Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Gatorskin 26 Inch Road Tire

ContinentalGatorskin 26 Inch Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(48 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(30)
(13)
(3)
(1)
(1)
(63%)
(27%)
(6%)
(2%)
(2%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 9/30/2013
by dganchorage
Cycling Enthusiast
brooklyn, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
durable but a little harsh

difficult to install on my ritchey rims and the ride is a little harsh but rolling resistance is good and so far so is durability.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/19/2013
by Chris R
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Super fast rolling MTB street tire with excellent flat protection.

I purchased these tires for a folding mountain bike that I travel with all year. Previous tires I had were ok, but I got too many flats. Plus running them at 115 psi makes keeping up with my roadie friends much easier. These tires are fast and durable.

You wont be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/9/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New Orleans, LA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Very Weak Sidewalls

I bought this tires solely for their reputation of protecting against flats. I live in city where the streets are pockmarked and those pockmarks are filled with broken glass and gravel. Serious tires are needed. I had Gatorskin Hardshell's on my old bike and did not get a single puncture flat in a year. This was after getting three or four flats a month with cheap tires.

I could not find 26' Hardshell's. I figured the regular Gatorskin's would not be too much of a downgrade. I was concerned when I pulled them out of the box and saw how much thinner the tread was compared to the Hardshells. It might be worth mentioning this is the hardest to install tire I have ever experienced. If I did not have a tire jack I don't think I would have been able to mount them.

I rode for about fifty miles before I hit something that cut a serious gash in the sidewall.

I will credit the customer service of Bike Tires Direct. They gave me a discount on a set of Marathon Plus tires. So far, knock on wood, no flats.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/26/2013
by MP
Competitive Racer
Colorado and Washington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
These are the best tires for a 26" tandem by a wide margin.

My wife and I have a Santana tandem and finding a tire that can handle the added load and still ride smooth and fast has been difficult. After trying several different tires from Specialized and Ritchey (Tom Slicks don't hold a candle to these,) the Conti Gatorskins are a revelation. Great tire, reasonably quiet, feel supple with good feedback from the road, and able to handle high pressure and load. Good in both wet and dry conditions. Buy these!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/22/2013
by Kurtmugin
Cycling Enthusiast
Willamette Valley, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
These are tough tires

This is my 3rd set of these tires. They are extremely puncture resistant, have low rolling resistance, excellent traction in the corners, and long life. I've had other puncture resistant brands that did not hold up nearly so well. Great tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/28/2013
by Dave
Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent tire for long trips.

I go one 500 mile trips once or twice a year, as well as, participate in 60-100 mile one day events throughout the year. Of course there are a lot of training miles to prepare to do these things. The Gatorskin tires have proven to be the longest lasting, most durable, and best ride of the tires I have tried.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/18/2013
by Anonymous D
Casual Cyclist
Washington DC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great commuter - very fast and very durable

Got these on sale, so the price was right. Love how they make my mountain bike handle pavement, especially hills and turns. A little tougher to mount than others, as the wire bead is quite strong. Also, make sure you get the high pressure rim strips to go with them (sucks to have super tough tires only to get flats from the inside).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/7/2013
by SPL
Cycling Enthusiast
Mid Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires, hard to mount on Specialized Alex rims

I have Continental Gatorskins in the 700x28 size on my tandem and on the rear wheel of my Goldrush long wheelbase recumbent. I purchased these in the 26 inch size for a Specialized mountain bike w Alex rims w disk brakes. I replaced a thin, plastic rim strip with 16 mm Velox rim tape that was a bit thicker. Big mistake! It made the tires nearly impossible to mount. I had to take the wheels to my local bike shop. They mounted one successfully. A different mechanic worked on the second wheel. He replaced the Velox rim tape with an FSA plastic rim strip that was thinner (and cheaper). The tires and tubes are a full pound lighter (each wheel) than the knobby mountain bike tires and tubes they replaced. The bike rides like a road bike now. I'm just afraid if I get a flat, I won't be able to fix it on the road with the plastic Park tire levers that I carry. If you plan on mounting these tires on Alex rims, consider yourself warned that they are extremely difficult to mount.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/6/2013
by L Price
Cycling Enthusiast
Arkansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good tires, but weak sidewalls.

