FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Continental Gatorskin 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)

ContinentalGatorskin 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(455 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(345)
(99)
(5)
(4)
(2)
(76%)
(22%)
(1%)
(1%)
(0%)
Reviewed 9/8/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
So far indestructible

Use these tires for road touring and have been through some rough roads as well forced to ride the shoulder and have not had any flat tires so far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/17/2018
by RDH
Cycling Enthusiast
Mid TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Absolutely the best all around tire I have used in 150,000 miles of cycling. (Not a typo, im 68).

Every day riding, training, group rides. All weather rides.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/10/2018
by MeaghanUT
Daily Commuter
Salt Lake City, UT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
One tough tire

These tires are great, durable, all weather tires that I use for commuting to work everyday. The wider surface area and thicker tires makes for a very comfortable ride. I've used them for over a month now and am very happy. Overall, I would say great purchase!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/2/2018
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Scottsdale, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Dependable, durable tires.

Ive been using these tires for years on road bikes and tri bikes . They are a great all-around tire and I have fewer flats when using them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/5/2018
by Anonymous
Chicago
Overall Rating
Fast shipping, quality product

Best price online, not to mention the money saved buying new tubes all the time!

Gatorskins are always well worth it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/27/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Montana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Gatorskin tires have worked well since installing them 2 weeks ago. 250 ish miles and no difficulties, even on gravel detour!

These were installed on my road bike about 2 weeks ago. Standard installation procedure was smooth and they have ridden well, even with a forced 3 mile gravel detour that was unplanned. No flats....

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/11/2018
by Folkbike
Casual Cyclist
Kingsport, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Have run Gatorskins for years on my tandem and now on my roar bike with great success.

Work great on my road bikes. Not a lot of flats.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/3/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Ashland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Continental 4000 tires give great mileage and safety on the road.

There is nothing I dislike about these tires. What I like is the fact that with front to rear rotation, I get about 10.000 miles per tire. That is why I think the value is so good.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/20/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Harwich MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Solid product. They have held up well to fairly rough roads where other tires have failed.

I have been riding 300 - miles a month. Gatorskins have held up well and been comfortable during long rides. Sand and light gravel are prevalent on the roads I am typically riding on. I have full confidence in the product to hold a grip and last over unforgiving terrain.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/9/2017
by SallyB
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Gatorskins Always

The Continental Gatorskins are not only light but are extremely durable. I have been logging 1500 miles per road tire and could probably get more miles if I waited to have a flat before replacing them. Also, they seem to retain air more readily then other road tires I've tried. Gatorskins are now my tired of choice for ride comfort, and confidence.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/18/2018
by John
Maryland
Overall Rating
Great tire, great pricing

Durable, reliable

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/13/2018
by Daniel
Daily Commuter
Forest Grove, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Perfect tire ordered with ease, delivered quickly

Each year I install new tires on my road tandem. I always find exactly what I need at BTD - the continentals are durable and perform beautifully for adventures my wife and I enjoy on our tandem.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/13/2018
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
Minatare, NE
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The tires seem OK but they're really hard to install.

I had to buy a special tool (a bead jack) to get these tires mounted. The tool fits in my little triangle frame bag, but I don't look forward to having to change a tire on the road, which will inevitably happen . Bad enough in the shop. I like to ride in the evening, but now I have to leave home earlier to be sure there's enough daylight to get a tire on.

If you want tires that will go on easily on the road, look elsewhere for them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/9/2018
by Ken
Cycling Enthusiast
Lewes, Delaware
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Continental Gatorskin 700c x 32 Road Tire (Wire Bead) are GREAT

The Continental Gatorskin 700c x 32 Road Tire (Wire Bead) are working great on my Giant Hybrid. I ride on both roadways and gravel trails. I have had no trouble with ride, sand or flats. I would highly recommend these tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/9/2018
by bicycle bill
chicago
Overall Rating
you still get flats

I commute daily in Chicago. I have 700 x28s on my cyclo cross bike. I typically inflate at 100 psi. The tires are not puncture proof. This week some tiny construction shrapnel found its way in. The tires are good against road glass but not metal pieces. Pick your routes carefully.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/30/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I have very few flats with this tire.

I don't like flats so I use this tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/31/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
My first choice in tires

My wife and daughter rode across the country on a loaded tandem using these tires without a flat. When it came time to replace the tires on the tandem my wife and I ride, I never seriously considered anything else.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/25/2018
by Zeya
Arizona
Overall Rating
New bee

Im new to road biking and was getting so many flats, and the Trek store in Arizona recommended These tires. I went almost 3 months of riding with 2 flats, I started getting more as I put so many miles on them, I think they are thinning out too much now. It also rained pretty hard here and a lot of stuff came up on the bike lanes too, so that could be why Im getting more flats also. I dont keep track of my miles but have been commuting to school daily in average 110 temperatures, maybe more. I also chose to be more of a minimalist so I dont have a car, and could imagine how much Im riding around, even getting groceries, and pads. I cant wait to have that comfort again that I had before, and order another pair making it my 3 month mark with these, on to a new pair

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/27/2018
by CleanAirBob
Cycling Enthusiast
Draper, UT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love these tires...a little heavy but I have NEVER had a puncture! Never!!

Lost pressure in my front tire last Wednesday and I thought I had my first puncture. Found out it wasn't true!! My bike shop twisted the tube during installation and it apparently rubbed until it failed. This is the forth set of Gatorskins (old commuter, new commuter, gravel, and road bikes) and NEVER HAD A PUNCTURE!! Probably 10,000 miles easy...no punctures!! My type of tire!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/22/2018
by Richard K Remmen
Daily Commuter
Hilo HI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
A pleasant surprise, ride like a dream

I've always used Schwalbe Marathon plus, but my size was unavailable and I decided to try the Gatorskins. Made in Germany and seem to be excellent workmanship. My last pair of Marathon plus' lasted 5 years, but are heavy. If these Gatorskins last even three years that will make for an excellent value. They're relatively light weight, yet grip very well in tight turns and hold the road well on rain wet asphalt. I've ridden them hard for about a month with no sign of wear and no flats, despite riding over glass particles in the roads here.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.