Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Gatorskin 26 Inch Road Tire

ContinentalGatorskin 26 Inch Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(46 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(29)
(12)
(3)
(1)
(1)
(63%)
(26%)
(7%)
(2%)
(2%)
Reviewed 9/24/2020
by gltorelli
China grove
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Gatorskins

Great riding and long lasting tires

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/27/2020
by Jose
whittier, CA
Overall Rating
Excellent tires, highly recommend.

Excellent tires! Riden about 300 miles and show no ware. Rode at Mammouth Lakes, at 47 miles per hour at some downhills they performed beautifully. Stable at cornering and rock solid when braking forcibly. I�m very impressed by these tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/8/2020
by not-fishing
Cycling Enthusiast
Folsom, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
My go-to tire for MTB on the Road Riding

A great tire for modding an old MTB for the road. With Covid19 those of us who know how to work on bikes in the family are busy resurrecting 26 old Bontragers, Fishers and Fat Chance bikes for other family members to ride.

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments
you get a B for mentioning Fat Chance in the review. Thanks.
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/14/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
A great tire

I am using these tires a on my tandem. They are doing a great job with the weight of two adult riders plus a 40 lb bicycle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/3/2020
by not-fishing
Cycling Enthusiast
Folsom, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
My go-to tire for MTB on the Road Riding

I can't remember how many pairs of these I've installed on mountain bike restorations for the family. Must be near 4 pairs with no flats which is the reason I switched to Continentals 25 years ago.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/15/2018
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Denver
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Consistent high performer

I have been using Gatorskins on my tmn bike, which my commuter. The ride feel is excellent, and the tires are solid in the area of wear. Easily get over 2,000 miles per set, compared to several sets of less expensive tires. These tires are pricey, and you really get what you pay for. The one downside is that side-walls do scuff up easily, but not to the extent where one needs to trash the tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/12/2019
by BentMike
Cycling Enthusiast
Savannah, GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Flat protection on Big Event Rides

Love riding events. Century's, Seattle To Portland, and this year Hotter Than Hell Hundred. The slight amount of extra weight the Gatorskins bring is more than accepted for not having a flat. Love these tires!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/5/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires, Great bike store

Gatorskins are just the best and Bike Tires Direct is great to do business with.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/29/2018
by Anonymous
San Diego
Overall Rating
Gator skins are the best

Gator skins are the best.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/2/2018
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
86326
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
baddass!

very much what you'd expect from conti. i have about 8 hours on these tires as of this writing and they are so cool! i wanted low rolling resistance, i got it! they're rated for 115 psi so they're hard as a rock and fast af. i put them on 28mm rims and they seat perfectly (i was a little worried). i'm having to adjust to using higher gears to compensate for the smaller diameter but that's hardly a complaint. sometimes when i'm trying to really stomp it i do little burnouts w the rear but this is to be expected with a tread-less tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/8/2018
by Ted Kowalski CEC AAC RCC
St Augustine, FL
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Instant Performance

These Gatorskins will instantly transform your mountain bike into a quick performance bike. At 100 psi they are very comfortable and still roll very well. Just fantastic!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/3/2014
by GNRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Syracuse, UT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
So far so good

This review is for the 26 inch tire. I have been running the same one in the 29 size for years. My wife's bike is a step through and it had Wall-mart road tires on it. I wanted to decrease the rolling resistance of the bike so I installed this 120 lbs tire vs the 80 lbs tires that were on the bike. Rolling resistance has been reduced. The only problems I have had with this tire on my other bike is that the sun damages the sidewall of the tire quickly. I have slime in my tires and blew a tube. Some of the slime actually oozed through the side wall it had become so porous. The tire wears OK, but is not resistant to goat head thorns. I run this tire, a plastic liner and still have to use slime to plug the holes the thorns make.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/26/2013
by GNRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Syracuse, UT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Not very UV resistant

I have had this tire on for about a year. My bike is in the garage when I am not on it. I ride about 60 miles a week. The tire is wearing rapidly, and it sidewall seem to be deteriorating. When I had a tube explode and some of the green slime that was in the tube came through the sidewall.

The tire is supposed to be puncture resistant, but I have had several punctures from different thorns and other organic objects.

Grip is good and on the most part it has been a satisfactory tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/12/2013
by TX_Jax
Casual Cyclist
Southeast Arizona
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Not puncture resistant.

First ride after replacing both tires and tubes. Ran across a break in the path of a few feet. Arizona has sand burrs, a sticker that looks like a small mace with spikes all over it. Picked up a bunch. Stopped and pulled them off, but everything looked okay. Ten minutes later at home. One hour later, both tires flat. That band of kevlar is cp. Soapy water revealed several punctures, both tires, in the tread areas. New tires and tubes, again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/4/2013
by passionate rider
Cycling Enthusiast
South Central Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Wow, what a difference these tires have made on my bike.

These tires have helped transform my mountain bike (along with a few other upgrades)to a road bike. My workouts are longer and more enjoyable. My average speed has improved 3 to 5 miles an hour. I have ridden on these tires for about 700 miles. They are still like new (Minor wear on the rear tire. No flats.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/30/2017
by Connor
Daily Commuter
Denver
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
One of few options for 26 inch tandems

Great road tire option for my 26 inch wheeled Santana tandem. Fast and very puncture resistant. I dont like the short life of the sidewall mesh though. Do not last nearly as long as my road GP 4000s2s.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/7/2017
by FR
Daily Commuter
San Francisco, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
super-tough. wire bead

I ride these on my street bike until they wear down. I had forgotten that they have a steel bead (not kevlar) so they're pretty hard to get on and off the rim.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/31/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Good Tire Value

Use for my Bacchetta Giro on the back, doesn't break the bank, and got almost 3000 miles out of it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/30/2013
by dganchorage
Cycling Enthusiast
brooklyn, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
durable but a little harsh

difficult to install on my ritchey rims and the ride is a little harsh but rolling resistance is good and so far so is durability.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/19/2013
by Chris R
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Super fast rolling MTB street tire with excellent flat protection.

I purchased these tires for a folding mountain bike that I travel with all year. Previous tires I had were ok, but I got too many flats. Plus running them at 115 psi makes keeping up with my roadie friends much easier. These tires are fast and durable.

You wont be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 71