Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Cat Eye Padrone Wireless Bike Computer

Cat EyePadrone Wireless Bike Computer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(28 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(16)
(7)
(1)
(2)
(2)
(57%)
(25%)
(4%)
(7%)
(7%)
Reviewed 11/17/2020
by Ardadian
Cycling Enthusiast
Missouri
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Intelligently designed and accurate.

This is my 3rd Padrone. The first one lasted forever, the 2nd shot craps in a couple weeks. I bought a different Cateye model, and that one also failed in a few weeks. For awhile I relied on my bike-mounted Garmin 64, but missed the backup and accuracy- checking of two units, so I bought my present Padrone. So far, so good. Compared to most other bike computers, the display on this model is huge and easy to read, which I like. And the fork mounted sensor has much greater adjustment range than the oher Cateye model I tried. If you have a bike with a wide fork, like me, you may need this. One caveat with the Padrone, a quirk which makes it either irritating or endearing, depending on your temperament: to reset it you press the lower edge of the unit. This is fast and easy, but it means the unit can accidentally be reset by incautious movements. Most of the time this is not a big deal, but if you're on a long or fast ride and you need your data.... Still, I would not discourage the purchase of this computer, it is extremely accurate, usually showing within a few hundredths of a mile what my Garmin shows, and my Garmin is very accurate.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/20/2020
by Biker Bob
phoenix
Overall Rating
Big numbers for an old guy

Love this speedo. I have one on every bike. I can actually read it

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/7/2020
by Dean
Cycling Enthusiast
Salt Lake City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
bought three for my bikes, great unit for basic operations

rotate three bikes and like having the same computer functions. Work well and good visibility in varied conditions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/1/2020
by Charles
Springfield
Overall Rating
Works great

Simple yet effective.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/28/2020
by Biker bob
phoenix az
Overall Rating
Easy to read

Easy to read, reliable, accurate and long battery life. I have one on every bike

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/14/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Salt Lake City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
easy to read and set up, durable.

I put this unit on all three of my bikes, have had no issues and easy to read in bright light.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/8/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Maine
Value Rating
Overall Rating
25 of 26 customers found this review helpful.
No Complaints

Roadie here I bought the Padrone because it has the same features as the Strada RD300W, minus the pace arrow, on an easier to read screen, for less money. Setup went smoothly and the mounting hardware is all top notch quality. The unit size is large enough that I believe it might be a little clunky mounted on the handlebar, seems more in its element on the stem or with out front accessory. I have it mounted on the stem and it looks great. The sensor can be mounted on the right side of the fork facing backward (not recommended, as it would be sucked into the spokes should it be knocked inward) or the left half of the folk facing forward. Magnet has stayed in place so far with bladed spokes. Sensor size is average.

Other than its perceived quality and doing what any no-frills computer is supposed to do, some specific pros

- Mounting system (but would be nice to provide two extra zip ties)

- Unit clicks into its mount very securely.

- No delay as you're scrolling through the unit's basic functions (this is a complaint in one Strada review)

My two complaints

- Padrone is single touch, glove friendly operation. The button on the back of the unit is activated by pressing the lower edge of the unit, rocking it on its mount and depressing the button you cannot see. This is great, except that I accidentally reset my trip data three times on my first ride. You may not realize it, but when you're off your bike making a pit stop, the stem is often what you grab to walk/hold your bike. I reset it twice off the bike and once while riding. I would love if they added a hold switch to the side so that two things need to happen for data to be lost.

- Yes the screen is considerably larger than your average basic computer, but, in operation, there's a considerable amount of screen space that is wasted. Padrone form factor with ANT capability would be sweet.

Random tidbits

- The odometer will reset when you replace the battery, but there is a way to manually enter a desired odometer reading after the new battery is installed.