I use these tires as everyday tires as well as touring tires on my recumbent bikes. I use these 26 x 1-1/8 on two of my recumbents and the 650C size on another recumbent. This size is fairly easy to mount compared to the 650C size. I can do it without using a tire lever. These tires give me about 2500 miles on the rear, and about 4000 miles on the front. It pays to rotate them every thousand, or so. The tread grip is good, wet or dry. I almost never flat from road debris through the tread, but I have blown out several sidewalls on these and the 650C tires. If the sidewalls were stronger I would have given them 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/2/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good, not great

I use these for commuting in San Jose, CA. Seasonal hazards include thorns and goatheads, perpetual hazards are drywall screws, glass, and staples. (you know, typical urban flotsam). I think a case could be made that these tires protect from thorns and somewhat from glass, but they aren't perfect. They are good, solid tires, I just don't think they are worth extra money (got a good deal on them on BTD).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/18/2013
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Not really puncture resistance as mention on the box

Second day, i have a glass puncture. Not really what I expected

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments

Even the most puncture resistant tires can get flats from road hazards. While the Continental Gatorskin tires are designed to ward off most punctures - and are reported to do a great job most of the time - we do suggest taking care to avoid riding over hazards whenever possible.

Thanks,
Theo
Customer Service

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/11/2013
by 1 old triker
Casual Cyclist
Phoenix, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I bought the tire to improve the speed Capability of my KMX trike.

I ride a 2007 recumbent trike and it felt like the wheels were glued down. In Arizona we also have small thorns shed from certain local plants that are EVERYWHERE. The 26 X 1-1/8 Gatorskin, along with two other narrow tires improved my cruising speed about 2 miles an hour. I have not had flats either, even after riding over 100 miles in the last few weeks.

The joy of riding has been restored.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/31/2012
by Bob Henne
Cycling Enthusiast
home is roseburg or.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
wish it folded

Im in Phoenix for the winter and im using 26 in gatorskins because of the thorn issue. last time i used contis, and i believe these flat less. mounting (at least on my rims) i believe would be much easier with a stretched folding version.my bike is and old r.m. altitude with a rigid fork, (all road riding).i really wish schwalbe still made a 26x1 folding slick,the best overall road mtn. tire ive ever used.STELVIO

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/11/2012
by Kenny
Competitive Racer
Goldsboro, N.C.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I race handcycles and these tires are fast and reliable.

I use this tire on my handcycle, I am in a wheelchair and race marathons in the handcycle division. Theses tires are reliable, light and roll well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/30/2012
by Francisco
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent tires for commuting

I was using my old hard tail with the 26 fat tires as a commuter. Friends had recommended slicks, but I ignored their advice for a long time. I finally saw the light and asked a friend who is an expert for a recommendation and he said Gatorskins. I read reviews and decided to go for it. It has been such an improvement! The bike feels lighter and easier to maneuver. The tires have great grip and do well in rainy Portland. My only regret is not having made the switch sooner.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/28/2012
by vincent
Cycling Enthusiast
albuquerque
Value Rating
Overall Rating
nice tire

use it on a single speed bike for commuting.

pros-

fast rolling,

kevlar helps with punctures from goatheads

con-

hit a pothole and blew out. may have been my fault-tire may not have been fully inflated.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/22/2012
by bentguy
Cycling Enthusiast
Arkansas Hills
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good Recumbent Tire

I use these tires on my recumbents as rear tires. They are good long-mileage tires with excellent flat protection. I would have given them 5 stars, but I did get irreparable damage to one from hitting a gravel that lacerated the sidewall. I would recommend the tires without hesitation.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/31/2012
by Xstream
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Kansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Looking for higher mileage with fewer flats?

I am using these tires on both my Rans recumbents Stratus XP and Xstream. The tires are close to slicks with very little tread. I have dropped the Xstream on wet asphalt during a turn at apparently too high a speed. (I didn't think so at the time). They are light, relatively high pressure (110 psi), nice rolling and I am expecting higher mileage with fewer flats. So far, so good, but I have less than 500 miles on either set.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/3/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Not bad

These tires are surprisingly fast given the extra armor (I sometimes use my MTB for the local hammerfests). They roll about as smooth as the 26x1 Ritchey Tom Slick, but they wear much better IMO. I've also rolled right over broken glass at 110 PSI with absolutely no puncture. I'd say the only thing that beats these are the Conti 26x1.x GP4000 for slightly faster rolling.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/16/2012
by carider
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
great 26in tire

best 26in slick tire around, and can be inflated to 120lbs for the road ride

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 57

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]