Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Brooks B17 Standard Saddle

BrooksB17 Standard Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(83 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(71)
(11)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(86%)
(13%)
(0%)
(0%)
(1%)
Reviewed 4/25/2019
by HoboSteve
Cycling Enthusiast
Maine. USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Absolutely the GOLD Standard in touring saddles!

I bought a new bike (Cinelli Railway HoBootleg '18 leftover) 319. Without ever even trying out the stock seat, a Selle San Marco that, just in my lvg rm was unbearable. I pulled the trigger on the B17 on sale at BTDirect for a steal. Best choice ever! Although it is new, and rock hard, it is supposed to be, it is not a couch seat. It was the best seat I ever had right out of the box! It will only get better, AND I only wear merino shorts, no pads, etc. I tour, not race, The B17 will undoubtedly become my best touring friendpartner in the years ahead...Bravo!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/23/2020
by Anonymous
southwest Virginia
Overall Rating
Excellent saddle

I only have a few miles on my Brooks saddle so far due to a medical condition but it is every thing I expected . I am very pleased with my Brooks saddle.

I hope to be back on the gravel in a couple weeks

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/14/2020
by bsemple
Casual Cyclist
Little Rock, AR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best seat i've owned in 12 years of cycling

I was skeptical at first but decided to give it a try after the online reviews and word of mouth from local cyclists. It did take a while to break in, and I probably need to condition it a little more. Ride between 50-100 miles per week.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/23/2018
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Amazingly comfortable!

Super comfortable. why did I wait so long?!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/6/2018
by Capt.Whitebean
Cycling Enthusiast
Midwest
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Support beats all

Great price for a great saddle.

Brooks has been around and is preferred by many who know the secret to comfortable riding. Gel and other materials that make your saddle softer or more comfortable are ultimately making you more uncomfortable in the end. It's a great big lie that many people fall into. I have seen many people buy a new bike with a decent saddle and then they buy a gel saddle cover before riding the bike for the first time. Bollocks!

Sit on a sound piece of supple leather that supports you where you need support without cushion and you couldn't be happier after a long day of touring with another long day to follow that one.

Day after day.

It does take a few miles (100 or so?) to break in any good saddle so expect it, fight through it, and stay the course.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/10/2018
by moses
Cycling Enthusiast
Vernon, CT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
The perfect touring saddle.

I purchased this saddle for my touring bike and it is by far the most comfortable saddle, even partially broken in, although I think it felt great right out of the box. It just fit my anatomy perfectly and I can't wait to start touring full time on this saddle. You can't beat the comfort or the quality of this saddle and I am very happy with my purchase, there is a reason this is such a popular saddle for touring.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/19/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Brooks B17 - Always a first choice for me!

Extremely comfortable, just like your favorite pair of leather shoes. And, for me, comfortable right out of the box as well. You can't go wrong with Brooks.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/3/2020
by Stone Cold
Daily Commuter
Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This Saddle is well build, comfortable, beautiful, and will last 20 years or more!

I use this Saddle to commute to work each day. I like the number of compliments I get from other Cyclist. Have you ever bought a great looking pair of leather dress shoes and the more you wore them, the more comfortable they became? Well, that's the Brooks B17 Standard Saddle. The only flaw is if you get caught in the rain and the Saddle gets soaked, it may ruin it. But, that's an easy fix, buy a waterproof seat cover.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/3/2020
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Value Rating
Overall Rating
super high quality--worth every penny!!!

so comfortable--switched out an older generic seat for this one and i can finally enjoy biking without the constant reminder of an uncomfortable seat -- so far so good!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/23/2020
by Lindsey
Cycling Enthusiast
Michigan and SINY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Brooks saddles are good

I'm a Brooks saddle fan. I put a Brooks Pro on my road bike and rode it from 1973 until 2015-ish when the leather gave out. Bought a Brooks B17 to replace the Pro on my road bike because I heard that a B17 will break in a little quicker than a Pro. Liked that B17 enough that I bought this B17 to replace the squishy saddle on my slightly more upright commuter bike. I like this B17 too.

Great saddle if the rider is patient enough to let it break in and keeps the leather dry.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/6/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Comfy

Started off thinking I made the wrong decision. But, after the seat broke in, it is extremely comfortable. Will continue to use this seat for my future bikes

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/9/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Wichita, KS
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Break it in and you win!