- 2 yr warranty

- Sensor range is advertised as 70 cm

- I have not ridden enough to judge its susceptibility to interference.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/19/2019
by scappoose cowboy
Cycling Enthusiast
the mts. between Scappoose and Vernonia, or.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
hard to program

Hard to program wheel size ,time, etc. but once done the unit works pretty good. I have had interference from my headlight which caused erratic numbers on the unit. I changed lights and it worked ok again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/9/2019
by Marko biker
Cycling Enthusiast
KY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
this is a great cycling computer

I love the bigger screen . I can see it without my reading glasses

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/4/2019
by ChartMKE
Cycling Enthusiast
Milwaukee, WI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Functional and Basic

Easy to install, simple to use.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/11/2019
by Double L
Simsbury, CT
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
R F Interference

Radio Frequence Interference emitted from lights

like the stronger Nite Rider models will interfer with the operation of this unit when the lights are in the flashing mode . The mileage and speed will go to zero or read incorrectly . This will not happen with GPS computers . Be aware !

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/22/2015
by trublucali
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacto, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Works for me....

Little tricky to get installed and configured, but the directions are pretty good. When you install the mount, be aware that the little plastic wheel has to be tightened down so that you can have a tight cable. Not 100% clear in directions. Once I got that, things came together. Very large display for us old folks! I like it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/28/2015
by LoneRider
Cycling Enthusiast
USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Big Cateye Screen Is Just Wasted Space

Road use on stem and out front mount. PROS Color choices, price if on sale, works as well as other Cateye wireless computers, and instructions are getting a little easier. CONS Biggest Cateye screen but it just shows the same data as all other Cateye computers (except the Smart or GPS ones). Cateye should have gone with 3 rows of data on a screen this size. Cateye should have made a GPS Padrone with this big screen instead of the Smart model with tiny screen. Cateye just doesn't get the obvious.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/20/2015
by ibikeswimrun
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
for display size, it needs a bigger mount

While I have two other cat eye products I really like, I bought this one for a hybrid bike I own. However, it seems that the extra mass of the huge (easy to read) display just overwhelms the base and it falls out. I have resorted to electrical tape to hold it into position, which does seem to work, for awhile. In the end, because of concern for losing it bouncing down trails, I moved it to another road bike that sees less bumps that might dislodge it.

Pro very easy to install, easy to read display, price not bad

Con the mount is undersized for the display weight, needs a redesign

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/23/2018
by scappoose cowboy
Cycling Enthusiast
the mts. between Scappoose and Vernonia, or.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
this basic speedo does the job

my wife and I each have one on our road bikes,with both computers set up the same. On a 50 mile ride together, her's will say about 2 miles more than mine,avg. speed will vary by about .5 miles,and riding side by side hers will say she is going about.5 miles an hour faster.they should read data closer together.also we had to try different headlights because they interfered with the speedo even working.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/9/2018
by Dick Ladieu
Cycling Enthusiast
St.George, Utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Computer easy to install and very easy to read !

I use this computer on my Roubaix road bike. I previously had a base model Cateye and it was difficult to read as it had a smaller screen and did not show average speed which is important to me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/1/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Simple and Easy - maybe too much so.

The Padrone Cycling Computer works flawlessly for me. I love the big display.

If I have a single complaint, it would be it's almost too easy to reset the ride measurements. Pressing and holding MODE (the only button on the face of the unit) when on the measurement screen resets all measurement data to 0 (excluding Odo) - something I have accidentally done several times.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/27/2014
by laird
Cycling Enthusiast
lincoln, ne
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
best cat eye yet

this is the easiest set-up - easiest to read cat eye computer I've ever owned - enlarged read-out helps my old eye see what I need at a glance

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/12/2019
by BIKEMAN
Cycling Enthusiast
MISSISSIPPI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
You can't go wrong with a Padrone!

I use the Padrone on all three of my bikes. I love this device because it meets my cycling needs. I ride 37-38 miles per day. Go Padrone !

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/21/2014
by Nick
Casual Cyclist
Martha''s VIneyard
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Disappointed. Have yet to get it to work. Speed sensor not communicating with computer!

I have written the company in Japan for further trouble shooting advice, but I have been messing around with this thing since I have gotten it.

It sure has a lot of potential,,,,,but not for me!

I would like my money back please.

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments

Hi Nick,

Thanks for your review! I'm sorry to hear you're having trouble with your computer. We haven't heard of this issue happening. Please get in touch with our customer service department at [email protected] -- we'd love to see if we can help you out, or arrange a return of your potentially defective item.

Thanks,
Stacia

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 72