FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Brooks B17 Standard Saddle

BrooksB17 Standard Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(57 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(48)
(8)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(84%)
(14%)
(0%)
(0%)
(2%)
Reviewed 8/10/2018
by moses
Cycling Enthusiast
Vernon, CT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The perfect touring saddle.

I purchased this saddle for my touring bike and it is by far the most comfortable saddle, even partially broken in, although I think it felt great right out of the box. It just fit my anatomy perfectly and I can't wait to start touring full time on this saddle. You can't beat the comfort or the quality of this saddle and I am very happy with my purchase, there is a reason this is such a popular saddle for touring.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/6/2018
by Capt.Whitebean
Cycling Enthusiast
Midwest
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Support beats all

Great price for a great saddle.

Brooks has been around and is preferred by many who know the secret to comfortable riding. Gel and other materials that make your saddle softer or more comfortable are ultimately making you more uncomfortable in the end. It's a great big lie that many people fall into. I have seen many people buy a new bike with a decent saddle and then they buy a gel saddle cover before riding the bike for the first time. Bollocks!

Sit on a sound piece of supple leather that supports you where you need support without cushion and you couldn't be happier after a long day of touring with another long day to follow that one.

Day after day.

It does take a few miles (100 or so?) to break in any good saddle so expect it, fight through it, and stay the course.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/17/2018
by Bill
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This is the best bicycle saddle I've ever used.

Currently I'm using my B17 Books saddle on my REI CO-OP Adv 2.1 bike. The leather surface makes it easy to shift your weight while riding allowing for more comfort. The only challenge I've had is positioning the seat a bit further back on the seat post. The rails under the seat could be a bit longer to allow for a greater distance from the handlebars since I have a long torso. I plan to correct this by buying a new seat post that sits back bit further.

At this time I've put about 200 miles on this new saddle, every ride now is becoming more comfortable as it is molding to my pelvis.

The only other concern I have about this saddle is keeping the leather dry since I live on the coast of the Pacific Northwest. This Winter I'll have to take extra care to keep it dry from the rain.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/6/2018
by TidewaterBob
Cycling Enthusiast
Williamsburg, VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I wish I could say something good about it.

I bought this saddle partly on the basis of the glowing reviews I read here. My own experience has been (sadly) much different. I eagerly swapped out my old, much used and nearly worn out saddle and replaced it with this one. As soon as I sat on it for the first time I suspected that this might not work out. I set my reservations aside and took it for a 20 mile test ride. Those had to be the most painful 20 miles of my life. This leather saddle is slick, rock hard, inflexible and unyielding. I had sore spots that I never had before. I ride a Trek Domane SL6, well known to be a smooth and very comfortable endurance road bike. It can go over very rough surfaces without transmitting the shocks up to the rider. But with this saddle I felt every bump and jar. (And yes, I was wearing padded cycling shorts.) At the 10 mile mark I was desperate to get home. I was moaning in agony the whole way back. The trouble as I see it is that the leather is so hard that it could be used to make a hardhat or even a helmet. I really can't see it ever getting softer or more forgiving. This was an experiment that failed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2018
by The Rev
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Kentucky
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A bit of a throwback, but a Brooks still works

If you have never ridden on a Brooks saddle, I'll warn you in advance that it takes a few miles (400-500) to get it broken in. Follow the instructions about waxing it and making sure you tighten the tension screw. (Instructions are provided.) Other than that, It's a great, comfortable ride. I'm glad I decided to purchase my B17.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/3/2018
by Clifton Clapp
Burlington
Overall Rating
Brooks b 17 saddle

This is the best saddle in the world. I have ridden over 100,000 miles in my lifetime on these saddles and nothing else compares.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/3/2018
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Brookeville, Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great product!

