Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Gatorskin 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)

ContinentalGatorskin 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(575 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(448)
(111)
(9)
(5)
(2)
(78%)
(19%)
(2%)
(1%)
(0%)
Reviewed 8/19/2021
by Marty
Boise, Idaho
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent tires!

I HATE getting flats, so I went to 28 c Gatorskins and added an aftermarket puncture strip, extra thick tubes and sealant. I've pulled construction staples and mean-ass goatheads out of the tires and the tubes were fine. These tires laugh a such things. Overkill probably but nothing will slow you down more than a flat. I know they are a bit slower so I keep them at 110 psi, dropping to 95 psi if it's over 100 F outside. I ride a titanium bike so that smooths out the ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/6/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Rock Solid Training Tire

I have only put these 100miles on the tires, but they are doing well in the wet muddy winter conditions in Portland, OR. I also have to navigate around numerous homeless camps strewn with glass, needles and debris, putting these tires to the urban test. I'll check back in another couple hundred miles....

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Redlands CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Best Built Tires

I've heard so much about these Gatorskin tires. I purchased a pair back in March of 2020. I currently have about 2000 miles on them and they are still looking great. Not much wear. I believe they are bullet proof. I Live in Southern Ca and the streets have so much glass and rocks. I have not had a flat at all. I would recommend these to all.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/9/2021
by Grab
Cycling Enthusiast
Jacksonville, Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good so far, but extremely difficult to mount on rim.

Replaced worn out Conti Ultra Sport III. Rolling resistance higher than Ultra Sport. Noticed a 1 mph drop in average speed over 10 mile daily course that I ride, but I expected this. Otherwise happy with the tire so far. Seems durable and holds pressure well. Good lateral grip going around corners and cul-de-sacs.

This is the most difficult tire to mount - compared to my experience with other Continental tires previously. it took all of my patience and 30+ minutes per tire to get them on. Extremely stiff and tight tire bead.

Expensive, but time will tell if the durability enhances value. I ride 2000+ miles a year, so I won't know for a while about cost/longevity trade off. I expect it to be good.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/27/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Kansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent tire, good rolling resistance, very pleased

I have the tires on 2 different road bikes. Running at 90 psi. I am 190 lbs. Rise is very cool forsake. Changed from 700x23 @ 125 psi to this 700x25 @ 90. No apparent loss of performance but much more comfortable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/8/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
So far indestructible

Use these tires for road touring and have been through some rough roads as well forced to ride the shoulder and have not had any flat tires so far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/18/2021
by wah
Daily Commuter
riding all the mountain roads
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
rollin' along down the highway of life

i've been riding on these tires... it seems like forever. best road tires out there in a world of choices! i rode 246 days in 2020.... that's another story for another time... great handling, traction,cornering, very few flats. great value for the money, and bike tires direct has the best price retail to the end consumer, so what's not to love. for pure road riding, best tire on the market IMHO..... i've got more at my house than most bike shops have in stock. hurry up and read this and get out there and ride... well what are you waiting for... i'm outta here...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/9/2017
by SallyB
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Gatorskins Always

The Continental Gatorskins are not only light but are extremely durable. I have been logging 1500 miles per road tire and could probably get more miles if I waited to have a flat before replacing them. Also, they seem to retain air more readily then other road tires I've tried. Gatorskins are now my tired of choice for ride comfort, and confidence.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/13/2020
by Mogg
Daily Commuter
Los Angeles, Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Overall Strong Performer

Training rides, city, suburb, good roads but lots of puncture/cut material. Gatorskins roll very nicely and corner well. High pressure makes for fast acceleration. Cuts are not a problem but thorns, metal wire and other hazards will flat your Gatorskins. This is not unusual even with quality tires like those from Continental but kind of refutes Continental's claim that materials and design in Gatorskins give superior protection from flats. In nearly 1000 miles I've had 3 flats, one from a thorn and two from wire shards (like from a wire brush) that worked their way past Gatorskin's "protections'. Overall I recommend Continental Gatorskins despite my luck on the road versus any other rider's luck with road hazards.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/25/2020
by mph66
Cycling Enthusiast
South Kingstown, RI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
In GatorSkins We Trust

I got these when they went on sale, and I bought more than I needed at the time because they were on sale. The purchase was vetted by years of using these tires. If I put these on my bike (I'm in the Northeast US and I get in about 4-5k miles/season) I don't get flats. Period. If I use other tires (and I did- one season) it doesn't go well. The year I didn't use CGS, I ended up with 7 flats and had to purchase two [cheap] tires. You get what you pay for. I'll be using these Gatorskins again next year. I won't use anything else.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/8/2020
by Randy
New Port Richey, Florida
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Tires of Steel !

I ride 2-3 times a week on a paved bike trail it is generally closed to traffic. I chose these tires because I need durability and reliability for long rides while training for full distance Iron Man races. Knock on wood, I have yet to have a flat tire while using these tires over the course of three Iron Man training seasons. They are a bit heavier and thicker than standard racing tires, however the durability and reliability are more important to me. Highly recommend !!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/5/2021
by as25377
Columbus, OH
Overall Rating
Great tire

Great tire, rides smooth

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/2/2020
by TDough
Cycling Enthusiast
Fairfield County, CT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Bombproof!

