FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Continental Gatorskin 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)

ContinentalGatorskin 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(479 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(365)
(103)
(5)
(4)
(2)
(76%)
(22%)
(1%)
(1%)
(0%)
Reviewed 7/1/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Continue to be impressed with lack of flats!

I have a tire jack so installing these isn't the issue for me that it is for some folks, they are difficult to get that last bit of bead up and over. I've got these on all the bikes in the house now and between these great tires and our pre-ride inspection to remove any little bits that might work their way to the tube, we're happily flat-free.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/8/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
So far indestructible

Use these tires for road touring and have been through some rough roads as well forced to ride the shoulder and have not had any flat tires so far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/29/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
southern Minnesota
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This is such a great value as I get 5k miles one a set of these tires!

I rarely get flats when I am riding on these tire and normally get five thousand miles.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/6/2019
by Bikin'' Ed
Competitive Racer
Summit Co, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Golden

I use these mostly for commuting. Almost never a flat and nice ride. The wire bead seems to be easier to mount and dismount than a folder.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/8/2019
by Cycling-Gent
Cycling Enthusiast
Buda Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best Road Tire Anywhere

After 10 years of cycling totaling over 48,000 miles the Gatorskin is the only tire I use. I live in rural Texas on many rough roads. My first year or two I had weekly flats with sometimes 2 in a day. I was running though tires and money.

After I moved to Gatorskins my flats are almost non-existent. I have run over broken bottles cutting the tire yet still make it home. I normally get about 3,500 miles on my tires. I may change out a tube for a nail, sticker or other puncture YET still use the tire.

Best Road Tire Anywhere! Wait I said that already.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/9/2017
by SallyB
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Gatorskins Always

The Continental Gatorskins are not only light but are extremely durable. I have been logging 1500 miles per road tire and could probably get more miles if I waited to have a flat before replacing them. Also, they seem to retain air more readily then other road tires I've tried. Gatorskins are now my tired of choice for ride comfort, and confidence.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/19/2019
by DR
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tires

Gatorskins are the only tire I'll use. I've tried others only to be disappointed. BTD is the place to go for price. I haven't found them less expensive anywhere else. Plus, their shipping is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/1/2018
by Russ
Cycling Enthusiast
Olympia, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
The Gatorskin is a classic a bit slow rolling resistance made up for by the serious puncture resistance

I switched to this tire from a more narrow road tire for more stability and shock resistance. It serves these purposes very well. It is significantly slower as its hard and inflexible rubber needed for puncture resistance comes at the expense of rolling resistance. Totally worth it especially for the winter in the Northwest. Tires are great and as always, dealing with Bike Tires Direct a true pleasure.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/25/2019
by Smohr3
Cycling Enthusiast
Medina, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very impressed with Gatoskins. Have bought 12 over the last 5 years.

Good value, very durable-

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/15/2019
by Gappel
Cycling Enthusiast
Phoenix
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great. So far, no flats in goat head season

Ride about 75 or more miles per week in urban setting. Here in Arizona we have goat head issues. So far so good.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/10/2018
by MeaghanUT
Daily Commuter
Salt Lake City, UT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
One tough tire

These tires are great, durable, all weather tires that I use for commuting to work everyday. The wider surface area and thicker tires makes for a very comfortable ride. I've used them for over a month now and am very happy. Overall, I would say great purchase!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/18/2019
by Burlharper
Madison wis
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
fast service

Very fast service.and always ready to answer your questions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/11/2019
by Randy S
Cycling Enthusiast
92861
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
My Go To Tire

I've been riding Continental Gatorskin 700C Road Tires for years and they're a great tire. I just keep buying them over and over again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/21/2019
by Mike
yuma az
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Continental Gatorskin very good ride quality for a training tire

These tires are great for winters in the southwest for winter trading with all the tire wires on the road and all the goatheads we have from the desert very few flats

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/19/2014
by Bicycleman57
Cycling Enthusiast
Philadelphia PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
These tires cannot be beat, worth the weight and the cost.