The color and look are perfect. The product , shipping and handling were exceptional. I am extremely pleased with the merchandise.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2018
by Ken Lunstrum
Boise Idaho
Overall Rating
Excellent

The best seat ever made.this is my third. And the price at Bike Tires Direct was much less than I paid over 10 years ago. It arrived quickly and in perfect condition. It was a very good shopping experience.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/22/2018
by Mitch
Boise
Overall Rating
Great value

Love the Brooks saddle. One must remember that this saddle requires miles of use before thinking on using it on a multi day ride or even a century. Once broken in they are great. I would recommend purchasing the special brooks Greene as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/7/2018
by Victor H.
Cycling Enthusiast
Eagle Creek, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Most comfortable saddle ever.

This is the most comfortable saddle I've ever owned.

I'm and endurance cyclist and have tried five different saddles in the last two years and all of them start giving me numbness about the 50 to 100 mile mark and when going up hills so I'm constantly up out of the saddle to relieve the numbness and pain.

I was a little apprehensive about this saddle but after reading many touring forums I thought I would give it a try. Oh My God comfort from the second I sat on it and it keeps getting more comfortable every day as it breaks in.

I know this might not be the sexiest saddle out there but you won't care after you try one of these.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/3/2018
by Rolland Tongret
Casual Cyclist
Augusta, Ky &40 A little river town&41
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Love the looks and after a little break in time, the fit and feel is great.

I'm not a hard core biker. Just peddle around our little river town maybe four or so miles a day. Got to keep the leather conditioner applied often, rain spots hard to get rid off

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/31/2018
by Oscar
Cycling Enthusiast
Oonnecticut
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great for my old bones.

Seventy seven years and still riding. Bought this for my old bones and it's doing a great job. Follow Brooks instructions and had no problems. I have about 300 miles to date. Saddle allows you to move freely and keep comfortable. I find its much better than my old gel saddle that I was using on my road bike. Take care and cover saddle when its raining, my only concern.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/26/2018
by Allen von der Linde
N.Iowa
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
B17 forever

Why did I wait so long... After 100s of dollars spent searching for the one....The Brooks B17 is the absolute... The natural leather, body shaping to the individual... The perfect saddle. Good looks too! Really jumps!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/25/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New Jersey
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfortable seat

Second Brooks Saddle I have purchased. First one on a Trek Madone. Bought this one for Trek Checkpoint. Takes a while for the saddle to break in, but once it does it is a comfortable ride on the 100 long rides.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/16/2018
by T W McCall
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Arizona
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Saddle

The honey colored Brooks B17 saddle is a classic, and as a rider on Brooks for nearly 60 years, I can say that the quality remains. Be prepared for a reasonably long period of break in, but know that the reward of a close fitting and personalized saddle are well worth it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/1/2018
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
North Augusta SC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Replacement Saddle

Casual riding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/23/2018
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Houston, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
I believe I've finally found the right saddle

Like other cyclists I have amassed a bin of saddles and spent $100s in quest of the comfortable seat. I decided to buy the Brooks B17 and believe this is the one. My bike is a Specialized Roubiax and I weight 215 lbs. Riding 10 - 15 miles daily I did question my purchase of this rock hard leather saddle the first day, but it was comfortable. With each daily ride I'd look for indications of the saddle conforming to my bottom, if it happened I wasn't seeing it but again the seat was comfortable. After two months the saddle and I are molding to one another. This saddle meets my comfort requirement, but then I'm not a century rider.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/15/2018
by Anonymous
Dallas
Overall Rating
Brooks B17

The best saddle out. Some break in time but worth the wait

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2016
by Shark Boy
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Tried one, now have three

Had a leather saddle 40 years ago, and gave it away with the bike. Was trying to ride on the cheap for many years thinking that the new technology had to be better. Wrong. Tried over a dozen different saddles, finally went back to the Brooks B17. Was as good as any of the others, and only got better. Now have three for four bikes, including a B17 Imperial on a full custom Ti roadster. Fourth bike? Kid rides it in another state, that's why I don't have 4 Brooks. Expensive? Yes. Worth it? After 450 miles in 7 days over Colorado mountains with no saddle sores or hot spots, abso-freaking-lutely!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/25/2017
by Steve
Houston, Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfort!

I have 4 brooks saddles and will always use them. They are comfortable out of the box - look and feel great and continue to get more comfortable as you use them. Try one.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.