Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Brooks B17 Standard Saddle

BrooksB17 Standard Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(97 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(82)
(13)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(85%)
(13%)
(1%)
(0%)
(1%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 9/23/2020
by Anonymous
southwest Virginia
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent saddle

I only have a few miles on my Brooks saddle so far due to a medical condition but it is every thing I expected . I am very pleased with my Brooks saddle.

I hope to be back on the gravel in a couple weeks

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/14/2020
by bsemple
Casual Cyclist
Little Rock, AR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best seat i've owned in 12 years of cycling

I was skeptical at first but decided to give it a try after the online reviews and word of mouth from local cyclists. It did take a while to break in, and I probably need to condition it a little more. Ride between 50-100 miles per week.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2016
by Shark Boy
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Tried one, now have three

Had a leather saddle 40 years ago, and gave it away with the bike. Was trying to ride on the cheap for many years thinking that the new technology had to be better. Wrong. Tried over a dozen different saddles, finally went back to the Brooks B17. Was as good as any of the others, and only got better. Now have three for four bikes, including a B17 Imperial on a full custom Ti roadster. Fourth bike? Kid rides it in another state, that's why I don't have 4 Brooks. Expensive? Yes. Worth it? After 450 miles in 7 days over Colorado mountains with no saddle sores or hot spots, abso-freaking-lutely!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/3/2020
by Stone Cold
Daily Commuter
Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This Saddle is well build, comfortable, beautiful, and will last 20 years or more!

I use this Saddle to commute to work each day. I like the number of compliments I get from other Cyclist. Have you ever bought a great looking pair of leather dress shoes and the more you wore them, the more comfortable they became? Well, that's the Brooks B17 Standard Saddle. The only flaw is if you get caught in the rain and the Saddle gets soaked, it may ruin it. But, that's an easy fix, buy a waterproof seat cover.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/23/2020
by Lindsey
Cycling Enthusiast
Michigan and SINY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Brooks saddles are good

I'm a Brooks saddle fan. I put a Brooks Pro on my road bike and rode it from 1973 until 2015-ish when the leather gave out. Bought a Brooks B17 to replace the Pro on my road bike because I heard that a B17 will break in a little quicker than a Pro. Liked that B17 enough that I bought this B17 to replace the squishy saddle on my slightly more upright commuter bike. I like this B17 too.

Great saddle if the rider is patient enough to let it break in and keeps the leather dry.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/9/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Wichita, KS
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Break it in and you win!

I love my Brooks saddles. This is my second one and once it is broken in, it will be just a comfortable as the first. Over the years of riding, I have suffered with soft tissue discomfort on rides longer than 60 miles especially on multi-day tours. The Brooks saddle eliminates that issue. Each time I get back on the bike it feels more comfortable than when I climbed off for a rest.

Most good saddles are going to cost some money, so this is in line with other saddles and this one will conform to your shape!

Call me a winner.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/27/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Still breaking it in....but good so far

The saddle was delivered as promised. Given the winter in WI, I have it mounted on the bike on a trainer in the basement. Still in the break in period but so far so good. I may have a different opinion after a cross country ride this summer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/16/2019
by Tom
Michigan
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
As advertised

Got my Brooks B17 Standard saddle quickly.

Break in is taking some time as my first 100 miles have been rather painful.

The break in process is improving but is far from complete.

All of this was expected and hopefully the saddle will be as comfortable as expected sometime in the next 100 miles.

Time will tell!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/14/2014
by Jerry D.
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
My all-time favorite

I bought this saddle in 1997 - rode it for years, gave that bike to my grand-daughter and she's riding it. Saddles don't come any better than this, if you want comfort and durability. And,in my experience, this is a very good buy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/11/2019
by Al
Cocoa Beach Florida
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Brooks B17 Saddle

BTDirect had unbeatable price on the Brooks B17 when I purchased it. I am a totally happy long time customer who has had many very satisfying purchase experiences with BTDirect. Bought the Brooks B17 as it was a favorite of the late cycling guru Sheldon Brown. Thought that his love for this saddle was good enough for me. Its now broken in and giving me a very good long ride comfort.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/24/2019
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Greenville, SC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The Greatest Bike Seat

Such an excellent seat! I ride around town every day to work and everywhere else including trips to other cities and towns nearby. The latter rides entail anything from 30 to 100 miles and I ride on the B17 at all times. I was riding 80 miles up to visit my in-laws once and forgot to put my padded biking shorts on and didn't even bother turning around once I realized it because I knew I would be fine on this seat.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/30/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Best touring saddle

No saddle is perfect for everyone. I now have the b17 on two bikes and couldn't be happier

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/10/2013
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
This really is the saddle you need for long touring.

After trying multiple racing and touring saddles from reputable brands, this expensive saddle was all that was left to try. Wish I had spent my money on this sooner. I can now ride for hours and not have a sore butt when finished. There's nothing soft about it. It's hard leather. But once you've ridden on it a while and used the oil provided to break it in, it absolutely works.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/14/2019
by Redhead
Sw portland
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great

Took a couple weeks to get saddle to the right fit, and now its good to go. Looks great, very comfy

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/18/2019
by Porkchop
Cycling Enthusiast
Ft. Myers, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
My go to saddle

I ride 5,000 to 6,000 miles a year and have tried all different kinds of saddles but have settled on the Brooks B17 for all my bikes, tandem, touring bike, carbon road bike, and others all sport the B17. It as comfortable as any saddle I've tried before I even break it in. After 50 miles or more on a ride I don't even think about my saddle. I'm a big guy over 6 foot and 220 pounds with a heavy frame so I appreciate a wide saddle.

Why only 4 stars and not 5? Three reasons, the rails tend to creak a bit, it requires a break in period and you do have to maintain it regularly by coating it with proof hide. None of this is a big deal to me when compared to the comfort it brings to all my rides.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/6/2018
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Oakland CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Top notch saddle.

So comfortable. Didn't even take any brake-in for me, although I think I'm in the minority on that.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/9/2018
by douquihar
Casual Cyclist
Chesapeake VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Pleasing aesthetics, comfortable retro

I purchased the honey saddle along with the saddle cream. I used the cream on the saddle before use and after every ride since. I am awfully pleased with the purchase, it is comfortable, even more so since I have finally gotten the seat height correct and the positioning on the seat post correct, (forwardback).

I believe I will purchase another saddle just like the one I have for another bike I also ride.

Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/29/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Lombard, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great seat, little break in time

I purchased my first B17 for my road bike. In less than 200 miles the saddle was broke in and comfortable. It is so comfortable that I bought a second one for my gravel bike. Long, comfortable days in the saddle!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/3/2018
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Brookeville, Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great product!

The color and look are perfect. The product , shipping and handling were exceptional. I am extremely pleased with the merchandise.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/3/2018
by Clifton Clapp
Burlington
Overall Rating
Brooks b 17 saddle

This is the best saddle in the world. I have ridden over 100,000 miles in my lifetime on these saddles and nothing else compares.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 40

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]