I love my Brooks saddles. This is my second one and once it is broken in, it will be just a comfortable as the first. Over the years of riding, I have suffered with soft tissue discomfort on rides longer than 60 miles especially on multi-day tours. The Brooks saddle eliminates that issue. Each time I get back on the bike it feels more comfortable than when I climbed off for a rest.

Most good saddles are going to cost some money, so this is in line with other saddles and this one will conform to your shape!

Call me a winner.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/1/2018
by Texas Redfish
Cycling Enthusiast
Sugar Land Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great Saddle! Unbelievable Quality

I have several on all of my road bikes. Never had a more comfortable saddle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/17/2018
by Bill
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
This is the best bicycle saddle I've ever used.

Currently I'm using my B17 Books saddle on my REI CO-OP Adv 2.1 bike. The leather surface makes it easy to shift your weight while riding allowing for more comfort. The only challenge I've had is positioning the seat a bit further back on the seat post. The rails under the seat could be a bit longer to allow for a greater distance from the handlebars since I have a long torso. I plan to correct this by buying a new seat post that sits back bit further.

At this time I've put about 200 miles on this new saddle, every ride now is becoming more comfortable as it is molding to my pelvis.

The only other concern I have about this saddle is keeping the leather dry since I live on the coast of the Pacific Northwest. This Winter I'll have to take extra care to keep it dry from the rain.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/6/2018
by TidewaterBob
Cycling Enthusiast
Williamsburg, VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
I wish I could say something good about it.

I bought this saddle partly on the basis of the glowing reviews I read here. My own experience has been (sadly) much different. I eagerly swapped out my old, much used and nearly worn out saddle and replaced it with this one. As soon as I sat on it for the first time I suspected that this might not work out. I set my reservations aside and took it for a 20 mile test ride. Those had to be the most painful 20 miles of my life. This leather saddle is slick, rock hard, inflexible and unyielding. I had sore spots that I never had before. I ride a Trek Domane SL6, well known to be a smooth and very comfortable endurance road bike. It can go over very rough surfaces without transmitting the shocks up to the rider. But with this saddle I felt every bump and jar. (And yes, I was wearing padded cycling shorts.) At the 10 mile mark I was desperate to get home. I was moaning in agony the whole way back. The trouble as I see it is that the leather is so hard that it could be used to make a hardhat or even a helmet. I really can't see it ever getting softer or more forgiving. This was an experiment that failed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2018
by The Rev
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Kentucky
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
A bit of a throwback, but a Brooks still works

If you have never ridden on a Brooks saddle, I'll warn you in advance that it takes a few miles (400-500) to get it broken in. Follow the instructions about waxing it and making sure you tighten the tension screw. (Instructions are provided.) Other than that, It's a great, comfortable ride. I'm glad I decided to purchase my B17.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/16/2019
by Tom
Michigan
Overall Rating
As advertised

Got my Brooks B17 Standard saddle quickly.

Break in is taking some time as my first 100 miles have been rather painful.

The break in process is improving but is far from complete.

All of this was expected and hopefully the saddle will be as comfortable as expected sometime in the next 100 miles.

Time will tell!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/11/2019
by Al
Cocoa Beach Florida
Overall Rating
Brooks B17 Saddle

BTDirect had unbeatable price on the Brooks B17 when I purchased it. I am a totally happy long time customer who has had many very satisfying purchase experiences with BTDirect. Bought the Brooks B17 as it was a favorite of the late cycling guru Sheldon Brown. Thought that his love for this saddle was good enough for me. Its now broken in and giving me a very good long ride comfort.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/24/2019
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Greenville, SC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The Greatest Bike Seat

Such an excellent seat! I ride around town every day to work and everywhere else including trips to other cities and towns nearby. The latter rides entail anything from 30 to 100 miles and I ride on the B17 at all times. I was riding 80 miles up to visit my in-laws once and forgot to put my padded biking shorts on and didn't even bother turning around once I realized it because I knew I would be fine on this seat.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2016
by Shark Boy
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Tried one, now have three

Had a leather saddle 40 years ago, and gave it away with the bike. Was trying to ride on the cheap for many years thinking that the new technology had to be better. Wrong. Tried over a dozen different saddles, finally went back to the Brooks B17. Was as good as any of the others, and only got better. Now have three for four bikes, including a B17 Imperial on a full custom Ti roadster. Fourth bike? Kid rides it in another state, that's why I don't have 4 Brooks. Expensive? Yes. Worth it? After 450 miles in 7 days over Colorado mountains with no saddle sores or hot spots, abso-freaking-lutely!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 05