FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Brooks Proofide Tin

BrooksProofide Tin(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(20 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(19)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(95%)
(0%)
(5%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 9/17/2018
by Bill
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Polishing my Brooks saddle

Easy to apply to the leather Books saddle. I just need to remember to do more often to better protect the leather.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/13/2018
by John Combs
Trenton, Ohio
Overall Rating
You really need this for a brooks leather saddle.

You need this to protect your brooks saddle. It is a little expensive. But, so was the saddle. Goes on, no problem. Lasts a decent amount of time before having to apply more.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/24/2018
by Old Steel Roadie
Cycling Enthusiast
Cambridge, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The original!

It takes a while to break in a Brooks saddle so you want it to last as long as it can. Make sure to read the instructions well - don't wait until the leather is looking thirsty to apply, and don't apply just before you ride. You shouldn't need the big tin unless you're a shop.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/18/2018
by Biker Jeff
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Perfect to protect my Brooks Saddle.

Perfect to protect my Brooks Saddle. I wish I had this product for old bike saddles. I probable still have the saddles today.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/5/2018
by Jeff
Long Beach Ca
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Brooks saddles last 20 to 30 years with proper care. Proofide is the best product to keep the the leather from dryip

Brooks saddles are full grain leather and thick-they are hard and need proofide to make them soften up for the breaking process. I have 2 Brooks Special saddles and the leather is extra thick. Apply the proofide more the first 2 months until the breakin is complete at about 20 rides. Then use it every few months to keep the leather soft. They will be very comfortable and look great. I have a total of 4 saddles and ride about 100 miles a week with no discomfort They also look great on old vintage Schwinn bikes. Enjoy the ride

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/16/2017
by Hoosier Al
Cycling Enthusiast
Mishawaka, IN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
It works

It is leather conditioner formulated for the Brooks saddles and it does its job.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/6/2017
by Great Plains Biker
Lincoln NE
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Essential for Brooks-type saddles, and great for many leather products

Started using Proofhide decades ago to break-in Brooks saddles, now use it to periodically condition many leather products, including saddles, belts, leather ski gloves, work and snow boots, etc. The smell is an acquired taste ...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/1/2017
by TTS
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Beach, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Found a different way to apply this product.

I use this product on all my Brooks saddles, top side & underneath, very happy with it. I liquefy it by using a hair dryer on high heat and low speed (to keep the tin from being blown around)...then use a small foam paint brush to paint the underside pretty effectively...then use the blow dryer to help penetration, Can use the same technique on the top side as well. Careful, don't overheat the leather.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/5/2017
by TTS
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Beach, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I trust Brooks products.

There a other products that are used for leather saddles, but I use Brooks' Proofide for its ease of use...been using it for decades and stay with a proven product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/15/2017
by Tom Catt
Lake Hamilton FL
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
De Good Stuff

Penatrates good n smells good too !!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/5/2017
by Thomas
Lake hamilton
Overall Rating
TC n Snoball

Penatrates good,, smells good too !!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/6/2017
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Brooks Proofide is a must.

Easily soaks into the Brooks Saddle and helps with the breaking in process.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/26/2017
by SteveB
Nashville
Overall Rating
This stuff will last a lifetime.

Just a few dabs of this on you fingertips will pretty much cover the entire saddle top.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/11/2015
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great product, fast drying, easy to use!

It works great. Easy to use. It helps the saddle wear a little easier, and changes the color a bit. I have about 100 miles on my brooks saddle and I can tell the proofide helps.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/24/2012
by Jim
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good conditioner to maintain flexibility of saddle

This Proofide is easy to use. Can be difficult to apply to bottom of saddle due to rails and attachments. Once applied it seems to absorb quickly and dry. No smell like other leather products which is nice. Doing another application this week. Love my Brooks B17.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/9/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Helps brake in Brooks saddle

Speeds up the process of braking in a Brooks saddle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/11/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Easy to apply.

A small amount goes a long way.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/4/2018
by Grollend
Amherst, NH
Overall Rating
There is no cheap substitute for Proofide.

Although it might cost a bit more than any other treatment one could substitute. There is no logical reason to chance something else with such a working piece of traditional bike art. Remember that cheap is one letter away from what you would be left with for poor treatment of your leather saddles. Heap of st.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/6/2017
by Wayne
Hugo
Overall Rating
Very happy

I have tried many other brands, when I heard about this.it did exactly what it said it would

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/20/2012
by tony
Cycling Enthusiast
Yuba City
Overall Rating
this pruduct is fantastic.

works great

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.