Bombproof. No flats for you!!

Yes, they are hard to mount. Yes, they are a little heavy. However, you will not get flats and they ride and grip very well. I am a fan.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/26/2020
by mph66
Cycling Enthusiast
Rhode Island
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The Gold Standard of Cycling Tires

I've been using these tires for years, and they never let me down. I'm over 4k miles this season, and they're still in great shape. I'm 5' 10" and 165. They grip the road well and you can count on them on turns. The only thing that might be a bit of a disadvantage is seating the wire-bead tires on my rim-brake Aksium wheels. Other than that, these tires are basically bomb-proof. I've bought other tires and have gone through ridiculous money spent on tubes. As soon as you put these on, you stop shelling out money. TCO is an important factor for me, in this regard. You pay a little more for these tires, but they'll pay off in the long run.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/13/2020
by Millie J
Texas
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
BikeTiresDirect Sell Quality Products

I love this store! I ordered these exact same tires on Amazon and had a flat immediately. In a search for a triathlon suit and I stumbled on the BikeTiresDirect website so I ordered another set of Continental Gatorskin tires from them. Not only was the price better but I immediately saw the difference in product. The Continentals from BikeTiresDirect were made in Germany and the exact tires from Amazon were made in China. The new tires are great! No flats! Thanks For selling quality products.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/9/2020
by Rocco
nj
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Like them

Tough and smooth riding. Perfect for crummy NJ roads

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/19/2014
by Bicycleman57
Cycling Enthusiast
Philadelphia PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
These tires cannot be beat, worth the weight and the cost.

I've tried many different types of tires from the modest priced ones to the very costly ones and none have measured up to the Gatorskins. I've completed 10 Ride the Rockies, and the only year I had flats (note the plural)was when I did not ride on Gatorskins. They are a bit heavier, but for the vast majority of riders this small additional weight will make little to no difference over 80, 90, or 100 miles. These are my go to tires and I fear not the broken glass, metal fibers, thornes, sharp rocks and all the other debris that come with riding. I ride urban, suburban and rural roads and trails and these work well on all surfaces. My current set have well over 4,000 miles and are still going strong.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/17/2014
by gcreason
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
21 of 21 customers found this review helpful.
Amazing combination of performance and durability

Recently, I rode Continental Gatorskins (700 x 32 with folding bead) on a fully loaded touring bike from San Diego to Boston. About 300 miles of the trip were on crushed limestone bike paths, with a few miles of coarse gravel. The Gatorskins turned out to be an excellent choice. They performed superbly. I started out with a pair of new Gatorskins on the bike, and one new spare. Then I rotated the three tires so that each one had approximately equal wear. During the entire 3,500 mile trip, I had only one flat, which was due to a typical piece of wire from a disintegrated truck tire, picked up on an interstate, in a rain storm. At the end of the trip, all three tires were in good condition, with many miles left in them. The Gatorskins are reasonably light, with good puncture resistance and resistance to cuts. They provide a comfortable ride and good traction. In addition to this tour, I have used the Gatorskins for urban commuting, for years. These tires deliver amazing performance at a reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/11/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
truth in labeling police

The 700x32s actually were 700x30 mounted up. Otherwise, these are a durable, high mileage tire. I've had about 10 of various sizes. At 200 lbs, on mostly chip-seal I often see 3-4K miles on the rear.

Performance-wise you give up nothing detectable vs 700x212325 and gain some rough road capability.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/21/2014
by Laura the aspie
Cycling Enthusiast
Cornville, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Continued report on my Gators

I have put at least 250 miles on them thus far, that I am currently using bike for rehab after injury is keeping miles lower than I would like. Now admittedly I have taken a belts and braces approach to flats following a flat every five miles or so with the stock tyres and tubes that worked fine in California. In mid elevation Aridzona the standard units had not a chance, we have stickers on stickers! So inside my Gatorskins are Flat Attack tubes.

The gators ride smoothly enough for my back, and they roll fast. No flats yet, and I think that their lack of tread is a good thing to keep thorns from finding a cosy place to hide.

Now another thing to add. They work in dirt. Well understand this is within reason. I run 700 X 32 which is a fairly narrow high pressure tyre and as such I do not expect flotation. The sidewalls are thin and flexy and doubtless would be upset at being bashed against ragged lava rocks. They are slick and do not excel at dirt traction. What I am saying is that they are not abyssimal. What I am saying is that on a dirt road, we have many here, they do jut fine at lower speeds such as is are lilely to be ridden by a hybrid bike with no suspension. They are not any worse than the stock tyres in any respect and so while a person seeking dirt needs different rubber on a different bike, should a few miles of decent dirt get between you and your destination ride on!

Still loving my Gators!

And more thanks to Bike Tires Direct!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 59

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]