Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Castelli Mens Spettacolo RoS Glove

CastelliMen's Spettacolo RoS Glove(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(30 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(20)
(9)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(67%)
(30%)
(3%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by garagon

Reviewed 12/22/2023
by garagon
Cycling Enthusiast
New Mexico
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Warm, light, easy on and off

Gloves are light and warm. Especially like the zippers, they allow easy on and off.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by ScottieMo

Reviewed 12/3/2018
by ScottieMo
Daily Commuter
Bristol, CT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
A versitile set of gloves

I've been using these gloves daily since I bought them. Temps have ranged from mid 40F to 0F ambient. Above freezing, they are great on the own. Below freezing, I've been using them in conjunction with some pogies. They have a good feel for brifter use, easy enough to use a computer or Di2 system, and perfect for daily winter use.

The one complaint I have is that the wrist zipper is designed for use on a thin jersey layer and doesn't do bulkier layers as well. So if you're planning on wearing them to the outside of a jacket to seal a wind entrance, they might be tight.

We'll see how well they hold up. After blowing through 2 pairs last season, I'm hoping they do better. Construction is solid, having some extra protection on the thumb area for hood riding is clutch, and the material seems to be holding up against daily use and weekly cleaning.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Phil W

Reviewed 12/3/2018
by Phil W
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Novel Concept

The zipper opening is a novel concept that makes the gloves easy to get on and off, even if your hands are sweaty. I had hoped that the Spettacolo RoS gloves would be able to keep my hands warm down to freezing temperatures but they fall a bit short of that-they are fine down to about 40 degrees F or possibly a couple of degrees lower but no more than that (at least for me). They are not too bulky, allowing for accurate shifting even with electronic shifters. However, sizing does run a little large as I have worn size large in previous Castelli gloves and I required a size medium in this model. Overall, a good addition to the Castelli line of gloves.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MN_Rando

Reviewed 5/19/2022
by MN_Rando
Cycling Enthusiast
Minnesota
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Overall a good value

Purchased these during one of the Gold Express Deals put on, and am very happy with the overall value. Super warm for conditions from 30-45 degrees (Fahrenheit). My only restraint on giving it a full 5 stars is restricted breathability, which is why I think the mid-40s in temp is the warmest I'd rock these guys. A workout is to unzip once warmed up on the bike, but the fingers still get damp. I'm not sure anyone has produced gloves that can strike a balance of windproofing, warmth, and breathability but for the price, these come darn close.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dave H

Reviewed 1/15/2022
by Dave H
Cycling Enthusiast
Williamsburg, VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Sizing is good - Not as effective in cold weather below 40

I cycling in the morning before work (and many times before the sun is up) so generally hit the coldest part of a cycling day. I was hoping, with a liner that these gloves would keep my fingers from getting cold (and stiff) in the 27 - 38 degree range. Unfortunately not. Within about 25 minutes my fingers are very cold and by the time I arrive back home on 65 minute ride, I can't even use the fingers to punch in the garage door code to open the door. I have used above 40 without liners and they are fine. I also agree with another reviewer about zippering on especially when the first glove is on. And a real challenge getting them unzipped when the fingers are so cold.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Shawn

Reviewed 2/15/2023
by Shawn
SF North Bay
Overall Rating
These are great!

I needed colder weather glove and these worked out great. Good for 40� Nor-Cal weather.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Wilburbud2

Reviewed 2/2/2023
by Wilburbud2
Cycling Enthusiast
Mount Kisco, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A solid option for cool and wet weather option

The Spettacolo RoS Glove is a very interesting offering in the cool to cold weather glove space. They are very well made and super comfortable. I have worn them in weather from 40-50 fahrenheit and they have functioned very well. My only hesitation in giving the Spettacolos a five star rating is that I wish it had a small amount of gel in the palm. Other than that these are first rate and highly recommended.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Peter Millet

Reviewed 12/16/2020
by Peter Millet
Vermont
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect warmth and great design

It's always tough to find a cold weather cycling glove that does not eventually cause your hands to sweat as you warm up. These gloves solve that dilemma nicely. With the zipper across the back of the hand, you can easily vent theses gloves to release heat as you warm up. They fit great and seem well made. Not sure how waterproof they are as I have not used them in rain yet. You do need two hands to unzip from the fully zipped position, so may need a quick stop.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Peter Millet

Reviewed 12/14/2020
by Peter Millet
Vermont
Overall Rating
Perfect warmth and great design

It's always tough to find a cold weather cycling glove that does not eventually cause your hands to sweat as you warm up. These gloves solve that dilemma nicely. With the zipper across the back of the hand, you can easily vent theses gloves to release heat as you warm up. They fit great and seem well made. Not sure how waterproof they are as I have not used them in rain yet. You do need two hands to unzip from the fully zipped position, so may need a quick stop.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Brian C.

