Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Challenge Gravel Grinder Tire

ChallengeGravel Grinder Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(52 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(41)
(8)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(79%)
(15%)
(6%)
(0%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 8/25/2015
by mike
Competitive Racer
Lenexa, Ks
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Great all around tire

I use my Specialized Crux as a cross-gravel-secondary road training bike and put a lot of miles on the bike. I wanted a good gravel tire that would be able to handle a wide range of terrain and still roll well on the road. This tire has been the perfect tire. No problems with punctures, easy to run low pressures for rough roads, good traction, and rolls well on pavement. The width is very nice and the key to this tire. On 25mm rims the tire measures around 40mm and that is key in its ability to maintain traction on really rough gravel roads. The side knobs are nice when you corner as you start to slip and then they kick in and you get the much needed traction. I have not used this tire tubeless.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/29/2015
by Gravelmeister
Cycling Enthusiast
Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent for everything from rocky gravel to pavement!

I trained on these for several months and several thousand miles - mostly on pavement - leading to this year's Dirty Kanza 200. Then, I mounted a new set for the race itself. On pavement, these tires run fast. I did group rides on pavement with my roadie friends and stayed in the lead group. No problems. In fact, I still hold an 8-mile paved Strava KOM with these tires and couldn't beat it last weekend on my 25mm road tires on my road bike. In the Dirty Kanza 200, I think these are the perfect tire. Excellent in all conditions, including loose gravel, big gravel, sandy dirt, and the rough, rocky descents of DK. Very stable. Excellent traction. Always lively. And NO FLATS! I weigh 170 and I used 5055 inflation pressures.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/18/2018
by MartyJ
Concord, NH
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great for mixed, on-off road

I have ridden hundreds of miles on pavement, gravel and dirt roads. The center tread allows less rolling resistance on pavement and outside knobs provide cornering grip on looser surfaces.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/1/2015
by GravelK
Cycling Enthusiast
Syracuse, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Seems like a great tire but questionable quality control

Many people rave about this product but I had a disappointing experience. One of my tires had a bulge that was big enough to be noticeable from bike-mechanics' eyes, and annoying when riding on a paved road. Otherwise, they felt like a great choice for gravels with a very supple feeling and a good balance of low rolling resistance and traction (but I only rode 60miles with them). Thankfully, the customer service at BikeTriesDirect.com provided me with Clement MSOs as replacement (because these were already sold out) right away. I am very happy with MSO. If you choose these tires over MSO (and I can see there are a few reasons to do so - slightly narrower profile (better tire clearance), lighter weight, familiar tread patterns (for CX cyclists), etc, I would make sure the tires are perfectly round before riding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/6/2018
by MartyJ
Concord, NH
Overall Rating
Light gravel tire, good for mixed riding

These tires work well for pavement, gravel and dirt. They have minimal tread on the center and are lightweight for low rolling resistance and the knobs on the sides provide traction in looser terrain.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/29/2015
by Anonymous
Midwest
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Fast and dependable

Put 400 miles of gravel under them so far and no flats. They are fast rolling and corner well with the large side knobs. Surprising grip while climbing on gravel. The sidewalls are supple and the tires feel great at the recommended 45psi

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/24/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Pennsylvania
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Terrific all-around tire

These are the best tires I've found for riding gravel and dirt roads. They have a tall/narrow profile so they take a lot of the edge off the roads but still roll pretty fast. I can feel the weight when climbing but otherwise don't feel much slower on these than I do on my road bike running 23's. Not good in mud, but good enough on dry singletrack as well.

They do wear somewhat quickly on pavement, rotated after about 500 miles. But I haven't found a tire with any kind of tread that doesn't.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/13/2015
by BG
Competitive Racer
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Great gravel race tire.

Used these tires with Challenge latex tubes for two 62 mile gravel races, Barry Roubaix and Rough Road 100. Inflated them to 45. Very comfortable ride. They roll super fast on all surfaces. While others were flatting over a particularly rough section I was fine. These are my go to race tire. Of note, the rear tire is wearing very fast. I have done some, not a ton, training miles on the road but am still a little surprised how fast the center tread is wearing. I have a set of the Clement LAS tires that have way more road miles and show little signs of wear. Lastly, while advertised at 38 I'm not sure they measure out that wide and I'm using the Industry Nine i25 wheelset which has a bit rider rim.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/5/2018
by Lou
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Met the gravel ride challenge very weel.

Rode for the first time on the Cycle Oregon Gravel Ride in the Tillamook Forest west of Portland. Met my expectations on both dry (Saturday) and Sunday (wet) rides in gravel, mud and hard pack.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/31/2014
by 38South
Cycling Enthusiast
Geelong, Australia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
The name reflects the ability.

