Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Brooks B17 Standard Saddle

BrooksB17 Standard Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(98 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(83)
(13)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(85%)
(13%)
(1%)
(0%)
(1%)

User submitted reviews

Review by HoboSteve

Reviewed 4/25/2019
by HoboSteve
Cycling Enthusiast
Maine. USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Absolutely the GOLD Standard in touring saddles!

I bought a new bike (Cinelli Railway HoBootleg '18 leftover) 319. Without ever even trying out the stock seat, a Selle San Marco that, just in my lvg rm was unbearable. I pulled the trigger on the B17 on sale at BTDirect for a steal. Best choice ever! Although it is new, and rock hard, it is supposed to be, it is not a couch seat. It was the best seat I ever had right out of the box! It will only get better, AND I only wear merino shorts, no pads, etc. I tour, not race, The B17 will undoubtedly become my best touring friendpartner in the years ahead...Bravo!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/23/2018
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Amazingly comfortable!

Super comfortable. why did I wait so long?!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Capt.Whitebean

Reviewed 9/6/2018
by Capt.Whitebean
Cycling Enthusiast
Midwest
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Support beats all

Great price for a great saddle.

Brooks has been around and is preferred by many who know the secret to comfortable riding. Gel and other materials that make your saddle softer or more comfortable are ultimately making you more uncomfortable in the end. It's a great big lie that many people fall into. I have seen many people buy a new bike with a decent saddle and then they buy a gel saddle cover before riding the bike for the first time. Bollocks!

Sit on a sound piece of supple leather that supports you where you need support without cushion and you couldn't be happier after a long day of touring with another long day to follow that one.

Day after day.

It does take a few miles (100 or so?) to break in any good saddle so expect it, fight through it, and stay the course.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by moses

Reviewed 8/10/2018
by moses
Cycling Enthusiast
Vernon, CT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
The perfect touring saddle.

I purchased this saddle for my touring bike and it is by far the most comfortable saddle, even partially broken in, although I think it felt great right out of the box. It just fit my anatomy perfectly and I can't wait to start touring full time on this saddle. You can't beat the comfort or the quality of this saddle and I am very happy with my purchase, there is a reason this is such a popular saddle for touring.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steve

Reviewed 8/29/2023
by Steve
Overall Rating
Great seat

I wish I would have bought this seat years ago. Very comfortable and no pain so far.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by agshane

Reviewed 7/12/2021
by agshane
Cycling Enthusiast
Sherwood Arkansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
I was Wrong! Low Tech is Better

I have literally have spent hundreds of dollars on bike saddles over the past several years! I have put off buying a saddle that was born over 100 years ago, because I thought high tech must be better. Wrong! From day 1 the Brooks B-17 was comfortable, even though there is no padding. Currently, I'm averaging 180 to 200 miles per week, on an indoor trainer or roads and the Brooks continues to feel better every time I ride.

I have tried the other well known leather saddle, it was OK, however, the cutout was causing major wear on my bibs. A big plus for the Brooks they are guaranteed for 2 years and ten if you register the saddle.

But it's not all Roses: The saddle requires a 20 deg setback seat post for most riders. (Short rails). Leather Brooks Saddles should not get soaked with water and needs a cover. And lastly, you should purchase from Proofide (conditioner) to use to break-in and semi-annual treatments when you purchase the saddle.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Sisyphus

Reviewed 7/25/2022
by Sisyphus
Cycling Enthusiast
Amherst. MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Classic defined

This saddle has been in existence for how many years? It will extend your endurance to sit and pedal all day. It can only be improved if Brooks increased the leather thickness and quality like they once had prior to the 80's.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Texas Redfish

Reviewed 11/1/2018
by Texas Redfish
Cycling Enthusiast
Sugar Land Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great Saddle! Unbelievable Quality

I have several on all of my road bikes. Never had a more comfortable saddle.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Martin

Reviewed 3/14/2022
by Martin
Inlet beach, Florida
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Saddle up with this one

My first B17 Brooks saddle was purchased over 20 years ago and used on my road bikes and touring bike for at least 90,000 miles so when it finally broke I really missed it. I ordered another one and after a brief break-in I am happy to say that it is just like the first one. Not only does it look classy on my mountain bike but it is a very comfortable saddle of all the ones that I own. Try one, you will love it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bill

Reviewed 9/17/2018
by Bill
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
This is the best bicycle saddle I've ever used.

Currently I'm using my B17 Books saddle on my REI CO-OP Adv 2.1 bike. The leather surface makes it easy to shift your weight while riding allowing for more comfort. The only challenge I've had is positioning the seat a bit further back on the seat post. The rails under the seat could be a bit longer to allow for a greater distance from the handlebars since I have a long torso. I plan to correct this by buying a new seat post that sits back bit further.

At this time I've put about 200 miles on this new saddle, every ride now is becoming more comfortable as it is molding to my pelvis.

