on crushed limestone bike paths, with a few miles of coarse gravel. The Gatorskins turned out to be an excellent choice. They performed superbly. I started out with a pair of new Gatorskins on the bike, and one new spare. Then I rotated the three tires so that each one had approximately equal wear. During the entire 3,500 mile trip, I had only one flat, which was due to a typical piece of wire from a disintegrated truck tire, picked up on an interstate, in a rain storm. At the end of the trip, all three tires were in good condition, with many miles left in them. The Gatorskins are reasonably light, with good puncture resistance and resistance to cuts. They provide a comfortable ride and good traction. In addition to this tour, I have used the Gatorskins for urban commuting, for years. These tires deliver amazing performance at a reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/29/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires

I have used them for a number of years and have only had 2 flats.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/26/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Tough so far

Not too difficult to put on. Happy with the quality thus far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.