I'd been running Sammy Slicks as my summer tyres, riding a combination of gravel roads, fire trail and single track. Bike is a Lynskey CX with CurveHope wheels. Having read a review or two on the Grinders, I pulled the trigger.

They are better than what I expected, so much so the Sammy's are gather dust on a shelf. The width, volume of the 38mm makes a noticeable difference in handling. As the seasons progress the track and road surfaces dry out, and turn from hard pack to loose gravel and sand. I run 5560 in the hard pack, and 5055 once the gravel starts to break up.

Tyre wear wise, the rear is holding up well, more so compared with the Sammy's. Comfort and performance wise, they are probably the best tyres I've ever ridden. Some of the routes I ride include a return on tar seal roads, and on those I can happily sit on 27-30kmh as a warm down.

I've not tried the lightweight inner tubes Challenge recommends, I'd prefer a tubeless, but will have to wait.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/2/2014
by emacdo
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon Country
Value Rating
Overall Rating
12 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Love this tire!

Bought this tire to ride on gravel, obviously. I'd been running Challenge Eroicas, which ae nice, but still a little squirrelly in deep gravel and fast down hills. These though, are the cat's meow. Rode the Oregon Stampede on them with no flats over 125 miles of jeep trails, basalt gravel, large rocks, and pavement. Had no body soreness afterwards either, which attests to their incredbly flexible sidewalls and shock absorption. Have put around 500 miles on them total, and the tread still looks new. Plush ride, tough, runs equally well with 75 psi or 40 psi, what's not to like.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/23/2018
by Viva velo
Cycling Enthusiast
Grand Junction.Co
Value Rating
Overall Rating
On road off road perfect

Not slow on pavement and very stable and quick on dirt roads and tracks. This is the one tire for everything on my Specialized Crux.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/24/2018
by Slade
Cycling Enthusiast
Fort Collins, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Bites hard in corners

I've ridden these for 2 seasons and, overall, I like them. They roll fast on pavement and dirt, they wear well (still plenty of life left on mine - I rotate FR each season), I have yet to get a flat, and they're a good value on sale thru BTD. My one con is that they bite hard in corners, especially in loose gravel and dirt. My go-to loop is a mixture of pavement, graveldirt roads and some fast stretches of singletrack. I find that when I take a loose corner at speed, these will start to slide at first and then bite hard as the outer lugs grip. For that reason, I'd say they're best suited to dirtgravel roads (as the name implies) than high-speed singletrack. It's not a deal-breaker for me, but you do need good bike handling skills so as not to over-correct.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/21/2018
by jamisjockey
Cycling Enthusiast
Virgina
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Wow! Maybe a little narrower than advertised

I've only got one ride on these but I'm super happy with them! My clement tires aren't very confident cornering, even on the road. These challenge tires transition real well in corners and lock up nicely on gravel. Reasonably fast on road or dry hardpack as well. Corner well in gravel.

I mounted them on a pretty narrow pair of road rims (vuelta) and my micrometer says they're more like 32's on these rims.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/2/2018
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
BTD is an awesome place to shop

Great product, especially on sale

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/14/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
upstate New York
Value Rating
Overall Rating
just what I wanted

Just what I was looking for. The larger size fits and will be usable for both paved and dirt roads. Plan to buy a 33 for my wife's bike once they are in stock.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/9/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Super fast tires

These tires are very fast, they roll well, but still have good traction when needed.

They have good grip in gravel and the side knobs have enough grip to keep you from losing the front wheel if you hit an unexpected patch of deep sand. As expected they provide virtually no forward traction in deep lose sand.

The only downside is the 38mm tires measure out to 35mm on my wheels, but so far their performance has more than made up for being skinnier than advertised. I'll probably get about 800 miles out of the rear which is on par with other tires I've used.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/4/2017
by Jake Oakley
Cycling Enthusiast
Lehigh Valley Pennsylvania
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Purchased for FallWinter trail, road and gravel riding

I have been riding with the 700x32 tires that came with my bike - worked well in spring and summer riding. Wanted to go to 38s for fall and winter. I have been riding more canal trails and plan on continuing through the fall and winter months. Have about 250 canal trail miles on these tires - they are holding up perfectly, have PSI 55 front and 65psi rear. No flats and a very comfortable and stable ride.

Great price and quick shipping.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/21/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great Gravel Tire

Bought these for Rasputitsa and they delivered. The wider version of the Chicane, these puppies hook right up in packed snow in Cyberia and the side lugs hold when it gets a bit sketchy. Bought a second set after riding these.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/17/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Good tire overall

Good all around Gravel grinder but a bit on the heavy side

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 09

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]