Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Gatorskin 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)

ContinentalGatorskin 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(544 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(421)
(107)
(9)
(5)
(2)
(77%)
(20%)
(2%)
(1%)
(0%)
Reviewed 6/26/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Redlands CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Best Built Tires

I've heard so much about these Gatorskin tires. I purchased a pair back in March of 2020. I currently have about 2000 miles on them and they are still looking great. Not much wear. I believe they are bullet proof. I Live in Southern Ca and the streets have so much glass and rocks. I have not had a flat at all. I would recommend these to all.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/13/2020
by Mogg
Daily Commuter
Los Angeles, Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Overall Strong Performer

Training rides, city, suburb, good roads but lots of puncture/cut material. Gatorskins roll very nicely and corner well. High pressure makes for fast acceleration. Cuts are not a problem but thorns, metal wire and other hazards will flat your Gatorskins. This is not unusual even with quality tires like those from Continental but kind of refutes Continental's claim that materials and design in Gatorskins give superior protection from flats. In nearly 1000 miles I've had 3 flats, one from a thorn and two from wire shards (like from a wire brush) that worked their way past Gatorskin's "protections'. Overall I recommend Continental Gatorskins despite my luck on the road versus any other rider's luck with road hazards.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/25/2020
by mph66
Cycling Enthusiast
South Kingstown, RI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
In GatorSkins We Trust

I got these when they went on sale, and I bought more than I needed at the time because they were on sale. The purchase was vetted by years of using these tires. If I put these on my bike (I'm in the Northeast US and I get in about 4-5k miles/season) I don't get flats. Period. If I use other tires (and I did- one season) it doesn't go well. The year I didn't use CGS, I ended up with 7 flats and had to purchase two [cheap] tires. You get what you pay for. I'll be using these Gatorskins again next year. I won't use anything else.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/8/2020
by Randy
New Port Richey, Florida
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Tires of Steel !

I ride 2-3 times a week on a paved bike trail it is generally closed to traffic. I chose these tires because I need durability and reliability for long rides while training for full distance Iron Man races. Knock on wood, I have yet to have a flat tire while using these tires over the course of three Iron Man training seasons. They are a bit heavier and thicker than standard racing tires, however the durability and reliability are more important to me. Highly recommend !!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Louisiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Bought for my commuter/everyday bike

I have been a long time continental tire user. They continue to be durable, great ride feel, and good looking too. The roads are ok, it�s Louisiana so they will always be rough.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/8/2020
by Wheelsucker
Cycling Enthusiast
S. Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
wire bead on Rolf Wheels very very hard to do without special tool

I've been a Gatorskin user for at least 2 decades. The wire bead tires are not flexible enough for my aging hands. I will go back to the folding ones the next purchase. They wear wonderfully once they're on.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/2/2020
by TDough
Cycling Enthusiast
Fairfield County, CT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Bombproof!

Bombproof. No flats for you!!

Yes, they are hard to mount. Yes, they are a little heavy. However, you will not get flats and they ride and grip very well. I am a fan.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/26/2020
by mph66
Cycling Enthusiast
Rhode Island
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The Gold Standard of Cycling Tires

I've been using these tires for years, and they never let me down. I'm over 4k miles this season, and they're still in great shape. I'm 5' 10" and 165. They grip the road well and you can count on them on turns. The only thing that might be a bit of a disadvantage is seating the wire-bead tires on my rim-brake Aksium wheels. Other than that, these tires are basically bomb-proof. I've bought other tires and have gone through ridiculous money spent on tubes. As soon as you put these on, you stop shelling out money. TCO is an important factor for me, in this regard. You pay a little more for these tires, but they'll pay off in the long run.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/13/2020
by Millie J
Texas
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
BikeTiresDirect Sell Quality Products

I love this store! I ordered these exact same tires on Amazon and had a flat immediately. In a search for a triathlon suit and I stumbled on the BikeTiresDirect website so I ordered another set of Continental Gatorskin tires from them. Not only was the price better but I immediately saw the difference in product. The Continentals from BikeTiresDirect were made in Germany and the exact tires from Amazon were made in China. The new tires are great! No flats! Thanks For selling quality products.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/23/2020
by StevePDX
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
These tires deliver what they promise.

This a tough and stable training tire. For me it is an every day tire for my road bike, allowing me to bike on less than ideal surfaces without worrying about getting a flat. Some complain about the difficulty of mounting the tire, due to its rather stiff wire bead. Well it is difficult to mount, but that is fine by me, since once on the rim these tires are very stable and secure.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Eagan, MN United States
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great all-around tire for a reasonable price.

These tires seem far superior to others in this price range. Durable and damage resistant.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/4/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Solid and dependable

Great tire for country roads and gravel, anywhere one might have an increased chance of flats. The Gatorskins make for worry-free riding if flats are a concern. They aren't the fastest tires around; the GP5000s are quite a bit faster and also pretty robust. These tires are built for puncture resistance and meet that objective. BTD had an excellent price as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/2/2020
by John Naughton
Orchard Park 14127
Overall Rating
Tire lasted about 2 weeks

Had to replace 1 out of 3 tires already

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/9/2020
by Rocco
nj
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Like them

Tough and smooth riding. Perfect for crummy NJ roads

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/25/2020
by John Carrasca
South plainfield ,nj
Overall Rating
Great tries

Great tries,I�ve all ready but about a 1000. Plus miles on them at 80 lbs pressure with no problem and still going. ???????????????

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/21/2020
Cycling Enthusiast
portland, oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent tire

Gatorskin, good stability, fairly flat resistant. good wear life.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/13/2020
by BAIRON
Los Angeles
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome

True to its description good tires worth the money and also shipping was quick no issues. I would buy again not just the tires but with bike tires direct.. true customer from 213 l.a. area

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/11/2020
by postman
Cycling Enthusiast
in the mountains
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
best road tire on the road that i've rode

i ride 6 days a week 50-80 a day... been riding these for 25 years... just order them, well stop reading this review and get 'em... oh i don't like paying for them... well you asked what i don't like about them.... solid performance year round all conditions. bike tires direct has best prices on these.. i've got more in my house and on my bikes than most stores...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/8/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
So far indestructible

Use these tires for road touring and have been through some rough roads as well forced to ride the shoulder and have not had any flat tires so far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/5/2020
by Cycling_Gent
Cycling Enthusiast
Buda Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tires - Long Lasting with LOW rolling Resistance

After 52,022 miles in 11 years this is the only tire I will ride with. Here in Texas, we have a lot of things that cause flats. Gatorskins have made my rides almost flat free.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 11