The only other concern I have about this saddle is keeping the leather dry since I live on the coast of the Pacific Northwest. This Winter I'll have to take extra care to keep it dry from the rain.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TidewaterBob

Reviewed 9/6/2018
by TidewaterBob
Cycling Enthusiast
Williamsburg, VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
I wish I could say something good about it.

I bought this saddle partly on the basis of the glowing reviews I read here. My own experience has been (sadly) much different. I eagerly swapped out my old, much used and nearly worn out saddle and replaced it with this one. As soon as I sat on it for the first time I suspected that this might not work out. I set my reservations aside and took it for a 20 mile test ride. Those had to be the most painful 20 miles of my life. This leather saddle is slick, rock hard, inflexible and unyielding. I had sore spots that I never had before. I ride a Trek Domane SL6, well known to be a smooth and very comfortable endurance road bike. It can go over very rough surfaces without transmitting the shocks up to the rider. But with this saddle I felt every bump and jar. (And yes, I was wearing padded cycling shorts.) At the 10 mile mark I was desperate to get home. I was moaning in agony the whole way back. The trouble as I see it is that the leather is so hard that it could be used to make a hardhat or even a helmet. I really can't see it ever getting softer or more forgiving. This was an experiment that failed.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by The Rev

Reviewed 8/31/2018
by The Rev
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Kentucky
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
A bit of a throwback, but a Brooks still works

If you have never ridden on a Brooks saddle, I'll warn you in advance that it takes a few miles (400-500) to get it broken in. Follow the instructions about waxing it and making sure you tighten the tension screw. (Instructions are provided.) Other than that, It's a great, comfortable ride. I'm glad I decided to purchase my B17.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Gary

Reviewed 12/3/2021
by Gary
Cycling Enthusiast
Honolulu
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nothing beats a classic

Broke in easily after a few rides. Note that the saddle comes with a small packet of Proofide , even to get you through the break in period. But you will probably want more for long term maintenance.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ted

Reviewed 8/10/2021
by Ted
Pacific Northwest
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Brooks B17 best for touring &� road

OK, disclaimer: I'm 70. I've used the B17 on my touring bikes for years. Now I have one for my carbon fiber road bike, too. Smooth

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by WWFeltrider

Reviewed 6/28/2021
by WWFeltrider
Casual Cyclist
Long Beach, Ca.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Brooks B17 Saddle is the best I've ever put my butt on!!

I ride a Felt 2sp Burner bike 40+ miles a week. I finally replaced my original saddle with this Brooks 17. Only thing I regret is not replacing it long ago! Must comfortable saddle one can ride with!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by dogbreath

Reviewed 6/21/2021
by dogbreath
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The B17 is hard to beat

I've tried a lot of saddles, but I always come back to Brooks, and the B17 is tops - sturdy, comfortable, and durable. I've put 1000s of miles on Brooks saddles, and this most recent purchase was for a new bike in the quiver. It's every bit the quality I expect.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Shark Boy

Reviewed 12/3/2016
by Shark Boy
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Tried one, now have three

Had a leather saddle 40 years ago, and gave it away with the bike. Was trying to ride on the cheap for many years thinking that the new technology had to be better. Wrong. Tried over a dozen different saddles, finally went back to the Brooks B17. Was as good as any of the others, and only got better. Now have three for four bikes, including a B17 Imperial on a full custom Ti roadster. Fourth bike? Kid rides it in another state, that's why I don't have 4 Brooks. Expensive? Yes. Worth it? After 450 miles in 7 days over Colorado mountains with no saddle sores or hot spots, abso-freaking-lutely!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Scott

Reviewed 6/1/2021
by Scott
Daily Commuter
San Francisco
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Usually a great deal, but....

I found what I thought was a great deal - a replacement for my worn out and retired Brooks saddle at a lower price point than my first Brooks bike seat. The lower cost was a result of the pandemic, so I had to wait months for the new saddle, but it arrived and was great...except one rivet was out of alignment and gave me a saddle sore. I guess the factory was still getting back into order when they made and shipped this Brooks saddle.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Stuart

Reviewed 5/28/2021
by Stuart
Casual Cyclist
Western Virginia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Just as Good as Ever!

In an era when so many consumer goods are plagued with diminished quality, it is most refreshing to review the B17 saddle. I first rode on Brooks in 1971 and have had Brooks saddles on various bikes over the years. This 2021 version is every bit the great quality of craftsmanship and material that has been the norm over the last 50 years even with the several different owners of the Brooks brand.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Roy

Reviewed 3/29/2021
by Roy
Casual Cyclist
New York City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Lowest price anywhere, highest quality product and customer service

Waited three months for this saddle to arrive from the UK because of a huge pandemic backlog, and well worth it (stores here in NYC were out of this saddle for many more months than that). The customer service folk at biketiresdirect could not have been more responsive and helpful -- and by far, this was the best price I found anywhere.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]