FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Brooks B17 Standard Saddle

BrooksB17 Standard Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(47 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(40)
(7)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(85%)
(15%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 8/10/2018
by moses
Cycling Enthusiast
Vernon, CT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The perfect touring saddle.

I purchased this saddle for my touring bike and it is by far the most comfortable saddle, even partially broken in, although I think it felt great right out of the box. It just fit my anatomy perfectly and I can't wait to start touring full time on this saddle. You can't beat the comfort or the quality of this saddle and I am very happy with my purchase, there is a reason this is such a popular saddle for touring.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/7/2018
by Victor H.
Cycling Enthusiast
Eagle Creek, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Most comfortable saddle ever.

This is the most comfortable saddle I've ever owned.

I'm and endurance cyclist and have tried five different saddles in the last two years and all of them start giving me numbness about the 50 to 100 mile mark and when going up hills so I'm constantly up out of the saddle to relieve the numbness and pain.

I was a little apprehensive about this saddle but after reading many touring forums I thought I would give it a try. Oh My God comfort from the second I sat on it and it keeps getting more comfortable every day as it breaks in.

I know this might not be the sexiest saddle out there but you won't care after you try one of these.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/31/2018
by Oscar
Cycling Enthusiast
Oonnecticut
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great for my old bones.

Seventy seven years and still riding. Bought this for my old bones and it's doing a great job. Follow Brooks instructions and had no problems. I have about 300 miles to date. Saddle allows you to move freely and keep comfortable. I find its much better than my old gel saddle that I was using on my road bike. Take care and cover saddle when its raining, my only concern.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/3/2018
by Rolland Tongret
Casual Cyclist
Augusta, Ky &40 A little river town&41
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love the looks and after a little break in time, the fit and feel is great.

I'm not a hard core biker. Just peddle around our little river town maybe four or so miles a day. Got to keep the leather conditioner applied often, rain spots hard to get rid off

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/26/2018
by Allen von der Linde
N.Iowa
Overall Rating
B17 forever

Why did I wait so long... After 100s of dollars spent searching for the one....The Brooks B17 is the absolute... The natural leather, body shaping to the individual... The perfect saddle. Good looks too! Really jumps!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/25/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New Jersey
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfortable seat

Second Brooks Saddle I have purchased. First one on a Trek Madone. Bought this one for Trek Checkpoint. Takes a while for the saddle to break in, but once it does it is a comfortable ride on the 100 long rides.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/16/2018
by T W McCall
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Arizona
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Saddle

The honey colored Brooks B17 saddle is a classic, and as a rider on Brooks for nearly 60 years, I can say that the quality remains. Be prepared for a reasonably long period of break in, but know that the reward of a close fitting and personalized saddle are well worth it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/1/2018
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
North Augusta SC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Replacement Saddle

Casual riding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/23/2018
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Houston, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
I believe I've finally found the right saddle

Like other cyclists I have amassed a bin of saddles and spent $100s in quest of the comfortable seat. I decided to buy the Brooks B17 and believe this is the one. My bike is a Specialized Roubiax and I weight 215 lbs. Riding 10 - 15 miles daily I did question my purchase of this rock hard leather saddle the first day, but it was comfortable. With each daily ride I'd look for indications of the saddle conforming to my bottom, if it happened I wasn't seeing it but again the seat was comfortable. After two months the saddle and I are molding to one another. This saddle meets my comfort requirement, but then I'm not a century rider.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/15/2018
by Anonymous
Dallas
Overall Rating
Brooks B17

The best saddle out. Some break in time but worth the wait

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/25/2017
by Steve
Houston, Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfort!

I have 4 brooks saddles and will always use them. They are comfortable out of the box - look and feel great and continue to get more comfortable as you use them. Try one.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2016
by Shark Boy
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Tried one, now have three

Had a leather saddle 40 years ago, and gave it away with the bike. Was trying to ride on the cheap for many years thinking that the new technology had to be better. Wrong. Tried over a dozen different saddles, finally went back to the Brooks B17. Was as good as any of the others, and only got better. Now have three for four bikes, including a B17 Imperial on a full custom Ti roadster. Fourth bike? Kid rides it in another state, that's why I don't have 4 Brooks. Expensive? Yes. Worth it? After 450 miles in 7 days over Colorado mountains with no saddle sores or hot spots, abso-freaking-lutely!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/15/2017
by Tom Catt
Lake hamilton
Overall Rating
All day comfort

I hv spent lotsa $ on other saddles,,, dont B like me,, get a Brooks B 17 to start with

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/15/2017
by Bike Vegan
Daily Commuter
Lincoln Nebraska
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great saddle very comfortable for commuting and touring

I use this on my Kona Paddy Wagon for daily commuting I have close to 2000 miles on the saddle and it is very comfortable right out of the box...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/5/2017
by Thomas
Lake hamilton
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
TC n Snoball

I have wasted money on other saddles over de years,, dont make my mistake,,, get a Brooks !! U kant go wrong !!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/7/2017
by Love2Cycle
Cycling Enthusiast
Silicon Valley, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great saddle and a great price at Bike Tires Direct.

Nowhere as hard to ride on from the start for me. Yes, it's stiff like a new pair of leather shoes, but not uncomfortable at all. Been riding it for a month and I love it. I know I will have this saddle for many years to come. I have it on my hybrid commute bike and I put a small amount of Profride on the top and a bit more to cover the entire underside. That's it - now time to ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/30/2017
by tpalfini
Cycling Enthusiast
Redding CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
beautiful saddle on my blue Salsa Vaya but...

Still breaking in the saddle with about 500 miles on it. Getting more comfortable with most every ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/6/2017
by Pd
texas
Overall Rating
Just what I was hoping for

Most comfortable saddle I have ever had and Ive had a lot of saddles. No break in needed. This Brooks will add years to my biking experience.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/2/2017
by Hammer
Cycling Enthusiast
Western Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Brooks Saddles always provide great performance and value.

As a general rule you either love Brooks saddles or don't care for them at all. For those of us who love them (and the concept of the 'leather hammock') you can hardly go wrong with any of their products and the B-17 is probably the best all-around saddle they make. Variations in leather can make a softer or harder saddle, but they're easily adjustable and the design and workmanship hasn't changed over the years. Brooks provides a very comfortable and reliable product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/23/2017
by Dominic Mancello
Cycling Enthusiast
New York City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great leather saddle at a good value

Been riding Brooks saddles for years. Very comfortable once broken in after a few hundred miles of riding. Remember to tension the saddle when it begins to sag by tightening the bolt at the front of the saddle. Use Proofide to condition the saddle and aid in softening it more quickly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.