I've tried many different types of tires from the modest priced ones to the very costly ones and none have measured up to the Gatorskins. I've completed 10 Ride the Rockies, and the only year I had flats (note the plural)was when I did not ride on Gatorskins. They are a bit heavier, but for the vast majority of riders this small additional weight will make little to no difference over 80, 90, or 100 miles. These are my go to tires and I fear not the broken glass, metal fibers, thornes, sharp rocks and all the other debris that come with riding. I ride urban, suburban and rural roads and trails and these work well on all surfaces. My current set have well over 4,000 miles and are still going strong.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/17/2014
by gcreason
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
21 of 21 customers found this review helpful.
Amazing combination of performance and durability

Recently, I rode Continental Gatorskins (700 x 32 with folding bead) on a fully loaded touring bike from San Diego to Boston. About 300 miles of the trip were on crushed limestone bike paths, with a few miles of coarse gravel. The Gatorskins turned out to be an excellent choice. They performed superbly. I started out with a pair of new Gatorskins on the bike, and one new spare. Then I rotated the three tires so that each one had approximately equal wear. During the entire 3,500 mile trip, I had only one flat, which was due to a typical piece of wire from a disintegrated truck tire, picked up on an interstate, in a rain storm. At the end of the trip, all three tires were in good condition, with many miles left in them. The Gatorskins are reasonably light, with good puncture resistance and resistance to cuts. They provide a comfortable ride and good traction. In addition to this tour, I have used the Gatorskins for urban commuting, for years. These tires deliver amazing performance at a reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/11/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
truth in labeling police

The 700x32s actually were 700x30 mounted up. Otherwise, these are a durable, high mileage tire. I've had about 10 of various sizes. At 200 lbs, on mostly chip-seal I often see 3-4K miles on the rear.

Performance-wise you give up nothing detectable vs 700x212325 and gain some rough road capability.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/21/2014
by Laura the aspie
Cycling Enthusiast
Cornville, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Continued report on my Gators

I have put at least 250 miles on them thus far, that I am currently using bike for rehab after injury is keeping miles lower than I would like. Now admittedly I have taken a belts and braces approach to flats following a flat every five miles or so with the stock tyres and tubes that worked fine in California. In mid elevation Aridzona the standard units had not a chance, we have stickers on stickers! So inside my Gatorskins are Flat Attack tubes.

The gators ride smoothly enough for my back, and they roll fast. No flats yet, and I think that their lack of tread is a good thing to keep thorns from finding a cosy place to hide.

Now another thing to add. They work in dirt. Well understand this is within reason. I run 700 X 32 which is a fairly narrow high pressure tyre and as such I do not expect flotation. The sidewalls are thin and flexy and doubtless would be upset at being bashed against ragged lava rocks. They are slick and do not excel at dirt traction. What I am saying is that they are not abyssimal. What I am saying is that on a dirt road, we have many here, they do jut fine at lower speeds such as is are lilely to be ridden by a hybrid bike with no suspension. They are not any worse than the stock tyres in any respect and so while a person seeking dirt needs different rubber on a different bike, should a few miles of decent dirt get between you and your destination ride on!

Still loving my Gators!

And more thanks to Bike Tires Direct!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/5/2014
by guambikes
Cycling Enthusiast
Guam, USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
21 of 22 customers found this review helpful.
Best commuter tire.

I have ridden this on a touring bike I use for commuting and a pure road bike I also use for commuting in Washington state (all seasons) and in Guam (only get one season) for the last two years. At 120 miles a week I have never gotten a flat. At 200 pounds and growing, thanks Corona, I'm not exactly a light weight. On one of my first rides on this tire I hit a bottle that exploded cutting my leg with glass. This tire couldn't have cared less. Without these I wouldn't commute here in Guam with all the drivers forcing me off the road where I have run over all manner of things including pieces of brake rotor, wheel weights, broken glass, and even dead animals. Weight isn't my greatest concern. Getting to work on time is. Buy these tires if this is your goal.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/17/2014
by Warrantone
Cycling Enthusiast
Salinas, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
33 of 33 customers found this review helpful.
Not perfect but the best available for durability/flat resistance without ridiculous amount of tread.

I buy all tires for the family so my experiences are more than what I alone acquired. One of my sons moved to an inner city area with lots of glass and started getting flats regularly. Gatorskins solved the problem. One flat in two years. Another son moved to an area with lots of sharp rocks and thorns. He was also plagued with flats. Again, Gatorskins solved the problem. They are impossible to mount with cheap tire irons but that is their only downside. Maybe foldables are easier - I've only used wire bead. At one point I looked around because I thought another efficient tire with similar ratings would be less expensive. Couldn't find anything better than the Continental Gatorskin. This is the longest lasting most flat resistant tire available unless you buy a heavy cumbersome touring tire with a lot of tread. Personally I ride over glass and rocks and only had one flat, even though the tread is squared off. They ride smooth and I've never had a problem on wet surfaces.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.