Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Castelli Mens Free Aero Race 4 Bibshort

CastelliMen's Free Aero Race 4 Bibshort(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(23 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(18)
(1)
(2)
(0)
(2)
(78%)
(4%)
(9%)
(0%)
(9%)
Reviewed 1/17/2021
by Old Guy
Cycling Enthusiast
Palm Coast, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The Comfort and fit of these bib shorts make me feel like a stronger rider.

These are my third pair of Castelli bib shorts but my first set of Free Aero. They were an upgrade for me but I bought them on sale at a great price. I'm 5'7" at 150 pounds. Like my previous two pairs of Castelli bibs I went with the mediums. Yes, like all Castelli bibs they are really tight when I first put them on but soon after the first ride, they seem to conform to my body. Most of my rides are in the 30 to 50 mile range and the comfort of the Free Aero bibs is really great. The combination of comfort and compression kind of makes me feel like a better sand happier rider.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/14/2021
by SD Cycler
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Extremely Comfortable

Very comfortable, but runs a little small. I probably could have gone with a XXL rather than an XL. Very light weight with good looks.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/27/2020
by John Twist
Cycling Enthusiast
Morgantown, WV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Improved Pad and More Breathable

I have been using Castelli bibs (Body Paint 12 and Free Aero) for 10 years. I wear the large size (5'8, 150 lbs, 32 waist). The new Aero Race 4 bib-short shows Castelli's dedication to continually improve their shorts. The pad feels more substantial and comfortable when on the bike. The shell materials just fit great and feel more breathable. The grippers are vastly improved with excellent hold (vertical series of tacky stripes). The stitching on the seams and attachment point on the shoulder straps are improved- no frayed threads. I wash them in a mesh bag using detergent with no fabric softeners and dry on a towel warmer. After 20 rides all good- even the Castelli logo shows no flaking. The blue and the grey colors are subtly different than the standard black and compliment many of my team jerseys. I prefer these colors over the black. Highly recommend. JT

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/26/2019
by Mike Hutcheson
Chicagoland
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable to wear & comfortable on the bike!!

First time with the Progretto X2 seat pad - love it. Went with the compression version of these bibs & they are more work to get on, but after 50 miles of pedaling you can tell a difference.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/23/2020
by BCarma
Cycling Enthusiast
California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best Bibshorts ever

Super comfortable. Yes, they are expensive but they are durable. Have been riding for over 20 years, definitely the best bibshorts I've ever had. Euro sizing, I had to get one size up from most brands,

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/29/2020
by Anonymous
Las Cruces NM
Overall Rating
The best!

I was so impressed with my first pair.. I ordered a second. All day comfort, big climbing days.. No problem.. Just order 1 to 2 sizes if you are tall (I'm 6ft 2 inches). The suspenders are tight..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/21/2020
by KC
Seattle area
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Amazing

These shorts are very well made as well as extremely comfortable even for women.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/19/2020
by Redshorts
Cycling Enthusiast
Boise, ID
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great bibs, very comfortable for long rides.

Great compression helps me stay in the saddle longer, riding harder. Castelli bibs have been my favorite for years, and these are the best so far!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/10/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nice fit, nice pad

The new pad is very nice, and I like it better than the previous Castelli pads. The fit up front is much better too. Straps are comfortable and work well. I'm 5'7 132 lb and have worn medium Castelli bibs in the past but this one is a small and fits perfectly. Snug, but that's my preference.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/5/2019
by Lamar
Bothell
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best bib shorts

Castelli continues to improve on the bib shorts. Cant go wrong with these. Great for century rides.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/23/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great fit and performance but poor stitching

I am a fan of Castelli bibs. The fit and compression on these bibs are perfect. I am 5'9' 160lbs and ordered a medium. The reason for not giving the bibs five stars is due to the fact that the stitching was coming out before I wore them. I only realized it about two months after buying them because I ordered in the winter when they were on sale and did not get them out to wear until the spring. Thankfully they are double stitched so they are no serious issues.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/14/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Love 'em

Very comfortable and provide good cushion-light weight.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/6/2020
by Hebrew Hammer
New York
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Super comfortable

Excellent product. As with all casteli Gear order one size up as they run small. Good shammy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/26/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable and light

Can barely feel this chamois on my skin, and the chamois insert is comfortable. No numbness on long rides.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/20/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Anaheim Hills, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
A hole in the bib

I ordered 4 of these bibshorts but 1 of them had a little hole near the stitching on the front right leg.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/30/2020
by David R
Cycling Enthusiast
Missouri
Overall Rating
Favorite Short, in my opinion best shorts you can get for the price.

I use the shorts for my longest rides. Very comfortable 4+ hour rides. Only negative recently is that

Castelli is making their straps a little short. I have several versions of these shorts and it seems the straps

are getting shorter with each pair. I'm a tall rider so not a problem if you are average sized.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/16/2020
by SaaSy Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
My new favorite bibs

These bibs are fantastic! Comfortable and supportive for training or racing

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2020
by Herc
Competitive Racer
D.C.
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good shorts

Dependable shorts, and great for long ride. 225lb size xl.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/4/2020
by Kory
Hillsboro, OR
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
My favorite bibs ever

Most comfortable bibs I have ever worn. Great cushion, but it doesn't feel like a diaper. Tight fit, so it doesn't move while riding. I got a size medium and have a 32" waist.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/19/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Overall Rating
better leg gripper, better seat pad

It's an improvement on the old Free Race bib. I like the new seat pad. Still fits the same way.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 88