Reviewed 12/10/2020
by Brian C.
Cycling Enthusiast
Northeast Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Gloves worth investing in.

Although some feel these are at the high end of the cost spectrum they are worth the money. If you want to buy once and be done this is the glove for you. I have a different pair of fingerless gloves that take me down to 50 degrees then I move to these to go down to 33 - 34 degrees. My hand measures 8-7/8" circumference and I wear a 9-1/2 wedding ring. I bought a medium and a large. Medium fit my hand perfectly snug but I was not able to zip over my jersey. However, if your hand is any bigger they would be to tight. I went with the large and they first great. These are not supposed to fit jeresy snug, but are still close. If you want a glove that has little bulk, is warm, and great windblocking, these are great.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by auren

Reviewed 3/2/2023
by auren
Cycling Enthusiast
Nor Cal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfy and warm down to @40 degrees Farenheit

Bought on sale and keep my hands warm, with a liner down to @40 degrees. Below 40 I go to warmer gloves. I don't find them difficult to get on or off or to zip, unlike some other reviewers.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/11/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Planet Earth
Value Rating
Overall Rating
awesome gloves

I ordered these because I needed another set of winter gloves and these just happened to match my kit. Exceeded my expectations! Warm, easy to put on and sometimes even work my phone. They were comfortable at 32degrees till somewhere mid 40s before the got a little warm. Unlike some other winter gloves, they dry quickly as well, bonus. Bottom line? Yeah, I'd buy them again.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by GABiker

Reviewed 1/17/2022
by GABiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice! Work Well.

Worn on a few cool/cold rides so far. Upper 30s/low 40s no problem. I did double glove with a thin Castelli glove on a low 30s ride. Not sure it was necessary. Took thin glove off about an hour and a half into the ride. Zipper is nice to vent if needed.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by jney

Reviewed 12/9/2021
by jney
Cycling Enthusiast
SLC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Pretty good gloves

I like these gloves. Warm and snug. The only thing I don't like is the wrist zipper. Very hard to zip with one hand since they are so snug on the wrist. Once you get them zipped they're great but just a little difficult to do so. Overall, I like them.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/26/2021
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Philadelphia, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great gloves, weird sizing

Basically all the Castelli stuff I've ever owned has run small. That's not the case with these gloves -- if anything, they run a tiny bit large. Don't size up. They're expensive, but they really do work as advertised, and are far warmer than their weight and thickness would suggest. Nicely water resistant, too.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Cesar

Reviewed 11/25/2021
by Cesar
NYC
Overall Rating
Awesome and comfortable

These gloves are amazing. I received them yesterday, and went for a ride right away. My hands were super warm, on 30 degrees weather. I'm 100% sure these gloves are for colder weather, which I needed.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/27/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Winter Glove

These gloves do as advertised and keep your hands warm (I've put them through a few 30 degree rides)! My only knock on them is the material to operate a smartphone is very hit or miss, but using a bike computer or shifting has been perfect!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Crashcoia

Reviewed 4/6/2020
by Crashcoia
Cycling Enthusiast
Brigantine NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
keeps hand warm down to 30 degrees

I ride all year and i found these to be perfect for me easy on and off and I can operate my phone with easy. Downside is if you have a large wrist, its a very smug fit for me and i have a small wrist...

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Paul

Reviewed 3/23/2020
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
Chico,Ca..
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent product,yes,I bought a second pair for a friend.

The product is comfortable the zipper works well and the material appears to be made of high quality.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by S

Reviewed 12/23/2021
by S
New Jersey
Overall Rating
Useful

Great pair of gloves, not so warm in mild temps but warm enough in around 30F.

My only complaint would be that they�re useless in using your phone screen. Otherwise a 5 out of 5.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]