Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Gatorskin 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)

ContinentalGatorskin 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(587 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(458)
(113)
(9)
(5)
(2)
(78%)
(19%)
(2%)
(1%)
(0%)
Reviewed 7/11/2022
by Bandier
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Gatorskins... Can't go wrong

Continental Gatorskins are your best bang for the buck. They aren't the cheapest but you definitely get loooong life and very good road hazard protection. They are built with a tougher interior to prevent that intrusive thorn or glass bit that may stall the ride. Yet still give an excellent road control and comfort. Two thumbs for these babies!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/19/2021
by Marty
Boise, Idaho
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent tires!

I HATE getting flats, so I went to 28 c Gatorskins and added an aftermarket puncture strip, extra thick tubes and sealant. I've pulled construction staples and mean-ass goatheads out of the tires and the tubes were fine. These tires laugh a such things. Overkill probably but nothing will slow you down more than a flat. I know they are a bit slower so I keep them at 110 psi, dropping to 95 psi if it's over 100 F outside. I ride a titanium bike so that smooths out the ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/13/2022
by Colin
Daily Commuter
Toronto, Canada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires

I found that my 23C tires were a bit delicate and unforgiving for daily rides. These Continentals are a bit heavier, but seem durable, and are still very fast. The ride is certainly more comfortable. Very happy with this purchase

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Redlands CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Best Built Tires

I've heard so much about these Gatorskin tires. I purchased a pair back in March of 2020. I currently have about 2000 miles on them and they are still looking great. Not much wear. I believe they are bullet proof. I Live in Southern Ca and the streets have so much glass and rocks. I have not had a flat at all. I would recommend these to all.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/5/2022
by Chilebrown
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
No flats and Smooth Ride

This is my go-to tire. I was getting so many flats and now I do not. The tire rolls just fine and I get a lot of miles out of it. I actually prefer the wire bead because to me it is a little easier to change on a tight rim.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/19/2022
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
rubber comes off in chunks

These tires are pretty good at flat protection. The problem I have with them is the rubber starts coming off in chunks when there seems to still be quite a few miles left on them. I run them at the max pressure, maybe that is the problem. I don't know. I still like them compared with other tires I have tried.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/31/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Robust protection, smooth ride

I switched from balding 25mm that came with my (used) bike to new 28mm Gatorskins, and although I've lost a little bit of speed, I have a much smoother ride and have much more confidence in the integrity of my tubes. No flats yet!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/8/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
So far indestructible

Use these tires for road touring and have been through some rough roads as well forced to ride the shoulder and have not had any flat tires so far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/26/2022
by ojdurkin
Cycling Enthusiast
Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Solid tire

Easy to mount. Rides well. Cannot comment on mileage or flat resistance since the tires have been in service for only two months.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/9/2021
by Grab
Cycling Enthusiast
Jacksonville, Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good so far, but extremely difficult to mount on rim.

Replaced worn out Conti Ultra Sport III. Rolling resistance higher than Ultra Sport. Noticed a 1 mph drop in average speed over 10 mile daily course that I ride, but I expected this. Otherwise happy with the tire so far. Seems durable and holds pressure well. Good lateral grip going around corners and cul-de-sacs.

This is the most difficult tire to mount - compared to my experience with other Continental tires previously. it took all of my patience and 30+ minutes per tire to get them on. Extremely stiff and tight tire bead.

Expensive, but time will tell if the durability enhances value. I ride 2000+ miles a year, so I won't know for a while about cost/longevity trade off. I expect it to be good.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/16/2022
by DCF
Oak Park, Illinois
Overall Rating
Good commuter or training tire

The streets in my area are full of potholes and often broken glass. These tires hold up well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/5/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Excellent products

Great product and fast shipping. Will purchase again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/9/2017
by SallyB
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Gatorskins Always

The Continental Gatorskins are not only light but are extremely durable. I have been logging 1500 miles per road tire and could probably get more miles if I waited to have a flat before replacing them. Also, they seem to retain air more readily then other road tires I've tried. Gatorskins are now my tired of choice for ride comfort, and confidence.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/18/2021
by wah
Daily Commuter
riding all the mountain roads
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
rollin' along down the highway of life

i've been riding on these tires... it seems like forever. best road tires out there in a world of choices! i rode 246 days in 2020.... that's another story for another time... great handling, traction,cornering, very few flats. great value for the money, and bike tires direct has the best price retail to the end consumer, so what's not to love. for pure road riding, best tire on the market IMHO..... i've got more at my house than most bike shops have in stock. hurry up and read this and get out there and ride... well what are you waiting for... i'm outta here...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/6/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Rock Solid Training Tire

I have only put these 100miles on the tires, but they are doing well in the wet muddy winter conditions in Portland, OR. I also have to navigate around numerous homeless camps strewn with glass, needles and debris, putting these tires to the urban test. I'll check back in another couple hundred miles....

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/21/2022
by Joe
NorCal
Overall Rating
Great all around tire

Great tire with almost never flatting!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/13/2020
by Mogg
Daily Commuter
Los Angeles, Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Overall Strong Performer

Training rides, city, suburb, good roads but lots of puncture/cut material. Gatorskins roll very nicely and corner well. High pressure makes for fast acceleration. Cuts are not a problem but thorns, metal wire and other hazards will flat your Gatorskins. This is not unusual even with quality tires like those from Continental but kind of refutes Continental's claim that materials and design in Gatorskins give superior protection from flats. In nearly 1000 miles I've had 3 flats, one from a thorn and two from wire shards (like from a wire brush) that worked their way past Gatorskin's "protections'. Overall I recommend Continental Gatorskins despite my luck on the road versus any other rider's luck with road hazards.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/25/2020
by mph66
Cycling Enthusiast
South Kingstown, RI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
In GatorSkins We Trust

I got these when they went on sale, and I bought more than I needed at the time because they were on sale. The purchase was vetted by years of using these tires. If I put these on my bike (I'm in the Northeast US and I get in about 4-5k miles/season) I don't get flats. Period. If I use other tires (and I did- one season) it doesn't go well. The year I didn't use CGS, I ended up with 7 flats and had to purchase two [cheap] tires. You get what you pay for. I'll be using these Gatorskins again next year. I won't use anything else.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/8/2020
by Randy
New Port Richey, Florida
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Tires of Steel !

I ride 2-3 times a week on a paved bike trail it is generally closed to traffic. I chose these tires because I need durability and reliability for long rides while training for full distance Iron Man races. Knock on wood, I have yet to have a flat tire while using these tires over the course of three Iron Man training seasons. They are a bit heavier and thicker than standard racing tires, however the durability and reliability are more important to me. Highly recommend !!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/24/2022
by Richard Nourie
Florida
Overall Rating
Excellent tires.

I've bought and used 4 sets and average 4-6 thousand miles a set. Although price creeping up still would buy again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 24

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]