Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Brooks B17 Special Saddle

BrooksB17 Special Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(32 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(28)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(88%)
(9%)
(0%)
(0%)
(3%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 7/18/2017
by Bruce
niagara canada
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great look with copper

Beautiful looking saddle. Caused very sore butt first couple rides then better. If comfort is your cause, this wouldn't be my pick. For me it was a look to go with my vintage bike. After 10 rides it is comfortable enough and fine for 40-50 k for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/8/2017
Daily Commuter
Texas
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The leather material gives it a different feeling while riding your bike. In addition the leather is awesome.

The only thing negetative about this saddle, you have to ride the saddle to break it in and make it comfortable to ride

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/5/2018
by Anonymous
Illinois
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best Saddle for Endurance Riders

Brooks makes the best saddles for long rides. Break in is not bad. Over time their saddles just get more comfortable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/15/2018
by JMossfeld
Daily Commuter
Germantown, MD
Overall Rating
Classic, classy and comfortable

This is my first unsprung leather saddle. I'm using it on a Rivendell Hillborne build, which seats me pretty upright with albatross bars. I appreciate that the leather is smooth, so it won't erode my pants like saddles with stitching or perforated surfaces have done in the past. I got the Special for the look of the copper rivets and the tapered edge, figuring that I'll have the saddle for at least 10 years, so cost is not an issue over time. The saddle does look great, and very appropriate for a bike with classic lines.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/24/2018
by Goodtimes
Daily Commuter
Portland, or
Overall Rating
Lovely saddle.

Looks great, very sturdy

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/9/2017
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Provo, UT
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The Most Comfortable and Stylish Saddle You Will Own

I've owned five other Brooks saddles (B17 standard, Team Pro, Team Pro Special, Cambium C17) and have not found one better than this for my commutertouring bike.

Pros

- Comfortable from day one and gets better with time

- Absolutely gorgeous. The copper rivets set it apart from others and get better with age with a beautiful patina.

- Durable. I've had one B17 for 3 years and only got rid of it because I sold it with the bike. They last a LONG time.

Cons

- Price. Upgrading to the special is expensive. Honestly, the B17 standard is as comfortable and durable, just less beautiful.

- Susceptible to weather. Don't let this get wet! Leather deteriorates if it gets soaked. Buy a cover or use a plastic bag if you have to. If you don't want the hassle of covering it when parked in the rain, buy a cambium, but you will sacrifice on comfort.

This saddle is great for commuting and touring. For sports cycling like road biking and mountain biking, I would prefer the narrower Team Pro, Swift, or Cambium C17C15.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/6/2017
by DK
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
Most comfortable hi miles saddle.

I rode this saddle on Pac Tour Transcontinental 126mi per day for 25 straight days. You will see LOTS of ultra-distance cyclists on Brooks. And I never had a comfort issue from day one, no break-in needed. (But I know some people do.) Downside it's heavy. Small price to pay for most riders.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/30/2017
by Jimmy
Cycling Enthusiast
Arizona
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Classic appearance, quality saddle, but hard on your butt for first couple of hundred miles.

Put it on my Lynskey tour bike. Wish I had harder gluteus Maximus or a softer saddle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/13/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Fabulous Saddle!

Not only is this saddle beautiful, but it is also quite comfortable right out of the box. I know it will be even better as I ride it more, but I can tell you that I am delighted with this purchase! So much better than gel or plastic saddles.

Buy one! You won't regret it. Modern Bike is also a very reliable company! And the brown color is a gorgeous chestnut.

Thanks!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/2/2017
by Anonymous
michigan
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
My go to saddle

I have three bike and three B17 seats.

If it works it works

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/17/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Classy seat

You can not beat the comfort and great looks of this seat. It changes the look of your bike instantly to a classic style. The black leather saddle with matching leather bar tape looks and feels great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/12/2012
by trawlerdaisy
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Beginning to break in!

This saddle is fine in quality, however takes some breaking in. It has been a month of rideing 100 miles a week and it is just beginning to feel tolerable. Several club members have the same saddle and love them. One needs a good pair of bike shorts with good padding to reduce the hard surface until the saddle conforms to you.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 14